OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Luxury Stone Built Contemporary Coach House In The Coastal Village Of Arnside, C

People5
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House in Arnside, Nr. Kendal, Lake District, Cumbria, England - Stunning Contemporary Holiday Home With Close Proximity To The Beach, Village, Pubs, Cafes And Shops

The Coach House at Arnside has been totally refurbished in a contemporary style to create a stunning holiday home. Our home is perfect for a family holiday or a short break all year round as the beach, lakes and mountains are only a short distance away. Ideally located in the village of Arnside and only 100 metres from the beach you will experience outstanding views of the Estuary and the Lakeland Peaks. Within the village you will find an array of shops including a Post Office, Hairdressers, Art Gallery, Beauty Salon, Convenience Stores, and Cafes. After a day of sightseeing and activities the village pubs with gardens prove extremely popular with visitors to sit and relax with a drink and soak up the sunset and breathtaking views. Arnside is in a designated area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and there are many walks around Arnside and Silverdale as well as all of the benefits of the Lake District on our doorstep.


Owner
Brian & Diane Potter
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
28 April, 2017

About Brian & Diane Potter

Let us introduce ourselves, our names are Brian and Diane and we have two teenagers, a boy and a girl. We live just outside Kendal on the edge of the Lake District and as a family we enjoy walking, travelling and spending time together in this outstanding area of beauty. As a family we have visited many countries but our hearts remain here! We purchased The Coach House and undertook an extensive two year programme of refurbishment to create a home to an extremely high standard and as a family have spent a lot of time at The Coach House and enjoyed all the benefits of the area and all our home has to offer.

Brian & Diane Potter purchased this house in 2011

Why Brian & Diane Potter chose Kendal & South Lakes

Having Lived in Cumbria all our lives and spent alot of time in Arnside we felt the location was perfect for a beach holiday as well as having the Lake and Mountains on our doorstep. The Coach House offers everything in a relaxing yet stunning location without having to experience the busy commercial areas of the Central Lakes.

What makes this house unique

The proximity of the beach is a very short walk of approximately 100 metres and the views are truly outstanding. Something we have never tired off! The area and scenery is amazing and we feel very fortunate to able to live and work in this area. The M6 is extremely accessible and the Rail and Transport Links to Arnside are excellent. The surrounding area and its abundance of attractions will appeal to families, walkers, cyclists and couples.

Guestbook comments from the owner

LK and JL stayed in January 2015



Thank you for a lovely stay in your lovely Coach House. Everything is beautiful and clean and well thought out and attention to detail is brilliant. All the best for 2015



S R and KL stayed in February 2015



We loved our stay and it absolutely exceeded our expectations. Such a beautiful home and area.



MMB stayed in March 2015



WOW !!!!! What a beautiful place and the luxuries provided made all the difference. A brilliant place to chill and relax
Feb 2013
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Arnside in Cumbria & Lake District National Park

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
  • The luxurious bathroom includes a free standing organic shaped bath, shower enclosure, built in sink within an Italian free standing unit complete with vanity unit with lights and w.c. Complimentary toiletries are provided to each guest for their stay.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - A travel cot can be provided if requested at time of booking
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 5 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: The Coach House has three bedrooms. The Master Bedroom with King Size Bed, Front Bedroom with Double Bed and a Single Bedroom. Please note a travel cot can be provided if requested at time of booking
Entertainment:
  • Television
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Barbecue
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • library
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • caving
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: The Coach House has three bedrooms, King Size, Double and Single. One luxury bathroom complete with free standing bath and shower enclosure. The property benefits from Gas Central Heating, 42" Sony TV and DVD and complimentary Wi Fi. The stunning kitchen has granite worktops complete with an American Fridge Freezer with an endless supply of ice cubes for your drinks. Also within the kitchen there is a Neff Oven and Hob and Dishwasher and an excellent supply of Cookware and Dinnerware. Outside: The outside benefits a small patio . There are two parking spaces with this property. Utility Room: The Utility Room comes complete with Washer/Dryer, Iron, Ironing Board, Clothes Airer and complimentary Washing Powder for your stay. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: All gas, electric, bedding and towels are provided for each stay and The Coach House is thoroughly cleaned before and after each stay. After your journey you will also have a stock of tea, herbal tea, coffee, milk and sugar awaiting upon your arrival. Other: The Coach House has two entrances, the main entrance features a glass gallery with Lighting. The side entrance through the Contemporary Feature Gate has an outdoor cupboard for storage and automatic security lighting.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(29 traveller reviews)

5

A great place to stay

  • 5 of 5

We have walked down to the sea and up the Knott and had our grandchildren for a sleepover while staying in this superbly equipped property. The beds were comfy, the instructions and welcome pack were much appreciated and the owner very helpful in making our holiday so enjoyable.

We recommend the Hare and Hounds at Levens for food and the bowling alley at Holgates for all age family entertainment.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 14, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So pleased your enjoyed your stay with us and had quality time with your grandchildren. We have tried the Hare and Hounds at Levens and had a fantastic meal. Not tried the bowling alley at Holgates so will put that definitely on our things to do list. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Coach House.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Beautiful but noisy

  • 3 of 5

Lovely presented and very clean contemporary three bed house but the upper floor appears to me a mezzanine ceiling which makes externally loud creaking noises when anyone moved or walks above you. It's quite disturbing if some are wanting to sleep and others not.

Beautiful bathroom and spacious shower and large bath.

Well stocked kitchen and again beautiful and clean.

Front room has two leather sofas one of which has a broken (?) frame or poor design and last night as I sat down the frame caught my shoulder causing a small injury. It's impossible to see until you sit down! Could have been very nasty and glad my disabled mum didn't sit there.

Next doors drain over flows across our exit leaving food debris we have to walk through and then get into our car- not impressed with this at all and very nasty.

We all found the beds very uncomfortable with hard mattresses, my mattress was lumpy and impossible to get comfortable.

We are requested to take shoes off (carpets are cream 😬, but the slippers provided are unsafe for people with mobility problems as very flimsy and a trip hazard. They didn't fit my father with larger feet!

All this said we had a lovely holiday and I'm sure the issues mentioned could be resolved.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 17, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your lovely comments about our home being lovely presentable and it being beautifully clean. We always do a very thorough clean before each guest arrives and pride ourselves with the beautiful home that we have personally designed and built ourselves. We are extremely proud of our families achievement which reflects on all the reviews that we have received from our much valued guests. We have noted the issues that you experienced and would like this opportunity to address and resolve the issues that you have raised. All Bedrooms are fully enclosed and our architect designed a feature in two of the front bedrooms with a glass wall which overlooks the original coach archway to the beachfront mansion which reflects so much natural light into the bedrooms and makes a fantastic feature both in the bedrooms and in the double height living room. There is no mezzanine. We have also inspected the sofa and assure you the frame is not broken. Whilst the sofas are contemporary design we do appreciate that they are not everyone's choice. We are totally committed to an ongoing refurbishment of works within our home and so far this year we have had all the mattresses replaced including an orthopaedic mattress, the carpets have been professionally cleaned, new microwave, new outdoor bistro table and chairs, new dining table and chairs and Marks and Spencers Bedding. With all of our bookings we always provide a complimentary Welcome Pack to show our appreciation of your booking and feel that it is so important to provide a personal touch to each booking. Our welcome pack is very comprehensive and includes an endless list of supplies for your self catering stay which includes milk, sugar, orange juice, tea. coffee, a supply of washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets, washing powder, kitchen and toilet rolls, bin liners, teatowels, dishcloths, pan scourer, your own personal toiletries, cotton buds, cotton wool pads, shower caps and slippers. It is our guests personal preference if they wish to use any of this Welcome Pack. The Coach House is situated in a very quiet residential area and our neighbours are all absolutely wonderful and would be absolutely be mortified that they have experienced a problem with their drains during your stay. We have never experienced that problem. We are so pleased that you had a lovely holiday and Arnside is so beautiful and we feel blessed that we live in such a beautiful area. I
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great short break

  • 4 of 5

We had a great 3 night short break. The coach house had everything we needed and the provision of an 'arrival pack' was most welcome. Good location in Arnside with a short walk along the 'prom' to the pub in the evening and for access to Lakes. Highly recommend the coach house.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 21, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: What a lovely review ! Thank you. We love Arnside and the location of the Coach House and the fact the beach is only seconds only you can also walk to the Promenade and all of the amenities via the Beach .
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We had a great relaxing stay.

  • 5 of 5

loved the area, Pubs and Shops etc.

Good location to visit south of the Lakes, walks, trains and driving in the area of the lakes.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Lovely to hear your enjoyed your stay with us. We absolutely love the area as it has all the amenities on your doorstep and the location is perfect for the South of the Lakes and I am sure you will have walked to the top of Arnside Knott and enjoyed the outstanding views of the Lakeland Landscape. We very much look forward to welcoming you to the Coach House again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved it

  • 5 of 5

The house was fantastic. Brian had even left us a bottle of fizz and a wedding card as we were on honeymoon. This gesture made us feel welcome and extra special. Thank you

  • Review Submitted: Jan 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and being part of your special celebration. Glad you enjoyed your fizz. We always like to know from our guests if there is a special occasion that they are celebrating. Kind regards
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful house

  • 5 of 5

A lovely house in a great location. Everything we needed was provided. The welcome basket and toiletries were a nice touch.

I would definitely recommend this to a friend.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your personal recommendation to our future guests and your lovely review on the Coach House. So pleased that you enjoyed our welcome gifts and your stay at Arnside. We absolutely love the area and its location to the many attractions and stunning views of the Lakeland Landscape. We are truly blessed.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Spring
21 Apr 2017 - 25 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£360
for 3 nights
From
£120
From
£140
Fri,Sat,Sun
£730
 
 
May Half Term
26 May 2017 - 31 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£495
for 3 nights
From
£165
From
£180
Fri,Sat,Sun
£950
 
 
Nightly Rate
1 Jun 2017 - 3 Jun 2017
3 night minimum stay
£495
for 3 nights
From
£165
From
£165
Fri,Sat,Sun
£950
 
 
Mid Summer
4 Jun 2017 - 29 Jun 2017
3 night minimum stay
£390
for 3 nights
From
£130
From
£150
Fri,Sat,Sun
£730
 
 
Scottish School Hols
30 Jun 2017 - 20 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
£405
for 3 nights
From
£135
From
£150
Fri,Sat,Sun
£830
 
 
Peak Season
21 Jul 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£950
for 7 nights
£950
 
 
Late Summer
1 Sep 2017 - 5 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£360
for 3 nights
From
£120
From
£140
Fri,Sat
£730
 
 
Autumn
6 Oct 2017 - 15 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£330
for 3 nights
From
£110
From
£125
Fri,Sat,Sun
£630
 
 
Scottish Half Term
16 Oct 2017 - 22 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£390
for 3 nights
From
£130
From
£145
Fri,Sat,Sun
£830
 
 
Half Term
23 Oct 2017 - 29 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£495
for 3 nights
From
£165
From
£180
Fri,Sat,Sun
£950
 
 
Late Autumn
30 Oct 2017 - 14 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
£220
for 2 nights
From
£110
From
£120
Fri,Sat,Sun
£490
 
 
Christmas
15 Dec 2017 - 25 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£405
for 3 nights
From
£135
From
£150
Fri,Sat,Sun
£830
 
 
New Year
26 Dec 2017 - 5 Jan 2018
4 night minimum stay
£660
for 4 nights
From
£165
From
£180
Fri,Sat,Sun
£950
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£495
for 3 nights
From
£165
From
£180
Fri,Sat,Sun
£950
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £100

Booking Notes:
Bank Transfer, Cheque or Paypal accepted with £150 deposit and full balance 6 weeks prior to your stay.

Changeover Day:
Friday but may be flexible dependant on availability.
Arrival time is 3pm
Departure time is 10 am.


Notes on prices:
Short breaks are available from £75 a night.
Please contact us for further information on Late Booking Discounts, Low Occupancy and Romantic Break Offers.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot