OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Best Location in Duquesa! Huge Terrace! Sea Views! Updated throughout for 2017!

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Washing Machine
  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Apartment in Marina Real, Duquesa, Costa del Sol, Spain - Beautiful Location, 2 Minute Walk To The Port And The Beach

We think our two bedroom spacious apartment is in one of the best spots in Duquesa. Located on the 1st floor of Block 5, Marina Real we are a 2 minute walk to the beach and port. From our large terrace we have views of pool, beach, sea and marina! There is ramp access and lifts.

The apartment is spacious, modern and recently updated (see below for details).

There are two bedrooms (both with bath/shower ensuite). One is a double and the other is a twin. All bedding and bath towels (exc. beach towels) are provided. The master bedroom has a patio leading straight onto the terrace.

The kitchen has an oven and hob, dishwasher, kettle and fridge freezer. There is also a washing machine in the utility room.

The lounge has two large settees, a dining table and a television unit with a flat screen TV. The TV has freeview and Spanish channels. You will also have access to the community Wi-Fi during your stay.

In addition to the 2 ensuites we also have a toilet/bathroom located in the hallway as you enter the apartment.

We are lucky to have one of the largest terrace areas in Marina Real with 4 sunbeds, a large rattan settee/seating area and a rattan large table and chairs for outdoor dining.

We have an underground parking spot which you will have access to and Marina Real benefits from 24 hour security with security officers on patrol 24/7.

We have a key-holder who will meet you on arrival, give you a tour of the apartment and hand over the keys.

We have owned this apartment since 2009 and made numerous improvements over the years; the most recent listed below.

**Updated throughout for 2017**

- new beds in both bedrooms

- painted throughout

- new living room furniture

**New in 2016**

- new bedding

- new outdoor furniture inc large seating area and a 6 seater table

- 2 large blinds over the terrace

More Details

Owner
Claire Packwood
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
18 September, 2017

About Claire Packwood

We have been coming to Duquesa since we bought our first apartment in 2007. As our family grew we needed a larger place so we purchased this one on Marina Real in 2009 when our children were 1 and 3! We love our family holidays here and couldn't think of anywhere we would rather be than Duquesa!

Claire Packwood purchased this apartment in 2009

Why Claire Packwood chose Manilva area

We fell in love with Duquesa after our first holiday there and bought a small studio apartment which we outgrew as our babies grew up! After waiting for the right property for some time, we snapped up this apartment as soon as we saw it.

It has perfect views over the beach, marina and pool. It has a huge balcony with 24 hour security and underground parking. It has lift access to our floor. The location is perfect for us - close to the beach and marina yet quiet and peaceful!

What makes this apartment unique

We love having such a wide range of bars and restaurants within easy walking distance. The pool is on your doorstep. You need to see it to appreciate it!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We have owned properties in Duquesa since 2006 and have enjoyed many family holidays with our young children. We have owned this particular apartment since 2008, we looked long and hard for the right property. I hope you agree that this is the best spot in Duquesa. Our own little piece of paradise in the Costa del sol.
Jan 2013
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Manilva in Costa del Sol Occidental

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:30
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Max. adults: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25 ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Please bring the outdoor cushions in when it rains to protect them. The ones on the large table can be left out if chairs are pushed under the table.
Location Type:
  • beach
  • waterfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Lift
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
  • The ensuite to bedroom one is full marble with a jacuzzi bath with a shower over, a wc, bidet and basin. The ensuite to bedroom two has a bath with shower over, wc and basin. The apartment also has a separate wc with basin in the entrance area.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: There are two bedrooms, both ensuite. Bedroom one has a double bed, fitted wardrobes, and a patio leading onto the terrace. Bedroom two has twin beds and a fitted wardrobe. We also have a travel cot available should you require it.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: We do not provide beach towels. Outside: The terrace is 35 square metres, overlooks one of the swimming pools and has a stunning sea view. They are also four sun loungers. In 2015 we have updated both seating areas and added two canopies which you can pull over both seating areas should you wish. Marina Real has two shared swimming pools, both with sun loungers on a grassy area. The grassed area in front of our block also has easy access to the beach and beach bar. Utility Room: Washing machine, iron and ironing board Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: All linen, bedding and towels are included (except beach towels). The apartment will be thoroughly cleaned prior to occupation. Additional clean and laundry services are available during your stay on request (payable locally).

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(8 traveller reviews)

87% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
Best Location in Duquesa! Huge Terrace! Sea Views! Updated throughout for 2017!
average rating of 4.5 based on 9 reviews
5

Very comfortable, great location. I'd stay again

  • 5 of 5

Very comfortable, great location. I'd stay again

  • Review Submitted: Sep 26, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Lovely terrace but nightmare stay!

  • 1 of 5

This apartment is in a nice location in the very touristy area of Duquessa. It has a great terrace overlooking the pool and only a few minutes from the gravel beach. The apartment itself is ok, somewhat compact especially the bedrooms. My husband and I felt rather claustrophobic in the master bedroom and the second bedroom is even smaller. It was reasonably clean and facilities were adequate. Maintenance was a huge issue for us. On the day that we arrived we were told via email that the shutters in the master bedroom were broken but would be fixed asap. This never happened and consequently we were woken by the sun at 7.30 every morning coming in through the incredibly light curtains. Furthermore the shutters in the lounge didn't work either. This wouldn't have been such a huge issue if the lock on the patio doors hadn't been broken. When we arrived late on the Friday night the key holder showed us around and opened these doors only not to be able to lock them again. This resulted in the security man having to seal the doors up until someone could come and sort it. We were faced with the prospect not only of not being able to use these at all to access the terrace but also the worry of security as the door could quite easily have been forced from outside and as the apartment is on a lower floor this caused us significant worry. We, along with the key holder Anne-Marie, who was very nice and seemed extremely embarrassed, tried calling the owners but they didn't answer out calls. The following morning, Saturday, they called us and said that they couldn't get anyone there until the Monday and so we had no shutters and a sealed patio door! Not a great way to begin a holiday. Monday nobody came and after several unanswered calls and emails that weren't responded to someone finally came on Tuesday, the fifth day of our holiday, told us the shutters were not repairable and that he'd fixed the lock. As soon as he'd left we checked the lock but unfortunately he had not fixed it! We had to endure the remainder of the holiday with unlocked patio doors and no shutters. Nearly a week on after returning home, after numerous unanswered emails and calls the owners have refunded us the equivalent of one night's rental. Whilst this is a gesture of good will, we feel it by no means compensates us for the huge inconvenience, worry and stress caused for the entire duration of our holiday. We paid nearly £1000 a top price in this location, it wasn't worth it!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were sad and disappointed to read this review as we feel it is slightly harsh and greatly exaggerated. We were aware of the problem with shutters and we have tried to get them repaired since August with no luck. We have now decided to convert all of the shutters to electric shutters and this work has been booked to be undertaken shortly. The guests arrived late on a Friday evening and the lock broke as they were being shown around. The guests and our key holder had tried to call us but as it was after midnight our phones were on silent. We spoke to them on Saturday morning and arranged for the lock to be fixed on the Monday (we tried unsuccessfully to get it someone to look at it over the weekend). We were let down by the company booked to do this as they didn't arrive until Tuesday and unfortunately failed to fix it despite telling us they had done so. The patio does close and lock, it was the additional lock that would not lock. Marina Real as security patrolling the building 24/7 with cameras all around the complex which are constantly monitored. We do our best to deal with any issue as quickly as possible. Our key holder is great and does her best to help to do this but sometimes we just can't things instantly however hard we try. To find reliable workmen in Spain is hard and we are trying to build up our contacts in different trades so we can deal with things quickly. With regards to the compensation we paid, we feel this was private and was unnecessary to be included in the review. We gave a refund because we do understand their frustrations and because their holiday was disrupted when we had someone come and try to fix the lock. We do not make any profit from our rentals. We have considerable outgoings inc community fees (ours our more than most due to our large terrace), electricity (air con in the summer months costs us a small fortune), mortgage payments, water, local taxes and the maintenance we undertake each winter to ensure the apartment is up to spec for the following year's rentals. Our rental rates are all on Owners Direct and can easily be compared to similar properties in the area. The apartment is not small, compact or claustrophobic. We think this comments were made purely from frustration at the situation and the issues they had during their stay. Phone calls, texts and emails were all responded to as quickly as possible. Please read the other reviews and please message us with any queries regarding renting our apartment.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great location, great accomodtion & views

  • 5 of 5

This apartment is located in the Marina of Duguesa, everything is literally on your doorstep.

The balcony is top notch with views over the pool & beach, the furniture on the balcony is excellent as well wether you are eating, sunbathing or just relaxing on the comfy sofa.

I would definitely recommend for a perfect holiday

  • Review Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Just lovely!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful apartment, balcony and sea views. Fabulous location and will be booking again and again. Thank you for such a lovely holiday.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

WOW the picture don't do this justice

  • 5 of 5

I am here at the moment the pictures of the apartment are out of date. The living room has been completely changed new fitted high gloss cabinet for the TV and electrical products. The bedrooms have been updatesd with fantastic new very comfy beds. The apartment is very modern and you can see the owners have spent a lot of money and time getting it to this standard. And the balcony wow just breathtaking with superb views over beach and marina and fantastic dining and relaxing outside furniture with sun beds. Who needs to leave this gorgeous apartment. Sun on it from sunrise until 5:30pm with sun blinds if you get to hot over the table and the relaxing seating area. I'm loving this and will be booking my next trip when I get home.

Well done owners!!!!

  • Review Submitted: May 2, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic apartment in a perfect location

  • 5 of 5

My partner and I stayed here for a week with our 9 month old and absolutely loved it. The apartment is spacious and light and has everything we needed for our stay. The apartment looked out onto one of the swimming pools and beach and really was a beautiful view. The balcony is really big and perfect for enjoying some sun and food in wonderful settings. The apartment is situated perfectly for enjoying Duquesa and walking to the nearby towns. Duquesa is a lovely place - incredibly friendly and a great choice of bars, cafes and restaurants. It's the ideal place for a great holiday for adults and families. Would definitely recommend.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 28, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Coast/Beach:

The beach is less than a five minute walk from the apartment.

Travel:

Gibraltar Airport is a 20 minute drive

Malaga Airport is a 1 hour drive

Distances:

Estepona is 10 minute drive

Gibralta is a 20 minute drive

Marbella is a 25 minute drive

Malaga is a 1 hour drive

Further Details:

The marina has a wide selection of bars and restaurants, all with lovely views of the marina and beach. All family friendly.

There is a small supermarket in the marina and various larger supermarkets also within walking distance.

There are two parks within walking distance of the apartment for families with small children.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Manilva, West Costa del Sol

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Rate 6
3 Sep 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£600
for 7 nights
£600
£2,200
 
 
autumn/winter
1 Nov 2017 - 17 Dec 2017
7 night minimum stay
£420
for 7 nights
£420
 
 
winter
1 Jan 2018 - 31 Mar 2018
7 night minimum stay
£420
for 7 nights
£420
 
 
spring
1 Apr 2018 - 26 May 2018
7 night minimum stay
£500
for 7 nights
£500
 
 
spring2
27 May 2018 - 30 Jun 2018
7 night minimum stay
£600
for 7 nights
£600
 
 
summer 1
1 Jul 2018 - 31 Jul 2018
7 night minimum stay
£800
for 7 nights
£800
 
 
summer 2
1 Aug 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£900
for 7 nights
£900
 
 
summer 3
1 Sep 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
£600
for 7 nights
£600
 
 
Autumn
1 Oct 2018 - 31 Oct 2018
7 night minimum stay
£500
for 7 nights
£500
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£420
for 7 nights
£420
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Damage Deposit £100

Booking Notes:
Please contact owner.


Changeover Day:
The minimum length of stay is 7 days.

Check out is 10am on the day of departure.

Notes on prices:
Reservation fee: 30%
Pay balance 6 weeks before arrival
Refundable security deposit: £100
Final cleaning is included in the price
Payment methods accepted: Bank transfer or cheque
Before paying please call owner to confirm payment details.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable