OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Cosy 17th Century Cottage, 4 Star Rating, 2 En-suite Bedrooms and 2 Car Parking

Overview

Property

Updated: 18-Apr-2017
  • Sleeps 4
  • 2 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Swimming pool
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

About the property

Anne Cottage in Bakewell, Derbyshire, England - A Short Walk To The Town Centre And Easy Access To All The Places Of Interest

Anne Cottage which has a Visit Britain 4 Star rating is in Bakewell, famous for its Bakewell Pudding, which nestles on the banks of the River Wye and is a tourist attraction with its Monday market and old world charm. Unusually because it was once two cottages, there is a separate staircase to each en-suite bedroom, one of which has a king size bed and the other twin beds which affords our guests the extra privacy of separate suites. The cottage is about 800 yds up hill from the centre of town and so offers the visitor the opportunity to walk into town to sample the many pubs and restaurants or visit the Monday market where you might pick up a bargain. There is a great selection of shops selling antiques and gifts, walking gear and some fabulous food shops to tempt you into something delicious for dinner. Bakewell is also a great centre to access the beautiful countryside whether you wish to drive or walk, and attractions such as Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall and Alton Towers. We now also offer free Wi-Fi access with the log on details in the handbook.

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Charles Kirkman
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
18 April, 2017

About Charles Kirkman

Christine and I live in Baslow just 4 miles from Bakewell and so are able to be on hand to look after our cottages and our guests if there are any problems. We have a local business which provides services all over the Peak District and so we love the area and know it well and are always pleased to give local information to help you make the most of your stay.

Charles Kirkman purchased this cottage in 2004

Why Charles Kirkman chose Derbyshire Dales

Christine and I moved to the area 19 years ago and set up a business providing services to local residents and businesses which has enabled us to become part of the community and also to come to know the area very well.

We love the beauty of the countryside but also the diversity in the villages, the local customs and festivals and of course the people who live here.

Bakewell is in the centre of the Peak District and is a real tourist attraction in its own right, but it also makes the surrounding area very accessible whether by car, on foot or by public transport.

What makes this cottage unique

Whilst on a hill the cottage is truly within easy walking distance of the town centre and other attractions. It is near the church and the Bakewell Museum for example. Parking in Bakewell is always an issue so we ensured each of our properties have designated parking, and at Anne Cottage there are places for two cars. For your convenience free Wi-Fi access is available.

Anne Cottage is rated 4 Stars by the Tourist Board and has the modern facilities you would expect but at the same time retaining many 17th century features and the charm of an old quaint cottage.

8 Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(8 traveller reviews)

5

Very clean and well equipped cottage

  • 5 of 5

Just back from a long weekend in this cottage. We found it very equipped, and there was nothing that hadn't been thought of. We arrived to find milk in the fridge, a fresh loaf in the bread bin, tea, coffee, dish wash tablets etc. It was spotlessly clean. We could not fault it and hope to return.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 4, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are delighted our guests loved Anne Cottage and it's great to get such good feedback. We have two other properties of the same standard, Brew House (8124269) and Butts Cottage (8119544) which are also in Bakewell and can be found on Owners Direct.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely Cosy Cottage

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Anne Cottage. It was extremely clean and was well equipped with everything you would need. The weather wasn't brilliant over the Easter period, so it was so nice to come back to a warm cottage after a day out walking! The parking was a bonus, and it was good to be able to walk a short distance down the road, into the centre of Bakewell. I would not hesitate to recommend a stay here.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 19, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Ann Cottage, Bakewell, March 2017 - Review

  • 4 of 5

A cracking little cottage in a central, yet quiet, location. The cottage was clean and had everything we needed for our stay. We were able to access countryside walks without having to drive, which was a huge plus. There was a frequent bus service (one of which went to Chatsworth House). Really nice relaxing stay. Only disappointment was that we were unable to book dinner at a highly recommended French restaurant. Book well in advance!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're sorry that our guests missed out on Piedaniels Restaurant in Bakewell as it is well worth visiting, however we're delighted they enjoyed Anne Cottage and found it really convenient and well presented which we always seek to do. Our other properties offer the same advantages and quality, Brew House and Butts Cottage.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Nottingham
4

Comfortable and cosy

  • 4 of 5

A very comfortable cottage with everything one could need . We had a lovely winter break in Bakewell and the cottage was warm and welcoming.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 20, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: When I met our guests they had nothing but praise for Anne Cottage and their comments bear that out so we are disappointed with their star rating but hope to see them again in the future nevertheless.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Delightful well-equipped cottage

  • 5 of 5

This cottage is truly delightful. We booked it due to its proximity to the centre of Bakewell and we weren't disappointed. It is a 5 minute walk from the centre of town up a hill to the property. Bakewell itself has plenty of shops, a great butchers (Critchlows) and the Bakewell bakery, so we bought fresh items each day for our picnics.

The cottage itself was very well-equipped and we wanted for nothing. The owners even left us a pint of milk and a loaf of bread, which was avery thoughtful touch. It was also useful having a washer-dryer there.

We were a family of four with a dog and it was lovely having 2 separate bedrooms both with en-suite bathrooms. There is also plenty of space for clothes, coats and walking boots.

There is a box full of leaflets and flyers with plenty of ideas of things to do. We particularly liked a book with 7 or 8 walks of different levels from Bakewell itself. We did two of these and they were very enjoyable.

There is also a good wifi connection (handy when you have teenagers!). We downloaded a few movies to our Apple TV box and brought that with us, which we then linked to the TV via an HDMI cable. This meant we could relax and watch movies in the evening after long walks in the day.

We would highly recommend Anne cottage and are already thinking of going back at some point next year for a short break.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are really pleased that the extensive work we have carried out at Anne Cottage this year to upgrade various areas has been beneficial and noted by our guests. Every year we look for ways to improve the guest experience in the three cottages we own, Brew House and Butts Cottage being the other two in Bakewell, and we ensure that the same standard of cleanliness and comfort are found in each. All our properties benefit from being within easy walking distance of the centre of Bakewell and have parking, which is quite a rarity in Bakewell!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely cosy well equipped cottage.

  • 5 of 5

The cottage was well presented. Lovely finishings making it feel like a traditional cottage and very clean throughout. It has no garden but that did not bother us at all as we explored Bakewell and surrounding areas each day. The cottage was very well equipped and we found everything we needed whilst being there. The owners left us bread, milk tea and coffee, lovely touch.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have carried out a lot of work at Anne Cottage this year to upgrade various areas and so we are very pleased that it has been beneficial and noted by our guests. Every year we look for ways to improve the guest experience in the three cottages we own, Brew House and Butts Cottage being the other two in Bakewell, and we ensure that the same standard of cleanliness and comfort are found in each. Although Anne Cottage doesn't have a garden because of the nature of the plot and the age of the property, it does have a small yard to the rear where one can sit out for which we provide folding chairs and a table. We don't advertise the space as it doesn't have a view and is fully enclosed as the cottage, when it was built 300 yrs ago, is built partially into the hillside. Although it doesn't have garden it does benefit from two good parking spaces outside which is quite a rarity in Bakewell!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

From the Owner

Christine and I moved to the area 19 years ago and set up a business providing services to local residents and businesses which has enabled us to become part of the community and also to come to know the area very well. We love the beauty of the countryside but also the diversity in the villages, the local customs and festivals and of course the people who live here. Bakewell is in the centre of the Peak District and is a real tourist attraction in its own right, but it also makes the surrounding area very accessible whether by car, on foot or by public transport.

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Manchester at 30 Miles Nearest Barpub : Rutland Hotel, Bakewell at 500 Metres Nearest Golf : Bakewell at 1 Miles Nearest Train : Chesterfield at 12 Miles Nearest Motorway : M1 Junction 29 at 16 Miles Nearest Restaurant : Pierdaniel's at 500 Metres Car: recommended

Special interest holidays:

If you are a cyclist we can help you with routes locally. There are numerous flat cycle routes such as the Monsal Trail and the Tissington Trail nearby which are old railway lines and are car free and where cycle hire is available and of course there are many hill tracks and trails where we can help.

Fly fishing is available on the Wye.

Travel:

We are about an hour from East Midlands and Manchester Airports. Local bus routes can be used if you want to avoid a car and the nearest train stations are Grindleford or Chesterfield.

Distances:

Chatsworth House 2 miles

Haddon Hall 1 mile

Alton Towers 29 miles

Prices and Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Spring
21 Apr 2017 - 25 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£426
for 3 nights
From
£142
£525
 
 
May Half-Term
26 May 2017 - 1 Jun 2017
4 night minimum stay
£600
for 4 nights
From
£150
£645
 
 
June
2 Jun 2017 - 15 Jun 2017
3 night minimum stay
£495
for 3 nights
From
£165
£610
 
 
L' Eroica
16 Jun 2017 - 18 Jun 2017
3 night minimum stay
£515
 
 
June
19 Jun 2017 - 20 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
£480
for 3 nights
From
£160
£630
 
 
Summer
21 Jul 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
3 night minimum stay
£486
for 3 nights
From
£162
£640
 
 
Autumn
1 Sep 2017 - 19 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£405
for 3 nights
From
£135
£545
 
 
Oct Half-Term
20 Oct 2017 - 26 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£480
for 3 nights
From
£160
£640
 
 
November
27 Oct 2017 - 30 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£324
for 3 nights
From
£108
£410
 
 
December
1 Dec 2017 - 20 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£315
for 3 nights
From
£105
£395
 
 
Christmas
21 Dec 2017 - 27 Dec 2017
7 night minimum stay
£750
 
 
New Year
28 Dec 2017 - 1 Jan 2018
5 night minimum stay
£625
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£450
for 3 nights
From
£150
£650
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £35

Booking Notes:
We have a Booking Form with our Terms and Conditions which we ask you to complete and return.


Changeover Day:
Weekly bookings: Friday or Monday
Short Breaks: either Friday or Monday

Notes on prices:
Our changeover days are Friday and Monday
Short Breaks are Friday to Monday or Monday to Friday and are normally charged at 75% of the weekly rate but please phone for a quotation as it may be less.
We charge a supplement per dog of £5.00 per night
Wi-Fi is available free of charge

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 18-Apr-2017
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

From the Owner

Whilst on a hill the cottage is truly within easy walking distance of the town centre and other attractions. It is near the church and the Bakewell Museum for example. Parking in Bakewell is always an issue so we ensured each of our properties have designated parking, and at Anne Cottage there are places for two cars. For your convenience free Wi-Fi access is available. Anne Cottage is rated 4 Stars by the Tourist Board and has the modern facilities you would expect but at the same time retaining many 17th century features and the charm of an old quaint cottage.

Property Type

  • cottage

Theme

  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions

General

  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine

Kitchen

  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television

Pool / Spa

  • Communal Pool ...

Suitability

  • wheelchair inaccessible

Location Type

  • mountain
  • river
  • town

Attractions

  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls

Leisure Activities

  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • caving
  • swimming
  • tennis

Floor Area

  • 77 m²

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath with Shower
  • Shower room 1 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure
  • En-suite bathroom to bedroom 1 with bath/shower over, w/c and basin. En-suite shower room to bedroom 2 with w/c and basin.

Bedrooms

  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with king-size bed, Bedroom 2 with twin beds.

Outside

  • Golf ...
  • Tennis ...

Meals

  • Self-catering

House Rules

  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website

Notes:

  • Notes on accommodation: Dogs are welcome downstairs (Supplement payable) Wi-Fi is available free of charge. Outside: There is a very small enclosed yard to the rear but it is not suitable for dogs. Utility Room: Fridge freezer, microwave, washing machine/tumble drier and sink. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Towels and linen are included and the property is cleaned weekly or between lets.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot