OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Sea Front Cottage in pretty village of Mousehole with Magnificent Sea Views

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Separate WC's1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
People
6
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights

About the property

Traditional Cottage in Mousehole, Cornwall - Sea Front Garden, Pretty Village, Few Minutes Walk from Harbour

Morwenna Cottage is situated on the Sea Front in the pretty village of Mousehole and enjoys uninterrupted views of Mounts Bay, St Michaels Mount and the Lizard Peninsula. The property overlooks its own Sea Front Garden where you can enjoy breakfast or a cream tea by the sea. 'Morwenna' is a typical Cornish granite stone cottage and retains many of its traditional features whilst providing modern comforts. The accommodation is spacious and suitable for up to 6 people. The harbour, beach and village amenities including shops and restaurants are all a short walk away. You will find a traditional Cornish Cream Tea and a Welcome Pack left for you on your arrival.


Owner
Mrs Natalie Johnson
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
12 February, 2017

Reviews

2.5/5 -
(2 traveller reviews)

1

Don't be seduced by fantastic views

  • 1 of 5

The overwhelming smell of damp hits you when you walk in. There are serious damp issues with this cottage. There is no excuse for this as - it has nothing to do with part of the character or age of property. The bedroom at the rear was so damp we couldn't open the door to begin with and could not use that room. I have never seen such an old kitchen and rusty hob. We didn't want to cook in it. The bathroom has dirty old grout in tiles and an old stained bath. Some of the antiquated rusty storage heaters don't work. This place requires modernising. We contacted owners on arrival who said we could leave and they'd give us a refund. Problem was we spent the day online looking for other cottages and nothing was available. We didn't go for a weeks holiday to spend it online searching for another place. Either we stayed or went home. Key holiday management cornwall who do 5* cleaning and changeovers for this cottage have a long list of what they do and how they use eco friendly products - this must be a joke surely? Sticking a toilet paper label on a toilet roll and a 'sanitised' toilet lid strip on really is laughable. We contacted the owners twice when we returned but never heard back from them. One star for the views. I wouldn't go there again if it were free.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Given our response to the situation, this review is not appropriate and the property certainly does not smell of damp-Owners Direct are aware that this tenant has tried to use the threat of a bad review as a means of paying less for their holiday after their return. Our policy is to offer a 100% refund to anyone who is not satisfied and help to find alternative accommodation. In this case the tenant was offered 100% refund and the housekeepers found alternative accommodation. The tenant sent a message to the housekeepers confirming they had decided to stay and then consumed the full week of their holiday. At least 50% of our bookings are with satisfied return guests who do not book through Owners Direct. This includes a family who stayed in the property a week later who have confirmed that everything was nice and clean as usual and that the property didn't smell of damp. However, we have investigated the tenants complaints and have concluded that they are subjective e.g. the kitchen units are made of solid wood and were hand built by a carpenter in keeping with the period of the property. The housekeepers immediately attended the property on the day of the tenants arrival, at their request, to sort out issues raised. They found the only problem was with the bedroom door which was not sticking but in fact just opened outwards and not inwards as was expected.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
4

Fantastic views

  • 4 of 5

The well stocked kitchen was a welcome surprise and the views were amazing. Only downside was that the property could do with some modernisation but given the price of other mousehole properties and the enviable views and garden over the sea this did not impact on value for money.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Winter Season
18 Feb 2017 - 31 Mar 2017
3 night minimum stay
£390
for 3 nights
From
£130
£550
 
 
Spring Season
1 Apr 2017 - 7 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
£540
for 3 nights
From
£180
£650
 
 
Easter
8 Apr 2017 - 21 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
£850
for 7 nights
£850
 
 
Spring Season
22 Apr 2017 - 26 May 2017
7 night minimum stay
£765
for 7 nights
£765
 
 
Spring Bank Holiday
27 May 2017 - 2 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£965
for 7 nights
£965
 
 
Summer Season
3 Jun 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£785
for 7 nights
£785
 
 
Summer Season
1 Jul 2017 - 7 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
£850
for 7 nights
£850
 
 
Summer Season
8 Jul 2017 - 14 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
£950
for 7 nights
£950
 
 
Summer Season
15 Jul 2017 - 21 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,100
for 7 nights
£1,100
 
 
Summer Holidays
22 Jul 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,350
for 7 nights
£1,350
 
 
Summer Season
2 Sep 2017 - 29 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£850
for 7 nights
£850
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
Please contact owner

Changeover Day:
Changeover day is Saturday although this is flexible for short breaks.

Notes on prices:
Prices are on a weekly basis. Short breaks are available in off- peak season. Prices include electricity.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Mousehole in Cornwall

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • village
  • waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Located on ground floor
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Located on first floor
  • 1 First Floor Bathroom with Bath, Shower and Toilet 2 Downstairs Toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 Large Double Bed , Kingsize Four Poster Bed, Sink and Vanity unit, Sea Views
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed , Sink and Vanity unit, Sea Views
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed , Sink Unit
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 (double) with sea views and four-poster bed. Bedroom 2 has a double bed and sea views. Bedroom 3 has two twin beds.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Garden ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: No smoking. Pets not allowed. Outside: There is a garden overlooking the sea which provides a perfect location for a morning coffee or cream tea. In addition, there is also a small courtyard to the rear of the property where swimwear and towels from the beach can be hung outside to dry. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: We use a 4* cleaning agency to ensure that the cottage is cleaned to a high standard. Ecological cleaning products are used. Linen and towels are included. Please bring your own beach towels.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot