OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Huge Victorian Inn For Big Get-togethers

People34
Bedrooms 12
Bathrooms7
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

For when your house just isn't big enough for that special occasion

A quaint Victorian inn of impressive size.

A weekend investment that'll feel like a prize.

Located very central in a conservation area.

In Wales, quite safe, no chance of malaria!

A big open space for parking you cars,

just walk on in and out to the bars.

A good seven bathrooms and loads of beds,

for family and friends to lay down their heads.

It's not meant to be posh or for those fond of antiquity,

but more for those with kids, drink wine, and act out of stupidity.

Easy access rooms for granny must be seen,

or a heavenly dormitory for the young and the teens.

3D TVs, surround sound and a massive projector

you'll feel as important as a movie director

for those who can there is a fine pool table

so take on your mates if you think you are able.

With full SKY package including movies and sports,

Perfect for relaxing in a onesie or shorts.

We are more than pet-friendly with easy care flooring,

with the homely wood stove, the fire will be roaring!

More Details

Owner
Dr Mark Sanders
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
25 January, 2017

About Dr Mark Sanders

A dedicated family man with two daughters of 11 and 15. Long-time property developer with a background in Engineering and Sales.

Fading sportsman with a curious interest in American 'Softball' and a new years resolution to take on the challenge of golf (because many have suggested it suits my dress-sense).

Dr Mark Sanders purchased this house in 2011

Why Dr Mark Sanders chose Conwy

We were looking for somewhere within easy reach of our Manchester home where we could easily spend quality outdoor active time with the kids before they grow up and get all independent! The North wales coast has is all. Snowdonia National Park, Historic castles and buildings a-plenty and, of course, the coastline.

We looked at many smaller affordable places from two up two downs to caravans but fell in love with 'The Ship' at first sight. Being a sucker for magnificent, imposing, Victorian architecture and when it has a fabulous 18th century section included too I'm a patsy!

The scale and layout of the place is AMAZING and is just an uplifting open place that just cried out to enjoyed with family and friends. So the plan quickly changed from a family getaway to a big party palace!

What makes this house unique

With the help of the conservation officer we have completely modernised the property with literally ALL mod cons but kept as many features as workable - from the majestic sash windows to the stained glass windows.

The whole design was about open and inclusive space for big groups to 'do their own things' but still be connected. The open plan flows from the dining area with seating for at least 24, through a modern kitchen (designed for large scale cooking) a 'Range' cooker, double fridge freezers and twin dishwashers 'take the strain' through to the lounge where others can watch SKY through the overhead projector or indeed play pool!

There are 11 double bedrooms which can be super-king or twins to suit but a massive feature is the big 'Dorm' room for up to 12 in bunk and pull out beds.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Old Colwyn in Wales

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 34
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • beach
  • mountain
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Garage ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 25 people
Bathrooms:
  • 7 Bathrooms
  • Shower room 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Shower room 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Main Bathroom - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Jacuzzi
    Ensuite to Room 4 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Shower room 5 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Shower room 6 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 12 Bedrooms, Sleeps 34
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , one bed is electric for the elderly
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Superking Four Poster Bed in Ensuite Room
    Bedroom 10 - Superking, or Twin by request
    Bedroom 11 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Superking, or Twin by request
    Bedroom 12 - 8 Single Bed , Bunk Room
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Superking, or Twin by request
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Cot , Superking, or Twin by request
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Superking, or Twin by request
    Bedroom 6 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Superking, or Twin by request
    Bedroom 7 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Superking, or Twin by request
    Bedroom 8 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Superking, or Twin by request
    Bedroom 9 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Superking, or Twin by request
  • Also two travel cots, two highchairs and sofa bed in both lounges
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Table Football
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • 34 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Notes:
Outside: There is an 'easy-care' outside 'beer-garden' type arrangement and a large private car park Utility Room: Washer and Dryer. Iron and Ironing board Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Towels and linen can be provided or a reduction of £100 if you prefer to bring your own. These are changed only at tenancy end. Cleaning is the responsibility of the visitors and is checked at tenancy start and end. Other: Second Lounge with 42" 3D TV and Full SKY multi-room plus Wii for the kids. Big Corner sofa group and double sized sofa bed. Dinning Room Big Twin Tables to seat 24

Reviews

3/5 -
(1 traveller reviews)

United Kingdom
3

Could do better!!

  • 3 of 5

After reading reviews, was quite disappointed! The house was clean and with plenty of kitchen paraphernalia.

There were no 3D tv's as advertised, no DVD in upstairs lounge, we were told there should have been. One dishwasher did not work, the tumble dryer did not work, the top floor toilet did not have a lock on it!! The window in the 12 bed dorm was broken with broken glass that could be touched by a child if not supervised closely.Also there was a leaky shower upstairs and every time it was used water came through the kitchen ceiling! Apparently the leak has been there 'since day one' when it opened in November 2012!!

It was very warm while we were there and most of the windows were painted shut so hardly any air into the bedrooms.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 2, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ouch, only just found this review so apologies for not responding sooner. I am very sorry these incidents impacted on your enjoyment. Sadly things DO go wrong occasionally in properties this big however as the weight of trip advisor reports suggest we get it right the vast majority of the time. Also in our defence we did sort the leak out as soon as it was reported and it CERTAINLY hasn't been there since the beginning! The TV's ARE 3D but you've gotta know how to use them. Likewise the DVD and indeed the tumble dryer. All have worked for every group before and indeed after. That may suggest we should leave more implicit user guide but most guests know how these reasonably standard items work. I thought we had communicated well during your visit but it seems there was a breakdown in some quarters for which I apologise. Mark and the team
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
23 Jun
23 Jun 2017 - 29 Jun 2017
3 night minimum stay
£2,547
for 3 nights
From
£849
£2,546
 
 
30 Jun
30 Jun 2017 - 6 Jul 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
£2,562
for 3 nights
From
£854
£2,563
 
 
07 Jul
7 Jul 2017 - 13 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
£2,628
for 3 nights
From
£876
£2,627
 
 
14 Jul
14 Jul 2017 - 20 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
£3,189
for 3 nights
From
£1,063
£3,188
 
 
21Jul
21 Jul 2017 - 3 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£3,740
for 7 nights
£3,740
 
 
04 Aug
4 Aug 2017 - 24 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£3,352
for 7 nights
£3,352
 
 
25 Aug
25 Aug 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,607
for 7 nights
£2,607
 
 
01 Sept
1 Sep 2017 - 7 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,995
for 3 nights
From
£665
£1,995
 
 
08 Sept
8 Sep 2017 - 19 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,890
for 3 nights
From
£630
£1,891
 
 
20 Oct
20 Oct 2017 - 26 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£2,628
for 3 nights
From
£876
£2,627
 
 
winter
27 Oct 2017 - 21 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,734
for 3 nights
From
£578
£1,734
 
 
Christmas
22 Dec 2017 - 28 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£4,161
for 3 nights
From
£1,387
£4,162
 
 
NYE
29 Dec 2017 - 4 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
£4,791
for 3 nights
From
£1,597
£4,791
 
 
jan
5 Jan 2018 - 8 Feb 2018
3 night minimum stay
£1,500
for 3 nights
From
£500
£1,495
 
 
09 feb
9 Feb 2018 - 15 Feb 2018
7 night minimum stay
£2,390
for 7 nights
£2,390
 
 
16 feb
16 Feb 2018 - 22 Feb 2018
3 night minimum stay
£2,100
for 3 nights
From
£700
£1,995
 
 
23 feb
23 Feb 2018 - 8 Mar 2018
3 night minimum stay
£1,800
for 3 nights
From
£600
£1,734
 
 
08 mar
9 Mar 2018 - 29 Mar 2018
3 night minimum stay
£1,800
for 3 nights
From
£600
£1,734
 
 
easter
30 Mar 2018 - 5 Apr 2018
7 night minimum stay
£3,088
for 7 nights
£3,088
 
 
06 apr
6 Apr 2018 - 3 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
£2,700
for 3 nights
From
£900
£2,791
 
 
04 may
4 May 2018 - 10 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
£1,284
for 3 nights
£2,995
 
 
11 may
11 May 2018 - 24 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
£2,100
for 3 nights
From
£700
£2,100
 
 
25 may
25 May 2018 - 31 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
£3,690
for 3 nights
From
£1,230
£3,674
 
 
1 jun
1 Jun 2018 - 12 Jul 2018
3 night minimum stay
£2,100
for 3 nights
From
£700
£1,995
 
 
jul 13
13 Jul 2018 - 19 Jul 2018
3 night minimum stay
£2,550
for 3 nights
From
£850
£2,680
 
 
20 jul
20 Jul 2018 - 26 Jul 2018
3 night minimum stay
£3,300
for 3 nights
From
£1,100
£3,250
 
 
27 jul
27 Jul 2018 - 2 Aug 2018
3 night minimum stay
£3,900
for 3 nights
From
£1,300
£4,139
 
 
03 aug
3 Aug 2018 - 30 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£4,258
for 7 nights
£4,258
 
 
31 aug
31 Aug 2018 - 6 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
£1,065
for 3 nights
£2,486
 
 
07 sep
7 Sep 2018 - 11 Oct 2018
3 night minimum stay
£2,100
for 3 nights
From
£700
£1,995
 
 
oct 19
19 Oct 2018 - 25 Oct 2018
7 night minimum stay
£3,021
for 7 nights
£3,021
 
 
26 oct
26 Oct 2018 - 20 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
£2,010
for 3 nights
From
£670
£1,995
 
 
nye
28 Dec 2018 - 3 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
£5,450
for 7 nights
£5,450
 
 
Standard price

Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
£1,734
for 3 nights
From
£578
£1,734
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £500

Booking Notes:

Balance 8 weeks prior.
£500 cleaning/damage deposit

Changeover Day:
Fridays

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals