OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

The Steading Farm Cottage In The Trossachs With Pool And Hot Tub

People4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Indoor Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Cottage in Gartmore, Nr. Stirling, Scotland - Peaceful Rural Location

The Steading at Back Borland holiday cottages. Situated in the fantastic location of the Trossachs National Park, these beautifully renovated 18th-century barn conversions, accessed via a rough track, lie in a peaceful location offering breathtaking views over Ben Lomond and the Menteith Hills. Gartmore is the perfect setting for those who love outdoor pursuits, with hundreds of kilometres of forest track easily accessible. Back Borland has two large fields, both with a stream running through them, in which guests are welcome to take children and/or dogs. The ‘endless’ swimming-pool provides optimal swimming conditions for a single swimmer and the current can be adjusted to a preferred level of difficulty. Even without the current, it still makes a lovely sized pool in which children can swim and have fun.

Notes on accommodation:

Accessed by a rough farm track; please note that vehicles with a low ground clearance may struggle.

More Details

Owner
Rosie Lang
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
23 September, 2017

About Rosie Lang

Back Borland Holiday Cottages is run by Rosie Lang and her husband Dave. We provide great holiday accommodation, friendly service, in an amazing location.

Rosie Lang purchased this cottage in 2003

Why Rosie Lang chose Scotland

Stunning location with high degree of privacy.

Extremely centrally located.

Loch Lomond 20 mins / 10 miles

Glasgow 45 mins / 26 miles

Stirling 30 mins / 20 miles

Edinburgh 1 hour / 50 miles

What makes this cottage unique

Peace and quiet, coupled with excellent leisure facilities seldom found shared between only 2 cottages.

Guestbook comments from the owner

"Had a fantastic weekend break! So relaxing, & loved the personal touches as well as the 'endless' pool & hot tub. Highly recommend it & can't wait to come back!" - Julie, Glasgow 19-1-2014



"Beautiful cottage, loved the Cava & cake! Will definitely be back, & have already recommended the place!" Robert & Kelly, Glasgow, 3-1-2014



"Thank you for a lovely relaxing break, you made us feel really welcome. Cottage amazing, scenery amazing, hot tub amazing!" Ann & John, Chapelhall, 11-10-2013
Sep 2013
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Gartmore in Stirling

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • rural
  • village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
  • Jacuzzi bath and shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4 (1 Bedroom) Notes on bedrooms: 1 double bedroom + double sofa bed in lounge
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Pool
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Accessed by a rough farm track; please note that vehicles with a low ground clearance may struggle. Outside: Adjacent garden area with summer house, BBQ available. Heated 'endless' swimming pool (16' x 10') and hot tub with fabulous views, shared with just one other cottage, each having 4 hours per day private use, as well as plenty of '1st come, 1st served' time. Utility Room: Washing machine and drier available in out building next door. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Linen and towels provide. Please bring extra towels if you are intending to use the leisure facilities.

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(14 traveller reviews)

78% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
14% Complete
The Steading Farm Cottage In The Trossachs With Pool And Hot Tub
average rating of 4.214286 based on 15 reviews
5

Nice cottage with amazing views

  • 5 of 5

Great stay with friendly owners hot tub had amazing views I would defiantly recommend a visit for anyone fantastic

  • Review Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the lovely review. We put a lot of time and effort into our cottages, and trying to ensure our guests have a great time while they're here, so we really appreciate your positive feedback. We hope you'll be back for a third visit next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Overused cottage

  • 1 of 5

On arrival there was no one around, even though we arrrived at the agreed time. Afterwards we saw that Rosie had send us an e-mail earlier that day but since we were on the road since 2 o'clock in the morning without access to internet we hadn't received it. The email said that the door was unlocked and that we could go in, they would arrive later than agreed. When we left, we looked for Rosie but again there was no one around. We went knocking on the door but no one answered. So we left a note asking to contact us by email to confirm that everything was OK for our refund for the deposit. The next day we still hadn't received and email so I send one myself asking the same question. This time we did receive confirmation.

When we arrived we got a very short tour around the cottage and property, they were obviously in a hurry. We were very disappointed when we saw the cottage. The pictures we saw beforehand were clearly shot with a wide angle lens, the cottage is a lot smaller than expected. Furthermore the cottage is extremely overused. The bed is very old and squeaky and and the mattress is definitely in for a replacement. This is the same for the kitchen and all its supplies. The kitchen utensils are very old, bring your own pan if you like an egg that doesn't completely stick to the bottom of the pan. We went to a supermarket to buy a new pan because it wasn't possible to cook anything in the provided kitchen utensils. Finally, the cottage wasn't very clean when we arrived, for example the kitchen was very sticky.

We drive a jeep so the bumpy road to the cottage wasn't a problem for us. On the other hand, if you drive a 'normal' car I can imagine that the bumpy access road might cause problems and damage to your car.

To end, I would like to say that the location of the cottage is good for visiting the Loch Lomond and Stirling area which was very nice.

We really don't like to write a negative review but this is how we feel about the cottage and we wouldn't come back here.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is frustrating to receive a negative review where it appears the customer is desperate to put the proverbial boot in! We take great pride in our customer service and are not sure what we did to offend them. Due to a personal circumstances, we could not be at the cottages at the designated time and had timeously sent them information to this effect; they had our contact details in case of any issues. The cottage had been left open for their convenience. The refund mechanism is operated entirely through HomeAway automatically; a fact they seemed unaware of. No indication had been given to us during their stay that they had any issues despite being asked and the customer having plenty of opportunities to do so. Is the cottage the overused hell hole described here? No. The property was refurbished only 10 months ago with new floors and carpets throughout. It is professionally cleaned between customers. The mattress was replaced for new 6 months ago. We could find only a few of the described issues with the cookware which have been resolved. We do take negative responses very seriously and always take appropriate action when necessary.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent secret escape

  • 5 of 5

Fantastic retreat to relax, lovely cottage with great amenities, hot tub was amazing just looking onto the beautiful scenery, Rosie was the perfect host with a bottle of prossecco and homemade flapjacks on arrival, definitely the place to go for a chilled break

  • Review Submitted: Jun 23, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the lovely review, Helen! It was a delight having you both to stay, especially as you both obviously loved the place so much, and we shall look forward to your next visit. Rosie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely peaceful cottage with a great view from the hot tub

  • 5 of 5

Comfortable cottage with good facilities, very helpful host Rosie. The road in to the cottage is very bumpy and uneven but our car was fine

  • Review Submitted: Apr 18, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the lovely review! We hope to welcome you back to our larger cottage next time, if you still like that idea. Thank you, too, for leaving the cottage so clean and tidy, it was very much appreciated. Rosie
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderfully relaxing break, very welcoming.

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic stay at The Steading Cottage and Rosie and Dave were very welcoming and helpful when we had any questions. Flapjacks and bubbly on arrival were a bonus! The cottage was very well presented, clean and the addition of a log burner made it even more cosy. We loved having use of the hot tub and 'endless' swimming pool and although we understandably had a scheduled slot, the pool and hot tub were empty whenever we wanted to use them. The track leading to the cottage was indeed very bumpy and long, yet not a problem as we were well informed before our visit.

Our visit to the cottage was a great way to celebrate our engagement and we had a fabulous time. Hopefully next time we'll stay longer! Thankyou :)

  • Review Submitted: Dec 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

The property is excellent and welcoming. Everything you could wish for in a holiday break.

  • 5 of 5

We were delighted with 'The Steading' very warm and cosy and loved the wood burning stove. The facilities were excellent, loved the pool and the hot tub. Couldn't fault it at all. Would definitely come again and have already recommended it to a friend. Rosie and Dave were very friendly and welcoming.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for such a great review, it's much appreciated! Thanks also for recommending to a friend...and for leaving the cottage spotless! We look forward to welcoming you next time. Many thanks, Rosie & Dave
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Travel:

Glasgow and Edinburgh airports both av=bout 1 hours drive. Car essential. Free parking.

Distances:

Stirling 20 miles

Glasgow 26 miles

Edinburgh 50 miles

Further Details:

Fantastic central location for reaching lochs, mountains, cities, castles. Loch Lomond just 15 minutes drive; watersports and pony trekking both available locally. Good village pub.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Gartmore, United Kingdom

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Rate 16
26 Aug 2017 - 27 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£276
for 3 nights
From
£92
£395
 
 
Rate 17
28 Oct 2017 - 18 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£180
for 3 nights
From
£60
£260
 
 
Rate 18
19 Dec 2017 - 5 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£475
for 7 nights
£475
 
 
Low season 2018
6 Jan 2018 - 29 Mar 2018
3 night minimum stay
£180
for 3 nights
From
£60
£260
 
 
Easter 2018
30 Mar 2018 - 14 Apr 2018
7 night minimum stay
£350
for 7 nights
£350
 
 
Spring 2018
15 Apr 2018 - 24 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
£225
for 3 nights
From
£75
£350
 
 
Summer 2018
25 May 2018 - 13 Jul 2018
3 night minimum stay
£285
for 3 nights
From
£95
£395
 
 
Peak 2018
14 Jul 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£525
for 7 nights
£525
 
 
Autumn 2018
1 Sep 2018 - 2 Nov 2018
3 night minimum stay
£285
for 3 nights
From
£95
£395
 
 
Winter 2018
3 Nov 2018 - 20 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
£195
for 3 nights
From
£65
£275
 
 
Festive 2018
21 Dec 2018 - 4 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
£495
for 7 nights
£495
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£225
for 3 nights
From
£75
£350
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £10
Damage Deposit £50

Booking Notes:
Please contact owner. 25% deposit required to secure booking, balance due 6 weeks prior to arrival.


Changeover Day:
Please contact owner. Saturday is our usual changeover day, but we can be flexible with this. Please ask!

Notes on accommodation:
Accessed by a rough farm track; please note that vehicles with a low ground clearance may struggle.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable