OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

hilltop villa spectacular views over medieval village 5 mins walk special offers

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's2
Space 2,152 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Private Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Hilltop Villa, 3 double beds private heated pool & hot tub. Secluded terraced gardens 5 mins walk to historic Bastide town with 4 restaurants .Private parking

The Eyrie is the highest residence in the medieval hill-top village of Penne d'Agenais on the Lot river in the South West of France. It has spectacular southerly views stretching from Tournon d'Agenais in the east to Villeneuve sur Lot in the west. There are four terraces with superb views for eating, drinking and sun bathing. One just follows the sun on it's way around the house. A heated pool and a hot tub are set in delightful terraced gardens offering complete privacy. Adjacent to the main gates is a petanque court for enthusiasts of this very French pastime. At the lower extremity of the property a gateway allows access into the town a mere 5 minutes walk away.. The house is light sunny & stylishly furnished, our guests often remark on it's Colonial style with wooden blinds, period furnishings. A woodburner adds ambience and complements the central heating out of season. A large open plan sitting and dining room with south facing conservatory wraps our guests in great comfort. There is wifi and hi fi, telephone and English and French Television. There are 3 bedrooms, 2 of which have immediate access via French doors onto a terrace with views over the town below. These two latter bedrooms share a bathroom and shower, but there is a further separate toilet. The master bedroom has an en-suite shower room with toilet. There is a well equipped galley style kitchen with breakfast bar and views over the gardens and valley beyond. On the floor below there a playroom with table tennis and French doors leading out onto a large hardwood deck equipped with swing chair, loungers and a six person hot tub. A few minutes stroll from the house & you are in the heart of Penne with its many bars & restaurants and 5 mins by car will find you in the Port de Penne and St Sylvestre with more restaurants, bars and a good range of shops & services. Amble along the river, dip your toes, hire a boat or join the walkers along part of 'Le Chemin de Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle' which passes close by the front gates. There is unlimited parking on the property and outside if ever needed. The house is centrally heated and a solar panel provides hotwater.


Owner
John Roberts
Member since: 2012
Speaks English, French
Calendar last updated:
6 December, 2017

About John Roberts

26 years ago whilst holidaying in France we stumbled upon a delightful old stone ruin overlooking a lake, we duly signed on the dotted line and three months later accompanied by a week old baby daughter we returned to begin a new life. Our daughter was weaned to the sound of pick and shovel and now 12 'ruins' later she is rather unsurprisingly 26 years old, running a restaurant and we are retired. Do we have any regrets, non whatsoever, would we return to live in England, probably not.

We currently live about 15 minutes drive away from the Eyrie at St Beauzeil, in a barn that we renovated 10 years ago. We have also now bought our 'last' 'retirement' house for restoration situated alongside the Canal du Midi in the nearby town of Agen. By design this happens to be a stroll away from our daughter's small restaurant/coffee bar which we helped to renovate at the beginning of 2015. If you haven't guessed by now my metier was building and renovation.

John Roberts purchased this villa in 2008

Why John Roberts chose Penne-d'Agenais

We chose this house for it's uniquely dominant position, whilst remaining totally secluded and within easy walking distance of the beautiful village below. We liked Penne as a large village and it's close proximity to Villeneuve and Agen. The house also appealed to us because of it's inherent 30's, art deco feel, despite having been constructed in the 60's by a local Architect for his family.

We had 'done' 20 years of Quercy stone and felt like a change.

Guestbook comments from the owner

The Eyrie certainly is a unique property. We were absolutely delighted and privileged to stay there. The situation is magnificent with views from the conservatory and lounge that made the TV practically redundant. We would highly recommend this property. (Helen T.)



We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Eyrie and recommend it highly. The house and gardens are beautifully maintained and well equipped. The village is outstandingly pretty and only 5 minutes walk away. (Debbie W.)



We loved the Eyrie! We had a wonderful time there. The location on the hill is very special, secluded and private with wonderful views and a very nice garden. I would definitely recommend this property.(Mariëtte S.)



It is impossible to to take a photograph that does justice to the view from the sun room and the mornings when the eyrie was above the cloud that covered the village and the valley. Penne d'Agenais is beautiful and a short downhill stroll to many great restaurants. (Sue L.)
Nov 2012
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in Penne-d'Agenais in Lot-et-Garonne

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2152 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • rural
  • village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 2 Separate WC's
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Toilet 1 - Toilet
    Toilet 2 - Toilet
    Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • 2 bathrooms, 2 separate wc's. bathroom 1 - shower enclosure, toilet, en-suite Bathroom 2 - toilet, bath with shower. Bathroom 3 - toilet. Bathroom 4 - toilet.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Cot
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: 3 Double Bedrooms, two have immediate access onto sunny terraces and gardens. Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Large Double Bed Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Beds
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Boat
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
  • Veranda ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • caves
  • churches
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Long term rentals are available. There is a jacuzzi or spa or hot tub that seats six with spectacular views. When the weather is colder we love to relax in this hot tub after a hard days gardening and listen to the migrating geese overhead. The backdrop to the jacuzzi is a limestone cliff face with a palm tree and an old stone bread oven and it overlooks the whole of the valley down below. Outdoor heated private swimming pool, 7m x 3m. Hot tub/jacuzzi. Conservatory, terraces, balcony, patio, porch, veranda. Garage and off street parking. Petanque(boules) area. Terraced gardens with barbeque, 8 garden chairs, 5 sun loungers, 3 seater swing chair, Utility Room: Washing machine. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Bed linen and Towels are included. The property is cleaned thoroughly between lets. Other: Playroom with table tennis.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(24 traveller reviews)

87% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
hilltop villa spectacular views over medieval village 5 mins walk special offers
average rating of 4.7916665 based on 25 reviews
5

Peaceful and relaxing stay

  • 5 of 5

We loved the gardens and terraces on different levels and the main rooms were all on one level with a large room downstairs with a table tennis table - which was great fun! There were many places outside to sit and enjoy the sun and the conservatory at the back with large sliding doors was a really nice place to be with fantastic views. The pool was great and as the weather cooled down for us we were also able to use the hot tub one evening. We didn't want for anything - we really had a very enjoyable stay. My only regret is that we weren't there for longer! The owners are lovely people and I can recommend Le Peyragude restaurant and the Cafe des Arts in the village. Only a short walk from steps through the garden - bliss! Highly recommended.

  • Review Submitted: 28-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much, we really hope to see you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Penne d'agenais is a beautifull mediaevel village, the EYRIE house is top.

  • 5 of 5

We stayed a week at Eyrie house, what a view !! Every day we were witnesses of beautifull sunrises and sundowns on the first row. The house is spacious and has a lot of light. The interior is charming and we know and experienced that the owners are doing upgrading renovation works. We were lucky to have very good weather beginning of november. Anyway we are coming back.

Walter & Ingrid

  • Review Submitted: 07-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Winnipeg, Manitoba
2

Hilltop Villa Penne d'Agenais

  • 2 of 5

We rented this villa based on the pictures on the website but were disappointed to see that it was not as advertised.The view from the sunroom was breath taking. However, the house itself is in need of TLC. The exterior needed new paint. Interior could benefit with air conditioning as it was very hot and had a musty smell. The pool was cold, the hot tub jets were not working properly, the telephone didn't work, living room furniture was uncomfortable and not as pictured on website. We have been travelling to France for 15 years and this was the most expensive villa and the most disappointing.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Don't quite know where to start here, reeling from shock and humiliation....... We were both present as usual to welcome these Clients to the Eyrie and show them the ropes. I visited another 5 times over the course of their 3 week holiday to clean and check the pool, the hot tub and grounds. We were both there on the last morning to bid them goodbye, but there was no hint of any dissatisfaction. In the 9 years that we have been letting the Eyrie no one has ever mentioned misrepresentation, in fact almost without fail our clients say the photos don't do the house justice. We are constantly improving the facilities and our regular clients appreciate the changes year on year. As we speak the house has been surrounded by scaffolding and the painters are at work., they will move inside as winter arrives. Our style tends to be shabby-chic with emphasis on antique furniture and paintings rather than pristine finishes. We do not claim to have air conditioning nor pool heating other than a solar panel. When I checked yesterday it was at 72 deg F. We did apologise at the time for the missing jets on the hot tub which had popped out earlier in the season and awaiting replacements from the U. S. A. The telephone works perfectly and we can only assume operator error. We apologise for not having updated the photos of the new living room sofas which we genuinely thought were an improvement. We do however find it very hard to accept this very 'public' assertion that our villa is over priced, when it has been the let succesfully for 9 years and regularly achieves over 20 weeks per annum to clients who return from one year to the next. Having said all this we are genuinely very sorry that these guests should have found reason to complain and will take on board their reasonable comments. John and Sandra Roberts
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing location with everything you could need

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely, relaxing time at The Eyrie. A superb location with amazing views and great facilities. Two weeks enjoying the pool, hot tub and table tennis in a unique and very comfortable house. There are some lovely local walks in the area too also with spectacular views. 5 stars!

  • Review Submitted: 16-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The Eyrie - a lovely discovery!

  • 5 of 5

The Eyrie was wonderful. The photos, impressive in themselves, did not do justice to the space and comfort of the rooms. They were well equipped. We were delayed in arriving yet our hosts were kind, solicitous and friendly. They showed us every corner of the house; making sure we knew how to operate all the white goods and the heating system just in case.

The view really is stunning and changes all the time: we saw brilliant sunshine and clear blue skies, rain clouds and - one night - lightning streak across the horizon: we sat transfixed waiting for the next dramatic fork over Villeneuve-sur-Lot.

There are four terraces! We called the one off the dining room area the breakfast terrace - the sun rises that side of the building; you can also see bats at dusk from this terrace: amazing! The enclosed one off the dining area is a great place to eat early or late when cooler but you can also get a great breeze if you open either end of the sliding windows about a foot; mid-morning read/snooze - lovely! The front terrace looks over the pool - very, very welcome on the three days that were so hot - and part of the enormous terraced gardens. We ate here a lot as the sunset was lovely. Also on our first weekend we were delighted to watch hot air balloons rise gracefully from different locations and glide across the horizon. We saw one so low over the Lot on the bridge between Penne Port and Saint Silvestre it was quite a magical sight. We were on our way back from the small but very well stocked - it really does have everything you could need - Intermarche. It was open until 8pm on that first Saturday, which was lucky for us - and it does stay open over lunch time during the week. Across the road from the Intermarche is a stationary shop/newsagent and has the best postcards; but not stamps for the rest of Europe. The post office is in Saint Silvestre - left at the mini-roundabout. Also, remember that 15th August is the Catholic feast of the Assumption and a bank holiday: it took us ages to catch on! If you are a Catholic, the Assumption Mass at the basilica Notre Dame de Peyragude was beautiful: Sunday Mass is at 6pm. The basilica is in the Penne d'Agenais and the medieval village is lovely! The glass maker and leather worker are artisans who have beautiful wares and are 'tres gentil'. Try the 'poire' ice-cream! Try the evening markets, the food is great and the atmosphere: but get there by six/six-thirty as table spaces go quickly! And enjoy! We did, very much!

  • Review Submitted: 14-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful, restful holiday

  • 5 of 5

We spent two weeks at The Eyrie and had a wonderful time. The house is large and comfortable, has fabulous views and every home comfort that we could have wished for. The owners were friendly and very accommodating. The house is very close to a beautiful village and enjoys a secluded, quiet spot. There are no shopping facilities in the village itself but a small supermarket is only a 5 minute drive away (larger supermarkets about 10 minutes). Our only criticism is that air conditioning would have been useful. It was incredibly hot the majority of the time during our stay (some days 36 degrees) and we all struggled to sleep at night in the heat. This would not be a problem in more normal weather conditions. The house is set on a very steep hill and, whilst this is beautiful, would not suit families with younger children or anybody with mobility issues as there are many trip hazards and drops. For us, however, it was a fantastic holiday and chance to get away from it all.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
40 Kilometres
Bergerac
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Kilometres
Penne
Nearest Train
1 Kilometres
Penne d'Agenais
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Kilometres
Penne
Car: recommended

Travel:

With four airports within easy reach of the village (Bergerac 1 hour, Toulouse 1.5 hours, Bordeaux 2 hours, Carcassonne 2 hours), low-cost budget flights are now available every day of the week. Driving from Calais 620 miles / 10-12 hours, From St Malo 450 miles / 7-8 hours.

Distances:

Penne d'Agenais in the South West of France is surrounded by beautiful countryside and very attractive market towns such as Villeneuve-sur-Lot, Monflanquin, Lauzerte, Montaigu-de-Quercy and Libos. There are châteaux nearby to sample wine. Bergerac is an hour away, Agen 30 minutes, Cahors 50 mins.

There is a golf course, three riding establishments, tennis, water sports and hang gliding all within 30 minutes drive. The area is a walkers paradise and ' le Chemin de St Jacques de Compostelle' passes in front of our main gate.

Further Details:

Penne, meaning Crest, is an old settlement dating from Celtic times. Richard Coeur de Lion started to build a fortified township, Bastide in the 12th century. The Basilica 'Notre Dame de Peyragude' that dominates the countryside for miles around was built during the 1800's on the site of an earlier chapel, the remains of which are still very evident. The opposite Crest, ' Plateau St Michel ' is the setting for the Eyrie and is a favoured place for hang gliding. One can still walk around the remains of an ancient moat structure called locally ' le tranche des Anglais'. It was built to defend this high point overlooking the town below, from the mauraudingto stop

FOR FURTHER REVIEWS PLEASE REFER TO www.homeaway.co.uk/gd/dash/611.424033.1024150

Local attractions include Botanical gardens, museums, restaurants, caves, churches, water parks, forests and ruins.

Local leisure activities available are boat hire, walking, bird watching, horse riding, fishing, cycling, golf, mountain biking, swimming, water skiing, paragliding, tennis, hiking, fly fishing, sailing, freshwater fishing.

Local services available include supermarkets, grocery shops, markets, workshops and artist's galleries, banks and medical services.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday villa in Penne-d'Agenais, Aquitaine

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Low season
28 Oct 2017 - 2 Mar 2018
7 night minimum stay
£800
for 7 nights
£800
 
 
Spring
3 Mar 2018 - 1 Jun 2018
7 night minimum stay
£950
for 7 nights
£950
 
 
Mid Season
2 Jun 2018 - 6 Jul 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,350
for 7 nights
£1,350
 
 
Peak Season
7 Jul 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,650
for 7 nights
£1,650
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£950
for 7 nights
£950
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
Please contact owner.

Changeover Day:
Changeover Saturdays, although mid-week bookings are accepted when available. Arrive 4pm. Depart 10am.

Notes on prices:
Rental rates quoted in Euros

Before paying, call the owner to confirm payment details.
You may see 21 other REVIEWS on the following link
www.homeaway.co.uk/gd/dash/611.424033.1024150

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable