OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Cottage In Helmsley, North Yorkshire Moors, England

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Separate WC's1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Cottage in Helmsley, North Yorkshire Moors, England - Cottage With A Garden In The Centre Of Helmsley, On The Edge Of The North York Moors

8 Pottergate mews is a newly built cottage that is smartly furnished to a high standard with all the benefits of a modern home and with a south facing garden. The property has open plan living room 2 double bedroom rooms one with double bed and one with twin beds. The cottage is only 2min walk to Helmsley market square where you will find Many shops and restaurants. One of the best locations in Helmsley.


Owner
sean capps
Member since: 2007
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
27 March, 2018

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Helmsley in Helmsley

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • village
General:
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Toilet 1 - Toilet
  • Modern bathroom has a large bath and shower and WC and a full length mirror.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 is south facing. There is a double bed, Hammond fitted wardrobes and shelving. There are 2 bedside drawers, lamps and a chair, and a TV with all the free view channels. Bedroom 2, has one chest of drawers, one shared bedside drawers with lamp.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Notes:
Outside: Lawned garden to the front with table and chairs. There is all so a small gravelled area at the back. Their is one dedicated parking place, any other cars can be parked on potter gate, their is also a shed where the bins are stored. Utility Room: Just off the kitchen there is a cloakroom and WC Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Bedlinen and towels are provided. The property is cleaned for your arrival. If you would like additional cleaning, this can be arranged for a fee.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(8 traveller reviews)

62% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
Cottage In Helmsley, North Yorkshire Moors, England
average rating of 4.25 based on 8 reviews
1

Facilities not working

  • 1 of 5

Helmsley is a lovely village and the cottage has a great location, a short walk to the centre. We had a lot of trouble locating the property on google maps and had emailed the owner before we left Australia as we wished to input the location into our GPS. There was no answer but by luck we found the property on arrival in Helmsley.

Unfortunately on arrival, the internet was not working and no response from a call to the owner. There is no compendium on any appliances/nor use of the internet. The washing machine was broken and the dishwasher didn’t have power to the unit. It was a frustrating situation as we had been travelling for some time however we did enjoy Yorkshire immensely.

Stayed August 2017

  • Review Submitted: 11-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I’m very sorry to here! But finding it difficult to understand your problems. As the internet dishwasher and washing machine are all working totally fine? We have had guests staying there all year and after you had left, no else has completed about this. They are all new! I do not recall getting any phone calls from you, as I would of sorted the problems, this is the first I have heard of this. Sorry that you had found it difficult to use the dishwasher and a washing machine. Didn’t think a dishwasher and washing were difficult to use, but will take note and will down load some information from the internet. I feel your one star review is very unfair, as I am 100% sure that all the appliances were and still are working fine, So very confused at your comments. I have all so just been looking through my emails and can’t find any emails asking about rental access or directions? The full address is on the web site, there is also a map showing where the house is located in Helmsley. Helmsely is a very small place and like you said the house is located in the centre..
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
4

Great stay!

  • 4 of 5

Fab little house in an ideal location less than a minute walk away from the lovely Helmsley. Comfortably furnished with enough space for us all (family of 4). The only thing missing was a cafetiere (because we love real coffee!). We wouldn't hesitate about staying here again. Thankyou!

  • Review Submitted: 09-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! I agree with your comment on the cafetière. We have now just bought a coffee maker. Hope to see you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Excellent location

  • 4 of 5

This little house is in an excellent location for exploring North Yorkshire. It is just yards away from a number of nice restaurants and coffee shops, there is loads to see and do on your doorstep, and York is about half an hour away by car. The house itself was clean and in good condition. We did have a couple of issues with the boiler, which developed an intermittent fault, but the owner was quick to get a plumber out and gave us a portion of our rental back as recompense which we appreciated. Overall the property was good value for money.

  • Review Submitted: 17-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Somerset
5

Great all round

  • 5 of 5

We had a week in this lovely house. It had everything we could need and more. Very clean and tidy too. The position, just a few minutes walk away from the town square with all its facilities, cafes, pubs and shops made it all the better. Because we are not used to stairs in our own home, the downstairs loo was a bonus! Our first visit to Yorkshire and we could not have chosen better I think. Many thanks to the owner.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Sep-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Lovely base for a family holiday

  • 5 of 5

Last minute decision to come away and stayed for 5 nights. Really enjoyed the cottage - it's clean, well decorated and the furnishings are good quality. I don't think the photos do it justice - it's nicer and has a lovely feel to it. It's very centrally located for all of Helmsley's amenities. We particularly liked Gepetto's, The Feathers and the Helmsley Fish and Chip shop. It's also well located for so many attractions - we visited the Moors Centre at Danby, Boggle Hole, Beningborough Hall and the cinema in York. The owner was very helpful and we are hoping to return again in the not to distant future. I would have no hesitation in recommending it to family and friends.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your very kind review! Hope to see you soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Northamptonshire
5

Lovely Holiday Home

  • 5 of 5

This holiday home is very near the centre of Helmsley. The house has everything you will need. It is warm with a plentiful supply of hot water. There is a lovely lawned front garden with garden furniture available. Helmsley is a beautiful small town with lovely small independent shops, including Butchers, Green Grocers and a Deli. There is a lovely walk along the Cleveland Way to Rievaulx Abbey which is about an hour by foot. We have had a lovely break and could not recommend highly enough.

  • Review Submitted: 25-Apr-2014
  • Date of Stay: April 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Location

Coast/Beach:

The coastal towns of Scarborough, Whitby, and Filey are about 40min away

Travel:

Use of a car is recommended, Their is bus services in Helmsley to the cost and York

Distances:

Helmsley is an ideal base for visiting the North York Moors. The east cost about 40 minutes. York is about 40 minutes and local attractions like Riveaulx Abby Duncome park,All so lots of great walking opportunities.

Further Details:

The Market square is just a 2 min walk, there are lots of shops good restaurants, cafes and bars and a couple of well known hotels. There is also a cost cutter, post office, a couple of banks and fantastic delicatessen and a few very good bakers.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £100

Booking Notes:
We would need a deposit too secure your booking and the remainder 6 weeks before your stay, we also would need an extra £100 security deposit which will be refunded 10 days after you vacate. You can pay either by cheque or bank transfer. Please note there is a no smoking and no pets policy at the cottage.
Please note that 5 and 6 day bookings will be charged at the week rate
Changeover Day:
All bookings run from Saturday to Saturday(although could be negotiable and may alter over Christmas and new year). You may arrive after 3pm and must depart by 10am.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable