OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Beautifully Converted 17th C Grade II Stables/Coach House/Barn In Quiet Location

Overview

Property

Updated: 28-Jun-2017
  • Sleeps 3
  • 1 Bedroom
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Parking
  • Internet
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

About the property

Barn in Twyford, Nr. Winchester, Hampshire, England - Peaceful Location Less Than 100m From River Itchen/Watermeadows & Half Mile To Shop/Pub/Cafe

The Coach House/Stables that are available for rental (self catering) and are part of Mildmay House, this property is one of the most beautiful in the area. Easy access to Twyford & Winchester and surrounding area. Great for holiday site seeing, walks, fishing, & golf. The property is within a 45 - 55 minute walk along the River Itchen into the centre of Winchester passing St Catherines Hill & Winchester College en route.

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Matt & Kate White
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
28 June, 2017

About Matt & Kate White

Matt and Kate White live at this address with their two young children Jack & Harry, and two black labradors Ruby & Lola - all of us are very friendly and look forward to welcoming you.

Matt & Kate White purchased this barn in 2007

Why Matt & Kate White chose Hampshire

We bought our house together with our converted stables/coach house, as this is a stunning period property in a superb village location on the edge of the beautiful and historic City of Winchester. Mildmay House was formerly the Vicarage in Twyford and has stunning views of the Church and water meadows beyond.

What makes this barn unique

The property is in a quiet location and a short stroll from the Village shop, post office and pubs, and there is very easy access to hustle and bustle of Winchester.

Having a car is not necessary as bus and train are easy walking distance.

Guestbook comments from the owner

..
Jun 2017
  • 1 of 2

Guestbook comments from the owner

..
Jun 2017
  • 1 of 2

19 Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(19 traveller reviews)

Singapore to UK
5

Great location and very unique and well presented property with very accommodating owners.

  • 5 of 5

Kate and Matt made us welcome from the start. Beautiful location in a very old part of England. Easy access to motorway and rail but could be a million miles away. Totally quiet with beautiful walks along the river . We will come back again!!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 14, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Not for me

  • 1 of 5

NO HOT WATER in kitchen and bathroom sink.

Means to me that the cottage is not clean as how do you clean without hot water!! UGH!!

NOISY - planes overhead all day. Living near an airport. NOT the country peace and quiet that was advertised.

Fence cutter at 9.30 am in the MORNING.

Stains on bedroom sheets...UGH.

Towels should be thrown away. I wouldn't even use them as rags for my floor!!

Internet cannot be obtained in bathroom.

In such heat a fan in the bedroom would have been a thoughtful gesture.

NO washing machine instructions. destroyed 2 tee shirts and 2 pairs of trousers

For the price charged definitely not worth it. I have stayed in much higher quality places for the same if not less price.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 23, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Marguerite, Thank you very much for your response and as I discussed with you this morning we apologise that you had such a dreadful time staying with us. I was just terribly disappointed that you did not mention any of the above whilst you were staying with us. You never gave us the opportunity to hear your many complaints and find a solution for you. We would have been more than happy to completely refund you and help you find alternative accommodation back at Lainston House where you had been staying. -The water temperature is on the cool side but there is a constant supply of hot water from the shower. We have just called our plumber to rectify this - so thank you for bring this to our attention. -When change over is carried out -all the glass, cookery and cutlery are hand washed using boiling water from the kettle as I do believe that everything should be to a high standard. -The location of the cottage is conveniently located for public transport, links to London and flights abroad. This convenience unfortunately has the disadvantage that we are not located in a rural idyll. -The gardener did arrive this morning at 9.30 am and I am sorry that he disturbed you. He did stop when you came out and did not resume until you had checked out at 12 noon. I did apologise for this when you told me this morning. -Thank you for pointing out the stain on the base sheet. The sheets are cleaned thoroughly after every guest has checked out. To put in bluntly they are vigorously inspected and treated where necessary. They are then washed at a high temperature with bleach added. Upon examining this stain I am afraid that on this point I do disagree with you. The stain was located on the base sheet and was the size of a 1p piece looking remarkably like ink. The stain was not there when you checked in - it is incredibly obvious to any one! So on this point I disagree with you. Stains appear on sheets and we do not charge our guests - they are treated and washed at very high temperatures and if need be replaced. -You mentioned that the towels were awful this morning because they were rough and not soft. That was your only criticism. As per the sheets they are washed at high temperatures and dried on a washing line and not tumble dried as they are in hotels. As I mentioned this morning if you had mentioned this earlier we could have changed them to soft ones - tumble dried. TO BE CONTINUED on new page...>
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2
5

It was really good idyllic position, well appointed bar conversion would definitely return.

  • 5 of 5

Would enjoy another visit.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 27, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
4

Charming location

  • 4 of 5

Very nice place with a good location

  • Review Submitted: Apr 21, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Coventry
4

Lovely little place!

  • 4 of 5

On first arrival we were greeted by Kate who was very polite and helpful..she told us everything we needed to know. We later met Matt who also was a very nice chap and very friendly to talk to. The barn is a beautiful, quirky, modern, comfortable and homely place...small in size however perfect for a couple as a gorgeous getaway. Not a lot of natural light but having the lamps/dimmed lighting on makes it more the cosier! Water pressure not great in the taps/shower but this is something that is being sorted. Surrounding area is rural, private and scenic. Lovely place to have a walk around and plenty of local places to visit. Not a far drive into Winchester city centre either. Thank you Matt & Kate for a lovely couple of days - would return :)

  • Review Submitted: Oct 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Warm welcome by owner

  • 2 of 5

In good area for touring, dark and claustrophobic , needs some minor additions, wooden coat hangers in wardrobe, somewhere to hang wet coats on entering,better light to stairs, more drying towels for hands and dishes,addition of a small frying pan, pan cleaning supplies,more kitchen utensils.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm terribly that you did not enjoy your stay as reflected in your star rating. It was a pity that you didn't mention some of the items at the time as we would have been able to supply you with a new ironing board cover, wooden coat hangers and a freestanding coat stand, more towels and drying up towels, another frying pan, as much pan cleaning supplies as you required (as we have loads in the house), and as many utensils as you needed (as again we have loads in the house). The barn is what it is and being an old building it is quirky and there is a limit on space. When each guest arrives, I do say that if they require anything please do call me. We have blenders, magimix, whisk, trouser press, steam press etc etc but there is only so much that you can place in the barn. All is available if required. It is a small place and this is reflected in the price. I hope you had a safe flight back to Canada and it was a pleasure meeting you both. Kind regards, Kate
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Location

From the Owner

We bought our house together with our converted stables/coach house, as this is a stunning period property in a superb village location on the edge of the beautiful and historic City of Winchester. Mildmay House was formerly the Vicarage in Twyford and has stunning views of the Church and water meadows beyond.

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Southampton at 10 Miles Nearest Barpub : The Bugle Inn/Pub in Twyford at 0.75 Miles Nearest Ferry : Southampton at 12 Miles Nearest Train : Shawford at 1 Miles Nearest Motorway : M3 at 1 Miles Nearest Restaurant : The Bugle Inn/Restaurant in Twyford at 0.75 Miles Nearest Beach : Lepe Beach at 15 Miles Car: recommended

Special interest holidays:

The property is perfectly located for visiting many attractions in the South of England. These include the beautiful and historic cities of Winchester & Salisbury and Portsmouth. In addition to this there is easy driving access to The New Forest, South Downs and The Isle of White. There are excellent walks, cycling pathways and many golf courses.

There is a scenic riverside (Itchen) walk from Mildmay House into Winchester - this is 3.3miles and takes approx 1 hour.

Coast/Beach:

Driving (within 20-25 min. drive) to the south coast.

Travel:

Mildmay House is easily accessed by car (M3 Junc 11 this is 1mile away)

Very easy public transport options as follows.

Bus stop 100m away - direct to Winchester City Ctr (Hourly)

Ten min walk across watermeadows to Shawford train station.

Shawford Station is a direct line to London (70min.)

Shawford direct train line to Southampton, Poole & Bournmouth.

Winchester train stn 3.3 miles (Direct Line to London)

Distances:

Twyford Pubs (The Phoenix & The Bugle) under one mile.

Twyford Post Office & Restaurant 'Bean Below' serves breakfast, lunch, supper under 1 mile

Shawford pub (The Bridge) less than 1.0 mile

Winchester 3-4 miles

Southampton 15 miles

Salisbury approx 25 miles

Further Details:

There are 2no pubs in Twyford within walking distance and both serve food. There is also a cafe/restaurant in Twyford by the post office.

Twyford to Winchester is a short drive or taxi journey - (or a beautiful 3-4mile walk along the River Itchen).

Prices and Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Summer 17
1 Apr 2017 - 3 Aug 2017
2 night minimum stay
£196
for 2 nights
From
£98
£595
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £15 per night, per additional guest
 
Peak Summer
4 Aug 2017 - 3 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£645
for 7 nights
£645
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest
 
Late Summer
4 Sep 2017 - 1 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
£196
for 2 nights
From
£98
£595
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £15 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£186
for 2 nights
From
£93
£555
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £15 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
50% payable on confirmation and remainder on arrival.
Minimum booking is for two nights.

Changeover Day:
Check in after 2.30pm/Check out at midday.
We can be flexible with changeover day.

Notes on prices:
Reductions on weekly bookings available.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Avg/night
Enquire Now
Updated: 28-Jun-2017
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

From the Owner

The property is in a quiet location and a short stroll from the Village shop, post office and pubs, and there is very easy access to hustle and bustle of Winchester. Having a car is not necessary as bus and train are easy walking distance.

Property Type

  • barn

Theme

  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions

General

  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Books ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television

Location Type

  • river
  • rural
  • village

Attractions

  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo

Leisure Activities

  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath with Shower
  • Separate bathroom right next to bedroom complete with basin, wc, bath with shower and heated towel rail. Tiled floor and walls. All newly refurbished.

Bedrooms

  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1
  • Description of sleeping capacity: 2-3 Ideal for Singles, Couples or Couples with 1 child. Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom had 1no double bed that sleeps two. (There is a double sofa bed available in the living room for children under 12 yrs (supplement charged) Large fitted cupboard with shelves/hanging, chest of draws & built in side table/lamps & Ipod dock/radio.

Outside

  • Golf ...
  • Veranda ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...

Meals

  • Self-catering

House Rules

  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only

Notes:

  • Notes on accommodation: The accommodation is ideally suited to couples or singles, however up to 2no young children can also be accommodated (supplement) Parking is available immediately outside the drive where there free parking available for church goes and locals. The White family have two dogs that are completely separated from the rental accommodation. Outside: This barn accommodation apart from table and 2no chairs in courtyard/drive area has no outdoor space allocated to it as the gardens to Mildmay House are for private family use only. However, there is immediate access out to the River Itchen/water meadows, a beautiful picnic area and for kids to run about - all less than 100meters from the barn. Utility Room: There is no utility room however there is a washer/drier available for use with a clothes horse. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: All bedding & towels are provided. Cleaned on departure. Other: The small entry hall doubles as an informal breakfast area.