OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Large harbourside house in Birdham, Nr. Chichester, beaches & Goodwood.

People12
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Separate WC's1
Space 2,500 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Barbecue
  • Free Wifi
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

6 bedroom 3 bathrooms quiet coastal lane. mature garden with stunning views

A great house for entertaining. Open plan kitchen connecting to family sitting room. double doors open onto patio. Gas Weber BBQ

Large Utility Room with plenty of work tops and a double sink. full sized fridge, washing machine & Drying machine.Microwave and plenty of storage space!

The Kitchen with an AGA a full sized oven and electric hob .2 under work top fridge.

fully equipped with all you need for 12+ guests.

There is free Wi Fi Dining room seats 12+ door to garden.

The second sitting room is off the hallway.. Door to Patio .

The bedroooms:- Stairs leading to 2 en suite rooms each with own bathroom with bath & separate Shower. Bedroom 1: King size bed. Bedroom 2 : twin beds The main bedroom can sleep 2 more using single futons (this is by prior arrangement) At the other end of the house with 2nd staircase there are 3 further double bedrooms Bedroom 1: twin beds. Bedroom 2: a king sized bed. Bedroom 3 A double bed 1. bathroom with bath & power shower over bath The 6th twin bedroom is on the ground floor A nice sized room with downstairs cloakroom

All the bedrooms are light and airy with views over the open countryside. All the beds are high quality and each have White Co cotton bed linen and feather duvets & pillows.

.The garden surrounds the house. large patio There is a second patio at the front of the house with a small seating area. All rooms have views over the garden.

Beautiful locations the house is ideal for family gatherings, groups of friends, weekend breaks, Many local attractions including Goodwood Motor/horse racing ,Cahedral City of Chichester, Beaches ,sailing, surfing,fishing, boat trips (you can take a ferry across to Bosham from Itchenor) Birdwatching, coastal walkl 2 local golf courses

Good local pubs and restaurants and the Boathouse Cafe/Wine bar at the end of the lane. A family friendly restaurant serving good food and open all day & evening Stunning views over the harbour.. .

There is ample parking in the private drive for 6+ cars

The house is ideal for parties up to 12 people + babies We supply 1 travel cot and 1 high chair. The main bedroom is large enough for extra guests. Email me when booking to discuss your requirements and we will do our best.

Within easy reach are the sandy beaches of the Witterings where Winsurfing & kite surfing are popular. Breakfast at Billy's on the beach is a nice option.They are open for lunch and dinner but you will need to book. The characterful cathedral city of Chichester, the many paths and cycle routes surrounding the Chichester Harbour estuary (including the Salterns Way) and a variety of great country pubs and restaurants too (we can recommend where to go and we have a good local taxi service). A little further away are the rolling hills of the South Downs and its country pubs and walks.

Finally, we are a short drive away from Goodwood Race Course and motor circuit, local golf courses, Portsmouth and the cathedral town of Arundel.

More Details

Owner
Mr J & Mrs A Goodhew
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
18 April, 2018

About Mr J & Mrs A Goodhew

We have lived in this beautiful village for 30+ years. We love the water, sailing and coastal activities. Our grandchildren now visit from London and they spend their days messing about with small boats, & on the beach. Our sons have introduced them to sailing and are now keen and are involved with the local sailing club. We still enjoy the coastal walks and the boys love cycling along the coastal path and we all meet up in the Bistro cafe for a hot chocolate or a drink and snack in the local pub. We are an 1 /12 drive to London so often visit the city or spend a day walking on the South Downs followed by a pub lunch.

Mr J & Mrs A Goodhew purchased this house in 1990

Why Mr J & Mrs A Goodhew chose Chichester

Our parents lived in Birdham and after many years visiting family and friends we decided the time was right for us to move from London to Birdham. Kinderhook became avalable and we bought it. We have not looked back. It is a much loved family home

What makes this house unique

detached house in a a beautiful quiet country location

lovingly maintained gardens surrounding the house

close to Chichester & the harbour

Estuary walks and cycle paths start at the front door

Bistro/wine bar at the end of the lane (open all day serving breakfast ,coffees, lunch & evening meals ) overlooking the water other good pubs/restaurants nearby

local beaches

private off street parking

.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We knew the area to be pretty and unspoilt and felt fortunate to have chosen a house offering spacious & elegant rooms. G F



Thanks for a wonderful stay. Your house is not only beautiful but it really feels like home. We had a lovely time and will definitely be back. I.C.



We are spreading the name up here in Scotland that Kinderhook is the place to stay when visiting West Sussex. It is a perfect luxury retreat. wow factor included! M.&M. R.



You could not have done more to make us comfortable in your beautiful home. We enjoyed our evening walks around the quiet estuary and our visits to Chichester and East Sussex. W & A



I really felt it was a second home away from my home. I will be planning another trip with my family next summer. thank you S.G
Aug 2013
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Chichester in Chichester District

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Max. adults: 12
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • We do not accept all male parties All under 25s have to be with adults in the party A dog by arrangement with the owners
  • the house is rented to the 12 guests only.
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • rural
  • village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , wash basin and toilet only
  • There are three bathrooms Bathroom 1 is off the main bedroom and has a bath and separate shower cubicle. Bathroom 2 is off the twin room and has a shower over the bath. Both are good sized rooms There is a staircase to the two bedrooms and bathrooms Bathroom 3 is a family bathroom with shower over the bath. . Bedroom 6 on the ground There is a downstairs cloakroom with toilet & washbasin.
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 2 - 3 Single Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 6 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 2 Sofa bed/Futon
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 12 (6 Bedrooms) + 2 single futon beds in main bedroom (by arrangement with the owner) Notes on bedrooms:. Bedroom 1 king size bed in large bedroom with bath room with bath & separate shower. Bedroom 2 good quality 3' twin beds can be made into 6' bed. bathroom with shower over bath. Bedroom 3 with king size bed. Bedroom 4 with twin bed. Bedroom 5 with a double bed . Bedroom 6 downstairs nice sized twin bedroom (bed could also be linked to make king bed) This room does not have a bathroom. There is a cloakkroom on the ground floor. . These 3 rooms share a family bathroom and are approached by a second staircase. All beds will be made and we use White Co. cotton sheets on all the beds. We supply a bath towel and hand towel for each guest
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Kinderhook is a no smoking house. It is a large country house in an idylic location but close to the beaches, Chichester and many attractions in the area. Lovely local walks along the estuary and the coastal path. If you are looking for that special property which is more like a home and very comfortable Kinderhook is ideal Outside: the patio total 1/2 acre gardens with the easterly aspect having fine views over a wild meadow. To the west of the house there are gardens and gravel driveway with ample parking and views to the west over fields. . Other: If you would like to have a special lunch or dinner party catered for we can put you in touch with a good local chef/cook who would be happy to discuss your menu and give you suggestions. Just let us know at the time of booking.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(22 traveller reviews)

68% Complete
27% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
Large harbourside house in Birdham, Nr. Chichester, beaches & Goodwood.
average rating of 4.590909 based on 23 reviews
5

Perfect.

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful, spacious property. Lovely outside area. Had a great stay.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Fantastic!

  • 4 of 5

We had a brilliant 3 days at Kinderhook, during the booking process John and Audrey were very helpful and provided lots of useful information about the area. Their house is beautiful, I would definitely come back. Thank you again!

  • Review Submitted: 23-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we very much hope you come again. Regards John & Audrey.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Gainesville, VA
5

Impressive home

  • 5 of 5

Had a wonderful and comfortable stay at this gorgeous house! Comfortably held 12 people with plenty of space indoors and out. We cooked in each night and were able to find all the equipment we needed. Only down side is that four bedrooms in one wing share one bathroom but what do you expect with an old home? If you are all friends (which we were), you can share en suites and then everyone can be ready in the morning. The beds were comfortable, the water hot and the surroundings quiet.

  • Review Submitted: 27-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very good large house

  • 4 of 5

We had a great long weekend away helped with fantastic weather. House is kitted out to a high standard, especially in the kitchen which is well equipped. A concise summary sheet on how to use an Aga would have been helpful. The only thing that was a little odd is the house is rented on sleeping 12 and has very comfy beds for 12 but the lounge can only fit 7 on the settees so we got dining chairs for the others and slotted them in around the settees which wasnt quite what we had expected. The owners were very helpful

  • Review Submitted: 28-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wife 80 th birthday celebration

  • 5 of 5

Kinderhook is a beautiful house In a beautiful well kept garden.

We had a sports day and BBQ.

A well equipped kitchen for those who love to cook .

Mr & M Goodhew recommended the chef Deb miller who cooked our

Wonderful celebration dinner enjoyed by all the family of 10.

  • Review Submitted: 28-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Alan Thank you for your lovely review and I am so pleased that Deborah cooked a really nice celebration dinner for you all. Regards John
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Very Reluctantly Yours!

  • 2 of 5

There is no doubt that the house is beautiful and spacious. It has a lovely garden and is close to walking paths along the coast as well as the Marina.

However it has it's problems, it is a family house and despite renting it out you feel that you are sharing it with them! John hung around on Friday, Monday and Wednesday tending to his garden. This meant that we couldn't fully relax and felt on show. In the house the multiple locked doors and cupboards, along with signs saying private make you feel unwelcome. The furnishings and furniture are predominantly old fashioned and unsuited to rental and the last time (before this house) I saw carpet in bathrooms was 1980! (As a microbiologist I had to stop myself thinking about it!!!) The dark stains around all the edges spoke truth to the owners comments in the house instructions that "the carpets have been down some time" - if they had charged me for cleaning them I'd have been livid.

Almost as livid as I was about being charged a very VERY large fee extra because they'd changed another room to a bedroom and that's what they felt was reasonable for unlocking the door and changing two single beds!

This meant that one end of the house has four bedrooms and one (carpeted) bathroom, whilst the other end, up a separate staircase, has two en-suite (carpeted) rooms. The owner pointed out that there was an additional downstairs cloakroom, and there is, right at the other end of the house. Very handy - not!

Don't get me started on the dodgy electrics, being hounded out at 9.50 on changeover day, the aga (which you have to use unless you can cater for 12 with a single electric cooker), getting out of the place onto the main road ...

Large it is, Luxury it is not ..... your own .... it is not.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I was disappointed to read our first bad review in the 3 years we have been letting Kinderhook and I am sorry to hear that we were unable to give you an enjoyable stay at the house I will respond to each of your comments. Before I do so I would like to say that because you did not speak to me,even just a "hello" obviously there was no communication between us We do not live in the house but we do present it as a family house. I am sorry you did not like our choice of furnishings but ALL other guests have loved the cosy home from home feel. There are locked cupboards which we keep linen,stores and replacement items for the house. I hope you agree that you had ample storage space for your stay The carpets are in perfect condition cleaned regularly and a bathroom carpet was replaced last year The AGA and the large electric cooker and hob is ample for cooking for 12 guests. Unfortunately following a huge downpour and gale force winds the outside porch light filled with water which caused the electric to trip sorry but we did deal with it immediately i did email you and offered you the new twin bedroom I only offered it to you and you were under no obligation to take it . I am pleased you enjoyed the garden and to maintain it to its high standard it does have to be tended to every week. Our gardener was on holiday and I am sorry you felt you were being watched. I did 2 hours of grass cutting ,watering the pots and deadheading the roses and dahlias and generally do a quick tidy after the strong damaging winds We love pleasing our guests but sadly on this occasion we did not Regards john
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2

Location

West Wittering Beach
Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Gatwick
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
chichester marina
Nearest Ferry
20 Miles
portsmouth
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
hunston
Nearest Train
6 Miles
chichester
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
M27 westbound
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
chichester marina
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
west wittering
Car: recommended

Special interest holidays:

Things to do locally

.

Chichester Water tours. & fishing trips.

Chichester Festival Theatre

Pallant House Gallery

Goodwood home to horse racing, the Festival of Speed and the Revival meeting.

Walking & cycling on Salterns way just outside our front door

Coast/Beach:

We are within a 500 yards of the Birdham pool and Chichester marina

Many wonderful beaches at West Wittering and Bracklesham bay which are both 5 miles away.

Travel:

Gatwick Airport is 60 miles and 20 miles from Portsmouth ferry port. Dover is 2 1/2 hours away. Cars are recommended but if you enjoy walking the bus stop is 10 minutes from us with buses every 15 minutes to Chichester and west wittering

Distances:

Chichester is 6 miles Birdham is a small village with a local store

Fishbourne Roman Palace & gardens

20 minutes away, Portsmouth with its historic dockyard.

Arundel with its castle and cathedral.

Weald & Downland open-air museum Singletion.

West Dean gardens

Further Details:

Pubs & restaurants nearby which we enjoy

The Boat house café, Chichester marina

The Lamb, Chichester road

Samphire Restaurant

Crab & Lobster Mill Lane Sidlesham W Sussex

The Ship Inn Itchenor W Sussex

Crouchers hotel & restaurant

Local places you can walk to:-

The Boathouse Bistro, Chichester Marina with outside seating overlooking the water.

In good daytime weather The Ship Inn Itchenor and The Crown & Anchor Dell Quay

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £250

We can be flexible Let us know your requirements . There are many options available - just let us know and we will try our best to accommodate your party.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable