OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

The Steading Farm Cottage In The Trossachs With Pool And Hot Tub

Bedrooms 1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Indoor Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Internet
  • Parking


About the property

Cottage in Gartmore, Nr. Stirling, Scotland - Peaceful Rural Location

The Steading at Back Borland holiday cottages. Situated in the fantastic location of the Trossachs National Park, these beautifully renovated 18th-century barn conversions, accessed via a rough track, lie in a peaceful location offering breathtaking views over Ben Lomond and the Menteith Hills. Gartmore is the perfect setting for those who love outdoor pursuits, with hundreds of kilometres of forest track easily accessible. Back Borland has two large fields, both with a stream running through them, in which guests are welcome to take children and/or dogs. The ‘endless’ swimming-pool provides optimal swimming conditions for a single swimmer and the current can be adjusted to a preferred level of difficulty. Even without the current, it still makes a lovely sized pool in which children can swim and have fun.

Notes on accommodation:

Accessed by a rough farm track; please note that vehicles with a low ground clearance may struggle.

More Details

Rosie Lang
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
19 February, 2018

About Rosie Lang

Back Borland Holiday Cottages is run by Rosie Lang and her husband Dave. We provide great holiday accommodation, friendly service, in an amazing location.

Rosie Lang purchased this cottage in 2003

Why Rosie Lang chose Gartmore

Stunning location with high degree of privacy.

Extremely centrally located.

Loch Lomond 20 mins / 10 miles

Glasgow 45 mins / 26 miles

Stirling 30 mins / 20 miles

Edinburgh 1 hour / 50 miles

What makes this cottage unique

Peace and quiet, coupled with excellent leisure facilities seldom found shared between only 2 cottages.

Guestbook comments from the owner

"Had a fantastic weekend break! So relaxing, & loved the personal touches as well as the 'endless' pool & hot tub. Highly recommend it & can't wait to come back!" - Julie, Glasgow 19-1-2014

"Beautiful cottage, loved the Cava & cake! Will definitely be back, & have already recommended the place!" Robert & Kelly, Glasgow, 3-1-2014

"Thank you for a lovely relaxing break, you made us feel really welcome. Cottage amazing, scenery amazing, hot tub amazing!" Ann & John, Chapelhall, 11-10-2013
Sep 2013
  • 1 of 1


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Gartmore in Stirling

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • rural
  • village
  • Away From It All
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
  • Jacuzzi bath and shower
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4 (1 Bedroom) Notes on bedrooms: 1 double bedroom + double sofa bed in lounge
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Pool
Notes on accommodation: Accessed by a rough farm track; please note that vehicles with a low ground clearance may struggle. Outside: Adjacent garden area with summer house, BBQ available. Heated 'endless' swimming pool (16' x 10') and hot tub with fabulous views, shared with just one other cottage, each having 4 hours per day private use, as well as plenty of '1st come, 1st served' time. Utility Room: Washing machine and drier available in out building next door. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Linen and towels provide. Please bring extra towels if you are intending to use the leisure facilities.


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(17 traveller reviews)

82% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
11% Complete
The Steading Farm Cottage In The Trossachs With Pool And Hot Tub
average rating of 4.352941 based on 18 reviews

Tranquil and relaxing cottage with everything you need

  • 5 of 5

Just wanted to thank you for a utterly relaxing trip. The cottage was perfect with everything you need. The views from the hot tub was something else. I had the most enjoyable birthday. The welcome gifts of flapjack and bubbles was a lovely touch. Our dog loved the fire and the fresh air. We would love to come back it was just perfect!

Jen,Robert & Alfie

  • Review Submitted: 28-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fantastic Getaway

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed a fantastic 3 night break at The Steading Farm Cottage. It really is in the middle of nowhere so perfect for a romantic break or as a base for exploring The Trossachs.

The cottage itself has everything you need including one of the comfiest couches we have had in a holiday home. The log burning stove and Jacuzzi bath were fantastic.

There is very little light pollution in the area so watching the stars from the hot tub is a must.

The prosecco and home baking on the table when we arrived were just the cherries on top of a very creamy cake.

  • Review Submitted: 13-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the wonderful review, Jill! We hope very much to welcome you back soon. Gladto hear you enjoyed the home baking and fizz - and that you had great starry skies from the hot tub!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Peaceful retreat 24th- 27th October

  • 5 of 5

Had a lovely few days away at The Steadings.

Prosecco and cakes on arrival . Set in a lovely location . Accommodation was clean and had everything we needed. Nothing was too much trouble for Rosie during our stay.

Grandson loved the pool and hot tub. Ideal location for peace and quiet and some lovely walks very close by. If you want to get away from it all for a few days then try this place out

Ged & Jean

  • Review Submitted: 28-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Ged and Jean, Thanks so much for the great review, it's much appreciated, as was the lovely comment in the visitors' book: so pleased that you hope to come and stay again, we shall look forward to welcoming you next time! Thanks also for leaving the cottage immaculate! Best wishes to you all, Rosie and Dave
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice cottage with amazing views

  • 5 of 5

Great stay with friendly owners hot tub had amazing views I would defiantly recommend a visit for anyone fantastic

  • Review Submitted: 30-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the lovely review. We put a lot of time and effort into our cottages, and trying to ensure our guests have a great time while they're here, so we really appreciate your positive feedback. We hope you'll be back for a third visit next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Overused cottage

  • 1 of 5

On arrival there was no one around, even though we arrrived at the agreed time. Afterwards we saw that Rosie had send us an e-mail earlier that day but since we were on the road since 2 o'clock in the morning without access to internet we hadn't received it. The email said that the door was unlocked and that we could go in, they would arrive later than agreed. When we left, we looked for Rosie but again there was no one around. We went knocking on the door but no one answered. So we left a note asking to contact us by email to confirm that everything was OK for our refund for the deposit. The next day we still hadn't received and email so I send one myself asking the same question. This time we did receive confirmation.

When we arrived we got a very short tour around the cottage and property, they were obviously in a hurry. We were very disappointed when we saw the cottage. The pictures we saw beforehand were clearly shot with a wide angle lens, the cottage is a lot smaller than expected. Furthermore the cottage is extremely overused. The bed is very old and squeaky and and the mattress is definitely in for a replacement. This is the same for the kitchen and all its supplies. The kitchen utensils are very old, bring your own pan if you like an egg that doesn't completely stick to the bottom of the pan. We went to a supermarket to buy a new pan because it wasn't possible to cook anything in the provided kitchen utensils. Finally, the cottage wasn't very clean when we arrived, for example the kitchen was very sticky.

We drive a jeep so the bumpy road to the cottage wasn't a problem for us. On the other hand, if you drive a 'normal' car I can imagine that the bumpy access road might cause problems and damage to your car.

To end, I would like to say that the location of the cottage is good for visiting the Loch Lomond and Stirling area which was very nice.

We really don't like to write a negative review but this is how we feel about the cottage and we wouldn't come back here.

  • Review Submitted: 23-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is frustrating to receive a negative review where it appears the customer is desperate to put the proverbial boot in! We take great pride in our customer service and are not sure what we did to offend them. Due to a personal circumstances, we could not be at the cottages at the designated time and had timeously sent them information to this effect; they had our contact details in case of any issues. The cottage had been left open for their convenience. The refund mechanism is operated entirely through HomeAway automatically; a fact they seemed unaware of. No indication had been given to us during their stay that they had any issues despite being asked and the customer having plenty of opportunities to do so. Is the cottage the overused hell hole described here? No. The property was refurbished only 10 months ago with new floors and carpets throughout. It is professionally cleaned between customers. The mattress was replaced for new 6 months ago. We could find only a few of the described issues with the cookware which have been resolved. We do take negative responses very seriously and always take appropriate action when necessary.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Excellent secret escape

  • 5 of 5

Fantastic retreat to relax, lovely cottage with great amenities, hot tub was amazing just looking onto the beautiful scenery, Rosie was the perfect host with a bottle of prossecco and homemade flapjacks on arrival, definitely the place to go for a chilled break

  • Review Submitted: 23-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the lovely review, Helen! It was a delight having you both to stay, especially as you both obviously loved the place so much, and we shall look forward to your next visit. Rosie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Glasgow and Edinburgh airports both av=bout 1 hours drive. Car essential. Free parking.


Stirling 20 miles

Glasgow 26 miles

Edinburgh 50 miles

Further Details:

Fantastic central location for reaching lochs, mountains, cities, castles. Loch Lomond just 15 minutes drive; watersports and pony trekking both available locally. Good village pub.


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £10
Damage Deposit £50

Booking Notes:
Please contact owner. 25% deposit required to secure booking, balance due 6 weeks prior to arrival.

Changeover Day:
Please contact owner. Saturday is our usual changeover day, but we can be flexible with this. Please ask!

Notes on accommodation:
Accessed by a rough farm track; please note that vehicles with a low ground clearance may struggle.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.