OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Haddon End - Victorian Farmhouse Edge Of Exmoor

Overview

Property

Updated: 23-Nov-2016
Farmhouse on Exmoor, Near Dulverton, Somerset, England - Perfect For Family Holidays & Visiting Exmoor. Own Setting, Large Garden, Family And Child Friendly

Haddon End is a fine 5 double bedroom family house on the Somerset / Devon border with large gardens set in the unspoilt Brendon Hills, on the edge of Exmoor National Park. It has been renovated over the last 20 years and is perfect base for walks and expeditions around Exmoor. It will sleep 10 + 2 people, has 3 bathrooms, a large farmhouse kitchen and double size (30’) sitting room with high ceilings. It is south facing so the terrace outside is a wonderful spot for sitting out and enjoying a meal or a glass of wine. It has all the modern facilities you would expect – wifi, free-sat (satellite) TV (42” plasma screen), central heating, an open fireplace, a woodburner, an AGA and electric hob and oven, dishwasher, washing machine and well stocked kitchen. The 2 acre garden has a games lawn, a lower lawn, a rose garden for barbecues as well as a terrace pergola for the hot days, all set in farmland. It is close to Wimbleball reservoir and Haddon Hill.

  • Sleeps 12
  • 5 Bedrooms
  • 3 Bathrooms, 1 Separate Toilet
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Wheelchair access

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

We bought this house in 1993 when it was very run down and have restored it to modern standards. We are now near-retirees (husband is an architect) and have decided to holiday let Haddon End as our children have left home. It is therefore ideal for families with children with plenty of toys, books and play equipment. The garden is also entirely our creation and is now well established.

The owner is still working as an architect in a large international practice in London where he is Director of Research. He lectures widely and is a founder director of the SmartGeometry Group. Swedish by background he has lived in the UK since the 1960’s where he met his wife who comes from Somerset. Their children and grandchildren live in London and and frequently come and visit.

Call Owner
Speaks English, French, Swedish

Guestbook comments from the owner

Sue (July 2012):"We really did have a brilliant time, all the girls agreed it was our best cycling trip ever.The accommodation made it just as much as the cycling, you really do have a spectacular house."

Sarah Obm (June 2013): "We all had a relaxing and fun time and loved your amazing farmhouse. We really appreciated how welcoming you were (and we especially loved the cream tea and beautiful flowers you left for us)."

Laura Williams (May 2013): "We enjoyed a wonderful family reunion at Haddon End. The house was delightful, the welcome was very warm and the location is a great base for exploring the glorious South West. We'll definitely be back."

From April 2013 visitors (K B-R): "We had a lovely time thank you. We actually enjoyed the bad weather on Saturday as it is so rare to have an excuse to do absolutely nothing except lounge around in front of a roaring fire on exceptionally comfy sofas. Haddon End really was the perfect house for a large family gathering."
Nov 2012
  • 1 of 1

11 Reviews

4.6
based on 11 holidaymaker reviews

5

Absolutely magical

  • 5 of 5

We rented this property for a three day weekend for the extended family for my significant birthday. The owners could not have been more welcoming, with the table set and scones laid out for our arrival. Fresh flowers in the hall and kitchen. The house was just the right size for the 10 of us including 3 children, and the range of games - the pool table was a hit!- and the space meant we weren't under each others feet. Kitchen was marvelous and well kitted out. Lots of hot water and logs for the fire. We all had a great time.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic house

  • 5 of 5

We were 8 adults and 3 young children and this house was perfect for all our needs. Lovely big living room and kitchen, and 5 bedrooms with excellent views. The gardens were beautiful with loads to explore for the children, especially as we had such great weather. It is a rare treat to be able to stay in a grand old farmhouse in one of the most beautiful parts of the country. Cream tea on arrival with a huge tub of clotted cream; there is no any better way to visit the West Country!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 5, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A very good holiday accomodation

  • 5 of 5

Our party of 6 adults and 4 children absolutely loved Haddon End. It was full of character and very spacious.

The kitchen was great with plenty of room around a big table and the option of using the aga.

Bedrooms and bathrooms were good and beds comfortable with lots of wardrobe space

The children loved the garden it has to be seen to be believed.!

We enjoyed Dunster Castle, the village and the rock pools.

We highly recommend Haddon End

  • Review Submitted: Oct 2, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, we love having families like yours.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Shabby and filthy!

  • 1 of 5

This house has loads of potential and could be lovely but sadly it has been desperately neglected and is in a very poor state. Everything was filthy, woodlice crawling absolutely everywhere, musty smelling bedding, pathetic water pressure in showers (which did not drain due to years of accumulated filth), old and dirty kitchen equipment etc. Very spacious and in a lovely location but not even remotely in an acceptable condition to let out. Extremely disappointing as with a very deep clean and some re plastering and decorating etc it could be lovely. I would not recommend staying here.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 29, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry that these reviewers did not like it. When they left we had a long chat and they seemed very satisfied, and in fact they left a note saying they had a wonderful time here. All our other visitors have been very pleased, and indeed we have had seven 5 star reviews and many compliments. In response to the criticism, we have dealt with the shower outlets. We cannot understand the other complaint as the house is cleaned between every visit and we have never had a problem. The bedding is washed and ironed between every visit so musty smelling is incorrect. As for the showers, two are power showers, the third is gravity fed - as we point out in the introductory document. The kitchen equipment is definitely not dirty, we take great care to make sure it is cleaned between visitors. May we point out that, although on the website we make clear we do not accommodate dogs, after booking, these visitors said there would be a dog. We charged the £15 per day for the extra cleaning that entailed. We do understand that some people feel compelled online to vent frustration and we are obviously keen to respond to valid criticism which we do take seriously.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
5

An absolutely perfect place to relax

  • 5 of 5

We arrived to a table laid for a cream tea, what a perfect start to our weekend. Haddon End is such a quiet relaxing place (we were 6 adults from 52 - 86 ). The bedrooms were spacious the lounge really comfortable and the kitchen very well equipped. We could not have wanted for more. And the weather was perfect so we were able to sit outside and soak in the perfect view. We will be back.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 7, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
United Kingdom
5

Superb Home

  • 5 of 5

Young and old, all 11 of us without exception, had a wonderful holiday in September. Only regret we could not stay longer. The house has an incredible homely, happy feel to it, is extremely well equipped, including an amazing book and picture collection. The grounds are beautiful, perfect for all of us to play, walk and enjoy early morning yoga on the lawn. All the rooms are so spacious and the views spectacular. We even fitted out the children with wellington boots also supplied. Would love to return for another longer holiday - we still miss it. Thank you to the owners for making our stay so perfect.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 10, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

From the Owner

The house was built by my wife’s great-grandfather the 4th Earl of Carnarvon. The 5th Earl (his son) is of course famous for funding the excavation of Tutankhamen’s tomb and his descendants live at Highclere Castle where Downton Abbey was filmed.

Activity and Interests

Car: necessary

Special interest holidays:

We have stables and grazing should you wish to board horses (separate charge).

There is local coarse fishing (Shillingford, Exebridge).

For equestrians there is Treeborough cross-country/event course.

The Iron Man Triathlon is held annually at Wimbleball 20 minutes away.

Coast/Beach:

The north coast (Minehead and Blue Anchor) is ½ hour away and the south coast 1 ½ hrs. The North Devon coast is also accessible (1 ½ hrs) with excellent surfing and sand; the best beaches on the north Devon coast are Saunton, Putsbourough and Woolacombe.

Travel:

This is a rural area and a car is essential. The closest stations are at Taunton (19 miles) and Tiverton Parkway (13 miles) – both with direct trains to London Paddington in 2 hours.

Distances:

The local towns of Bampton (5 miles) and Dulveron (7 miles) have excellent food shops (bakers, greengrocers, butchers, local supermarkets). Tiverton (11 miles) has Tesco and Morrison. Dunster with its Castle and medieval village is ½ hr away. Wimbleball Lake (sailing, fishing, walking and picnicking) is also close by (1-2 miles) as is Haddon Hill (deer, Exmoor ponies and wildlife).

Further Details:

Exmoor is the first International Dark Sky Reserve in Europe Dulverton has hosted BBC's Stargazing Live: This beautiful Somerset / Devon border is where the war film “The Landgirls” was shot. The Exmoor zoo at Simonsbath is popular.

If you wish you can order your supplies from Tesco and ask them to deliver before your arrival. If you tell us when they will deliver then we will put the food away in the fridge.

There are a number of good pubs, the closest being Lowtrow Cross (1 mile), and Exebridge (The Anchor), in Dulverton (Wood’s), Bampton (the Toucan Cafe). On Exmoor itself Winsford (The Royal Oak) is popular.

The West Somerset Railway is a working steam railway between Minehead and Bishop's Lydeard running along the coast. The Tropiquaria at Washford Cross is an interesting collection of birds and reptiles and is a delightful drive away. South Molton, a once rich wool town has a bee centre and soft play nearby.

The Moors include Haddon Hill (1 mile), Dunkery (the highest point on Exmoor), Winsford Hill and Anstey Moor. Simonsbath in the middle of the moor has a good pub and there is a riding stable at Higher Chilcott Farm and at West Anstey Farm.

Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Christmas
23 Dec 2016 - 30 Dec 2016
4 night minimum stay
£1,525
for 4 nights
From
£375
 
 
Easter
14 Apr 2017 - 21 Apr 2017
4 night minimum stay
£1,525
for 4 nights
From
£375
 
 
MayBankHoliday1
28 Apr 2017 - 5 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,075
for 3 nights
From
£350
 
 
MayBankHoliday2
26 May 2017 - 2 Jun 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,075
for 3 nights
From
£350
 
 
Summer Holidays
21 Jul 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,125
for 7 nights
£2,125
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
£775
for 3 nights
From
£250
From
£275
Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,325
 

Additional pricing information

Glass & metal removal £25

FOR ACTUAL PRICES CONTACT US DIRECT. Ownersdirect prices are for information only.

Fees:
PLEASE Remove your own glass bottles and tin cans - if not we will charge you £25 for their removal
Changeover Day:
Changeover day is Friday, departure by 10 am, arrival from 4 pm. We can do short stays at about half weekly charge for 3 nights during off-peak periods.

Notes on prices:
All prices are per week. All bed linen and towels are provided.

Direct payment to owners bank.
A 30% payment reserves your holiday. Remainder will be due four weeks prior to the start of your holiday (12 week prior for festive season booking).

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Updated: 23-Nov-2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

From the Owner

The house lies in its own land with many bridlepaths and footpaths close by – it is an excellent centre for exploring Exmoor and is within easy reach of the sea and the many local attractions. It is a peaceful and private place for a family holiday or simply enjoying the beauty of Exmoor. Wimbleball Lake is only 20 minutes away and a great centre for water sports. It hosts various events such as Iron Man, wind surfing, sailing and fishing. Exford is the centre of the moor for such equestrian activities as the Golden Horseshoe and we have local Xcountry course 10 mins away.

Property Type

  • farmhouse

Theme

  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions

General

  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...

Suitability

  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible ...

Location Type

  • rural

Leisure Activities

  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure
  • Toilet 1 - Toilet
  • Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • Ensuite with North room - power shower / WC / handbasin West Bathroom – shower / bath / WC / handbasin East Bathroom – power shower / bath / WC / handbasin

Bedrooms

  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed, Or 2 singles + 1 extra bed
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed, 1 Cot, Or 2 singles
  • Bedroom 5 - 1 Double Bed, Or 2 singles - en-suit bathroom
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed, 1 Cot, Or 2 singles + 1 extra bed
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed, Or two singles + 1 extra bed
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 10 + 2 (5 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: 1 - Superking/twin beds. 2 - 2 single beds. 3 - Superking/twin beds. 4 - Superking/twin beds. 5 - King Size or twins (2’6”).

Outside

  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...

Meals

  • Self-catering

Notes:

  • Not suitable for stag or hen parties. Not suitable for dogs. If dog brought we charge £15 / dog / night. There are 2 high chairs and 2 travel cots. Outside: The house is set to the north of the farmyard amongst gardens and woodland. The garden is about 2 acres and consists of a rose garden (for barbecuing), a south facing terrace, 2 lawns, and a games field. There is a children’s area with slides, trampoline, climbing frame and a football goal. No adults on trampoline please (no net on trampoline). There is also wild woodland garden with a pond which is fenced off. You are welcome to use this, but children should be accompanied. Utility Room: Washing machine, sink, larder-fridge, drying racks, boiler, ironing board Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Towels and linen included, changed once a week. Cleaning once a week. Please bring own swimming towels. Please bring your own cot linen. Other: Entrance hall & play room - skylight, boots, snooker, etc. 16’ x 16’. Staircase Hall - coat hanging, children’s toys and games. Downstairs WC - under stairs

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot