OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

4-Star Scandinavian Eco-friendly Log House On The Shores Of Loch Awe In Argyll

Overview

Property

Updated: 30-Oct-2016
House in Ardbrecknish, Nr. Oban, Strathclyde, Scotland - Great Views, Own Enclosed Woodland Garden, Sauna And Games Building. Perfect For Families

This cosy Nordic eco-friendly log house is the perfect location for a relaxing or action-packed break at any time of year. Even boasting a traditional Norwegian grass roof and Scandinavian sauna, the house is incredibly comfortable and well equipped, and surrounded by some of the most stunning scenery in Scotland. Dalriada is not part of a holiday complex, but sits on its own in an acre of enclosed garden and woodland, including a charming stream. Located just a few hundred metres from the water, it has lovely views across Loch Awe and the magnificent mountain, Ben Cruachan. The vaulted ceiling and large open-plan living and dining room gives a lovely sense of light and space, as you gaze out at the views or enjoy the blazing log fire. All on one level, it is ideal for people with mobility problems. The area offers something for everyone – wonderful wildlife, walking, fishing, shooting, horse riding and sightseeing. Boat-hire and launch facilities are 10 minutes away.

  • Sleeps 7
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Kristine Cunningham is half Norwegian and spent her childhood there, with many holidays in lodges just like Dalriada. The chance to buy a property like this for the family to use, complete with grass roof and water and mountain views, was just too tempting. Since it was first rented out for holidays at the beginning of 2012, the many lovely families, groups and couples who have stayed there seem to agree that it has a unique, cosy and comfortable atmosphere. A real home from home.

Call Owner
Speaks English

Guestbook comments from the owner

“We were completely overwhelmed by the lodge and grounds and would thoroughly recommend Dalriada for any age group for a refreshing, fun and relaxing break.”

L Howarth, Falkirk.



“Thank you so much for a wonderful holiday! What a perfect log cottage.” I Russon-Taylor, Edinburgh



"We had a wonderful time at Dalriada. The lodge was perfect. We really appreciated the tree & the decorations- thank you! The lodge is so well equipped, we enjoyed the sauna & we even made waffles!" R Scurr, Carnforth
Jan 2013
  • 1 of 1

13 Reviews

4.4
based on 13 holidaymaker reviews

5

Fabulous base for great holiday!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful break at Dalriada Lodge. It is a beautiful place to stay, the facilities are excellent and there is plenty to occupy you if the weather keeps you indoors. Table tennis, waffles and sauna were big hits! It's great to have a pub within walking distance- but we mostly cooked in the well equipped kitchen. Plenty of great walks, boat on the Loch was fabulous and within easy distance of Oban. Thanks Kris!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Not what we hoped for

  • 2 of 5

We felt the property was a little dated and some parts in need of repair, broken frying pan handle, saucepans chipped, bath panel broken, worn bath towels, sofa seems to have lost its spring

The kitchen is well equipped, There are lots of games, books, wii . The Log burner is great

Outside area BBQ rusted through, some one had left a portable bbq inside it and their litter on the patio.

Large garden although most of it left to nature. The wooden gate at the bottom of the garden does not close and leads directly onto the lane so beware if you have children or dogs, I had to wedge it shut with a log.

Most disappointing to us was the lack of a view and poor proximity to the loch. We had booked this house thinking we would be close to the loch as advertised on the shore of Loch awe. The view from the lodge is minimal and only a small section of a mountain and the Loch can be seen To get to the loch is a 15 min walk to the boat yard so no real access to the water.

We were lucky to have good weather and can recommend the boat hire on the loch, Inverary jail and a trip to Oban.

We used the games room but not the sauna.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm really sorry that you didn't enjoy your break at Dalriada Lodge. I did email you after your stay to explain that there was an almost new and clean BBQ under the carport, so I'm not sure why you chose to use the old rusted one hidden away in a corner waiting to be collected for disposal, I thanked you also for pointing out the faulty gate and the broken saucepan handle. With just 5 hours between guests for cleaning, its impossible to check everything in the lodge every week, so we sometimes have to rely on guests letting us know when things are faulty and try to rectify them as soon as possible. As for the proximity of the lodge to the loch - We provide several images on the site and feel they give an accurate view of location in relation to the water.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Dalriada Lodge, Loch Awe. Excellent holiday cabin.

  • 4 of 5

Lovely cabin. very spacious with 4 bedrooms. Large living area and very well equipped. Very nice wood burner.

would definitely recommend this for a family holiday.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Just perfect

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful location. Well equipped lodge with everything you could need and more (the waffle maker was a hit!). The perfect place for a truly relaxing week in the Scottish sun. We all loved it. Thanks Kris.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the lodge, and glad that we now have more waffle converts! Hope to see you back some time. xx
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Spacious and well equipped but very dusty

  • 3 of 5

Our initial impression was what a fantastic place. Then as we began to settle in we realised how dusty it was and how many cobwebs were around! One member of our party was asthmatic so that was a problem. Under the beds was lots of extra bedding but the dust under there was incredible! Numerous bulbs weren't working in light fittings and lamps nor did the outside light work at the main entrance. There was no mains lead for the PlayStation which was disappointing for our 6 year old. The games room we didn't use as it needed a good clean, it certainly wasn't suitable for a 2 year old to be playing in. We have emailed the owner twice since returning but have had no response. We had a great holiday but felt let down by the cleanliness and basic maintenance of the lodge - certainly not 4 star accommodation.

  • Review Submitted: May 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm terribly sorry that you had issues with dust and cobwebs at the lodge and that some of the bulbs were not working. Its certainly not something we have had complaints about before, but we obviously fell below our normal standards for your stay. If you had let me know about your concerns at the time I would certainly have asked our housekeeper to put them right for you straight away. I'm sorry also that the Play Station cable was missing - it must have been accidentally taken away by recent guests and was replaced as soon as we became aware of it. I'm especially upset that you think I did not reply to your emails. I've double checked my messages and have no trace of any from you following your stay, so something obviously went wrong along the way. If I had I would certainly have gotten back to you as soon as possible.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

comfortable and well equipped home from home

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful and unusual lodge set in spectacular scenery. Loads of outdoor space for our 4 year old grandson and lively dog to run around in. Everything you could want for a comfortable holiday was supplied - and then some. Only word of caution is to make sure you don't run out of essentials as the nearest shops are about 10 miles away. Otherwise, sit back, admire the view and listen to the birdsong.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Glasgow Airport at 63 Miles Nearest Barpub : Ardbrecknish House Bar at 0.5 Miles Nearest Train : Dalmally Station at 6 Miles Nearest Restaurant : Ardbrcknish House Bar at 0.5 Miles Nearest Ski : Glencoe Mountain at 32 Miles Car: necessary

Coast/Beach:

10 minute walk to loch-side. The coast is 32 miles drive away. From Oban there are ferries to many of the Scottish Islands.

Travel:

Glasgow airport is 64 miles (1.5 hours) by car.

Edinburgh airport is 100 miles (2.5 hours) by car.

Nearest rail station is Damally, 8 miles away.

Car essential, as there is no bus or taxi service locally.

Distances:

Nearest village shops are in Dalmally (8 miles) and Inverary (10 miles). All major supermarkets are available in Oban (32 miles) and Tesco does a delivery service to the Ardbrecknish area.

Further Details:

Loch Awe and Dalmally

Ardbrecknish House, just a few minutes away, has a welcoming bar and restaurant (not open in winter).

Loch Awe is the premier location for wild fresh-water fishing and holds the record for the biggest rod-caught brown trout in Britain. Boats can be hired a short stroll away from the lodge, together with equipment and permits.

There are countless excellent walks around the loch and great opportunities for wildlife spotting. Deer, pine martins, red squirrels, buzzards, osprey and even beaver have been seen in Argyll.

Kichurn Castle is an iconic sight at the top end of Loch Awe

Nearby Cruachan PowerStation Visitor Centre provides a surprisingly interesting visit of the Hollow Mountain.

Inverary

This charming town is the heartland of the Campbell Clan, with the Duke of Argyll still in residence at Inverary Castle. The castle and grounds are open to the public and Invarary Jail is also an excellent attraction. Horse-riding is also available and a range of other outdoor pursuits.

Taynalt

Inveraw Smokehouse is 15 miles away, with fishing opportunities and lovely walks, as well as its own excellent smoked fish.

The area also has golf, canoeing, museums and Loch Etive cruises.

Oban

Known as the 'Gateway to the Isles’, Oban has a host of attractions, including cinema, leisure centre, Sea-life centre, museums and evening entertainment.

Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Off
12 Nov 2016 - 21 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
£286
for 2 nights
From
£143
£440
 
 
Christmas
22 Dec 2016 - 28 Dec 2016
4 night minimum stay
£604
for 4 nights
From
£151
£810
 
 
New Year
29 Dec 2016 - 4 Jan 2017
4 night minimum stay
£668
for 4 nights
From
£167
£890
 
 
Off
7 Jan 2017 - 10 Feb 2017
2 night minimum stay
£286
for 2 nights
From
£143
£440
 
 
Low
11 Feb 2017 - 7 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
£490
for 7 nights
£490
 
 
Mid
8 Apr 2017 - 26 May 2017
7 night minimum stay
£590
for 7 nights
£590
 
 
High
27 May 2017 - 23 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£690
for 7 nights
£690
 
 
Peak
24 Jun 2017 - 8 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£810
for 7 nights
£810
 
 
High
9 Sep 2017 - 22 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£690
for 7 nights
£690
 
 
Mid
23 Sep 2017 - 27 Oct 2017
7 night minimum stay
£590
for 7 nights
£590
 
 
Low
28 Oct 2017 - 10 Nov 2017
7 night minimum stay
£490
for 7 nights
£490
 
 
Off
11 Nov 2017 - 20 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
£286
for 2 nights
From
£143
£440
 
 
Christmas
21 Dec 2017 - 27 Dec 2017
4 night minimum stay
£604
for 4 nights
From
£151
£810
 
 
New Year
28 Dec 2017 - 3 Jan 2018
4 night minimum stay
£668
for 4 nights
From
£167
£890
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £15

Booking Notes:
Bookings are confirmed after payment of 25 per cent deposit. Full payment is due six weeks before stay.

Changeover Day:
Changeover is on Saturday, except by arrangement. Arrival after 4pm and departure by 10am.

Short breaks (min 2 nights) available Nov-March.

Notes on prices:
Short breaks are available during winter months (except Christmas and New Year) for 2 - 5 nights. Cost for 2 nights 65% of weekly rate, 3 nights 70%, 4 nights 75% and 5 nights 80%.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 30-Oct-2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

Property Type

  • cottage

Theme

  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic

General

  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...

Pool / Spa

  • Sauna ...

Suitability

  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm

Location Type

  • mountain
  • rural

Attractions

  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • museums
  • ruins
  • waterfalls

Leisure Activities

  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • ski
  • bay fishing

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath with Shower, Bidet
  • Shower room 1 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure
  • Family bathroom with corner bath, shower, wc and bidet. En-suite bathroom to master bedroom with shower, wc and sink

Bedrooms

  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed, 1 Cot, Extra single bed and travel cot on request
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 7 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Master bedroom with double bed, lovely views and en-suite bathroom Bedroom 2 with double bed Bedroom 3 with twin beds Option of additional single bed in twin or master bedroom.

Outside

  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...

Meals

  • Self-catering

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website

Notes:

  • Notes on accommodation: Dalriada is perfect for children and they are well catered for. Cot, high-chair and child-friendly crockery is provided. For older children there is a wide range of toys, books and games, including Wii and Playstation 3. An extensive DVD collection is available for all ages. Pets are welcome by prior arrangement. £15 per dog. Outside: One acre of private, enclosed, woodland garden which lovely stream and bridges (care needed for very young children). Patio furniture to front and rear, BBQ, covered swing and carport. Ample parking for 6 cars. Utility Room: Additional sink, washing machine, tumble drier, as well as storage for coats and boots. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Linen and towels included. Dishtowels, cleaning material and kitchen basics included. Logs and all electricity included. Other: Separate six-person sauna close to the house. Games outhouse includes full size table-tennis table and darts board.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot