OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Family house in the coastal village of Birdham , Nr. Chichester & the beaches

People12
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Separate WC's1
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

A modernised 6 bedroom house with views from every window & close to beaches

The costal village of Birdham is 3 miles to the West Wittering beaches,on the Coastal Path and a short walk to the Chichester & Birdham Marinas. At the end of the lane is the family friendly Cafe/Eatery (situated in Chichester Marina and overlooking the water. Open 7 days a week for daytime and evening dining. Booking necessary in the summer.

A well equipped house ideal for entertaining. A kitchen with an AGA, Electric cooker & hob opens into the family room with ample comfortable seating. A separate dining room seats 12 comfortably. The adjacent 2nd sitting room is an ideal room to get away and have a quiet read!

These rooms combined are great for entertaining and both have doors onto the patio and BBQ area.

There is ample parking in the drive for 6+ cars

There is a staircase at each end of the house. Above the family room & kitchen there are 2 en suite bedrooms. The far end of the house has 3 bedrooms and 1 family bathroom. the 6th bedroom is on the ground floor and there is a downstairs cloakroom and toilet.

The house sleeps 12 in 6 bedrooms. The 6th room is on the ground floor and has access to a downstairs cloakroom and toilet.

We will happily accept parties of 10 Please ask for a quote.

All bedrooms are light and airy with views over open countryside with high quality beds and duvets White Co bed linen

Within easy reach are the sandy beaches of the Witterings where Winsurfing & kite surfing are popular. Breakfast at Billy's on the beach is a nice option.They are open for lunch and dinner but you will need to book. The characterful cathedral city of Chichester, the many paths and cycle routes surrounding the Chichester Harbour estuary (including the Salterns Way) and a variety of great country pubs and restaurants too (we can recommend where to go and we have a good local taxi service). A little further away are the rolling hills of the South Downs and its country pubs and walks.

Finally, we are a short drive away from Goodwood Race Course and motor circuit, local golf courses, Portsmouth and the cathedral town of Arundel.

More Details

Owner
Mr J & Mrs A Goodhew
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
18 September, 2017

Why Mr J & Mrs A Goodhew chose West Sussex

after many years visiting friends and family in this area we decided that when we were able to leave London this is where we wanted to live - we have lived in Birdham for 33 years and love it. We consider we are very lucky to be able to live here and want our guests to enjoy this special area of outstanding natural beauty.

What makes this house unique

detached luxury house in a a beautiful country location

Aga in kitchen

lovingly maintained gardens surrounding the house

close to Chichester harbour

Estuary walks and cycle paths start at the front door

Eatery and bar at the end of the lane and other pubs/restaurants nearby

local beaches

private off street parking

.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We knew the area to be pretty and unspoilt and felt fortunate to have chosen a house offering spacious & elegant rooms. G F



Thanks for a wonderful stay. Your house is not only beautiful but it really feels like home. We had a lovely time and will definitely be back. I.C.



We are spreading the name up here in Scotland that Kinderhook is the place to stay when visiting West Sussex. It is a perfect luxury retreat. wow factor included! M.&M. R.



You could not have done more to make us comfortable in your beautiful home. We enjoyed our evening walks around the quiet estuary and our visits to Chichester and East Sussex. W & A



I really felt it was a second home away from my home. I will be planning another trip with my family next summer. thank you S.G
Aug 2013
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Chichester in Chichester District

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • rural
  • village
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , wash basin and toilet only
  • en suite bathroom to bedroom 1- with bath & separate shower. en suite bathroom to bedroom 2 with bath & shower over. bedrooms 3,4 & 5 with shared family bathroom with bath with shower over bath
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 12 (6 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms:. Bedroom 1 with king size bed & bath room. Bedroom 2 with twin beds & bathroom.. Bedroom 3 with king size bed, Bedroom 4 with twin bed. Bedroom 5 with a double bed with shared bathroom Bedroom 6 downstairs twin room no bathroom downstairs cloakroom and toilet
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • sailing
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Kinderhook is a no smoking house. . Outside: There is a large gas fired BBQ on the patio and a large table with outside lighting. There is in total 1/2 acre gardens with the easterly aspect having fine views over a wild meadow. To the west of the house there are gardens and gravel driveway with ample parking and views to the west over fields. Utility Room: Utility room with washing machine, dishwasher, separate dryer and microwave. Separate cloakroom. All bedrooms are supplied with White Co. cotton bed linen and towels We do not supply beach towel. Beach towels are not provided Other: If you would like to have a special lunch or dinner party catered for we can put you in touch with a good local chef/cook who would be happy to discuss your menu and give you suggestions. Just let us know at the time of booking.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(19 traveller reviews)

73% Complete
21% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Family house in the coastal village of Birdham , Nr. Chichester & the beaches
average rating of 4.631579 based on 20 reviews
5

Wife 80 th birthday celebration

  • 5 of 5

Kinderhook is a beautiful house In a beautiful well kept garden.

We had a sports day and BBQ.

A well equipped kitchen for those who love to cook .

Mr & M Goodhew recommended the chef Deb miller who cooked our

Wonderful celebration dinner enjoyed by all the family of 10.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 28, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Alan Thank you for your lovely review and I am so pleased that Deborah cooked a really nice celebration dinner for you all. Regards John
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Very Reluctantly Yours!

  • 2 of 5

There is no doubt that the house is beautiful and spacious. It has a lovely garden and is close to walking paths along the coast as well as the Marina.

However it has it's problems, it is a family house and despite renting it out you feel that you are sharing it with them! John hung around on Friday, Monday and Wednesday tending to his garden. This meant that we couldn't fully relax and felt on show. In the house the multiple locked doors and cupboards, along with signs saying private make you feel unwelcome. The furnishings and furniture are predominantly old fashioned and unsuited to rental and the last time (before this house) I saw carpet in bathrooms was 1980! (As a microbiologist I had to stop myself thinking about it!!!) The dark stains around all the edges spoke truth to the owners comments in the house instructions that "the carpets have been down some time" - if they had charged me for cleaning them I'd have been livid.

Almost as livid as I was about being charged a very VERY large fee extra because they'd changed another room to a bedroom and that's what they felt was reasonable for unlocking the door and changing two single beds!

This meant that one end of the house has four bedrooms and one (carpeted) bathroom, whilst the other end, up a separate staircase, has two en-suite (carpeted) rooms. The owner pointed out that there was an additional downstairs cloakroom, and there is, right at the other end of the house. Very handy - not!

Don't get me started on the dodgy electrics, being hounded out at 9.50 on changeover day, the aga (which you have to use unless you can cater for 12 with a single electric cooker), getting out of the place onto the main road ...

Large it is, Luxury it is not ..... your own .... it is not.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I was disappointed to read our first bad review in the 3 years we have been letting Kinderhook and I am sorry to hear that we were unable to give you an enjoyable stay at the house I will respond to each of your comments. Before I do so I would like to say that because you did not speak to me,even just a "hello" obviously there was no communication between us We do not live in the house but we do present it as a family house. I am sorry you did not like our choice of furnishings but ALL other guests have loved the cosy home from home feel. There are locked cupboards which we keep linen,stores and replacement items for the house. I hope you agree that you had ample storage space for your stay The carpets are in perfect condition cleaned regularly and a bathroom carpet was replaced last year The AGA and the large electric cooker and hob is ample for cooking for 12 guests. Unfortunately following a huge downpour and gale force winds the outside porch light filled with water which caused the electric to trip sorry but we did deal with it immediately i did email you and offered you the new twin bedroom I only offered it to you and you were under no obligation to take it . I am pleased you enjoyed the garden and to maintain it to its high standard it does have to be tended to every week. Our gardener was on holiday and I am sorry you felt you were being watched. I did 2 hours of grass cutting ,watering the pots and deadheading the roses and dahlias and generally do a quick tidy after the strong damaging winds We love pleasing our guests but sadly on this occasion we did not Regards john
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Perfect.

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful, spacious property. Lovely outside area. Had a great stay.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful house, well equipped, great location

  • 4 of 5

Home from home, great venue for a family gathering. House was lovely, had everything you might possibly need. The location was ideal though we barely scratched the surface of things to do. All in all highly recommend.

  • Review Submitted: May 21, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The perfect weekend away!

  • 5 of 5

I was part of a party of ten, who stayed at Kinderhook for two nights.

We were already excited by the photos on HomeAway, but when we arrived the house was even nicer than we anticipated! The house is huge, and there was plenty of room for everyone.

I'd really recommend this property. It's a superb location, the Boathouse Café was a short walk away for dinner, and the drive to West Wittering beach was easy. After check out we went to The Lamb for a roast dinner, which I would also recommend.

The perfect escape from city life for the weekend. Thank you!

  • Review Submitted: May 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Birthday weekend at Kinderhook

  • 4 of 5

Kinderhook is a lovely property. It was spotlessly clean and very well furnished. The beds were all made up with lovely linen and the towels provided were of a very good quality. The kitchen is well equipped with everything we needed. The location of the property is also beautiful.

The owner greeted us and showed us around. Unfortunately the DVD player was not working which was a slight irritation as we had hoped to watch a film over our stay. We had a small child in our party and had brought DVD's for his entertainment too. The property is not cheap to hire and I think a proper entertainment system should be provided.

On the whole though it was a very nice weekend at Kinderhook which we all very much.

  • Review Submitted: May 3, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Gatwick
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
chichester marina
Nearest Ferry
20 Miles
portsmouth
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
hunston
Nearest Train
6 Miles
chichester
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
M27 westbound
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
chichester marina
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
west wittering
Car: recommended

Special interest holidays:

Things to do locally

Art Courses, Birdham Pool.

Chichester Water tours. & fishing trips.

Chichester Festival Theatre

Pallant House Gallery

Goodwood home to horse racing, the Festival of Speed and the Revival meeting.

Many wonderful beaches at West Wittering and Bracklesham.

Walking & cycling on Salterns way just outside our front door

Coast/Beach:

We are within a 500 yards of the Birdham pool and Chichester marina

Many wonderful beaches at West Wittering and Bracklesham bay which are both 5 miles away.

Travel:

Gatwick Airport is 60 miles and 20 miles from Portsmouth ferry port. Dover is 2 1/2 hours away. Cars are recommended but if you enjoy walking the bus stop is 10 minutes from us with buses every 15 minutes to Chichester and west wittering

Distances:

Chichester is 6 miles Birdham is a small village with a local store

Fishbourne Roman Palace & gardens

20 minutes away, Portsmouth with its historic dockyard.

Arundel with its castle and cathedral.

Weald & Downland open-air museum Singletion.

West Dean gardens

Further Details:

Pubs & restaurants nearby which we enjoy

The Boat house café, Chichester marina

The Lamb, Chichester road

Samphire Restaurant

Crab & Lobster Mill Lane Sidlesham W Sussex

The Ship Inn Itchenor W Sussex

Crouchers hotel & restaurant

Local places you can walk to:-

The Boathouse Bistro, Chichester Marina with outside seating overlooking the water.

In good daytime weather The Ship Inn Itchenor and The Crown & Anchor Dell Quay

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Chichester, Sussex

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
2017
24 Jul 2017 - 21 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
£740
for 2 nights
From
£370
From
£750
Fri,Sat,Sun
£2,900
 
 
2018
1 Jan 2018 - 19 Jul 2018
2 night minimum stay
£740
for 2 nights
From
£370
From
£750
Fri,Sat,Sun
£2,900
 
 
summer 2018
20 Jul 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£2,900
for 7 nights
£2,900
 
 
2018
1 Sep 2018 - 20 Dec 2018
2 night minimum stay
£740
for 2 nights
From
£370
From
£750
Fri,Sat,Sun
£2,900
 
 
Standard price
2 night minimum stay
£1,600
for 2 nights
From
£800
£2,900
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Damage Deposit £250

Bank Holidays, Christmas & New Year - Special Rates Apply. Please email the owner for a quote.
All Goodwood Events a supplement is charged - please ask the owner for a quote
.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable