Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Large House in Scarborough near the beach, Large Garden & 7 seat Hot Tub

People10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Separate WCs1
Space 376 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Hot Tub
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

House in Scarborough Yorkshire. Good Location Close to a Beautiful Beach

Beautiful large house with large garden and hot tub, can sleep up to 10 people in 5 bedrooms (3 double rooms, 2 twin bedrooms), two of the doubles have standard double beds with the third having a king size bed. House has plenty of character with a grand entrance hall sweeping stair case and original stain glass window. Located on a lovely tree lined quite street close to the Esplanade there is parking for 3 cars on the drive.

The large reception hall has seating, the kitchen is fully equipped and has a dishwasher, There is a large dining/sitting room with feature fire place and also has direct access to the large rear garden and patio where there is seating for 8 people, a barbecue area and 7 seat Hot tub. There is off street parking for 3 cars on the drive plus parking on the street outside the house is free.

The house is just a short walk away from a small secluded beach and is an easy two minute walk to the esplanade where the TV program "The Royal" was filmed and where you can walk into town while enjoying the beautiful sea views and views of Scarborough. In the town centre you will find many bars, shops and restaurants, the Stephen Joseph feature and the spa complex. There is wi-fi installed at the house and is free to use.

The house is fitted with low energy appliances and LED or low energy lighting throughout.

More Details

Owner
Darren Wordsworth
Member since: 2013
Speaks English, French, Spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
12 June, 2018

About Darren Wordsworth

Father of two boys aged 5 and 8 and lived in Scarborough for many years. We bought the property in 2009 and have put a lot of time and effort in renovating to a good standard.

Darren Wordsworth purchased this house in 2009

Why Darren Wordsworth chose Scarborough

The location is great, on a quite tree lined street with not much passing traffic. Being able to walk out of the door down to a beautiful little beach or walk through the Italian gardens is fantastic. We prefer older properties and this house has plenty of charm with many original features such as the stained glass window and round window at the front of the house.

The house is also very large so there is lots of space to have family to stay.

Garden is very large with plenty of grass to play football with the children.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Scarborough in Scarborough District

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 376 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets considered
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • town
Theme:
  • Family
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet
  • Family bathroom on the first floor with bath and shower, basin and toilet. One bedroom is en suite with shower, basin and toilet. Another bedroom has a basin in it, also there is a wc on ground floor level with toilet and sink.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 Single Bed , 1 Cot
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed , with en suite bathroom
    Bedroom 4 - 2 Single Bed , on the second floor
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Double Bed , on the second floor
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Cot
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 10 (5 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Sleeps 10 adults. 5 bedrooms in total, three double bedrooms, 2 with standard double beds and 1 with a king size bed and tv plus two twin bedrooms with 4 single beds. We do not have any sofa beds or bunk beds.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • bay
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • gambling casinos
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Please contact us if you need a cot or high chair Outside: Large lawned rear garden of around 70 meters long and 10 meters wide that receives the afternoon sun and has a barbecue area and a decked seating area for 8 people. Utility Room: Washer Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Linen and hand towels are included, beach towels not included.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(15 traveller reviews)

73% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
Large House in Scarborough near the beach, Large Garden & 7 seat Hot Tub
average rating of 4.6 based on 15 reviews
5

Third time we have stayed here

  • 5 of 5

Always enjoy staying at this house and we love what Scarborough has to offer. The location of the house is perfect for us with lots of nice costal walks close by and the main South Bay beach is not far of a walk either.

House itself is big with plenty of character and fully equipped even for when you have young twins in tow.

Have recommended the house to friends and family over the years and will definitely return in future!

  • Review Submitted: 28-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Good location, plenty of parking. Very tired in need of TLC.

  • 2 of 5

Very disappointed hot tub wasn't working - had particularly booked a property with one as celebrating family birthday.

Appearance from the front and porch need attention.

Cleaning needs to be reviewed - blood on pillow, no bin liners, rubbish down sides of cushions on settee.

Not enough towels, no bins in bedrooms for rubbish.

Wouldn't recommend to anyone in state it is in.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Liz, thanks for taking time to review the house, we are obviously disappointed that it is a bad review. We did not deliberately break the hottub for your arrival and we did everything we could to repair it so you could use it. The hottub maintenance company was at the house the same day you told us it had stopped heating up. They could not solve the problem so we called the manufacturer but they could not get to the house until after you had left and when they did get there the hottub was working perfectly which was very annoying! We know you were very upset about not having full use of the hottub and this is why we refunded you some money to try and compensate for this (you didn't mention this in your review). After speaking to you after your stay I went to the house myself as we were concerned you were not happy with your stay. I addressed the issues you raised with the cleaner and she is now checking down the side of the sofa and making sure there are bin liners at the house for guests to use. Also cleaning the entrance and checking all cushions and bedding. We provide 10 bath towels, hand towels in all bathrooms/toilet/kitchen plus plenty of teatowels which should be sufficient. There is a washing machine if you need to wash the towels during your stay. Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Great house and great location . Any issues were sorted by Darren to ensure a lovely holiday was had

  • 5 of 5

Deceptively large and plenty of room for our group (1 year to 71 years ) . Would stay again for sure .

  • Review Submitted: 02-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking time to write a review, much appreciated and happy to hear you had a great holiday.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A friendly comfortable family home.

  • 5 of 5

We had a great family holiday in this comfortable home perfectly located for the South Beach and our beach chalet. The hot tub is a great bonus 😀? We are ex Scarborough residents who visit family regularly but this was our summer trip to bring our grandchildren to visit Great Grandma and the house was perfect for all of us. This house had added sentimental value for my sister and I who lived in the twin of it further down the street in the 1960's!! We would recommend it for any family.

  • Review Submitted: 07-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lincoln
5

Amazing!!

  • 5 of 5

Stayed here for a friend's birthday and had an amazing time.

The house is absolutely lovely, very spacious but cosy.

It's a great distance to the sea front and is a lovely walk.

The house and location was just so perfect and Darren the owner was great with quick communication.

We had a really great time and will definitely stay again in the future.

Thanks so much

Viki

  • Review Submitted: 04-Feb-2017
  • Date of Stay: January 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much Viki for taking time to write a review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay for your friends birthday. Look forward to speaking to you again in the future. All the best Darren
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Large house and gardens

  • 5 of 5

The Garden, location and house is perfect for a holiday. The house is extremely well catered for to a high standard and is very spacious. Beds are comfortable and a very nice lounge and dining space. Parking was ample for 4 cars and plenty of places to eat including takeaway for an evening. Hot tub was huge!

  • Review Submitted: 18-Nov-2016
  • Date of Stay: November 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
70 Miles
Leeds Bradford international
Nearest Barpub
0.8 Miles
Yorkshire Tap
Nearest Golf
0.6 Miles
South Cliff Golf Course
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Scarborough Train Station
Nearest Restaurant
600 Metres
Tuscany 2
Car: not necessary

Special interest holidays:

There are many special interest activities in Scarborough, from the Olivers mount road race to the sci-fi convention at the Spa complex. Many people try out surfing through one of the companies in Scarborough offering surf lessons, with many surf schools in Scarborough and some great beaches to surf on. Also there is daily fishing trips, please contact us for a full list of things to do in Scarborough!

Coast/Beach:

There is a secluded sandy beach only a 10-12 minute walk away (see photos) also the south bay beach is close by (see the map for distances)

Travel:

Nearest Airports are Leeds (around 1hr 30 minutes drive), Sheffield Doncaster (around 1hr 40 minutes drive). If travelling by car then the best road to get to Scarborough is the A64. If travelling by train the Scarborough railway station is not far from the house, a 5 minute taxi ride and you will be at the house.

Distances:

Scarborough Castle, beaches, Peasholm park: 10 minutes

Nearest restaurant to the house is the very good Tuscany Too Italian which is well rated on all the rated websites, it is only a short walk away from the house on Filey road.

Whitby: 30 minutes drive

Robin Hoods Bay: 30 minutes

York: 1 Hour

Castle Howard: 40 minutes

Burton Agnes: 40 minutes

North Yorkshire Moors Railway (Pickering): 30 minutes

Bempton Cliffs RSPB Bird Reserve: 30 minutes

Flamingoland Theme park: 40 minutes

Further Details:

Scarborough was the first seaside resort in the UK and first came popular in Victorian times, it is a classic English resort with lots of things to do for all ages.

It is the ideal location for a relaxing break at any time throughout the year. A wide range of restaurants, cafes, pubs, wine bars and a lively night life is on offer.

There is also a choice of many different leisure activities including skate parks, swimming pools, boating, fishing, golf, tennis, horse riding, motorcycle racing at Oliver´s mount, hire a rowing boat in Peasholm Park, take a ride on the miniature railway. Visit the Scarborough Castle which has breath taking views. Visit the sea life center on north bay. The mere.

For culture in Scarborough, there are cinemas and theaters (one being the Stephen Joseph) plus with many live acts visiting the town especialy now there is a renovated open air theater near Peasholm park. Some acts that have visited, Jimmy car, Elton John, the Saturdays, Wicked, Olly Murs and many more.

All Local attractions are located near Holbeck House, all within a short car ride or some of them you can walk to like the beach and the Italian gardens.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Damage Deposit £200

Changeover Day:
Changeover day is preferably Saturday. Weekend breaks can be booked for 3 nights but a different rate will be charged from the weekly rate. Check in time is no earlier than 3.00 pm and check out time is no latter than 10.30am on your departure day.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable