OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Pretty Cottage With Uninterrupted Sea Views

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Separate WC's1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Cottage in Portscatho, Cornwall - Perfect Location Moments from Village and Beaches

Maralane is a much loved family home. It has a relaxed, warm feel, and the property is maintained in good condition. The location is perfect, and there is parking for one car in front of the property.

There are 2 twin bedrooms, and one double. The double and one single are en suite, and there is an additional family bathroom.

The living room has a wood burning oven, comfortable sofas and a dining area.


Owner
Jennifer Denning
Member since: 2011
Speaks English, French, German
Calendar last updated:
12 November, 2017

About Jennifer Denning

Hello,

I am Jennifer, owner with my husband of this property. We are a London family, with three children who are now in their teens and early twenties.

We have been fortunate enough to be able to buy two holiday homes, and we really love sharing these homes with guests.

My aim is for these houses to be a real home from home, for you as guests as much as for our family. So they are comfortable, but not grand, well equipped but not flashy. Just comfortable, relaxed, homely environments.

I hope you will stay, and love them just as much!

Jennifer

Jennifer Denning purchased this cottage in 2004

Why Jennifer Denning chose Portscatho

Maralane is our home from home in Cornwall. Our children have grown up with days of playing on the beach, sailing, surfing, swimming, and then cosying up around the fire playing games or watching films.

Of course, we love coming down here in the Summer, but windy Autumn walks, or frosty winter mornings are wonderful too.

The village needs to have its houses open, and buzzing with people, who will love the village, its pub and shops, the sailing school and all the many local activities. And so, we love to share our home with guests from far and wide, who also come to love this peaceful corner of the Roseland Peninsula.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Portscatho in Cornwall

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • Ocean View
  • village
General:
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Toilet 1 - Toilet
    Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
    Shower room 2 - Shower Enclosure
  • Ensuite shower room to Bedroom 1, with wc, whb, heated towel rail, shower. New in 2013. Family bathroom, with bath, separate shower, whb, wc, heated towel rail. Ensuite shower room to Bedroom 3, with wc, whb, heated towel rail, shower. New in 2013.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 - king size double bedroom at the front of house with lovely sea view. Bedroom 2 - twin room at the rear of the house with pretty garden view. Bedroom 3 - twin room, attic conversion, stunning sea views. One of the beds is 6' long (not 6'3")
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Garden
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • bay
  • churches
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Central heating is provided by a mix of storage heaters and warm air convector heaters, which have timer controls. There are heated towel rails in the bathrooms. The log stove in the sitting room is very cosy (you will need to provide your own logs, though, which can be bought locally). There is parking for one car in front of the house. Children are very welcome, but please be aware that we do not have any corner protectors, stair gates etc fitted. Outside: At the front of the house is a pretty paved area, surrounded by planting, and looking out over the sea. There is a table and chairs here and it is a lovely morning coffee spot to catch the sun. At the rear is a pretty sloping garden, laid to lawn with mature shrubs and trees to the borders. The garden catches the evening sun beautifully. Utility Room: Useful storage area in a covered area behind the house, next to kitchen. Contains a downstairs wc, and also a storage room, where there is a washer/dryer. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Linen and towels are included. The property is cleaned at each changeover, when the linen and towels are changed. Please contact us if you are staying longer and would like cleaning and linen/towels replaced at the mid point of your stay.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(16 traveller reviews)

81% Complete
18% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Pretty Cottage With Uninterrupted Sea Views
average rating of 4.8125 based on 16 reviews
5

Lovely cosy family home in the middle of Porthscatho - perfect location

  • 5 of 5

We booked this great house as a last minute half term mini break. From the moment we walked it we felt at home. The girls loved the attic room and going to sleep with the sound of the water on the rocks below the house. The master bedroom is perfect with a glorious view out to sea - a perfect place for a lazy weekend morning cup of tea. We found everything we needed and particularly enjoyed the showers - nice and powerful.

Porthscatho is a lovely village with a good pub, convenient shop and lovely walks to various beaches and coves. The Roseland is beautiful with lots of corners to discover and a trip on the King Harry Ferry to Trelissick NT house and gardens is always fun.

We very much hope to come back soon.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review, and I am glad you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely house in a great situation. Everything you needed to enjoy a holiday.

  • 4 of 5

Ideal situation for swimming, walks and exploring the Roseland and Cornwall in general.

  • Review Submitted: 07-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review, and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

An idyllic twelve days

  • 5 of 5

We loved this house from the moment we walked in after a 9 hour journey. There was a very restful homely feel about it and the views from the sitting room and two of the bedrooms overlooking the sea were amazing. In fact we could sit up in bed in the morning and almost believe we were on a ship at sea. Nothing to see except water! We were staying in Portscatho for a family wedding and many of the coastal letting properties were taken by friends and family so we got to see quite a few of the other properties. Although a lot of them were grander and perhaps had more furniture in them than ours we, without exception preferred Maralane. The beds were a delight to sleep in, so many rented holiday homes have less than comfy bedding, and all the bed linen was from the white company so we felt quite at home. Portscatho was lovely and we had breakfast at Tatams, often lunch at the Hidden Hut and sometimes evening meals in the local pub. We also cooked in the very well stocked kitchen. The coast paths round the area are mostly easy walking, especially to the very scenic St. Anthony's Head - we parked the car at Porth, bought coffee and rolls from the van and walked from there. The path from Portloe to Carne is more rugged. But you don't really need a car at all as the paths are so accessible. The farm shop at Curgurrell is very well stocked with fish, vegetables, eggs and some cakes. Our grandchildren joined us for a few days and delighted in the close proximity of the beach for rock pool exploring, building sand castles and swimming. Our daughter and son-in-law swam with a seal one memorable rainy evening. A problem with the sink in the en-suite bathroom was sorted out quickly and efficiently. We left a well laid fire that only needed a match putting to it for the next people and would love to have had the same courtesy extended to us on our arrival evening. Alas, only 2 logs remained in the basket and we were too late to buy any from the local shop. But this is only a small point in what otherwise was a fantastic holiday home. We would love to return.

  • Review Submitted: 02-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for such a lovely review. This kind of review is always so helpful to guests, with the suggestions of where to eat and shop; thank you! I am glad also that you loved the house, as we do, and that the problem with the sink was fixed quickly. The log question, you are right, is not really fully resolved, and I will put some thought into that aspect next year. I hope you come back again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous location, perfect home away from home.

  • 5 of 5

As soon as we arrived at Maralane and took in the amazing views we forgot the hideous 9 hour journey! The house was perfect for us; clean, cosy and with a lovely welcoming feel. The view was stunning, especially when the sun shone, and the proximity to the village and beaches meant we had an amazing week away relaxing and spending time together as a family.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay, and found the house just right!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful location, comfortable stay. A home from home.

  • 5 of 5

As usual when we visit Portscatho the weather was very good allowing full enjoyment of the area. Daily walks along local cliff paths and beaches. Lunch/refreshments at The Hidden Hut at Porthcurnick beach - a gem of a facility, excellent coffees at Tatum's in the village, good dinners at the local pub and a special treat with fine dining with our daughter at the nearby Driftwood Hotel/restaurant.

We have over the years stayed at a number of properties in Portscatho. Maralane remains our favourite. It feels spacious with simple coastal décor and gives direct views of the sea and coast from the front rooms and patio. The beds and bedding are very good quality giving a comfortable night's sleep, with en-suites now to the main bedroom and top floor attic, as well as the simple and spacious family bathroom.

We are now in our mid seventies so the easy and relatively flat walk to beach and village shop, pub etc is a major plus. The parking in front of the house is a boon in an old village, and a necessity for us. Equipment is good, without pretence of luxury, even for a larger group or family such as we have visited with in the past. Unfortunately the Sky television system was not working throughout our stay and that was a nuisance, but we could stream on our laptop using the wifi system each evening. Ditto the washing machine failed towards the end of our stay.

Highly recommended despite the niggles.

  • Review Submitted: 26-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Maralane again. I am so sorry you had those two problems to contend with. Just to let you, and future guests(!) know, the washing machine has been mended, and we have replaced the sky TV system with a new smart TV, which will provide all the usual TV channels as well as allowing you to use your normal netflix, Amazon, or similar subscription. Jennifer
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Lovely cottage with wonderful views

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed a relaxing break in a beautiful part of Cornwall. The cottage had everything we needed and gave us a good base to explore the county.

  • Review Submitted: 08-Nov-2016
  • Date of Stay: October 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Coast/Beach:

Portscatho itself has a fishing harbour - with a couple of local boats still landing fish daily. At low tide there is a pleasant little beach with excellent rock pooling!

This is a great spot to swim from as well.

Just a few minutes walk along the cliff path (turn left out of the house) is a gorgeous National Trust beach, with a knock-out beach cafe. Again, great for swimming and body boarding in an Easterly breeze.

Percuil inland and upriver from St Mawes is perfect for sailing and boating

Travel:

Portscatho is on the Roseland peninsula. Truro (with its mainline station) is half an hour's drive away, across the King Harry ferry or by the main road.

Newquay airport is 24 miles away.

There are buses that connect Truro and St Mawes to Portscatho.

From St Mawes you can take ferries to Falmouth, and Place on St Anthony's head. Most of the extensive network of ferries run year round.

The cottage is right on the South West coastal path.

Distances:

Truro 15 miles - cathedral town with good shopping

St Mawes 6 miles - ferries to Falmouth, shopping, the Tresanton hotel, excellent dining options

Falmouth 16 miles (or by ferry from St Mawes) - National Maritime museum, cinema, lots of independent shops, marina

Eden project - 20 miles

Porthcurno 45 miles - Minack Theatre and Porthcurno telegraph museum

Further Details:

The village has an excellent pub, under new management. There is also a harbour club, that has regular open mic nights, films etc. The Boathouse in the village is a pleasant low key restaurant and tea rooms.

The village shop stocks a wide range of food, newspapers, drinks etc, and has a very good bakery.

There is also a Post Office, doctor's surgery, and various art galleries in the village.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Portscatho, Cornwall

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Winter
3 Nov 2017 - 21 Dec 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
4 night minimum stay
£500
for 4 nights
From
£125
£575
 
 
Christmas/New Year
22 Dec 2017 - 4 Jan 2018
Changeover Day: Friday
4 night minimum stay
£600
for 4 nights
From
£150
£600
 
 
Winter
5 Jan 2018 - 29 Mar 2018
Changeover Day: Friday
4 night minimum stay
£500
for 4 nights
From
£125
£500
 
 
Easter
30 Mar 2018 - 5 Apr 2018
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
£650
for 7 nights
£650
 
 
Spring
6 Apr 2018 - 24 May 2018
Changeover Day: Friday
4 night minimum stay
£500
for 4 nights
From
£125
£625
 
 
Early Summer
25 May 2018 - 5 Jul 2018
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
£675
for 7 nights
£675
 
 
Summer
6 Jul 2018 - 30 Aug 2018
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
£925
for 7 nights
£925
 
 
Autumn
31 Aug 2018 - 25 Oct 2018
Changeover Day: Friday
4 night minimum stay
£575
for 4 nights
From
£144
£575
 
 
Winter
26 Oct 2018 - 20 Dec 2018
Changeover Day: Friday
4 night minimum stay
£500
for 4 nights
From
£125
£575
 
 
Christmas/New Year
21 Dec 2018 - 3 Jan 2019
Changeover Day: Friday
4 night minimum stay
£600
for 4 nights
From
£150
£600
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £60

Booking Notes:
Payment may be made by credit card at the time of booking.
An additional 10% security deposit is taken at the same time as full payment is due, and this is to cover damages etc. This deposit is returned within 2 weeks of the end of your stay, all being well with the property.

Changeover Day:
Changeover day is Friday.
Flexibility and short stays are possible outside of main holiday periods.
Please arrive after 4pm to allow the changeover to happen; and at the end of your stay please leave by 10am.

Notes on prices:
Prices are per week and include: linen and towels, cleaning before and after your stay, parking for one car in front of the house, wifi.
Local phone calls are included, but any long distance, special number or overseas calls will be deducted from your security deposit.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable