Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Val Thorens Duplex Sleeps 6 People, 2 Double Bedrooms, Separate Bunk Bed Alcove

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 1 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Apartment in Val Thorens, Savoie, Rhone-Alpes, France - Quiet Yet Central Location, Ski In Ski Out, 30 metres From The Shops & Restaurants

Apartment Gretel is situated in the north side of the Apartments La Roche Blanche. This guarantees you probably the most restful and quiet nights sleep in the village! Gretel is only 30 metres from the shops & restaurants. She backs directly onto the Plein Sud slope giving you easy access to and from the ski locker. She is ideally situated for families that want to enjoy peace & quiet, warmth and comfort. But she is centrally located so you are in very close walking distance to everywhere, including the tourist information centre, the ski pass office, ski hire shops, the leisure centre, the supermarkets, and the medical centre. The flat is situated on the top floor (so no noisy boots are ever heard on the ceiling!). It’s the quietest ski apartment I have ever slept in!

The living area downstairs is 20m2 & upstairs there are 2 bedrooms & a bunkbed alcove.

More Details

Property Manager
Elkie Jimenez-Peters
Member since: 2013
Speaks English, Spanish
Calendar last updated:
20 May, 2018

About Elkie Jimenez-Peters

Hello, my name is Elkie, Thank you for looking at my much loved apartment “Gretel”. I have a tendency to name inanimate objects and this flat became “Gretel” from day one! I’m 29 years old and ski annually with my boyfriend, older sister, younger brother, and my mum. I hope to visit Gretel for many years to come and introduce her to our future family additions! I also enjoy making things a little bit more personal, I hope the small details will be appreciated and cared for.

Elkie Jimenez-Peters purchased this apartment in 2012

Why Elkie Jimenez-Peters chose Saint-Martin-de-Belleville

I stumbled upon Val Thorens some 16 years ago by sheer chance and we have been coming annually as a family ever since!Having skied much of Europe previously i realized that VT gives you unparalleled value for money! The infrastructure is superb, permitting you to ski everyday.There are always vast amounts of snow and the pistes are extremely well groomed, not to mention immense fun!There is skiing for every level in VT & you never get bored!The ski schools are superb,my little brother has grown up in the ESF!The winning factor for me is that there is very little walking or carrying ski’s about! We are not a family that like walking , “we don’t do walking…or queuing!” – we come to ski! I fell in love with “Gretel”, as we call her, at first sight. I knew she was the flat for us!

What makes this apartment unique

Gretel is warm, cosy and full of character. I couldn’t believe how lucky I was to find her, having looked at all the others within my budget I was beginning to despair. Gretel is ideal for my family, we love to relax and be together but we also like our own space too. I love that Gretel has an upstairs and that the sleeping space is completely separate to the living space! It’s a delightful space to stay in, although she’s quaint, there’s space for everything! It’s refreshing not to have the evening cut short just because somebody wants to turn in. If anyone wants to retire to bed all they have to do is slope off upstairs, whilst we carry on with our vin chauds and card games!

Guestbook comments from the manager

Thankyou so much for a fabulous week in your cosy, warm flat. The location was everything you promised. It made our holiday stress free & easy! We had a great time & we hope to come back again next year! Thanks again
Nov 2017
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Saint-Martin-de-Belleville in Savoie

Property Type:
  • apartment
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 14:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • resort
General:
  • Heating
  • Living Room ...
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
  • Downstairs bathroom: WC bathroom with bath & overhead shower, heated towel rail, retractable washing line, bathroom cabinet, sink & mirror.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Single Bed , adult size single bunk beds
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with double bed,chest of drawers, cupboard & mirror. Bedroom 2 with small double bed & storage shelves. Bunk bed alcove & wardrobe.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Check-in is 2pm and check-out is 10am. (sat-sat). However we do try to be as accommodating as possible, when possible. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Pillows & duvets provided.Towels & Bed Linen can be hired & paid for on collection. Bed linen, single 13 euros,double 26 euros. Towels, 1 large, 1 small 13 euros. Linen and towel sets, single + towels 21 euros Double + towels 42 euros.

Reviews

Good! 3.9/5 -
(10 traveller reviews)

30% Complete
40% Complete
20% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
Val Thorens Duplex Sleeps 6 People, 2 Double Bedrooms, Separate Bunk Bed Alcove
average rating of 3.9 based on 11 reviews
4

Lovely apartment

  • 4 of 5

We spent a great time in Val Thorens. The apartment was nice, keys handover from Karin was very smooth.

  • Review Submitted: 27-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thankyou, glad you enjoyed VT & Apartment Gretel
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely cosy apartment

  • 5 of 5

The apartment was perfect for 4 people. It was warm and comfortable. Karin was very good at sorting out any little problems in resort and Elkie was quick to reply to emails. The location was good for skiing into and we had a very enjoyable stay.⛄️

  • Review Submitted: 12-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
London
5

Property as described and good value for money

  • 5 of 5

Perfect position for ski in ski out and good for a budget

  • Review Submitted: 23-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thankyou Tom for your kind words! Pleased you enjoyed your stay in gretel. Hope to welcome you back one day!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Really well located

  • 3 of 5

The property is well located and well kept but it's a very tiny apartment for 3 people (as we were), let alone 6 as described.

I didn't know I was suppose to contact the owner prior to arrival and neither receive a communication from the system with this direction. The apartment's keeper wasn't very helpful either and quite frankly a bit rude on check out. No linings and towels provided, therefore you need to take your own or rent it.

Apart from these two points, I really enjoy my stay in this apartment located in the heart of Val Thorens.

  • Review Submitted: 27-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thankyou for your comments. I'm sorry you were disappointed with the apartment, I try to be accurate with the description of the apartment & do in fact state the surface area. Linen & towels are optional as stated in the listing, maybe I will move this to a more visible part of the advert, so thankyou for that advise. Apologies that Karin was not on good form during your checkout, this is highly unusual & ive never had any complaints before. Many thanks
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
3

Très petit

  • 3 of 5

Manque un micro ondes

Pas de fenêtres dans les chambres

Pour 4 personnes pas plus

Dommage de devoir supporter les fêtards qui ne se preocupent pas du tout des autres locataires au milieu de la nuit

Par contre Très bien situé.

  • Review Submitted: 15-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: Abritel, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thankyou for your comments. There is a full size oven with grill & 4 hobs which is more than most ski apartments have & as space is limited in these apartments, I thought most people would prefer a proper oven. Apologies if you prefer a microwave. Usually the area is very quiet, it is a very good location & much quieter than a lot of the other areas in resort. I hope you enjoyed your stay
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Well situated but very small appartment

  • 2 of 5

The appartment has a good location, in the centre and near the slopes, but is too small for 6 people. There is very little space and the bedrooms are very noisy due to the wooden floor. The person who would welcome us at arrival left me a message that she wouldn't be there and that the door was open, without giving us any tour or assistance.

We had a nice holiday, but the price of the appartment is too high for this small appartment which is suitable for 4 people max.

  • Review Submitted: 20-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Travel:

Nearest airport: Chambery/Lyon/Grenoble/Geneva at 100 miles. Nearest train Moutiers at 30 miles. Hypermarkets - if driving from any of the above airports then a stop at either Albertville or Moutiers to stock up is a great idea. Cherbourg is approx. 550 miles with Calais at 700 miles, excellent motorways run from both ports all the way to Moutiers which is at the base of the mountain.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Saint-Martin-de-Belleville, Savoie

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Out Of Season
12 May 2018 - 9 Nov 2018
4 night minimum stay
£240
for 4 nights
From
£60
£300
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £200

Booking Notes:
A deposit of £200 by bank transfer will secure your booking. The final balance, plus a security deposit of £200, should be paid no later than 4 weeks prior to your stay. The security deposit will be returned to you within 3 weeks of the end of your holiday, subject to there being no breakages or damages.

Changeover Day:
Saturdays, unless otherwise requested. Please email.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Manager a Question
Available
Unavailable