OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Fully Refurbished Townhouse Retaining Many Original Features, With Roof Terrace

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights
Popular Features
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Townhouse in Villajoyosa, Costa Blanca North, Spain - Situated In The Historic Old Town Of Villajoyosa. Just a Few Minutes Walk From The 1km Long Beach

Our house is located within the Casco Antiguo, amongst the colourful houses of Villajoyosa. It has been recently refurbished mixing contemporary bathrooms and kitchen with traditional features such as the large entrance hall, low ceilings (in some rooms) and original beams and floor tiles. It is conveniently located just a few minutes walk from all local amenities including banks, supermarkets, bars and restaurants. It is approximately a 40 mins drive from Alicante airport. Villajoyosa has easy access via tram or bus to the more lively town of Benidorm. Benidorm boasts Terra Mitica theme park, Aqualandia waterpark and for the keen golfer there are many golf courses within a short drive. Should you tire of the beautiful beaches in and around Villajoyosa, the surrounding countryside is stunning with mountains and pretty little villages nestled in the hills e.g Guadalest, Finnestrat, Relleu and Sella.


Owner
kerry anne Hewitt
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
16 October, 2017

About kerry anne Hewitt

My husband, teenage son and I came to Villajoyosa because my husband, a professional rugby coach, started work here as the coach of Club de Rugby La Vila in 2010. We lived just south of the town of Vilajoyosa for the first year but as we got to know more about this beautiful town we decided we wanted to be a part of it. We moved into the Old Town and rented a house there for the 2nd year of his contract. By this time we had all fallen in love with the easy going lifestyle, beautiful scenery, sometimes crazy noise- particularly during the Moors and Christians Fiesta-24th -30th July, and the friendly people of Villajoyosa.

We decided that we wanted to live here so sold our house in Devon and looked for a place here. We found a house in the old town that had been empty for many years and was in need of complete refurbishment, It still had many original features and we fell in love with it. We could see its potential although many friends and family were horrified at the time. We worked with a group of local fabulous builders who know the quirks of these old houses and now have what we consider a fabulous home. I am happy to say that the nay-sayers have eaten their words!

Unfortunately the builders moved out in May, 2012, we moved in in June, my husband was offered a job at Worcester Warriors that he could not refuse in July, he returned to the UK in August and I unpacked my boxes and re-packed them and I returned to the UK in September!

kerry anne Hewitt purchased this house in 2011

Why kerry anne Hewitt chose Alicante Area

We used this as a holiday home for a couple of years and every time we came back it was with a sense of anxiety- would it be as great as we remembered it? Would the house still be standing? Had we done the right thing? And every time we just knew that the answer was Yes, Yes, Yes!

What makes this house unique

The old town has an eclectic mix of nationalities, British, Norwegian, French, Dutch and of course Spanish. Our house is right in the centre of 'the jewel in the crown' of Villajoyosa which is the Casco Antiguo. (Old Town). We are on the route for a few of the fantastic parades from the Church in the Placa de Iglesia to the beach each year.The Spanish ladies sweep and mop the street with pride before the parade comes down our road and flags are hung and people watch from the balconies as the statues are carried through the street accompanied by marching bands.

We have easy access to local bread shops, butchers, restaurants, supermarkets. Any thing you could wish for!

We just love our little bit of Spain.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Please see the reviews that have been posted by our guests.
Feb 2013
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Villajoyosa in La Marina Baixa

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • Ocean View
  • town
  • waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Toilet 1 - Toilet , Located on the lounge level with easy access to roof terrace
    Shower room 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , This is the en-suite wet room, includes towels & hairdryer
    Shower room 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Bathroom for bedrooms 2 & 3. Towels and hairdryer provided
  • En-suite wet room with shower and WC to bedroom 1 on first floor. 2nd bathroom with WC and walk-in shower, located on ground floor next to bed 3. Separate WC on the third floor.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , This room has an en-suite wet room and a balcony.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , With a window overlooking the street
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed , On the ground floor with a bathroom next to it.
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Family room at the top of the stairs converts to bedroom
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 8 - 3 bedrooms and very comfortable sofabed Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with king size bed, en-suite wet room and double doors to balcony over the street. Bed 2 with double bed and 'stable door' window. Bed 3 with two single beds and a window to the small patio. Bathroom 2 next to bedroom 3 2nd sitting room/bed 4 with double sofa bed. We do have a travel cot for your use should you require it. We also have stair gates fitted
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • bay
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • naturist beach
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: There is plenty of parking in two underground, paying car parks locally. Free car parking is available on the beach car park. Utility Room: The utility area is located in the large entrance hall. There is a washing machine, iron and ironing board. Beach chairs and umbrella are also stored here. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Towels, bed linen and a hair-dryer will be provided for the duration of your stay, there are also beach towels. We ask that you leave the cleaner 60euros at the end of your stay. If you require extra cleaning Lali lives opposite and charges 10eu an hour. Other: The house has a small shaded patio at the back which is always cool.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(14 traveller reviews)

92% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Fully Refurbished Townhouse Retaining Many Original Features, With Roof Terrace
average rating of 4.857143 based on 15 reviews
5

Хороший дом в прекрасном месте

  • 5 of 5

Дом находится в старом городе, среди узких извилистых улочек, на которых сидят у своих распахнутых дверей на стульчиках местные жители. Рядом полицейский участок, храм, рынок, кафе, магазины, остановка автобуса и трамвая. До моря 5 минут пешком. В доме чисто, уютно.Устойчивый интернет. Кухня очень хорошо оборудована. Доброжелательные хозяева. Впечатления дом оставил положительные,. Есть несколько моментов, которые удивили, но не испортили наш отпуск.

1. Кухня находится на пятом этаже, что хорошо для "вечно худеющих", но плохо для пожилых людей. С нами была мама 68 лет,она жила в комнате на первом этаже и ей до магазина было сходить быстрее, чем подняться на кухню.

2. В комнате на первом этаже ощущается гнилостный запах, от которого нам не удалось избавиться.

3. В доме достаточно душно, спасали только вентиляторы.

Если хотите интегрироваться в жизнь местного населения, а не только восхищаться улочками и фотографировать домики со стороны, то Вам сюда. Мы весь отпуск потели, пыхтели поднимаясь на кухню, но с каждым днем все больше влюблялись в этот дом.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 20, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are very happy that you fell more and more in love with the house. The kitchen is on the top floor so that you can step out of it onto the terrace with the sea view. I agree it is unusual but we think its worth it. Spain has had record high temperatures this August it has been HOT, HOT, HOT! Even the locals have been complaining! We usually find that leaving the doors at the front of the house shut and the back doors and windows open help with dissipating the heat. I am sorry about the 'putrid smell' I am not sure what that could have been. I was in the house before you arrived and to meet you and then when you left and did not notice it. However, we are very happy you had a lovely holiday.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Guildford
5

Fantastic

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely great house and location. Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. House was immaculate and we loved the roof terrace. Perfect place for a noisy family supper or to relax and star gaze.

Second time to Villajoyosa and will definitely be back

  • Review Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely remarks. We are very happy you enjoyed our home as much as we do. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous house, wonderful location

  • 5 of 5

I stayed in Kerry’s fabulous house in Villajoyosa with my three teenage children and couldn’t have hoped for a better experience.

I had suspected that staying in a brightly painted house amongst the narrow streets of Villajoyosa Old Town was going to be special but the reality of being there far surpassed my expectations. This is a truly special location.

The Old Town is beautiful, a draw for passing tourists but also retains an authentic charm which is exactly what we wanted. The kids got to practice their Spanish as we bought fish and other local delights from the nearby artisan market. The house is perfectly located for the beach (and it’s various bars and restaurants) and also the city with it’s markets and shops.

The house itself is wonderful. Beautifully restored with lots of great features. It’s a tall house over 5 floors so there are lots of stairs but this gives the benefit of cool rooms in the lower floors and a sun trap of a sun terrace on the top floor. I just loved the kitchen opening out to the terrace. Preparing food in the kitchen whilst looking out to the sea, chilled beer in hand, local fresh fish on the bbq, marinated with herbs supplied in the house - just bliss! We also enjoyed chilling in the cosy living room in the evening and watching tv although it was handy having a teenager on hand to work out the internet TV.

I could go on and on. Great restaurants on the beach front, beach bar nearby in the summer months, neighbours who look out for you, beach towels and chairs provided, safe beach….

The house was spotless and the bathrooms were beautifully fitted out. Kerry was a superb host. She answered any questions I had before or during the trip promptly, gave us suggestions and local advice and even texted to let us know of a festival happening one evening on the beach which we would have otherwise missed. She has a confident but light touch when it comes to managing the property and we feel very grateful to have had such a wonderful host and holiday.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words . I am glad you had a lovely time in Villajoyosa and enjoyed staying in our house. It was really super to meet you and your delightful family. I certainly look forwad to seeing you back soon. Kerry
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Love Villajoyosa

  • 3 of 5

Villajoyosa is a lovely small fishing village with a wonderful sandy beach. The house is quite nicely decorated. Downstairs on the ground floor there is a small bedroom with two single beds this room is quite dark and cool, suitable for when the weather is really hot. There are further bedrooms on the floors above. This property has lots of stairs as do most of the houses in Villajoyosa. We were told the house was suitable for small children when infact this is not correct, as when you are on the top floor in the kitchen there is nothing to prevent a small child from falling down the steep tiled stairs. Therefore parents will need to watch small children very carefully. On an evening it was nice sitting out on the terrace which runs from the kitchen.

There are plenty restaurants to eat. The tram is close by and you can visit El Campello and Alicante also Benidorm.

  • Review Submitted: May 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Anonymous, Thank you for your comments. I was concerned to hear that you felt that our house was not suitable for a small child as our 3 year old grand daughter visits us regularly, which is why we have stair gates fitted on the stairs at the bottom of the house and at the top of the stairs from the kitchen which as you mention are steep and tiled. If you could suggest any improvements to make the house even more child friendly I would definitely take them into consideration. Best wishes Kerry A Hewitt
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Newcastle upon Tyne
5

A home from home

  • 5 of 5

We have just spent another week in this wonderful house in Villajoyosa. This was our second visit to the house and we are hoping to spend at least a week of each year in this fabulous location for the foreseeable future. Our party consisted of ourselves, our two children( early twenties) and their respective partners. The house is beautifully decorated and,as usual, was immaculately clean. The layout of the property allows each couple to have a floor to themselves but also to socialise together on the sunny balcony at the top of the house.

The beach at Villajoyosa is beautiful, clean and never too crowded. If you like to stay out of the sun there are palm trees which offer some shade dotted along the shoreline.

The promenade has a good selection of restaurants and bars,we ate well every night enjoying paella and the fantastic selection of seafood on offer. The younger members of our party stayed out until the early hours becoming friendly with the very hospitable bar owners.

During our visit we met Kerry, the owner of this property, who was able to answer our questions about the local area. It seems to be important to Kerry that her guests enjoy every aspect of their stay.

Just writing this review makes me long to be back in La Vila Joiosa!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 30, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words. It is important to me that you enjoy your stay as much as I love it here. I look forward to seeing you and your lovely family next year...and the year after etc etc! Best wishes, Kerry
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous

  • 5 of 5

Having visited Villajoyosa for the past 3 years, our usual accommodation was unavailable to us.....and we were so glad to find this beautiful apartment! The apartment comfortably accommodated 8 people (5 adults, 3 children) The owner met us on the evening of our arrival and showed us around the property. She was available during our weeks stay in case of any issues (not that we experienced any!) Kerry also went above and beyond when on returning to the UK we realised at 3 am on the morning of our return we had left my son's beloved bunny in Spain! She sent him back to the UK very quickly and I cannot fault anything during our stay. Looking forward to a return visit asap!!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 27, 2015
  • Date of Stay: May 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. It was lovely to meet you all and I am so glad that I was able to help return bunny. I hope to see you all again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Car: not necessary

Coast/Beach:

The nearest beach is 3 minutes walk from the house but there are many more beaches and coves within easy walking or driving distance. The beach is 1 km long and has life guards on duty in the summer. There are also pop-up summer chiringuitas (bars) on the 3 nearest beaches for a relaxing afternoon/evening on the beach whilst enjoying a cool drink or a meal. Most evenings there is live music.

Travel:

The nearest airport is Alicante which is a 30-40 minute drive. Use of a car is not necessary if you are happy to stay fairly local but if you want to do some further exploration renting one is recommended. Alicante Airport-Villajoyosa route is also serviced by bus -approx. 10euros per person, Tram - approx. 5 euros and Taxi- approx. 60euros. I can arrange for a taxi or mini-bus to collect you from the airport and bring you to (almost) our door and drop you back to the airport at the end of your holiday.

Distances:

Alicante is 20 miles South West, Benidorm 10 miles and Valencia 90 Miles North East of Villajoyosa. The coastal towns of Altea, Albir and San Joan are a short drive away. There are many other small towns and villages easily accessed inland including Guadalest, Sella and Relleu in the mountains. The wine region of Jalon and the town of Xalo- Valencian for Jalon- is a beautiful drive where you can taste and purchase the wines of the region. There are waterfalls and caves approximately and hours drive away.

Further Details:

The Tourist Information Office is very helpful and is just a short walk away, in the centre of town. You can book tours and Benidorm shows from here and get information on Terra Mitica and Aqualandia water park, also places of interest and maps and directions. The Valor chocolate factory is open for tours. We also ask our renters to leave information of restaurants, activities and places that they have enjoyed in the information pack that we leave at the house. There is no better recommendation!

Supermarkets, pharmacies banks and the post office are all just a few minutes walk away at the top of the road. Restaurants, cafes and bars are plentiful in town and on the beach. There is a corner shop about 50m away that sells cold drinks, both soft and alcoholic, bread, some fresh produce and a limited array of provisions. The owner is a very nice lady who is always ready to help.

The busy outdoor market is every Thursday morning near the tram station and you can join the locals and tourists alike in buying fresh produce, bread, cakes, clothes and accessories...in fact just about anything!

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Villajoyosa, Alicante Province and Costa Blanca

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
October
1 Oct 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£330
for 3 nights
From
£110
 
 
Summer
1 May 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
5 night minimum stay
£550
for 5 nights
From
£110
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£330
for 3 nights
From
£110
£770
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £50
Refundable Damage Deposit £150

Booking Notes:
A deposit of 25% on booking and the full amount two calendar months before the date of the holiday.

CLEANING FEE: PLEASE LEAVE €70 (seventy euros) IN CASH FOR THE CLEANER

Changeover Day:
Changeover day is flexible. Check in is 16.00 and check out 10.00, although we will try to be accommodating for early arrival/late departure times. We will be happy to order a taxi to meet your party at the airport, just let us know your flight details and departure airport

Notes on prices:
For more than 7 nights please contact us to discuss the price.
We may be happy to discuss a reduction for less than 4 people.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable