OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Luxury 3 Bedroomed Villa, Amazing Sea Views, Swimming Pools, Landscaped Gardens



Updated: 14-Oct-2016
Villa in Santa Maria, Sal Island, Cape Verde - The Villa Is Located withIn The Exclusive Paradise Beach Resort, 75 Paces From The Ponta Preta Beach

This 3 bedroomed air-conditioned luxury villa is ideally located within the exclusive Paradise Beach resort, just 75 paces from the Ponta Preta beach, Sal, Cape Verde. Furnished to a high standard in a modern contemporary design, and exuding style and comfort, the villa is split over two floors, offering plenty of space for up to 8 guests. With 3 large bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. It is the ideal holiday villa either for a large family or two small families holidaying together. Opened in 2011, Paradise Beach is an outstanding luxury beachfront resort situated on Sal Island in Cape Verde. Situated on the stunning Ponta Preta beach, which boasts one of the most beautiful tropical beaches in the world. find your own piece of paradise with some 7km of unspoilt seashore. Amenities include 7 communal swimming pools, Pool Bars and Restaurant, the grounds of 28 hectares have been extensively landscaped and include walkways and gardens of tropical plants positioned on the west coastline of the island.

  • Sleeps 8
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Swimming pool
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Wheelchair access

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

I am a busy working Mum who values her time with my family - especially on holiday!! Our Villa is like coming home - as soon as I open the door I am relaxed and looking forward to a lovely time with my family - enjoying the Cape Verdean sunshine. The villa is comfortable, beautifully furnished with all the mod cons you could wish for. Plenty of space for all the family to chill out and we particularly look forward to early evening drinks on the patio before heading into Santa Maria for a meal.

We hope that you will enjoy our villa in Santa Maria as much as we do.

Call Owner
Speaks English

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Martyn

Had an amazing and relaxing holiday at the villa. So glad we arranged the transfer to and from airport made the holiday stress free as taxi driver happy come back and take us to local shops for basic supplies.

I wanted a lovely relaxing holiday and this is what we got away from the usual towel wars, as some days it felt like we had the entire complex to ourselves. We enjoyed our daily trips to Santa Maria, checking out the local restaurants and shops and the amazing beach.

This was my kind of holiday.
Jun 2016
  • 1 of 1

9 Reviews

based on 9 holidaymaker reviews


A wonderful holiday

  • 5 of 5

Debbie and Martyn Wright, the owners of the villa, are very friendly, helpful, reliable and professional people to deal with. It was a real pleasure doing business with them.

The villa is absolutely lovely with an awesome, wind-protected first floor terrace.

The house has all amenities in excellent order and is very spacious. A truly wonderful “home from home“. It was very clean and well-maintained. Helpful to know that the Paradise Beach reception would take care of any questions that might arise.

The motto of the island is “no stress“. This really works. Especially with 14 days of sunshine!

In Santa Maria there are excellent restaurants: Atlantis, Chez Pastis and the restaurant at the hotel Odjo d‘Agua. You might want to precede dinner with some Caipirinhas at Palm Beach.

Our taxi driver was Silvino (002389985527). He will do almost anything for guests. If he cannot come himself, he‘ll send a friend.

He helped us to buy fresh fish at the pier at local rates.

He can organise an island tour with his friend Ildo. It takes for as long as you wish and he is your guide/driver for the day. The car is a Landcruiser Prado. Costs 100 euros plus tips.

We recommend this trip highly.

Furthermore, you should not miss floating in the old salt mines. The salt content of the water is as dense as in the Dead Sea. Great fun outing!

Amazing is the genuine friendliness of the local Cape Verdians.

We loved it and will definitely be back!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not as good as the photos

  • 2 of 5

I've had 2 reviews declined for this property. I cannot write the whole picture sadly. So in basic terms the villa is tired. The furnishings/ curtains need a good wash. The sofa needs replacing. It's covers are ill fitting and again dirty so not at all inviting. There was a dirty oven tray left in the oven that we washed ourselves so we could use it. There was not enough cups (3)/glasses (4)/pots/utensils (no can opener/ladle for self catering for us 6, let alone the 8 sleepers advertised but glasses and mugs were supplied when we told reception. The villa looks immediately out to an unfinished breeze block construction and is situated on the conpound boundary next to the Melia Dunas hotel beach disco/ DJ. Good luck with that of an evening if you want peace and quiet on the patio. The villa does not front a pool as perceived in the photos. Only 1 pool was open out of the 7 because it was out of season. No pool bars were open. We couldn't use the pool for 3 days of our holiday because it was dirty/cloudy. Don't use the taxi airport service offered. Grab your own from the airport. Much cheaper. Don't have the welcome pack. Ridiculously over priced. Ask your taxi driver to take you to Cazu supermarket and stock up. You'll need every basic item. Dish washing liquid, dish cloth, tea, coffee, milk, water!, as there's nothing except a couple of loo rolls. We loved Cape Verde and will return. But to a more completed/fully functioning resort.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Anonymous I would like to thank you for your review. I would like to apologise that you did not find the villa in the condition that it should be. It is information like this that keeps us up to date with the condition of the villa as we rely on local management to maintain the property for us. I have made the necessary arrangements to ensure that the cutlery/crockery are brought up to specification and that the cleaners check the oven in their cleaning duties. There has been a problem with the sofa and the suppliers have ordered a replacement. Unfortunately this does take some time due to the location, but I am assured that the replacement should be delivered by the end of this year. As an interim measure the suppliers provided a sofa cover which I have been assured is cleaned at the end of each guest stay. I had advised you about the pool maintenance situation but I will pass on your comments to the resort as well as those of the welcome pack and transfers. Again please accept my sincere apologies that our villa was not up to its usual standard but am glad that you enjoyed Cape Verde.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not as described - huge disappointment

  • 1 of 5

We booked this property based on the amenities at the resort as stated in the advert. We were told to go to reception on arrival to collect the keys to the property and made the owners aware of the flight we were arriving on, which would be arriving after 6pm. When we arrived it was dark, reception was closed (it closes at 5) and there was nobody around. The place was like a ghost town. Of the hundreds of villas on site, we could not find one that was occupied. After walking around the large resort in the dark with our luggage for an hour, we managed to find a security guard who called someone to come give us keys to the villa. He apologised profusely for not meeting us, but said he had forgotten we were coming. The villa, which is for the most part very nice, does not have so much as a toilet roll to start you off, which would not have been a problem if the on-site shop that had been advertised actually was open or even existed. It did not (although reception does sell limited items when it is open - it had a single roll of toilet paper and a bottle of water when it finally opened after 11am the next day). Had we been made aware that there was nowhere to buy anything we would have made a stop on the way from the airport as the nearest town is a taxi ride away and we had no means to call a taxi. So we were stuck with nothing to drink (the water is not drinkable) and no toilet roll. Anyone thinking of booking this villa, please be aware of this and make a stop on the way from the airport. The taxi drivers here are extremely amenable and will take you to a supermarket to get your provisions.

This complex looks as though it has been started and then the developer has run out of money. It is half finished, with half the site being a building site although one with no evidence of any work being done. We did not see a single other person (other than the British gentleman who gave us the keys) the whole time we were there. I would say that over 90% of the properties do not look as if they have ever been used, as they are empty of even furniture. Which would explain why the amenities advertised - restaurant, bars, shop, 7 pools - are all shut. The pools were empty, there is no evidence of a restaurant and the bars are shut. If you are aware of this and want a peaceful week, the villa is a good base, but we were not. The owners misrepresented this property and we have not been satisfied with their response ('it is out of season') to our complaint.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Anonymous I would like to thank you for your very positive comments regarding our villa we have had many 5 star reviews. The only negative issue that you mention regarding the villa is that of missing toilet rolls. Toilet rolls are always in the villa, on this occasion I can only apologise for the oversight. I would now like to address some of the other issues that you raised. With regards to key collection we always advise that guests request the transfers from the airport offered by the resort as the drivers will have the villa keys this is more important when arriving late or in the low season. We offer a selection of welcome packs on arrival for those that do not wish to shop straight away. We also provide telephone numbers of taxi drivers, these are at the top of the list on our information/things to do attachment. Also in this attachment we do state that there is a resort kiosk, this is in the reception, however we do suggest that you ask the resort for the opening times as this varies dependant on the season. The resort, it is a very large resort, very spacious, however in the low season with fewer guests it can seem unoccupied. There is some building work but this has not impacted on the enjoyment of previous guests as our villa is as far away from this work as is possible. As it is the low season the resort has taken the opportunity to carry out repair work and maintenance on some of the pools. At the same time the restaurant and bar staff took their annual leave. This I have apologised for and have asked the resort to keep me informed of this type of activity in future so that guests can be informed. Again I would like to thank you for you comments regarding the villa, It is a good base and a very peaceful place to spend your time in Cape Verde
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very spacious villa

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful 2 week stay at this lovely villa. It was well equipped and had everything we wanted. It's situated in a very quiet location and we found it very relaxing.The resort has nice gardens and several pools.

It's a little distance from Santa Maria but only cost €4 euros to get there. We used a regular driver named Silvino who was always happy to take you anywhere, we'd give him a call and he would be with us in about 10 minutes. If on the odd occasion he wasn't able to make it he would always send someone else.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 23, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind comments, it is always a pleasure to know that our villa and its location has been enjoyed.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Excellent......just go......no stress!

  • 5 of 5

Just wanted to say thank you for such a lovely place to stay while on holiday, your apartment is beautiful and was exactly what we were looking forward to for our family needs.

All the staff at Paradise Beach were lovely and went of their way to be helpful. One of the security guys (Kebba) even spent a day of his own holiday to give us tour of Santa Maria. He took us to the pier and we were able to buy fresh fish for the local price instead of tourist price!

Car hire is expensive so we only used this for a few days at the beginning and a few days at the end our stay. The other days we used a taxi service recommended by Kebba. The taxi drivers was fantastic and was more like a personal chauffeur, he took us to the supermarket and even came in, packed our bags and carried the shopping into the apartment. You can phone him day or night and he's usually at the apartment door in 10 minutes or less........Silvino Evora 00238-9985527 (English speaking)

  • Review Submitted: Apr 16, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Great Time !!!

  • 5 of 5

Hi Guys

This Villa is a very good place to stay, beautiful view from the terrace to the sea the only bad point is there are some Villa's coming up just in front of this Property. We had a great time at the Villa & in Sal.

If you want to go on a tour in Sal Island I would recommend a cab driver called Silvino, he speaks good English & a very honest person, he would not over charge you & very helpful too. Very friendly people. You have to pay the Electric & Water Bills separately, it comes roughly about Euros 20-30 per couple for the week. Lots of fresh fish if you like to eat.

Looking to go back in the near future !!!!!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 18, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


From the Owner

The reason we chose to buy a villa in Sal was due to the fabulous climate - all year round sunshine - no rainy or hurricane season!! We have since discovered that the Island has so much to offer - the locals are so friendly, there is plenty to see and do. There are fabulous bars and restaurants and the most spectacular sandy beaches and turquoise sea!!

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : 15 minutes by taxi at 5 Kilometres Nearest Barpub : on the resort Nearest Restaurant : on the resort Nearest Beach : 50 metres at 0.1 Kilometres Car: not necessary

Special interest holidays:

The winter months in particular make this resort a windsurf and kitesurf paradise. Due to their position within this winter trade wind belt the Cape Verde Islands boast near perfect windsurfing and kitesurfing conditions from late November to June. Sal is an awesome spot for Kitesurfing and is especially suited to the advanced risers and wave sailor.

This is an amazing surfing destination too & offers a great experience for first time surfers & experienced professionals. The surf is mostly reef breaks but you will find some comfortable beach breaks if sandy bottom is your preferred option. There are surf schools which will provide lessons over the sandy bottom surf breaks. Cape Verde is the home of Kite and wind surfing world champions who offer coaching to beginners and the more competent surfers.

If diving is for you there are brilliantly coloured parrot & trigger fish. In many areas around the islands one can observe big fish and large schools of fish relatively close to shore.


The nearest beach is just a 50 metre walk away and the town beach is 5 minutes drive.


There is only one airport on Sal which is a 15 minute drive from the Villa. Car hire is available, however taxis are readily available and cheap.


Santa Maria is the nearest town which is a 5 minute drive away with a great choice of bars and restaurants and beaches. There is lots to see on Sal - all within a 30 minute drive from the villa. Pedra de Luna is fascinating - salt flats in the centre of a volcano - you can swim in the salt pools. Kite beach is well worth a visit to see the world champion kite surfers in action!!

Further Details:

Local shops, restaurants, supermarkets and banks are all within a 5 minute drive away in Santa Maria.


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Rate 2
2 Oct 2016 - 30 Oct 2016
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Rate 3
1 Nov 2016 - 31 Jan 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
1 Feb 2017 - 31 Mar 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
1 Apr 2017 - 30 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
1 May 2017 - 16 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
special rate
17 Sep 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
A non-refundable deposit of £250 per week is required to secure a booking, and the balance to be paid in full 8 weeks prior to departure. Please see our web site for full terms and conditions

Changeover Day:
Changeover day is flexible.

A non-refundable deposit of £250 per week is required to secure a booking, and the balance to be paid in full 8 weeks prior to departure. Please see our web site for full terms and conditions

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Enquire Now
Updated: 14-Oct-2016
Available arrival


From the Owner

The villa is just a short distance out of town which gives it a quiet, peaceful atmosphere but with access to all the amenities of Santa Maria which is only five minutes away.

Property Type

  • villa


  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine


  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster


  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area


  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library

Pool / Spa

  • Communal Pool


  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...

Location Type

  • beach
  • near the sea
  • resort


  • reefs
  • restaurants

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing


  • Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • Shower room 2 - Shower Enclosure
  • The ground floor bathroom/ensuite boasts shower cubicle, hand basin and w.c. with Italian tiles and modern fittings. The first floor family bathroom boasts a large shower cubicle, large enough for 2, hand basin and w.c.


  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 8 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: The main bedroom is situated on the ground floor with an en suite bathroom and is furnished with a super king sized bed and all the cupboard and drawer space you will need. Two further bedrooms situated on the first floor one with twin beds, the other with a super king size bed both have plenty of cupboard and drawer space.


  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...


  • Self-catering

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website


  • Outside: Leading from the first floor landing is a double glazed door which takes you to a magnificent 40 square metre roof terrace. This terrace can also be accessed via patio doors from each of the two upper floor bedrooms and offers magnificent sea views and benefits from the evening sun. The roof terrace is furnished with a dining table which seats six, a pod set with coffee table and 4 wonderfully comfy sun loungers for those who prefer to soak up the sun in the privacy of their own villa! The ground floor shaded terrace is accessed from the lounge and master bedroom. Here you will find a table and 4 chairs for you to enjoy your breakfast, & a relaxing sofa set where you can enjoy early evening drinks. The terrace overlooks the large gardens which are beautifully landscaped with tropical plants and flowers. Amenities include 7 communal swimming pools, bars and restaurant, the grounds of 28 hectares have been extensively landscaped and include walkways and gardens of tropical plants. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: The Villa will be clean on arrival & weekly thereafter, a midweek clean, linen and towel change is available at extra cost. Hand, bath and beach towels are included. Other: The magnificent 40 square metre roof terrace offers magnificent sea views and benefits from the evening sun, furnished with a dining table for six, a pod set with coffee table and 4 comfy sun loungers.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot