OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Luxury Converted Barn In St. Buryan Nr. Penzance, Cornwall



Updated: 08-Nov-2016
Converted barn, Nr. Penzance, Cornwall - Beautiful property with the "wow factor" close to hidden coves and idyllic beaches.

Bella Vista is a spacious 2 storey, granite barn conversion with 4 bedrooms (2 with ensuite)near Lands End and can accommodate 8 people (and well behaved pets by arrangement). Furnished to a high standard, this attractive property sits in the middle of a peaceful rural hamlet, a short walk to the village of St Buryan. The village is clustered around its fourteenth century church, and has all necessary amenities including a well stocked shop with ATM, petrol station, and pub serving meals. It is close to West Cornwall's beautiful beaches at Porthcurno and Sennen along with several hidden coves with clear, blue sea for swimming and stunning, scenic coastal paths. Penzance is a 10 minute drive with a wide selection of amenities. Bella Vista is approached by a long unmade lane with gravel driveway and gate. The garden is fully enclosed and therefore safe for dogs. Outside is a tiered lawn garden with a large sun deck, outdoor furniture, and purpose built BBQ. At the rear of the property there is a courtyard with lovely pond and fountain.

  • Sleeps 8
  • 4 Bedrooms
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

We are Jane, an Occupational Therapist and Matt a local government manager. We are in our mid forties and have a 13 year old son, Seb who attends secondary school in Penzance.

We live in a smaller property at the top of the driveway, with it`s own enclosed garden. Depending on your requirements, we are happy to give local advice or can leave you to enjoy your own holiday and adventures.

We love to travel and are keen to show our son something of the world. Here in Cornwall we enjoy visiting our many beautiful local beaches, walking along the coastal paths, surfing and socializing with our friends.

Call Manager
Speaks English

Guestbook comments from the manager

We have enjoyed every minute here - starting with the welcome cream tea! Bella Vista is a lovely, well laid out, well equipped house. We`ve had a great time exploring the local area with many walks and dips in the sea. We have been blessed wth the weather and have enjoyed the sunshine in the gardens here as well as the beach. We would definitely recommend Bella Vista - it`s a great place and a good base for exploring the pointy end.
Sep 2016
  • 1 of 2

14 Reviews

based on 14 holidaymaker reviews


Amazing Holiday Home

  • 5 of 5

`What a fantastic holiday! Made all the more amazing staying in your wonderful home. We could not have asked for more, the boys loved having some new toys to play with (not that they got much chance!) Thank you so much for your hospitality and for all your advice. We look forward to staying again.`

  • Review Submitted: Nov 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! So glad to hear you felt at home at Bella Vista.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Belton, Norfolk

Good position for travelling local area. Lovely barn, needing attention to dirty furnture.

  • 3 of 5

Was disappointed as we believed the property to be detached, not only was it not, but there was a shared courtyard at the back of the property, not in description. The pictures looked as if the garden was one large garden, the small garden at the front was not very inviting as the lawn was dead owing to previous dog pee, so didn't feel we could make use of it. The barn itself was very nice, but the cream sofas and armchair were very dirty.The downstairs double had inadequate wardrobe and drawer space, although the kitchen was a gem, nothing unthought of. The barn was in a great position for travelling the local area, and despite my negative comments, we did have a good holiday.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi! I am so sorry you did not feel you could tell us that you were unhappy with the cleanliness of the furniture. I always tell all our guests that they are always more than welcome to knock on our door if there are any issues. We have a spare set of covers for the furniture. I had not been informed by our cleaners that there was an issue with the furniture. We have a spare set of covers. I will deal with this immediately and apologise profusely for this oversight. I'm sorry that you did not know beforehand that the courtyard is shared. Our information states, under the heading " facilities- additional information", that "there is a shared courtyard . This is not a holiday complex". As the other homes have alternative gardens, it is very rare for anyone else to use the courtyard. It is unfortunate that the grass has not fully recovered from a very wet Winter. This has been re-seeded and is now recovering. The property was landscaped a few weeks ago as dog owners had requested a totally fenced in garden . I shall ensure the photographs are updated to show this. Many thanks for your feedback. Jane.x
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Stunning building, fantastic location, improve the small touches and its an easy 5 stars

  • 4 of 5

I've given this 4 stars purely due to the small touches needed to get it to 5 stars (explained later).

The owner:

Jane is fantastic, and makes great scones!

The property:

This is a stunning barn conversion, excellently decorated throughout. There is one double (en suite) bedroom on the ground floor, master bedroom (en suite) upstairs, and two twin rooms across the landing upstairs (with a separate bathroom). The kitchen is enormous with two large gas ranges and a dining table+chairs. The living room is at the other end of the barn to the kitchen (all open plan on the ground floor) which had a large dining table + chairs, two sofas, two arm chairs, a piano (!), a tv and a log burner. There are two doors on the ground floor which open out to the gardens on either side of the property. The private garden for Bella Vista is North facing so lacks the evening sun, however it has a large table and chairs for breakfast on a sunny morning. The shared garden is South facing with a great water fountain, however no where to eat (and slightly overlooked by the neighboring holiday barns). I cannot fault the property and the open layout created a great family atmosphere when cooking/dining/relaxing.

The location:

Located about a 15 min drive from Penzance (where you can find several large supermarkets). There is a surprisingly large Londis shop located a 5-10 min walk from the property in St Buryan. It is a great location to get to several great beaches/coves as well as Lands End (which is unfortunately over-commercialized!). Overall, the location was great for what we wanted ... a quiet (but well connected) recluse. However, do bear in mind that there are other holiday barns in the same complex as Bella Vista, but we rarely heard or saw anyone else there. There's also a pub only a ten minute walk away (opposite Londis).

The small touches:

This is the only minor flaw in the rental which resulted in 4 stars rather than 5. The property is provided with a very bare minimum of items to get by. We obviously have no qualms in providing everything for our stay ourselves, however its the small things in rentals like this which help your stay. For example there were no sundries in any of the cupboards (eg. hand soap, matches, tea/coffee, oil, vinegar, anti-bac surface cleaner, etc). In previous holiday rentals these small items tend to be provided (from leftover rentals). We left all of our sundries behind in the hope that the next rental can make use of them too!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. I`m sorry you missed the evening sun in the garden. The top lawn gets the evening sun. We hope guests feel free to move the garden furniture around (there is also garden furniture in the Summer House on the top lawn). We have also purchased an extra picnic table for the courtyard to enable guests to dine out there. Our best recommendation for a sunny evening would be to grab a disposable bbq from the village shop and watch the sunset on Sennen beach. Bliss. Our property information explains that we have a shared courtyard. Only one of the four properties is a holiday home and therefore we tend to have full use of the courtyard. Feedback over the years is that guests prefer not to have left over food from other guests due to sell by dates etc. We always ensure there are "dry basics" such as flour, sugar, herbs and spices. Again, guests have tended to prefer to bring their own toiletries but we do supply washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets and laundry tablets. I appreciate your comment around soap and we have now placed soap dispensers in all bathrooms. Thanks! Enjoy the rest of your Summer. Jane.x
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A very well equipped and comfortable cottage that had everything we needed for a wonderful stay.

  • 5 of 5

Bella Vista is an excelent holiday home, catering for all tastes that fully meets the needs of a large party in comfort and style.

It is very well equipped providing space and comfort for a large family group.

The drying room was very useful on those wet days and the location is great for exploring Western Cornwall.

We were walking the South West Coastal Path around Land's end from St Ives to the Lizard and it was the perfect cnetral location.

  • Review Submitted: May 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fabulous South West Hideaway

  • 4 of 5

What a wonderful place! We enjoyed our stay with grandparents staying with us too, amazing place near Sennen, Porthcurno and other familiar places we enjoy in the West. We cannot wait to come back! Jane and her family were extremely accommodating and helpful throughout our stay.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A Designer Haven

  • 5 of 5

We arrived at Bella Vista to a warm welcome from Jane and a plate of homemade scones with jam and clotted cream on the table, most welcome after a long drive. The house more than lived up to the description and reviews online and was the perfect base for our 3 generation, 7 person family. The lounge was spacious enough for us all to sit in the evening and with the unseasonably cold weather we experienced, the wood burning stove was a welcome source of warmth. Our daughter loved baking in the large ovens and all of us found cooking a pleasure in the spacious kitchen which was equipped with every utensil we could wish for, including a full spice rack! The four bedrooms are well furnished with comfortable beds and the three bathrooms (two en-suite) are beautifully designed. The master suite in particular is a very large bedroom and bathroom with a large shower. We used the built-in barbecue on a couple of occasions and it is certainly large enough to cook for large numbers. There are two lovely outside areas with tables and chairs, which sadly we were unable to utilise as the weather was not kind to us but both are very private. The position of the house is wonderful - down a quiet lane so no traffic noise and yet a 10-minute walk across the field brings you to the village of St Buryan which has two well stocked local shops and a pub which does good hearty meals at very reasonable prices. Being situated between Penzance and Land's End the house is the perfect base for exploring the area plus Penzance has three major supermarkets which cater for every need. In conclusion we cannot fault this lovely house and its owners and we would not hesitate to recommend it. We hope that we will be able to return for another holiday soon.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 16, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


From the Owner

We chose to move here from London for a more relaxed pace of life and to follow our love for outdoor pursuits.

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Newquay at 47 Miles Nearest Barpub : St. Buryan Inn at 1 Miles Nearest Ferry : Plymouth (Brittany, Spain and Ireland) at 84 Miles Nearest Golf : Cape Cornwall at 6 Miles Nearest Train : Penzance at 7 Miles Nearest Motorway : Exeter (M5) at 119 Miles Nearest Restaurant : Sennen Beach at 4 Miles Nearest Beach : Porthcurno and Sennen Cove at 4 Miles Car: necessary


The property is close to all beaches on the West Cornwall peninsula, some examples (and approximate driving times) are Porthcurno beach 12 mins, Sennen Cove 14 mins, Porthchapel 14 mins, Porthgwarra 15 mins, Mousehole harbour beach 14 mins and Gwenver beach 14 mins.

A footpath leads directly from the property to the coastal path (approx 35 minute walk).


Newquay airport is 43 miles away and Lands End airport (for flights to the Isles of Scilly) is 5 miles away.

The nearest mainline railway station is 6 miles from the property in Penzance.


Lamorna and Mousehole 3 and 5 miles respectively.

Marazion for St Michaels Mount 9 miles.

St.Ives and the Tate gallery 14 miles.

Further Details:

We can also arrange "extras" such as horse riding on the beach; yoga, Pilates sessions and spa treatments at the property, foraging sessions and local produce hampers on arrival.


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
New Year
30 Dec 2016 - 6 Jan 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Summer 2017
1 Jul 2017 - 2 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
22 Dec 2017 - 29 Dec 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
To make an enquiry please send an email, or call the owner

We ask for a 50% non-refundable deposit to confirm your booking.

Changeover Day:
Changeover day is Saturday. Arrival time anytime after 4pm and please vacate by 10am.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 08-Nov-2016
Available arrival


From the Owner

Our home is ideally located close to a thriving village and the town of Penzance. At the same time we have the most beautiful beaches on our doorstep - perfect for surfing or a sunset BBQ.

Property Type

  • barn


  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions


  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...


  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster


  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area


  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...


  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Location Type

  • beach
  • near the sea
  • rural
  • village


  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure, Bidet
  • Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • Shower room 2 - Shower Enclosure
  • Family bathroom with W.C., wash basin and large, whirlpool bath with hand shower attachment.


  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Bedroom 4
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 8 (4 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Ground floor, double bedroom with en-suite wet room with walk-in shower W.C. and hand basin. Master bedroom with vaulted ceiling, king-size bed, and an en suite "rain-drop" shower, W.C. and hand basin. Bedroom 3 has two single beds. Bedroom 4 has bunkbeds


  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Tennis ...


  • Self-catering


  • Notes on accommodation: The owners live in a small property with separate garden, at top of driveway. There is parking for 2 cars. More by arrangement only. Please note that very young children should be supervised at all times on the open tread wooden stairs and in the garden due to its high tiers. Outside: To the front of the property is a garden with large, wooden sun deck and table and chairs, a lawn area, flower beds and palm trees and a second deck with purpose built BBQ. There is a gravel driveway with parking for two cars. At the rear there is a spacious, shared, central courtyard with raised ornamental fish pond and fountain. This is not a holiday complex. Utility Room: The utility room leads off from the hall/mud room and contains a washing machine and tumble dryer. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Bed linen, bath and hand towels, beach towels and tea towels provided. Property cleaned weekly on change over day and all linen/towels changed.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot