OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Best street in Edinburgh, Ann Street, Google it! Grade 1 listed flat & gardens.

Overview

Property

Updated: 28-Nov-2016
Unique Edinburgh apartment for 4 (2 adults/2 kids). Peaceful, idyllic, famous Georgian Street 12 Mins Walk Princes St.

Ann Street is ranked in guide books (and by estate agents!) as the most desirable street in Edinburgh and it is certainly the prettiest with its unique front gardens and tranquil, 'countryside in the city' ambience.

See: http://www.scotsman.com/news/the-golden-street-with-a-royal-seal-of-approval-1-1252745

Situated 3 minutes walk from trendy Stockbridge with its upmarket shops, bars and restaurants, the cobbled street lies next to the pretty water of Leith along which you can walk for miles.

Guests will be given access to the private 13 acre Dean Gardens - Edinburgh's very own 'secret garden' - an oasis within the city which is at the end of the street.

The self-contained, lower-ground floor flat comprises the whole floor of a Georgian house, accessed through a beautiful front garden leading to private entrance down steps through a lovely private decked patio.

Elegantly decorated with sea grass natural flooring, original art work and piano, the flat leads on to a tranquil private garden at the back.

The two main rooms can be opened up to make one large open plan living space.

Dining/sitting room/kitchenette.

Double bedroom with optional sofa-bed. Shower room. Separate toilet.

The bedroom has a very comfortable double bed plus a sprung double sofa bed for any children. The space accommodates up to 2 adults plus 2 children (ages 5-14) or 3 adults and 1 child. The flat is not suitable for 4 adults.

Please note the double bed and sofa bed is in the same room (the pink sofa in the photo is the sofa bed). TV/DVD Player.

The other room has a chaise longue and bookshelf with books. This space also has a table with chairs. Please note, kitchenette is in this room and can be hidden away behind folding doors.

Internet with wifi.

A welcome pack is provided: tea, coffee, bread, butter, eggs, etc.

Beautiful front patio plus back garden for private use was designed by international garden designer Anthony Paul (designer to producer of 'Cats' etc., Cameron Mackintosh).

Our price reflects the fact that Ann street is the premier street in Edinburgh and a lot more expensive than even streets one street away. We have set our rates competitively and the square footage of our flat is as large as many 2 bedroom flats. We feel we are good value particularly for our outstanding location.

The apartment is elegantly decorated to our own taste. Holiday lets are never available here. We offer guests a rare chance to stay on the most desirable street in the city.

The apartment is part of our house, though completely separate with its own entrance, private back garden and front patio, own keys and entirely locked off from us. We live above and are happy to help you if you need anything.

We have soundproofed the flat and we never have parties or play loud music when we have guests. But we do live above and have 2 children age 10 and 13. We are always as quiet as possible but if you are very noise sensitive and would be bothered by the periodic muffled sounds of living one would expect in a lower ground floor flat, then the apartment may not be for you.

We are a gay friendly establishment.

Entry is strictly 4pm. Please do NOT turn up early unannounced.

Departure 10am.

Please do not ask to store bags before or after check-in as this is not possible. Options to store bags are at the bus and train station.

Strictly no smoking, pets or parties.

Please leave the flat as you found it when you leave ie. do your washing up, clean the oven and make sure you've left nothing behind on departure.

No take-away curries please as we have had to replace rugs, tablecloths and cushions due to turmeric stains!

Please be considerate to neighbours particularly when sitting out in the garden in the evenings.

Since photos were taken, new rugs have been put down plus a new mirror in shower room to replace ones damaged by previous guests. We always update and replace fixtures and fittings so they are in a nice, clean condition for our guests.

If you are interested in staying in a lovely cottage in an outstanding location in the Highlands, please look at our other Owner's Direct listing: Loch Vatten Cottage on the stunning Isle of Skye:

https://www.ownersdirect.co.uk/accommodation/p8127181

More Details
  • Sleeps 4
  • 1 Bedroom
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Internet
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

We have two boys and love Scotland's fantastic history and scenery.

If you fancy a trip up to the beautiful Highlands we can offer you our loch side country cottage on the Isle of Skye with fantastic views of Loch Vatten near Dunvegan. See:

https://www.ownersdirect.co.uk/accommodation/p8127181

Speaks English

7 Reviews

4.9
based on 7 holidaymaker reviews

5

What a location!

  • 5 of 5

From the first enquiry to our departure Frank was an excellent host, answering my questions promptly. On arrival, the apartment was clean and welcoming with a welcome pack of basic groceries (and some delicious homemade flapjack!) A 5 minute walk into Stockbridge centre with a wide range of lovely cafes, bars and restaurants. A key to Dean Gardens is also provided which is a beautiful space in the sunshine and a quicker alternative route into the city centre. There are frequent buses into the city but it is also an easy walk- uphill in, downhill back! All in all, a lovely apartment in an outstanding location with excellent hosts.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5

This was our first time in Edinburgh and our only complaint was that we didn't stay longer. The apartment is absolutely lovely and the owner really makes you feel very welcome. There are beautiful walled gardens across the road and you are given a key for the duration of your stay. We had the best time at The Fringe and would not hesitate in renting the apartment again for our next visit. We really recommend this property.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Lovely flat, gorgeous location

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend in early February and what a fantastic choice of accommodation I made!

It's a lovely place to stay- we just wish we had been able to stay longer. We are keen walkers and covered a fair bit of Edinburgh during our short stay, and I have to say we agree with the guide books- Ann Street was the prettiest street we saw.

It is also perfectly situated- within easy walking distance of the city centre and more importantly- Murrayfield.

The owners were very accommodating, friendly and approachable. Being London-types we're pretty unfriendly (haha) and don't like too much fuss from people. This was perfect- we felt comfortable in the knowledge we could ask anything if needed, but the flat was private and we were left happily without intrusion.

The flat was well set out with everything one could need. In fact, there were several little extra touches in the flat making it feel extra luxurious. Unfortunately, due to the weather we were unable to make use of the garden, but I can imagine how lovely it would be in the summer months.

I would highly recommend staying here (I never write reviews so this is testament to how much we enjoyed our stay).

  • Review Submitted: Mar 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: What a lovely review. Thank you so much. We'd love to have you back anytime. You were the perfect guests. It's so nice when people enjoy the apartment!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

most excellent !

  • 5 of 5

We found a very warm welcome on arrival, with an unexpected supply of essential food and also a few nice treats, including home made flapjack! The flat was warm , very clean, comfortable with lovely furnishings that made us feel that we were in a good hotel, but with all the advantages of independence, laundry and a lovely garden to sit in [ had the weather been kinder !]. The owners were kind and helpful without being intrusive and the property was well thought out and maintained to meet all our needs while there.

The street and locality exemplifies beautiful Georgian architecture, was quiet and has access to a private park with a walk by the river Leith.

The flat was very central so easy to walk into the city to meet people and to visit all the wonderful things that Edinburgh has to offer. We visited several 2 good local restaurants, [ Bon Vivant, Raeburn- both provided good vegetarian meals], various pubs and took ourselves off to the Pentland hills for a long yomp.

The only down side, out-with the control of the owners, is the car parking situation which is mainly 'Residents Only' nearby. There is a small area for metered parking close by in which we managed to park, but a pain having to keep feeding the meter. [ we found that you could put money in at night to cover for a the next morning to avoid an early dash to beat the parkies ]

I probably would avoid having a car there in future, but it would be very easy to rely on public transport which is excellent in Edinburgh.

I would be very happy to return, and to recommend it.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 6, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your kind words. I'm sorry about the parking - there is free parking on the street at weekends but during the week it can be best to put your car in the nearby long-stay car park or at the airport car park as we are so walkable to central Edinburgh. Do hope to welcome you both back next time you are in Edinburgh.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Very nice flat in an extremely desirable location.

  • 4 of 5

The flat was very well provisioned by owners with nice special touches. Highly recommended. While internet service was offered, wi-fi was not available at the time, but owner has immediate plans for providing such which will be a nice addition. Restaurants galore within 5-10 minute walk. Even close enough to walk to the Royal Mile for a day of sight-seeing.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 4, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your kind review. We now have wi-fi!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect location, ideal base for Edinburgh

  • 5 of 5

What a delight to find such a beautiful apartment in a quiet area of the city. We stayed here with our two children and there was plenty of space for us all. The owners made us feel very welcome and the extra touches such as homemade flapjack, bread, milk and eggs on arrival was a real bonus! Stockbridge is a lovely area and has everything you need on your doorstep although a brisk walk into the city takes only 20 minutes. Thanks Bruce and Linda!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 25, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your kind words. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We'd love to welcome you back anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

From the Owner

We chose Ann Street to live in because of its wonderful, quiet position, beautiful Regency buildlings and unique front gardens. It is very tranquil but close to Stockbridge and the city centre.

Activity and Interests

Car: not necessary

Coast/Beach:

Nearest coast is Silverknowes, 10 minutes drive away. Cramond and Leith, also 10 mins away. Good yellow sand beach is at Portobello, 20 minute drive away.

Travel:

Edinburgh airport 20 minutes drive away. Haymarket train station 5 minutes drive/15 mins walk. Car not necessary as everything is very walk-able with excellent public transport. Buses into town go regularly and there is a stop a minute away or 4 minutes.

Distances:

Centre of town about a mile away.

Further Details:

Stockbridge is the nicest 'village' in Edinburgh. Very upmarket with cobbled streets, specialist shops and boutiques including amazing cheese shops and delis and lots of really nice cafes and restaurants and host to several fringe venues. Nearby restaurants include Tom Kitchin's new gastropub, 'The Scran and Scallie', the popular Swedish Pizzeria/bakery 'Peter's Yard' plus many more. The world famous Royal Botanical Gardens are 10 mins walk from the property. Playpark for younger kids opposite the Botanics. Recently restored Victorian swimming pool 10 mins walk. Cycle path along Water of Leith a minute away.

Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Rate 1
1 Oct 2016 - 22 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
£295
for 2 nights
From
£120
From
£130
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £15 per night, per additional guest
 
2016 Rate 2
23 Dec 2016 - 2 Jan 2017
3 night minimum stay
£505
for 3 nights
From
£150
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £15 per night, per additional guest
 
2017 Rate 3
3 Jan 2017 - 31 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
£275
for 2 nights
From
£110
From
£120
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £15 per night, per additional guest
 
2017 Rate 4
1 Apr 2017 - 31 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
£295
for 2 nights
From
£120
From
£130
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £15 per night, per additional guest
 
2017 Rate 5
1 Jun 2017 - 31 Jul 2017
2 night minimum stay
£305
for 2 nights
From
£125
From
£135
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £15 per night, per additional guest
 
2017 Rate 6
1 Aug 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
3 night minimum stay
£445
for 3 nights
From
£130
From
£140
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £15 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£275
for 2 nights
From
£110
From
£120
Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £15 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £350
Cleaning Fee £55

Booking Notes:

Changeover Day:
Flexible changeover day.

Our price reflects the fact that Ann street is the premier street in Edinburgh and a lot more expensive than even streets one street away. We have set our rates competitively and the square footage of our flat is as large as many 2 bedroom flats. We feel we are good value and our flat is our home and decorated to our taste. Holiday lets are never available here. We offer guests a rare chance to stay on the most desirable street in the city.

The apartment is part of our house, though completely separate with its own entrance, private back garden and front patio, own keys and entirely locked off from us. We live above and are happy to help you if you need anything.

We have soundproofed the flat and never have parties or play loud music when we have guests. But we do live above and have 2 children age 10 and 13. We are always as quiet as possible but if you are extremely noise sensitive a lower ground floor flat might not be for you.

Entry is strictly 4pm. Please do NOT arrive early unannounced. Please advise us of your arrival time before your stay so that we can be here to welcome you. We'd appreciate it if you sent us your telephone number so we can contact you in case of delay. Thank you.

Departure strictly 10am. We are sorry but we cannot store your bags after check-out.

Strictly no smoking, pets or parties. Please: no take-away curries. We have had quite a bit of damage due to turmeric stains and have so far had to replace rugs, cushions and tablecloths so have now settled on a no curry policy!

Please leave the flat as you found it when you leave ie. do your washing up, clean the oven and make sure you've left nothing behind on departure.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 28-Nov-2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

From the Owner

Holiday lets are never available on Ann street. A unique opportunity to rent a place on this very special street. Within a couple minutes of the nicest 'village' in Edinburgh - Stockbridge yet also within easy walking distance of central Edinburgh. A tranquil, beautiful location to come back to after a hard day's sightseeing.

Property Type

  • apartment

Theme

  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions

General

  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine

Kitchen

  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Toys

Suitability

  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Location Type

  • city centre
  • river
  • town
  • village

Attractions

  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo

Leisure Activities

  • sight seeing

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Bathrooms

  • Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • Shower room with shower and sink. Toiletries and towels provided. There is a separate toilet with small sink.

Bedrooms

  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4 (1 Bedroom) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom has a double bed with all linen and towels included. Double sofa bed has spring mechanism and mattress.

Outside

  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis

Meals

  • Self-catering

Notes:

  • Notes on accommodation: Ann Street is ranked by guide books (and estate agents!) as the most exclusive street in Edinburgh and it is certainly the prettiest with its unique front gardens. Situated 3 minutes walk from trendy Stockbridge with its upmarket shops, bars and restaurants, the cobbled street lies next to the pretty water of Leith. Guests will have access to the private 13 acre Dean Gardens - an oasis within the city which is at the end of the street. Please note that our price reflects the fact that Ann street is the premier street in New Town/Stockbridge and apartments here are never available. Even streets one street away are not in the same league! Strictly no smoking. Sorry we cannot take pets. Outside: Property accessed through lovely front garden and then down the steps to your own private decked patio with giant palm, Adirondack chair and candle lanterns. Back garden for private exclusive use. Quiet, sun trap in the morning with table and chairs for al-fresco breakfasts. Access to private 13 acre Dean gardens at end of street. Utility Room: Washing machine and dryer. Welcome pack, linen, towels and starter toiletries are included. The property is cleaned once a week for longer stays. Other: Entrance hall.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot