OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Victorian Terraced House by the City Walls



Updated: 26-Oct-2016
House in York, Yorkshire, England - Centraly Located, 5 Minutes Walk From The Heart Of York

Victorian terrace house, with many original features and lovingly restored by the current owners. The central location of this property means it is perfectly located for exploring the historic city of York, whilst being a short drive from the Dales, Moors and Coast. The ground floor living room is situated at the front of the property with its large bay window overlooking the front garden and street complete with wood burning Aga fire for those winter evenings. The dining room is situated between this and the kitchen to the rear which has a recently fitted shaker style kitchen. Access through the kitchen into the secure rear courtyard, complete with garden furniture and a shed, ideal for cycle storage. On the first floor is located an additional toilet and two bedrooms, the larger featuring an original black marble and cast iron fireplace. On the second floor is the bathroom, snug and third bedroom with views across the rooftops of the Minster.

  • Sleeps 6
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom, 1 Separate Toilet
  • Parking
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

No.3 was our family home for over ten years. We enjoyed the community and made many friends on the street. We hope you enjoy our house and that it provides and the accessibility it offers to York.

As parents with a young family we decided to use a flat rate throughout the year, rather than increase the price at school holiday times. We think this is a much fairer arrangement.

Call Owner
Speaks English

Guestbook comments from the owner

Lovely home! So comfortable. Thank you.
Aug 2015
  • 1 of 4

11 Reviews

based on 11 holidaymaker reviews


Not as expected from current reviews

  • 3 of 5

My first impression was that it was a spacious house the kitchen and third floor bedroom and all seemed light, airy and clean.

There always seemed to be parking available in front of the house, and although the ticket that you had to place in your car for the parking needed to be filled out daily and expired at 10am each morning, this wasn't too inconvenient.

There were however some issues that I noticed quite quickly. With the other reviews being so positive it is possible that the four of us just happened on a bad week but just in case:

1) There is only one set of keys. They must be left in the lock box when you leave the property. Two issues with this:

a) the lock box jams if the keys inside are not balanced correctly. Apparently this is a known issue and even the cleaner can't get in all of the time.

b) We had an incident where two guests wanted to go up to bed early (about 9pm) and two of us were going to be back later at around 10pm. Those going to bed did not feel comfortable leaving the door unlocked, but could not lock the door and then get outside to leave the keys in the lock box. We had to call and disturb them to get back in.

There is no light by the front door at all, so trying to see everything if you get home after dark is very difficult. A small motion activated light, or porch light is really needed.

2) The bathroom on the third floor was a little grubby and outdated. It has the only shower/bath in the place and as it is a claw foot tub, it is quite high to climb in and out of and there isn't much 'floor' space in the tub to be truly comfortable while showering.

The shower could be quite powerful with a large rain head on it and there was plenty of hot water, however the drain was so slow that if you had it turned up to more than a trickle the dirty water would quickly fill around your ankles.

The toilet would not flush very well even if the flusher was held down, yet the tank would take so long to refill that you could literally be in there five minutes without getting a few pieces of toilet paper down.)

3) There was a stain on the sheet, but they were crisp so believe this was just a mark.

4) The carpets downstairs were highly stained, and even the settees had stains on places. Maybe some washable covers would be a good idea.

5) Make sure you take washing up liquid, sponges etc. with you. None provided.

Overall, great location, but lacking in many respects for the price.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry that you appear to have had so many issues with our property during your stay. This isnt the review we would have expected either. I have not had chance to visit the house to check any of the points raised but I will do so as soon as is possible. However, we would like to clarify some of the points you have made. There should be 3 sets of keys, one in the keysafe, the others on the key hooks by the coat hangers. The keysafe stuck once before to our knowledge, hence my suggestion to give it a knock in case the key had fallen against the lock, Its a modern keysafe but we can't be held responsible for the design. It has only done this twice in 3 years that we are aware of. The bathroom is in keeping with the age of the property, i.e. Victorian. The bath is an original cast iron antique with an appropriately styled reproduction shower. We do not feel a modern suite would be in keeping with the house. During the time the house was our family home, we strove to retain and restore as much of the original features as possible. This is what gives our property it's character. The toilet had a new twin flush water saving cistern fitted recently, so I am not sure why it didn't perform. The sheet with the mark would have been properly laundered along with all the other bedding and towels. There are only two carpets downstairs. One of these is dark green, the other is dark brown and fitted only a few months ago. With regard to the sofa, the covers are removable and washable and had been recently laundered. However, spillages do happen and it is not possible or practical to wash the covers each time guests have been in the house. There should be cleaning things ie sponges dishcloths etc under the sink. There are also dishwasher tablets provided. Update: As we expected all the spare keys were hanging on the key hooks in the hallway. No stains found on any downstairs carpets. Washing up liquid and cleaning things under the sink where they should be.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Exceptional rental

  • 5 of 5

My family rented this home to visit relatives in England. We had 6 people in our party, my husband, 2 children, mother in law, aunt and myself. We booked from Atlanta, Georgia USA and were hesitant about booking a property overseas. We absolutely loved this townhouse! The owners were extremely helpful; they recommended airports and train stations to ease our long travel time. This is possibly the best property we've ever rented. It's extremely clean, the beds were very comfortable, kitchen had everything we needed, the garden area was wonderful and you can't beat the location. We stayed for 2 weeks and could walk to everything in York. The train station is a very short walk from the townhouse. We highly recommend this rental and hope to visit again soon! Thank you for a wonderful, comfortable holiday and for all of your help and travel advice!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely house in great location

  • 4 of 5

Six of us stayed in this house over the Bank Holiday Weekend. It had everything we needed, lovely and warm and plenty of hot water too. We will definately stay here again. Parking permit was a bonus too as parking in York can be very expensive. House was nice and clean, bed linen and towels were of a good quality. Having two toilets was a plus point too.

  • Review Submitted: May 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great house, great location

  • 5 of 5

What can I say? The house is perfect for families visiting York and the information provided by the owner extremely helpful, regarding accessing the property and using the parking vouchers as directed.

It was very clean neat and tidy, just as described, with all the amenities you would need. My 11 year old asked if we could we live here!

I would say it is not suitable for anyone who has trouble with stairs as the bathroom is on the top floor, however my 83 year old father didn't find it an issue at all. We had a lovely stay and will look to come back in the future.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 25, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely stay

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely stay here. House as described, clean, warm and comfortable. Great location - we arrived by train and the house is about 15/20 minutes walk from the station. Close to the city centre too.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 7, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Family accommodation

  • 4 of 5

I stayed 4 nights at no3 Claremont with my four children and my parents. This well equipped, roomy house proved to be the perfect base for exploring York.

The house itself is nice enough, with big, light and airy bedrooms and very comfortable beds. But the best feature of the house is its location. Tucked off Gillygate, a fantastic street with a lovely independent coffee shop, some fantastic cafés, bistros and delis, alongside some great gift and interior shops. All this before you even hit York centre... We could barely tear ourselves away!

York has so many wonderful attractions and activities that all 7 of us found something to love in this beautiful city.

We had a great family break here, and the house worked perfectly for us. I would most definitely return to no3.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 31, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


From the Owner

York is a beautiful city with all the amenities but the added bonus of its compact size. We chose our house for its easy access to the city centre but being on a dead end street meant it was relatively quiet and it is well outside the potential flooding areas.

Activity and Interests


1hr 5mins to Scarborough via car or train.

1hr 12mins to Whitby via car


York Railway Station 0.7mile or 15mins walk

Leeds Bradford Int airport approx 34 miles

Manchester Int airport approx 85 miles


Harrogate 22 miles

Leeds 24 miles

Hull 42 miles (City of culture 2017!)

Whitby 48 miles

Further Details:

Gillygate (as in 'St Giles Gate') boasts a wide range of shops from Delicatessen to Barber with most things inbetween. York hosts a range of visitor attractions such as Theatres, Railway museum, Art gallery and Jorvik Viking centre. There are a number of Historic Churches and a greater number of traditional Pubs. There is something for everyone in York!


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Rate 1
21 Sep 2015 - 1 Jan 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £20

Booking Notes:
Please contact owner.

Changeover Day:
Our weeks run from Friday to Friday but we are flexible. For short breaks please contact us. Short breaks have a minimum stay of 3 nights.

Notes on prices:
3 Night Lets.
We have a minimum 3 night let policy to make it financialy viable for short breaks.

Flat Rate.
As parents with a young family we decided to use a flat rate throughout the year, rather than increase the price at school holiday times. We think this is a much fairer arrangement and hope you do too.

Payment via bank transfer. A £200 booking deposit secures the booking with the balance paid 6 weeks prior to your arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Updated: 26-Oct-2016
Available arrival


From the Owner

Only 5 minutes walk from Parliament St, the city centre of York and a 15 minute walk from the railway station, No3 is the ideal location to make the most of visiting the sights of York as well as being able to enjoy eating out in the city without having to take a taxi home.

Property Type

  • house


  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...


  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster


  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area


  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Television


  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Location Type

  • city centre
  • town


  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins

Leisure Activities

  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services


  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath with Shower
  • Toilet 1 - Toilet, Plus washbasin
  • Family bathroom on second floor with toilet and sink. Victorian cast iron bath and shower over. Additional toilet and sink on first floor.


  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Bedroom 3
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Cot
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: First floor; bedroom 1 with double bed and clothes drawer. Bedroom 2 with twin beds, clothes drawer. Second floor; bedroom 3 with twin beds, clothes drawer and wardrobe. All with bedside tables.


  • Self-catering


  • Notes on accommodation: No smoking allowed. No single sex groups ie no stag or hen parties. Outside: To the front, a small planted garden to the rear a private yard with garden furniture. Utility Room: Iron, ironing board and vacuum cleaner. 5kg washing machine. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: All linen and towels are provided. The house is cleaned and all linen replaced after each stay. Other: The dining room is located on the ground floor. It comprises of a large dining table and seating for six plus a CD and radio player. Located on the second floor is a small snug room with a sofa and floor cushions.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot