OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Sea Front Cottage in pretty village of Mousehole with Magnificent Sea Views

Overview

Property

Updated: 23-Oct-2016
Traditional Cottage in Mousehole, Cornwall - Sea Front Garden, Pretty Village, Few Minutes Walk from Harbour

Morwenna Cottage is situated on the Sea Front in the pretty village of Mousehole and enjoys uninterrupted views of Mounts Bay, St Michaels Mount and the Lizard Peninsula. The property overlooks its own Sea Front Garden where you can enjoy breakfast or a cream tea by the sea. 'Morwenna' is a typical Cornish granite stone cottage and retains many of its traditional features whilst providing modern comforts. The accommodation is spacious and suitable for up to 6 people. The harbour, beach and village amenities including shops and restaurants are all a short walk away. You will find a traditional Cornish Cream Tea and a Welcome Pack left for you on your arrival.

  • Sleeps 6
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom, 1 Separate Toilet
  • Garden
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Call Owner
Speaks English

2 Reviews

2 holidaymaker reviews

1

Don't be seduced by fantastic views

  • 1 of 5

The overwhelming smell of damp hits you when you walk in. There are serious damp issues with this cottage. There is no excuse for this as - it has nothing to do with part of the character or age of property. The bedroom at the rear was so damp we couldn't open the door to begin with and could not use that room. I have never seen such an old kitchen and rusty hob. We didn't want to cook in it. The bathroom has dirty old grout in tiles and an old stained bath. Some of the antiquated rusty storage heaters don't work. This place requires modernising. We contacted owners on arrival who said we could leave and they'd give us a refund. Problem was we spent the day online looking for other cottages and nothing was available. We didn't go for a weeks holiday to spend it online searching for another place. Either we stayed or went home. Key holiday management cornwall who do 5* cleaning and changeovers for this cottage have a long list of what they do and how they use eco friendly products - this must be a joke surely? Sticking a toilet paper label on a toilet roll and a 'sanitised' toilet lid strip on really is laughable. We contacted the owners twice when we returned but never heard back from them. One star for the views. I wouldn't go there again if it were free.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Given our response to the situation, this review is not appropriate and the property certainly does not smell of damp-Owners Direct are aware that this tenant has tried to use the threat of a bad review as a means of paying less for their holiday after their return. Our policy is to offer a 100% refund to anyone who is not satisfied and help to find alternative accommodation. In this case the tenant was offered 100% refund and the housekeepers found alternative accommodation. The tenant sent a message to the housekeepers confirming they had decided to stay and then consumed the full week of their holiday. At least 50% of our bookings are with satisfied return guests who do not book through Owners Direct. This includes a family who stayed in the property a week later who have confirmed that everything was nice and clean as usual and that the property didn't smell of damp. However, we have investigated the tenants complaints and have concluded that they are subjective e.g. the kitchen units are made of solid wood and were hand built by a carpenter in keeping with the period of the property. The housekeepers immediately attended the property on the day of the tenants arrival, at their request, to sort out issues raised. They found the only problem was with the bedroom door which was not sticking but in fact just opened outwards and not inwards as was expected.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
4

Fantastic views

  • 4 of 5

The well stocked kitchen was a welcome surprise and the views were amazing. Only downside was that the property could do with some modernisation but given the price of other mousehole properties and the enviable views and garden over the sea this did not impact on value for money.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Newquay at 58 Kilometres Nearest Barpub : The Ship at 300 Metres Nearest Ferry : Penzance at 6.5 Kilometres Nearest Golf : Praa Sands Golf Club at 18.7 Kilometres Nearest Train : Penzance at 6.5 Kilometres Nearest Restaurant : The Ship at 300 Metres Nearest Beach : Mousehole Harbour at 100 Metres

Special interest holidays:

The Newlyn School of Art offers two and three day courses in a variety of areas such as Cornish Landscape painting and Oil with a Palette knife painting. This is located less than 2 miles from Mousehole.

Art drop in classes are available in August at the St Ives School of Painting.

The Nigel Hallard Studio is situated just a few minutes walk from Morwenna. He is often found working in his gallery which is open from the beginning of May until the end of October, and again over the Christmas and New Year holiday period.

Coast/Beach:

There is a sandy beach in Mousehole harbour which is ideal for children. Nearby, there are beaches at Marazion, Porthcurno, Sennen, St Ives and Praa Sands.

Surf lessons are available at Praa Sands and St Ives.

Travel:

There is a regular bus service which from Mousehole harbour to the nearby town and villages.

The local train station at Penzance is about 10 minutes away from Morwenna.

There are daily flights from London Gatwick to Newquay Airport. Flight time is 1 hour 10 minutes. Mousehole is approximately 1 hour from Newquay Airport. Car hire is available there.

Distances:

Penzance: 4 miles

St Ives: 12 miles

Lands End: 11 miles

Truro: 30 miles

Newquay: 36 miles

Eden Project: 50 miles

Flambards: 18 miles

Further Details:

Morwenna is located in what Dylan Thomas described as ‘The prettiest village in England’. With its cobbled streets, charming gift shops and cosy inn, Mousehole provides a traditional yet lively atmosphere for all those that stay there.

There is a deli, general store and an inn located around the harbour. There are also art galleries and restaurants in Mousehole, notably The Cornish Range and The Coastguard.

Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Mousehole Harbour Lights
16 Dec 2016 - 22 Dec 2016
7 night minimum stay
£560
 
 
Christmas
23 Dec 2016 - 29 Dec 2016
7 night minimum stay
£900
 
 
New Year
30 Dec 2016 - 5 Jan 2017
7 night minimum stay
£900
 
 
Winter Season
7 Jan 2017 - 10 Feb 2017
3 night minimum stay
£390
for 3 nights
From
£130
£550
 
 
Winter Half Term
11 Feb 2017 - 17 Feb 2017
3 night minimum stay
£420
for 3 nights
From
£140
£595
 
 
Winter Season
18 Feb 2017 - 31 Mar 2017
3 night minimum stay
£390
for 3 nights
From
£130
£550
 
 
Spring Season
1 Apr 2017 - 7 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
£540
for 3 nights
From
£180
£650
 
 
Easter
8 Apr 2017 - 21 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
£850
for 7 nights
£850
 
 
Spring Season
22 Apr 2017 - 19 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£570
for 3 nights
From
£190
£765
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
Please contact owner

Changeover Day:
Changeover day is Saturday although this is flexible for short breaks.

Notes on prices:
Prices are on a weekly basis. Short breaks are available in off- peak season. Prices include electricity.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 23-Oct-2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

Property Type

  • cottage

Theme

  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions

General

  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove

Kitchen

  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Dining Room

Entertainment

  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Television

Suitability

  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Location Type

  • beach
  • near the sea
  • village
  • waterfront

Attractions

  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants

Leisure Activities

  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • groceries
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet, Located on ground floor
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath with Shower, Located on first floor
  • 1 First Floor Bathroom with Bath, Shower and Toilet 2 Downstairs Toilet

Bedrooms

  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 Large Double Bed, Kingsize Four Poster Bed, Sink and Vanity unit, Sea Views
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed, Sink and Vanity unit, Sea Views
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed, Sink Unit
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 (double) with sea views and four-poster bed. Bedroom 2 has a double bed and sea views. Bedroom 3 has two twin beds.

Outside

  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Garden ...

Meals

  • Self-catering

Notes:

  • Notes on accommodation: No smoking. Pets not allowed. Outside: There is a garden overlooking the sea which provides a perfect location for a morning coffee or cream tea. In addition, there is also a small courtyard to the rear of the property where swimwear and towels from the beach can be hung outside to dry. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: We use a 4* cleaning agency to ensure that the cottage is cleaned to a high standard. Ecological cleaning products are used. Linen and towels are included. Please bring your own beach towels.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot