OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

The Steading Farm Cottage In The Trossachs With Pool And Hot Tub

Overview

Property

Updated: 03-Dec-2016
Cottage in Gartmore, Nr. Stirling, Scotland - Peaceful Rural Location

The Steading at Back Borland holiday cottages. Situated in the fantastic location of the Trossachs National Park, these beautifully renovated 18th-century barn conversions, accessed via a rough track, lie in a peaceful location offering breathtaking views over Ben Lomond and the Menteith Hills. Gartmore is the perfect setting for those who love outdoor pursuits, with hundreds of kilometres of forest track easily accessible. Back Borland has two large fields, both with a stream running through them, in which guests are welcome to take children and/or dogs. The ‘endless’ swimming-pool provides optimal swimming conditions for a single swimmer and the current can be adjusted to a preferred level of difficulty. Even without the current, it still makes a lovely sized pool in which children can swim and have fun.

  • Sleeps 4
  • 1 Bedroom
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Swimming pool
  • Barbecue
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Back Borland Holiday Cottages is run by Rosie Lang and her husband Dave. We provide great holiday accommodation, friendly service, in an amazing location.

Call Owner
Speaks English

Guestbook comments from the owner

"Had a fantastic weekend break! So relaxing, & loved the personal touches as well as the 'endless' pool & hot tub. Highly recommend it & can't wait to come back!" - Julie, Glasgow 19-1-2014



"Beautiful cottage, loved the Cava & cake! Will definitely be back, & have already recommended the place!" Robert & Kelly, Glasgow, 3-1-2014



"Thank you for a lovely relaxing break, you made us feel really welcome. Cottage amazing, scenery amazing, hot tub amazing!" Ann & John, Chapelhall, 11-10-2013
Sep 2013
  • 1 of 1

8 Reviews

4.6
based on 8 holidaymaker reviews

5

The property is excellent and welcoming. Everything you could wish for in a holiday break.

  • 5 of 5

We were delighted with 'The Steading' very warm and cosy and loved the wood burning stove. The facilities were excellent, loved the pool and the hot tub. Couldn't fault it at all. Would definitely come again and have already recommended it to a friend. Rosie and Dave were very friendly and welcoming.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for such a great review, it's much appreciated! Thanks also for recommending to a friend...and for leaving the cottage spotless! We look forward to welcoming you next time. Many thanks, Rosie & Dave
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Absolutely stunning stay!

  • 5 of 5

My wife, 7 year old daughter and I had the most relaxing and wonderful week! Perfect surroundings and spending multiple evenings in the hot tub at sunset with the stunning scenery has certainly led to a hot tub now being required at home, though we'll just have to imagine the landscape I expect!

We had everything we needed and the addition of the wood burning fire was just sublime. After being in the hot tub, quick shower then lighting a roaring fire to sit down and play games at the table whilst having wine and cheese was the perfect thing for a break from the city. The surrounding area has LOTS to offer with Glasgow and Stirling being pretty much equidistant from the cabin and the locals are so friendly. Rosie and Dave are both lovely people who will endeavour to ensure that all is as it should be and they even gave us a lift into Gartmore on the first evening after Rosie had made us some small pancakes. All-in-all it was perfect and it's safe to say that we will most definitely be back.

P.S. my daughter is insistent that I mention about the chickens as she found them most charming!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for such a glowing review! We were delighted to see you clearly enjoying your holiday, both in terms of the cottage itself, and making the most of the fantastic area which is literally on our doorstep. It was a real pleasure having you all to stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Many thanks, Rosie & Dave
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Beautiful location and could be a wonderful holiday cottage

  • 2 of 5

Really unhappy to be negative about our stay. We didn't get off to a good start, after a 6 hour drive we arrived at the farm track leading up to the cottage, despite the warning that cars with low clearance may struggle we thought we would be fine in our focus estate, I am amazed our car survived the week without any damage. It filled us with dread every time we left the cottage. We arrived half an hour before the time stated to be told the cottage wasn't ready and could see the cleaner sat at the table. This is the first time we have been turned away on arrival at a cottage and had to go back down the dreaded track in the pouring rain. Once we were permitted access we were disappointed at the standard of cleaning, including hairs on top of the cistern and mess under the dining table. We had booked for 3 people but there were no sheets left to make up the sofa bed. There were also no bath towels left. The bedding was tired and needed replacing, 3 pillows making up the thickness of one and a very lumpy and stale smelling duvet. On a positive we were left a bottle of bubbly, but we already felt on a downer for our holiday. We weren't shown where we could toilet our dogs nor were we shown where our garden was. The first night we were woken by someone walking by the cottage at 12.45 am and the following night after 11 pm by a car parked outside the cottage and some very noisy and inconsiderate people whom I assume were visiting the owners. The visitors continued throughout the week, parking directly outside our cottage and dining area which was intrusive whilst we were eating our dinner. Whilst the pool and hot tub were great, the pool area was tired and the landscaping outside was poor. With a little bit of TLC this could be a great place.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so sorry that there were aspects of your stay at the Steading that you didn't enjoy. We are puzzled at your complaint about the cottage not being ready when, by your own admission, you arrived earlier than the check-in time; you actually arrived over an hour and a half before our 3pm check in, which perhaps explains why our cleaner was having a short lunch break. In turn, she tried to finish the cottage so you could come in ASAP and we are sorry that she obviously missed a few details on that basis, and that towels and sofa bed bedding weren't put in. These were provided for you as soon as you asked, though I'm sorry that you had to do so. We try very hard to make sure that people don't park in front of the window; again, apologies if this happened on occasion. The track is an ongoing issue as it doesn't belong to us. Most guest assure us that, when taken slowly and carefully, they manage it fine, even in most standard cars. We shall take action on all your points, and thank you for bringing these to our attention; all customer feedback is taken very seriously.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

View of the Highlands

  • 5 of 5

This is a lovely get away right at the edges of the

Highlands. The owners are welcoming and very nice people. Especially sitting in the hot tube and looking at the landscape was very relaxing. There are a lot of things to do and see in the area. Thanks Rosi for the great time we had.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was lovely meeting you and your family, Maren, and we thank you for taking time to write such a positive review for us. We hope to see you again if you choose to come back for another Scottish visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic week exploring the Trossachs and Lochs and Steading Farm Cottage was an ideal base to facilitate this due to it's location. The cottage is also really rural with fantastic views from the hot tub. Rosie was really friendly and helpful. The cottage was really comfortable and really quite luxurious and excellent value for money.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your lovely review, Simon! We really enjoyed having you to stay, and are always delighted when it's so apparent that guests are loving the place as much as we do! We hope to welcome you again soon, Many thanks, Rosie & Dave
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

An outstanding location & welcome, perfect for Lomond/Trossachs exploration

  • 5 of 5

We had a fabulous stay and while the weather was ridiculously good, it would have been wonderful regardless. From the moment we started the booking process back in January Rosie was very helpful and immediately said no problem to expanding our stay to 10 days which couldn't be done on the website. We were then able to arrive a little earlier than stated and were warmly welcomed with some chilled prosecco and freshly baked scones!! The Steading itself was lovely, clean, very cosy yet airy too, plenty of space, excellent Jacuzzi bath!!

Of course the swimming pool and hot tub are amazing add-ons but without them this is still a simply fabulous and remote yet accessible place to have access to the amazing wilderness that surrounds.

Highly recommended!

  • Review Submitted: May 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow-a true 5 star review! Thanks so much for this, Daniel, and we really hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon, Rosie & Dave
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

From the Owner

Stunning location with high degree of privacy. Extremely centrally located. Loch Lomond 20 mins / 10 miles Glasgow 45 mins / 26 miles Stirling 30 mins / 20 miles Edinburgh 1 hour / 50 miles

Activity and Interests

Travel:

Glasgow and Edinburgh airports both av=bout 1 hours drive. Car essential. Free parking.

Distances:

Stirling 20 miles

Glasgow 26 miles

Edinburgh 50 miles

Further Details:

Fantastic central location for reaching lochs, mountains, cities, castles. Loch Lomond just 15 minutes drive; watersports and pony trekking both available locally. Good village pub.

Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Rate 10
29 Oct 2016 - 20 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
£168
for 3 nights
From
£56
£240
 
 
Rate 11
21 Dec 2016 - 3 Jan 2017
7 night minimum stay
£450
for 7 nights
£450
 
 
Rate 12
4 Jan 2017 - 31 Mar 2017
3 night minimum stay
£168
for 3 nights
From
£56
£240
 
 
Rate 13
1 Apr 2017 - 26 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£225
for 3 nights
From
£75
£350
 
 
Rate 14
27 May 2017 - 14 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
£292
for 3 nights
From
£98
£425
 
 
Rate 15
15 Jul 2017 - 25 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£495
for 7 nights
£495
 
 
Rate 16
26 Aug 2017 - 27 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£276
for 3 nights
From
£92
£395
 
 
Rate 17
28 Oct 2017 - 22 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£180
for 3 nights
From
£60
£260
 
 
Rate 18
23 Dec 2017 - 5 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£475
for 7 nights
£475
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£150
for 3 nights
From
£50
£350
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £50
Pet Fee £10

Booking Notes:
Please contact owner. 25% deposit required to secure booking, balance due 6 weeks prior to arrival.


Changeover Day:
Please contact owner. Saturday is our usual changeover day, but we can be flexible with this. Please ask!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 03-Dec-2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

From the Owner

Peace and quiet, coupled with excellent leisure facilities seldom found shared between only 2 cottages.

Property Type

  • cottage

Theme

  • Away From It All

General

  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...

Kitchen

  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob

Dining

  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television

Pool / Spa

  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Pool

Suitability

  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm

Location Type

  • rural
  • village

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure
  • Jacuzzi bath and shower

Bedrooms

  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4 (1 Bedroom) Notes on bedrooms: 1 double bedroom + double sofa bed in lounge

Outside

  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue

Meals

  • Self-catering

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website

Notes:

  • Notes on accommodation: Accessed by a rough farm track; please note that vehicles with a low ground clearance may struggle. Outside: Adjacent garden area with summer house, BBQ available. Heated 'endless' swimming pool (16' x 10') and hot tub with fabulous views, shared with just one other cottage, each having 4 hours per day private use, as well as plenty of '1st come, 1st served' time. Utility Room: Washing machine and drier available in out building next door. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Linen and towels provide. Please bring extra towels if you are intending to use the leisure facilities.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot