OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

A Luxurious Cottage Nestling in an Idyllic Woodland Setting...HOT TUB FOR 2017

Overview

Property

Updated: 04-Oct-2016
Luxurious Detached Cottage In the woods...wake up to birds singing and soothing noise of the stream.

Originally built in 1840, Syke Mill has been converted from a pair of quarrymen's cottages on the banks of a woodland stream. The cottage was completely rebuilt recently to a high standard and offers cosy and stylish modern accommodation. The ground floor has unrestricted access on one level, with further accommodation upstairs. The spacious open-plan living room is furnished in a contemporary style. Large French windows open out onto the terrace, ancient woodland and the bubbling stream. The kitchen is bright and well equipped. Downstairs the floors are covered throughout with travertine tiles. Perfect for walking, bird watching, the beautiful Pembrokeshire countryside is literally on your doorstep, with a half an acre of outdoor space, garden at the rear. It offers a great outdoor environment for children to play and explore. With unspoilt beaches and picturesque fishing villages, country pubs and a wide range of leisure facilities within easy reach. The cottage is perfect for couples, family, friends and a well behaved dog.

  • Sleeps 6
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Wheelchair access

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Syke Mill or Melin (in Welsh) was derelict for over fifteen years until I purchased in 2012. The property comes with just under half of an acre of woodland.

I fell in love with Syke Mill the moment I saw it, a "hidden gem" right in the woods with diverse bird species, trees and a woodland stream. Syke Mill allows children to be children, to explore in a safe environment, to learn to keep themselves safe and develop outdoor skills.

The property is in an ideal spot for Walking, Bird Watching, Surfing, Cycling or to unwind by the fire with a glass of wine. Perfect for family, friends and couples.

One of my favourite time of the year is winter, after a walk in the woodland or on the beach I look forward to a bubble bath and relax by the fire with a glass of wine.

My children loves climbing trees, explore the woods and swing from the rope attached to a large tree.

We have recently rescued a puppy called Sonnet, she is a beautiful and a well behaved dog.

Outdoor play keeps the doctor away!

Speaks English, French, Welsh

13 Reviews

4.8
based on 13 holidaymaker reviews

5

a relaxing private getaway

  • 5 of 5

Syke mill is a beautiful well furnished and equipped cottage, It is fantastically secluded and private, yet only a short drive to Haverford west, Milford Haven and some beautiful beaches.

The owners John and Hafida were most helpful and always prompt with communication via email.

Lots of fun to be had even in the rain, and it rained a lot.

Its well worth a visit and highly recommended.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you David for taking the time to leave a review. Thank you for leaving my home in a prestine condition. I'm trilled that you have enjoyed the cottage's home comfort and it's beautiful surroundings. We are looking forward to getting Syke Mill rated and to be granted a five star rating. We hope to welcome you, your family and friends soon. Kind regards. Hafida
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A little gem!!

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved this cottage and the location!

Hidden away in a quiet wooded area. Unimpressive from the outside but a pleasant surprise when you go inside. Lovely and cosy with modern finishes!

The bath with the waterfall tap was my favourite and just added to the experience.

Beds very comfortable! The seperate room with the washing machine and tumble dryer was very handy.

Great beaches and lovely coastal villages within reach.

Can definitely recommend!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Yolande, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I can't tell you how important it is for us that our guests have a fab time staying at the cottage. Thank you for your trust and for booking your stay almost a year in advance. Yes, the house was described by another guest as a 'tardis' We work really hard to offer our guests a good value for money stay combined with a bit of luxury and little extras. We are planning on getting our cottage rated next year and we are working towards a 5* accolade. In the spring, we have layed the half acre of garden in three different areas accessible by a set of stairs made of an old railway sleepers. By next spring, we are planning to build another decked area at the top of the bank to give us a fantastic view of the woodland and allow our guests to get very close to nature while enjoying a glass of wine. I look forward to welcoming you and your family at Syke Mill in the near future. Kind regards, Hafida
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Very Disappointed !!!!

  • 3 of 5

The cottage is quite nice, bathroom lovely, bed really comfortable good quality mattresses and bed linen. Sofa really uncomfortable and there was a strong musty damp smell in the lounge area.There is a small decked area outside The half acre of land is actually a piece of what I would call waste land full of weeds and overgrown grass. It slopes steeply towards the cottage with a 4ft wall at the bottom. The location of the cottage is very secluded and you need a car to get to beach, pubs or shops which should have been stated by owner John rather than telling me on three occasions that the pubs and beach were in easy walking distance in fact he told me it was a 15 min walk!!. My husband, dog and I tried this on our first day only to find after 45 mins of walking along narrow mostly uphill lanes dicing with death every time a tractor or car came speeding past us that we still had 2 miles to go to get to the beach. We had no choice but to turn back to the cottage and sit there miserable all day on the uncomfortable musty sofa. I am a 54 year old woman with arthritis in both knees there is no way I can do that kind of walk so I was literally trapped in the cottage all weekend. My husband could see how disappointed I was so the next day he said he would take the car down to the beach even though he did not want to drive because he likes to have a drink while on holiday. Any way we set off and when we got closer to the beach we noticed everyone was leaving there cars and walking down a very steep lane to get to the beach, there was no way in this world I could get down there because of my knees, so once again we had to turn back to the cottage. The next morning we were trying to give our dog some exercise in the "garden" with a ball when she tried to jump off the wall and injured her back leg that just about topped it off so we decided to go home a day early. We packed up and did the list of jobs that John sends you via a email that you must do such has strip the bed and wipe down all the surfaces and fridge and cooker. I suppose its saves on hiring a cleaner. We was also told that we had stated that there was only 2 adults and a dog coming so if anyone else came we would be charged and the money kept out of the deposit even though we paid the same amount as if 6 adults were staying. John totally misled just to get a booking. He should state that it is not suitable for anyone with walking problems, I would never have booked it if he had been honest.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I’m sad to read that you were so disappointed with your weekend stay at Syke Mill, we went out of our way to answer all the questions that you asked prior to arriving and we provided a list of our favourite pubs, fish and chip shops and beaches. We had arranged for someone to meet and greet you at the property due to a last-minute booking. This is something that we don’t normally do as our guests often prefer to collect the key from the safe box. We left a map of directions to Little Haven and Broad Haven at the cottage as per your request but we are sorry to hear that you could not find your way there (it does sound as though you went to a different beach, both Broad Haven and Little Haven beaches are next to the road). We have exchanged numerous emails and at no point did you mention that you had mobility or any other health issues. Our cottage is suitable for wheelchair users but would not advise taking a cross country trek. If half an acre of land within a large and ancient woodland is not spacious enough for a dog walk then I’m not sure what else we could have provided. We strongly believe that your harsh review is based on the fact that you had two full days of constant rain, this was beyond our control. I’m afraid Wales can be a wet place sometimes. As far as the instructions regarding stripping the beds, etc are concerned, this is something that we have been asked to provide. We feel that it may have been better for you to have chosen B&B or hotel accommodation. It does make me wonder why you would have chosen a substantial, detached three-bed, self-catering traditional Welsh cottage in a semi-rural location for two adults and a dog. Regards. Hafida
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
5

Quiet place, perfectly equipped, centrally located

  • 5 of 5

Syke mill is a quiet, hidden place ideally suited for a relaxing holiday. The old building was perfectly renovated, the entire interior meets highest quality requirements. We enjoyed one week in this nice cottage, woke up with the birds singing, explored the wonderful Pembrokeshire coast and enjoyed the evening at the wood stove. Many nice places of the Nationalpark are only a short distance away, the Green Bridge and the coastline around was our highlight. The owners Hafida and John provide an excellent service, we got all relevant information upfront.

  • Review Submitted: May 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad that you've enjoyed your stay at our hidden gem and many of the attractions available in the heart of Pembrokeshire Coast National Park. We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards Hafida
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Splendidly equipped, peaceful remote location

  • 5 of 5

A lovely cottage, equipped and furnished to a very high standard. The washing machine better than we have at home which is very welcome with beach obsessed children! 'Waterfall taps' in the bath were a big hit. Very comfortable bedrooms.

Beautifully remote location down a tunnel of trees and next to a stream. Refreshingly remote from the outside world - no wi fi, landline and mobile only on certain networks (Vodafone works). Enjoy the peace :)

Broad and Little Haven are very easily accessible, and the gorgeous Barafundle Bay is not too far - we visited twice. There are walks in the woodland around the cottage if you prefer to stay close to home. Blue Lagoon swimming pool is an easy alternative to the beach if it pours down as it did on one or two of our days!

John and Hafida were very helpful and pleasant in arranging our stay.

Generally highly recommended.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 28, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Clare and Family, Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write a review. We are thrilled that you have had a fab time and you enjoyed Syke Mill's comfort. I would recommend Blue Lagoon in Abereiddy, used to be a quarry and it's a super place to dive off the rocks, to enjoy a swim or Coasteering. I recently enjoyed a dive off the rocks...it was amazing and so easy to get to from our cottage. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards. Hafida
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Most enjoyable

  • 5 of 5

What a beautiful part of the world! We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Syke Mill. The cottage offers every comfort and accounts for every need. A complementary pint of milk and a packet of Welsh cakes was a lovely touch and made us feel very welcome as soon as we'd arrived. It is located in beautiful surroundings and very close to many beaches. Our party (3 adults and 3 children) definitely enjoyed exploring, and snuggling down after the eventful day. Instructions sent to us by Hafida and John before our arrival were detailed and straight forward. Can't fault anything about our stay. Will certainly recommend Syke Mill to all our family and friends, and really hope to come back again soon. The Robinson family

  • Review Submitted: Aug 14, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Robinson family, Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to write to us. We are thrilled that you've enjoyed your stay at Syke Mill. Yes, we are in a beautiful part of Wales. It is a great place for adults and kids alike. The location is perfect with lots around to do and places to explore. That leaves us with great spots for swimming, for surfing, for nature-watching, for walking holiday etc. We have different beaches that suit every mood... I can't say it enough how much we love it there. We would recommend it, if you wish to have a great time and away from the usual busy lifestyle.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

From the Owner

Syke Mill is the perfect base for beach, walkers, bird lovers, surfers, cyclists and those who wish to be away from it all. Homely settings where you can chill by the fire, enjoy your favourite drink, a book or board games. Please contact us for a list of our favourite, hidden...secret beaches...places to visit. We do have a list of walks ideal for wheelchair users.

Activity and Interests

Nearest Barpub : Swan Inn at 1 Miles Nearest Restaurant : Swan Inn at 1 Miles Nearest Beach : Little Haven at 1 Miles Car: recommended

Penelope Keith's Hidden Villages. Channel 4 (Wednesday 12th October 2016)

"Penelope crosses the stunning coastline of Pembrokeshire visiting communities, tea rooms, and a venue of the World Series of cliff diving...."

Let Syke Mill be your haven from everyday distractions of modern life, relax and appreciate the beautiful, exclusive ancient woodland setting in luxury and comfort.

***NEW FOR 2017...HOT TUB FOR AN EVEN MORE LUXURIOUS AND RELAXING BREAK****

Coast/Beach:

We are steps away from lake and short distance from various beaches.

Further Details:

We welcome our guests with Tea, Hot Chocolate, Roasted Coffee Beans for your first hot drink.

We would like to share the good news for 2016:

1) Our cottage will have WiFi up and running from 21st January 2016.

2) We have a two people Yurt that can be errected on the cottage private grounds available for hire, when booking the cottage itself. It's perfect for inviting extra friends and family members to share the fun while on holiday. Please contact us for more details

Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Early Bird Rate
1 Nov 2016 - 16 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
£320
for 3 nights
From
£90
£495
 
 
Christmas Break
17 Dec 2016 - 29 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
£485
for 3 nights
From
£145
£905
 
 
New Year Celebration
30 Dec 2016 - 2 Jan 2017
3 night minimum stay
£485
for 3 nights
From
£145
£905
 
 
Early Bird Rate
3 Jan 2017 - 3 Feb 2017
3 night minimum stay
£320
for 3 nights
From
£90
£495
 
 
Half-Term Break
4 Feb 2017 - 18 Feb 2017
7 night minimum stay
£750
for 7 nights
£750
 
 
Early Bird Rate
19 Feb 2017 - 24 Mar 2017
3 night minimum stay
£335
for 3 nights
From
£95
£540
 
 
Easter Break
25 Mar 2017 - 22 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
£750
for 7 nights
£750
 
 
May Bank Holiday
23 Apr 2017 - 26 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£395
for 3 nights
From
£115
£750
 
 
Spring Bank Holiday
27 May 2017 - 3 Jun 2017
4 night minimum stay
£510
for 4 nights
From
£115
£750
 
 
Pre Summer Break Rate
4 Jun 2017 - 7 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
£425
for 3 nights
From
£125
£750
 
 
Summer Break Rate
8 Jul 2017 - 2 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,150
for 7 nights
£1,150
 
 
Summer Rate
3 Sep 2017 - 7 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£425
for 3 nights
From
£125
£750
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning £50
Pet Fee £0

A refundable Damage/Breakage deposit payment of £200 will be requested six weeks prior to your stay.

Best Rates:
Please contact us for our best rates. We offer a rate for a small group, couples and weekend rates throughout the year.

Changeover Day:
Saturday changeover is preferred, but we can be flexible. Usual arrival time is 4.00pm and usual departure time 10.00am to allow us time to prepare the cottage. Other times can be negotiated by prior arrangement when possible.

Notes on prices:
Choose Syke Mill for the perfect place to start your adventures on the beautiful Pembrokeshire Coast National Park with family, friends and a small dog. We do not charge for one family dog. We do not charge for infant.

We request the full payment at the time of booking. £200 damage/ breakage deposit is required six weeks prior to your stay. We refund the deposit within 48 hours and once the keys have been returned. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further information or clarification. We have put together a file of our family secret places to visit, to eat at to make your stay even more special.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Updated: 04-Oct-2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

From the Owner

Syke Mill is haven from everyday distractions of modern life. Relax and appreciate the beautiful and exclusive ancient woodland setting in luxury and comfort.

Property Type

  • cottage

Theme

  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions

General

  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Games
  • Video Library

Suitability

  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...

Location Type

  • beach
  • lake
  • near the sea
  • town
  • village
  • waterfront

Attractions

  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • caving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure, Bidet, Located on the ground floor near to the bedroom.
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure, Bidet, First floor, ensuite to the twin bedroom
  • Bathroom 3 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Bidet, First floor, an ensuite to the master bedroom/a king bed
  • The Master Ensuite bathroom has a deep and luxurious bath, with water fall taps. The twin bedroom has an ensuite wet room. Downstairs bedroom has a spacious wetroom with a large shower head with multiple settings and powerful, washbasin and wc. Tiled throughout with travertine tiles.

Bedrooms

  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Notes on bedrooms: Ground floor (bedroom 1) with a king bed and adjacent wetroom. First floor (bedroom 2) twin beds with an ensuite shower room. Bedroom 3 with a king bed and an ensuite bathroom. Space for an additional cot. All the beds have a memory form top layer for a truly luxurious sleep.

Outside

  • Bicycles ...
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • 6 bicycles

Meals

  • Self-catering

Notes:

  • Penelope Keith's Hidden Villages. Channel 4 October 2016. Penelope crosses the stunning coastline of Pembrokeshire visiting communities, tea rooms, and a venue of the World Series of cliff diving. Rough Guide votes Wales best place to visit in 2014. ITV1. Episode 3. Pembrokeshire. A Great Welsh Adventure with Griff Rhys Jones. “I’m setting out on a personal odyssey, you see I was born in Wales but brought up in Essex and now I’m coming back. I want to get to grips with a wonderful country – Wales. The mill was beautiful, it was exactly what we were looking for. We were welcomed by John who gave us the keys and showed us round. There was also a welcome of tea, coffee and Welsh cakes which was marvellous. The house itself is spectacularly well appointed and I was highly impressed with the finishing touches. Kerri. Sept.2014

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot