OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

A Delightful Cottage Set In A Rural Position

Bedrooms 3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 4 nights
Popular Features
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet
  • Parking


About the property

Cottage in Romsey, Nr. Southampton, Hampshire, England - Just A Few Minutes Walk To Two Local Pubs And The Golf Course

Romsey Lodge is an ideal base for exploring the New Forest and major cities such as Southampton, Portsmouth and Bournemouth. Holiday attractions for the young ones include Paulton Park, home of Pepper Pig. Fancy a day in London, the fast train from Southampton takes just over an hour and from Waterloo you can walk to the London Eye and many other major attractions. The property itself is very homely with a lovely decked area to enjoy peaceful time just relaxing in the more favourable southern England weather.

Christopher Lodge
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
21 August, 2017

About Christopher Lodge

We took over the running of Romsey Lodge in November of this year and have turned it into an ideal holiday let cottage. We have used holiday cottages ourselves over the past 10 years so know what people expect from their holiday accommodation. We only live 10 minutes away so if any problems arise we are willing to help. We hope you have an enjoyable stay.

Christopher Lodge purchased this cottage in 2013

Why Christopher Lodge chose Test Valley

Location, location, location

What makes this cottage unique

Romsey Lodge is situated in "The New Forest Park". From its front gate you can walk to Paultons Golf Course to the left and the Vine Inn Hotel to the right. At the end of the private road you can travel less than 1/4 mile to Paultons Park ( Home of Pepper Pig ). or for those of you who are not Golfers or Pepper Pig lovers you can explore the New Forest with its excellent picnic areas and pubs. South Coast beaches are not far. You will be situated 1/2 mile from the M27 so East to Portsmouth,West to Bournemouth.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in West Wellow in Test Valley District

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • rural
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
  • Romsey Lodge has one massive Bathroom with a shower bath that has to be experienced. The bath is a Jacuzzi and integrated into the bath is jet shower that can come from all angles. "An experience".
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom One is a gallery room that over looks the lounge. It has a king size bed with a built in 40" ish TV that rises from the bottom of the bed. Bedroom two is on the ground floor with a king size bed and TV. Bedroom three has two single beds and TV
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Outside: Outside is a private garden with large decked area for BBQ's and relaxing Utility Room: Washing Machine. Ironing Board etc Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: All bed linen is provided along with towels. These are changed once a week or on change over


3.4/5 -
(7 traveller reviews)

28% Complete
42% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
28% Complete
A Delightful Cottage Set In A Rural Position
average rating of 3.4285715 based on 7 reviews

lovely and picturesque cottage

  • 1 of 5

Nice looking cottage down a leafy lane , close to pepa pig world etc .The communication when booking was attrocious , almost to the point where we wondered if it was a true booking , there was no reciepts given for any monies paid , ( you book direct with the owner ) .What was advertised on the website we didn't get regarding amenities . The jaccuzi bath wasn't working , the bathroom flooded everywhere , the toilet cistern was very slow to fill . The wooden door carpet strips was cracked and broken , causing a H&S hazard for people's feet . The tv in the upstairs bedroom didnt work , the washing machine had a pungent smell . we reported these problems at the begining of our holiday to the owner but nothing was done for a whole week which spoilt our holiday and enjoyment of the cottage . The outside of the cottage had an appearance of been unkept .We have stayed at a lot of cottages over the years and have always been very satisfied .Would we recommend this cottage ,NO . Unless the cottage was under new management and had all the facilities working correctly .

Mr&Mrs Russell

  • Review Submitted: Jun 17, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your response, you omitted to say that we withheld your deposit because of the filthy disgusting state you left our cottage in. You as admitted to this by in the end offering £20 to have the sheets cleaned, excrimate removed from the seat and rim of the toilet and sick left in the bathroom floor. Don't worry about ever having to book with us because you would certainly be refused. We have photographic evidence.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Beautiful property sadly neglected

  • 1 of 5

Perfectly situated for the New Forest & South Coast. Modern appliances. Sadly lacking care and attention. Poor to little owner communication. No welcme noted or any instructions. Very dissappointing....

  • Review Submitted: Jul 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1

Brilliant & Amazing

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely loved this lodge! Open plan, very clean, well kept and Great location. Very spacious and all my children enjoyed the huge garden! Close to shops, Southampton City and many attractions!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 10, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great place

  • 5 of 5

Great house everything you need, great garden for children and dogs, great location for peppa pig world, new Forrest.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 21, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 4 of 5


  • Review Submitted: Sep 8, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Comfortable and well positioned.

  • 4 of 5

We stayed for a week at Romsey Lodge. It was situated down a quiet country lane, but close to the M27 for convenient links around the area. The New Forest was also very close by. Paulton's Park for fans of Peppa Pig is just the other side of the golf course, who's entrance was next to the cottage, so you could walk there from the cottage.

The cottage was comfortable, well equipped and presented, and the kitchen and bathroom in particular were very modern and to a high spec.

The garden was well maintained to most parts and there was a large lawned area. There was also a large expanse of decking and seats and table for sitting out.

Southampton City centre was only 15-20 minutes away, Portsmouth, Bournemouth and Poole about 30 minutes away. Lyndhurst in the New Forest was about 10 miles away. Hillier's Gardens in Romsey took about 15 minutes to get to.

All in all a well placed and comfortable place to stay close to the South Coast.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 21, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0



Romsey is the closest village and Southampton the main city


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in West Wellow, Hampshire

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Damage Deposit £100

Booking Notes:
We are sorry but we do not offer short stay i.e. 1-2 nights.
If you have a requirement for a longer stay because you are moving house etc please contact us.

Changeover Day:
Please contact owner.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enquire Now