OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Luxury 3 Bedroomed Villa, Amazing Sea Views, Swimming Pools, Landscaped Gardens

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Washing Machine
  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Villa in Santa Maria, Sal Island, Cape Verde - The Villa Is Located withIn The Exclusive Paradise Beach Resort, 75 Paces From The Ponta Preta Beach

This 3 bedroomed air-conditioned luxury villa is ideally located within the exclusive Paradise Beach resort, Sal Cape Verde and is just a stones throw from the Ponta Preta beach and 150 paces from the beach gate. Furnished to a high standard in a modern contemporary design, and exuding style and comfort, the villa is split over two floors, offering plenty of space for up to 6 adults and 2 children under the age of twelve. With 3 large bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. It is the ideal holiday villa either for a large family or two small families holidaying together. Opened in 2012, Paradise Beach is an outstanding luxury beachfront resort situated on Sal Island in Cape Verde, although the north side of the resort is not completely finished the villa is sited on the south of the resort far away from any development bar one property. Situated on the stunning Ponta Preta beach, which boasts one of the most beautiful tropical beaches in the world. find your own piece of paradise with some 7km of unspoilt seashore. Amenities include 5 communal swimming pools, Pool Bars and Restaurant, the grounds of 28 hectares have been extensively landscaped and include walkways and gardens of tropical plants positioned on the west coastline of the island.

The villa has a comfortable air-conditioned open plan living and dining area with luxury furnishings. There are two large leather sofas giving ample seating for six people, one of which converts to a double bed. The dining area is furnished with a table and six chairs and sliding glass doors lead out to the terrace. There is a Lcd flat-screen TV and Dvd player with lots of Dvds for you and your family to enjoy a bluetooth music system and wifi access. Sliding glass doors lead out to the terrace which overlook the landscaped gardens. On this shaded terrace is a table and chairs for you to enjoy your breakfast and a relaxing sofa set where you can enjoy early evening drinks. The terrace overlooks the large gardens, which are beautifully landscaped with tropical plants and flowers.

The kitchen is fully equipped with integrated appliances, a hob and oven and beautiful white worktops. You will find a dishwasher, fridge freezer and microwave oven - everything you need to make your holiday stress free.

The master bedroom is situated on the ground floor and has a super king sized bed, cupboard and drawer space and an ensuite shower room.

Two upstairs bedrooms (one with a super king sized bed and one with two single beds) lead out to a large roof terrace. The bathroom on this floor is equipped with a shower and W.C.

All three bedrooms are furnished with luxurious cotton bed sheets and are air-conditioned. Towels are provided for use in the villa as well as spare towels for the beach.

The ground floor terrace has four chairs and a table for you to enjoy your breakfast, a relaxing four seat sofa set and smaller two seat pod set with table. The terrace overlooks beautifully landscaped gardens.

The roof terrace offers magnificent sea views and is furnished with an outdoor dining table which seats six and four wonderfully comfy sun loungers.

More Details

Owner
Martyn and Debbie Wright
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
10 July, 2017

About Martyn and Debbie Wright

I am a busy working Mum who values her time with my family - especially on holiday!! Our Villa is like coming home - as soon as I open the door I am relaxed and looking forward to a lovely time with my family - enjoying the Cape Verdean sunshine. The villa is comfortable, beautifully furnished with all the mod cons you could wish for. Plenty of space for all the family to chill out and we particularly look forward to early evening drinks on the patio before heading into Santa Maria for a meal.

We hope that you will enjoy our villa in Santa Maria as much as we do.

Martyn and Debbie Wright purchased this villa in 2012

Why Martyn and Debbie Wright chose Cape Verde

The reason we chose to buy a villa in Sal was due to the fabulous climate - all year round sunshine - no rainy or hurricane season!! We have since discovered that the Island has so much to offer - the locals are so friendly, there is plenty to see and do. There are fabulous bars and restaurants and the most spectacular sandy beaches and turquoise sea!!

What makes this villa unique

The villa is just a short distance out of town which gives it a quiet, peaceful atmosphere but with access to all the amenities of Santa Maria which is only five minutes away. Paradise Beach is one of the largest resorts on the Island of Sal but with drive up accommodation, unusually large gardens and an abundance of space the resort is perfect for those looking for an undisturbed, uncrowded holiday, perfect for those wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday living.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Had a great time, very comfortable villa hope to come back just after Xmas. Regards Paul and gang.
Feb 2017
  • 1 of 3

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in Sal in Cape Verde

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • resort
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Shower room 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Shower room 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • The ground floor bathroom/ensuite boasts shower cubicle, hand basin and w.c. with Italian tiles and modern fittings. The first floor family bathroom boasts a large shower cubicle, large enough for 2, hand basin and w.c.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 8 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: The main bedroom is situated on the ground floor with an en suite bathroom and is furnished with a super king sized bed and all the cupboard and drawer space you will need. Two further bedrooms situated on the first floor one with twin beds, the other with a super king size bed both have plenty of cupboard and drawer space.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Outside: Leading from the first floor landing is a double glazed door which takes you to a magnificent 40 square metre roof terrace This terrace can also be accessed via patio doors from each of the two upper floor bedrooms and offers magnificent sea views and benefits from the evening sun. The roof terrace is furnished with a dining table which seats six, a pod set with coffee table and 4 wonderfully comfy sun loungers for those who prefer to soak up the sun in the privacy of their own villa! The ground floor shaded terrace is accessed from the lounge and master bedroom. Here you will find a table and 4 chairs for you to enjoy your breakfast, & a relaxing sofa set where you can enjoy early evening drinks. The villa terrace overlooks the large gardens which are beautifully landscaped with tropical plants and flowers. Cleaning / Linen / Maid service: The Villa will be clean on arrival & weekly thereafter, a midweek clean, linen and towel change is available at extra cost. Hand, bath and beach towels are included. This resort is perfect for those who want to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life however all of the facilities may not be operational in the low season.

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(13 traveller reviews)

Luxury 3 Bedroomed Villa, Amazing Sea Views, Swimming Pools, Landscaped Gardens
average rating of 4.1538463 based on 16 reviews
5

A wonderful holiday

  • 5 of 5

Debbie and Martyn Wright, the owners of the villa, are very friendly, helpful, reliable and professional people to deal with. It was a real pleasure doing business with them.

The villa is absolutely lovely with an awesome, wind-protected first floor terrace.

The house has all amenities in excellent order and is very spacious. A truly wonderful “home from home“. It was very clean and well-maintained. Helpful to know that the Paradise Beach reception would take care of any questions that might arise.

The motto of the island is “no stress“. This really works. Especially with 14 days of sunshine!

In Santa Maria there are excellent restaurants: Atlantis, Chez Pastis and the restaurant at the hotel Odjo d‘Agua. You might want to precede dinner with some Caipirinhas at Palm Beach.

Our taxi driver was Silvino (002389985527). He will do almost anything for guests. If he cannot come himself, he‘ll send a friend.

He helped us to buy fresh fish at the pier at local rates.

He can organise an island tour with his friend Ildo. It takes for as long as you wish and he is your guide/driver for the day. The car is a Landcruiser Prado. Costs 100 euros plus tips.

We recommend this trip highly.

Furthermore, you should not miss floating in the old salt mines. The salt content of the water is as dense as in the Dead Sea. Great fun outing!

Amazing is the genuine friendliness of the local Cape Verdians.

We loved it and will definitely be back!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
2

Villa very nice but location didn't match.

  • 2 of 5

As mentioned Villa very nice but on a resort with no facilities. In visitors book comments from two years ago report similar issues, no pool adjacent and views of building site not of ocean as advertised. It's a 5 minute walk not 75 steps to reach the beach.

One bar was open 'ish but no snacks and next to noisy repairs to empty main swimming pool so only went once. Whole development empty and no atmosphere rather like something from a post apocalyptic survivor film.

No information pack for visitors. Only by chance we found how to walk (hour +) north to a Turtle bay.

Swimming near villa only possible in a dedicated enclosed harbour (Bikini bar on promontory). Otherwise beaches always red flagged and unsafe.

Welcome pack. We were not told what the options were and went for premium just in case. It contained stuff we didn't want or need (like cornflakes) so suggest you check the price and contents to see if it's value for money.

Utilities- you mentioned this but they were not cheap. Suggest you get an estimate for the Wifi too.

Overall by improvising and being frugal we made the most of it.

Fine villa but resort needs work to create a holiday atmosphere.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 31, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Grahame Thank you for your very positive comments about our villa. I am sorry that that you were dissappointed with the resort. We do advise all guests that it is a quiet and relaxed resort and have had many positive reviews because of this. We also advise guests that during the low season services may be restricted and that some maintenance may be taking place. We do our best to keep our guests informed of costs and you were sent a list of items included in each welcome pack and the cost. Also outlined was the cost of wifi. We and many of our previous guests have enjoyed swimming from the local beach which is 75 paces from the villa. However, it can vary dependant on weather conditions and seasons so we are not able to guarantee that the sea will be calm at all times - I wish we could. However Bikini Beach, which is a 5 minute walk does provide a more safe swimming environment. We do not have an information pack in the villa as changes can happen and we are not in a position to amend it from the UK. However we did send you a document outlining things to do, taxis, restaurants, excursions, and more. I will pass on your comments to the resort.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

WE LOVED IT!!!!!

  • 5 of 5

A very relaxing holiday for us. the resort is very quiet which suited us perfectly and the villa was great.

We used Silvino and others to taxi us around they would stop at shops when required - very helpful.

The restaurant recommendations were also very helpful and we had some great meals. We particularly loved La Tortue and Le Prive.

The newly opened Bikini Beach was great - 43 euros for lunch, (great food) 4 glasses wine, towels, loungers and 2 complimentary glasses of bubbly- what a bargain!!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Best Holiday Ever

  • 5 of 5

When we arrived the taxi took us straight to the supermarket to stock up on breakfast food, water and other immediate essentials then on to the villa. We were a little anxious as we had seen a previous review but we need not have worried. the villa was spotless, well equipped with all that is required for a week or fortnights break. Martyn had apologised in advance for the sofa covers as there was an issue with the material. He had said that it may be resolved before we arrived but it wasn’t, this did not detract from our enjoyment. The beaches were to die for, we swam in the sea in many places and often from the local beach. Happy hour at Tortue and Calema and then on to have some fabulous meals at the recommended restaurants. We didn't take any tours, Silvino was our tour guide taxi service and driver, a great guy.

There was only one pool in operation as we were told that the two large pools were waiting parts and should be completed before the end of this year, this didn't bother us.

We will definitely be back sometime in the near future.

Vic and Ellie

  • Review Submitted: Nov 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Not as good as the photos

  • 2 of 5

I've had 2 reviews declined for this property. I cannot write the whole picture sadly. So in basic terms the villa is tired. The furnishings/ curtains need a good wash. The sofa needs replacing. It's covers are ill fitting and again dirty so not at all inviting. There was a dirty oven tray left in the oven that we washed ourselves so we could use it. There was not enough cups (3)/glasses (4)/pots/utensils (no can opener/ladle for self catering for us 6, let alone the 8 sleepers advertised but glasses and mugs were supplied when we told reception. The villa looks immediately out to an unfinished breeze block construction and is situated on the conpound boundary next to the Melia Dunas hotel beach disco/ DJ. Good luck with that of an evening if you want peace and quiet on the patio. The villa does not front a pool as perceived in the photos. Only 1 pool was open out of the 7 because it was out of season. No pool bars were open. We couldn't use the pool for 3 days of our holiday because it was dirty/cloudy. Don't use the taxi airport service offered. Grab your own from the airport. Much cheaper. Don't have the welcome pack. Ridiculously over priced. Ask your taxi driver to take you to Cazu supermarket and stock up. You'll need every basic item. Dish washing liquid, dish cloth, tea, coffee, milk, water!, as there's nothing except a couple of loo rolls. We loved Cape Verde and will return. But to a more completed/fully functioning resort.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Anonymous I would like to thank you for your review. I would like to apologise that you did not find the villa in the condition that it should be. It is information like this that keeps us up to date with the condition of the villa as we rely on local management to maintain the property for us. I have made the necessary arrangements to ensure that the cutlery/crockery are brought up to specification and that the cleaners check the oven in their cleaning duties. There has been a problem with the sofa and the suppliers have ordered a replacement. Unfortunately this does take some time due to the location, but I am assured that the replacement should be delivered by the end of this year. As an interim measure the suppliers provided a sofa cover which I have been assured is cleaned at the end of each guest stay. I had advised you about the pool maintenance situation but I will pass on your comments to the resort as well as those of the welcome pack and transfers. Again please accept my sincere apologies that our villa was not up to its usual standard but am glad that you enjoyed Cape Verde.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
1

Not as described - huge disappointment

  • 1 of 5

We booked this property based on the amenities at the resort as stated in the advert. We were told to go to reception on arrival to collect the keys to the property and made the owners aware of the flight we were arriving on, which would be arriving after 6pm. When we arrived it was dark, reception was closed (it closes at 5) and there was nobody around. The place was like a ghost town. Of the hundreds of villas on site, we could not find one that was occupied. After walking around the large resort in the dark with our luggage for an hour, we managed to find a security guard who called someone to come give us keys to the villa. He apologised profusely for not meeting us, but said he had forgotten we were coming. The villa, which is for the most part very nice, does not have so much as a toilet roll to start you off, which would not have been a problem if the on-site shop that had been advertised actually was open or even existed. It did not (although reception does sell limited items when it is open - it had a single roll of toilet paper and a bottle of water when it finally opened after 11am the next day). Had we been made aware that there was nowhere to buy anything we would have made a stop on the way from the airport as the nearest town is a taxi ride away and we had no means to call a taxi. So we were stuck with nothing to drink (the water is not drinkable) and no toilet roll. Anyone thinking of booking this villa, please be aware of this and make a stop on the way from the airport. The taxi drivers here are extremely amenable and will take you to a supermarket to get your provisions.

This complex looks as though it has been started and then the developer has run out of money. It is half finished, with half the site being a building site although one with no evidence of any work being done. We did not see a single other person (other than the British gentleman who gave us the keys) the whole time we were there. I would say that over 90% of the properties do not look as if they have ever been used, as they are empty of even furniture. Which would explain why the amenities advertised - restaurant, bars, shop, 7 pools - are all shut. The pools were empty, there is no evidence of a restaurant and the bars are shut. If you are aware of this and want a peaceful week, the villa is a good base, but we were not. The owners misrepresented this property and we have not been satisfied with their response ('it is out of season') to our complaint.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Anonymous I would like to thank you for your very positive comments regarding our villa we have had many 5 star reviews. The only negative issue that you mention regarding the villa is that of missing toilet rolls. Toilet rolls are always in the villa, on this occasion I can only apologise for the oversight. I would now like to address some of the other issues that you raised. With regards to key collection we always advise that guests request the transfers from the airport offered by the resort as the drivers will have the villa keys this is more important when arriving late or in the low season. We offer a selection of welcome packs on arrival for those that do not wish to shop straight away. We also provide telephone numbers of taxi drivers, these are at the top of the list on our information/things to do attachment. Also in this attachment we do state that there is a resort kiosk, this is in the reception, however we do suggest that you ask the resort for the opening times as this varies dependant on the season. The resort, it is a very large resort, very spacious, however in the low season with fewer guests it can seem unoccupied. There is some building work but this has not impacted on the enjoyment of previous guests as our villa is as far away from this work as is possible. As it is the low season the resort has taken the opportunity to carry out repair work and maintenance on some of the pools. At the same time the restaurant and bar staff took their annual leave. This I have apologised for and have asked the resort to keep me informed of this type of activity in future so that guests can be informed. Again I would like to thank you for you comments regarding the villa, It is a good base and a very peaceful place to spend your time in Cape Verde
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
5 Kilometres
15 minutes by taxi
Nearest Barpub
on the resort
Nearest Restaurant
on the resort
Nearest Beach
0.1 Kilometres
50 metres
Car: not necessary

Special interest holidays:

The winter months in particular make this resort a windsurf and kitesurf paradise. Due to their position within this winter trade wind belt the Cape Verde Islands boast near perfect windsurfing and kitesurfing conditions from late November to June. Sal is an awesome spot for Kitesurfing and is especially suited to the advanced risers and wave sailor.

This is an amazing surfing destination too & offers a great experience for first time surfers & experienced professionals. The surf is mostly reef breaks but you will find some comfortable beach breaks if sandy bottom is your preferred option. There are surf schools which will provide lessons over the sandy bottom surf breaks. Cape Verde is the home of Kite and wind surfing world champions who offer coaching to beginners and the more competent surfers.

If diving is for you there are brilliantly coloured parrot & trigger fish. In many areas around the islands one can observe big fish and large schools of fish relatively close to shore.

Coast/Beach:

The nearest beach is just a stones throw from the villa and a 150 metre walk away through the resorts beach gate, the town beaches are a 5 minutes drive.

Travel:

There is only one airport on Sal which is a 15 minute drive from the Villa. Car hire is available, however taxis are readily available and cheap.

Distances:

Santa Maria is the nearest town which is a 5 minute drive away with a great choice of bars and restaurants and beaches. There is lots to see on Sal - all within a 30 minute drive from the villa. Pedra de Luna is fascinating - salt flats in the centre of a volcano - you can swim in the salt pools. Kite beach is well worth a visit to see the world champion kite surfers in action!!

Further Details:

Local shops, restaurants, supermarkets and banks are all within a 5 minute drive away in Santa Maria.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday villa in Sal, Africa

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
low
1 May 2017 - 16 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£425
for 7 nights
£425
 
 
special rate
17 Sep 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£325
for 7 nights
£325
 
 
low
1 Oct 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
7 night minimum stay
£425
for 7 nights
£425
 
 
high
1 Nov 2017 - 31 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£550
for 7 nights
£550
 
 
Mid
1 Feb 2018 - 31 Mar 2018
7 night minimum stay
£475
for 7 nights
£475
 
 
High
1 Apr 2018 - 30 Apr 2018
7 night minimum stay
£550
for 7 nights
£550
 
 
Low
1 May 2018 - 16 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
£450
for 7 nights
£450
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£450
for 7 nights
£450
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £150

Booking Notes:
A non-refundable deposit of £250 per week is required to secure a booking, and the balance to be paid in full 8 weeks prior to departure. Please see our web site for full terms and conditions

Changeover Day:
Changeover day is flexible.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable