OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Beautifully Converted 17th C Grade II Stables/Coach House/Barn In Quiet Location

People3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type barn
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Barn in Twyford, Nr. Winchester, Hampshire, England - Peaceful Location Less Than 100m From River Itchen/Watermeadows & Half Mile To Shop/Pub/Cafe

The Coach House/Stables that are available for rental (self catering) and are part of Mildmay House, this property is one of the most beautiful in the area. Easy access to Twyford & Winchester and surrounding area. Great for holiday site seeing, walks, fishing, & golf. The property is within a 45 - 55 minute walk along the River Itchen into the centre of Winchester passing St Catherines Hill & Winchester College en route.


Owner
Matt & Kate White
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
12 August, 2017

About Matt & Kate White

Matt and Kate White live at this address with their two young children Jack & Harry, and two black labradors Ruby & Lola - all of us are very friendly and look forward to welcoming you.

Matt & Kate White purchased this barn in 2007

Why Matt & Kate White chose Hampshire

We bought our house together with our converted stables/coach house, as this is a stunning period property in a superb village location on the edge of the beautiful and historic City of Winchester. Mildmay House was formerly the Vicarage in Twyford and has stunning views of the Church and water meadows beyond.

What makes this barn unique

The property is in a quiet location and a short stroll from the Village shop, post office and pubs, and there is very easy access to hustle and bustle of Winchester.

Having a car is not necessary as bus and train are easy walking distance.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Beautiful accommodation, great location, warm hosts. i will definitely return.

Thank you Telie Tarrant - Hertfordshire - Nov 13.



A most enjoyable stay. The Barn is lovely, warm & cosy with everything you need. We are both looking forward to returning soon. Many thanks Angela & Martin Woodman - Derbyshire - Oct 13.



Lovely place to stay. Very comfortable, quiet and well equipped. I especially enjoyed being able to go on walks so close to the Barn. Matt & Kate are very kind and helpful and I would definately recommend this place to others. Teresa Barlow - Somerset - Sept 13.
Jul 2013
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday barn in Winchester in City of Winchester

Property Type:
  • barn
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • river
  • rural
  • village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • Separate bathroom right next to bedroom complete with basin, wc, bath with shower and heated towel rail. Tiled floor and walls. All newly refurbished.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Description of sleeping capacity: 2-3 Ideal for Singles, Couples or Couples with 1 child. Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom had 1no double bed that sleeps two. (There is a double sofa bed available in the living room for children under 12 yrs (supplement charged) Large fitted cupboard with shelves/hanging, chest of draws & built in side table/lamps & Ipod dock/radio.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Veranda ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: The accommodation is ideally suited to couples or singles, however up to 2no young children can also be accommodated (supplement) Parking is available immediately outside the drive where there free parking available for church goes and locals. The White family have two dogs that are completely separated from the rental accommodation. Outside: This barn accommodation apart from table and 2no chairs in courtyard/drive area has no outdoor space allocated to it as the gardens to Mildmay House are for private family use only. However, there is immediate access out to the River Itchen/water meadows, a beautiful picnic area and for kids to run about - all less than 100meters from the barn. Utility Room: There is no utility room however there is a washer/drier available for use with a clothes horse. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: All bedding & towels are provided. Cleaned on departure. Other: The small entry hall doubles as an informal breakfast area.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(23 traveller reviews)

65% Complete
26% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
Beautifully Converted 17th C Grade II Stables/Coach House/Barn In Quiet Location
average rating of 4.4347825 based on 24 reviews
Singapore to UK
5

Great location and very unique and well presented property with very accommodating owners.

  • 5 of 5

Kate and Matt made us welcome from the start. Beautiful location in a very old part of England. Easy access to motorway and rail but could be a million miles away. Totally quiet with beautiful walks along the river . We will come back again!!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 14, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 3
5

A wonderful introduction to England and its history

  • 5 of 5

The converted barn is first class accomodation in a historic setting. Twyford is a lovely village just a hop, skip and jump from Winchester. An excellent meal can be enjoyed at the Bugle Inn which is a short walk away.

Kate was an excellent host - Thanks Kate for providing a memorable experience!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 28, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
4

Stunning Queen Anne house, lovely grounds, quirky outbuildings, village church right in your face.

  • 4 of 5

Very pleased with our stay, a beautiful piece of rural England. The rental barn on the small side ... if you plan to "eat in" you'll find the facilities a bit cramped ... but very nicely appointed. Our host was extremely pleasant and welcoming, provided everything we needed. Lovely walk to Winchester along the river, and loads of good walks and historical sites nearby (and very good pub restaurants, all recommended by our host). Only drawback, and the only reason we did not give this 5 stars, is that the site is directly under the flightpath to nearby Southampton airport, and the din of a major motorway nearby can sometimes be distracting. These are, really, minor quibbles. Jan & Jim from Boston MA.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
West Sussex Uk
5

Beautiful, spotless, thoughtful and caring owners

  • 5 of 5

We found the barn to be absolutely spotless, and really well appointed. On arrival Kate greeted us warmly and provided a brolly and torch to ease the walk to the pub! There was milk in the fridge and tea bags in the cupboard. Plenty of local area information is available, and Kate's recommendations for dinner and breakfast were both spot on. We'd definitely return (and have already recommended).

One of the other reviews complained that the barn wasn't clean. Nonsense.

The one disappointing factor for me was that the weather didn't allow us to take the river walk into Winchester (but we don't blame the owners for that).

Thanks Kate, we'll see you next time!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your honest review of the Barn - it is greatly appreciated. I am so glad that you had a good time and that everything was of an acceptable standard. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we are so glad you had a lovely break away. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon. Have a lovely summer. Best wishes, Kate
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Stay In Converted 17th C Barn

  • 5 of 5

We were warmly welcomed as if we were old friends. The cottage is small, immaculately clean, with a modern interior, expertly decorated, extremely comfortable and well maintained. Kate could not have been more helpful or friendly. If there was anything lacking in the bijou kitchen she immediately came up with goods. I had to cook a picnic for eight guests and asked for a load of extras in terms of cooking utensils which were provided immediately with a huge smile. If you are wanting to be In the vicinity of Winchester (10 minute drive) but in the country (walking over fields by streams to the local gastro pub) this is the place to be. Thank You Kate and Matt for a really lovely stay. Would love to come back for our next UK tour

  • Review Submitted: Jul 20, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
1

Not for me

  • 1 of 5

NO HOT WATER in kitchen and bathroom sink.

Means to me that the cottage is not clean as how do you clean without hot water!! UGH!!

NOISY - planes overhead all day. Living near an airport. NOT the country peace and quiet that was advertised.

Fence cutter at 9.30 am in the MORNING.

Stains on bedroom sheets...UGH.

Towels should be thrown away. I wouldn't even use them as rags for my floor!!

Internet cannot be obtained in bathroom.

In such heat a fan in the bedroom would have been a thoughtful gesture.

NO washing machine instructions. destroyed 2 tee shirts and 2 pairs of trousers

For the price charged definitely not worth it. I have stayed in much higher quality places for the same if not less price.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 23, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Marguerite, Thank you very much for your response and as I discussed with you this morning we apologise that you had such a dreadful time staying with us. I was just terribly disappointed that you did not mention any of the above whilst you were staying with us. You never gave us the opportunity to hear your many complaints and find a solution for you. We would have been more than happy to completely refund you and help you find alternative accommodation back at Lainston House where you had been staying. -The water temperature is on the cool side but there is a constant supply of hot water from the shower. We have just called our plumber to rectify this - so thank you for bring this to our attention. -When change over is carried out -all the glass, cookery and cutlery are hand washed using boiling water from the kettle as I do believe that everything should be to a high standard. -The location of the cottage is conveniently located for public transport, links to London and flights abroad. This convenience unfortunately has the disadvantage that we are not located in a rural idyll. -The gardener did arrive this morning at 9.30 am and I am sorry that he disturbed you. He did stop when you came out and did not resume until you had checked out at 12 noon. I did apologise for this when you told me this morning. -Thank you for pointing out the stain on the base sheet. The sheets are cleaned thoroughly after every guest has checked out. To put in bluntly they are vigorously inspected and treated where necessary. They are then washed at a high temperature with bleach added. Upon examining this stain I am afraid that on this point I do disagree with you. The stain was located on the base sheet and was the size of a 1p piece looking remarkably like ink. The stain was not there when you checked in - it is incredibly obvious to any one! So on this point I disagree with you. Stains appear on sheets and we do not charge our guests - they are treated and washed at very high temperatures and if need be replaced. -You mentioned that the towels were awful this morning because they were rough and not soft. That was your only criticism. As per the sheets they are washed at high temperatures and dried on a washing line and not tumble dried as they are in hotels. As I mentioned this morning if you had mentioned this earlier we could have changed them to soft ones - tumble dried. TO BE CONTINUED on new page...>
Did you find this review helpful?
1 3

Location

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Southampton
Nearest Barpub
0.75 Miles
The Bugle Inn/Pub in Twyford
Nearest Ferry
12 Miles
Southampton
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Shawford
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
M3
Nearest Restaurant
0.75 Miles
The Bugle Inn/Restaurant in Twyford
Nearest Beach
15 Miles
Lepe Beach
Car: recommended

Special interest holidays:

The property is perfectly located for visiting many attractions in the South of England. These include the beautiful and historic cities of Winchester & Salisbury and Portsmouth. In addition to this there is easy driving access to The New Forest, South Downs and The Isle of White. There are excellent walks, cycling pathways and many golf courses.

There is a scenic riverside (Itchen) walk from Mildmay House into Winchester - this is 3.3miles and takes approx 1 hour.

Coast/Beach:

Driving (within 20-25 min. drive) to the south coast.

Travel:

Mildmay House is easily accessed by car (M3 Junc 11 this is 1mile away)

Very easy public transport options as follows.

Bus stop 100m away - direct to Winchester City Ctr (Hourly)

Ten min walk across watermeadows to Shawford train station.

Shawford Station is a direct line to London (70min.)

Shawford direct train line to Southampton, Poole & Bournmouth.

Winchester train stn 3.3 miles (Direct Line to London)

Distances:

Twyford Pubs (The Phoenix & The Bugle) under one mile.

Twyford Post Office & Restaurant 'Bean Below' serves breakfast, lunch, supper under 1 mile

Shawford pub (The Bridge) less than 1.0 mile

Winchester 3-4 miles

Southampton 15 miles

Salisbury approx 25 miles

Further Details:

There are 2no pubs in Twyford within walking distance and both serve food. There is also a cafe/restaurant in Twyford by the post office.

Twyford to Winchester is a short drive or taxi journey - (or a beautiful 3-4mile walk along the River Itchen).

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday barn in Winchester, South East England

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Peak Summer
4 Aug 2017 - 3 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£645
for 7 nights
£645
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest
 
Late Summer
4 Sep 2017 - 1 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
£196
for 2 nights
From
£98
£595
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £15 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£186
for 2 nights
From
£93
£555
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £15 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Additional Guest Fee £15 per person per night

Booking Notes:
50% payable on confirmation and remainder on arrival.
Minimum booking is for two nights.

Changeover Day:
Check in after 2.30pm/Check out at midday.
We can be flexible with changeover day.

Notes on prices:
Reductions on weekly bookings available.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Available
Unavailable