OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Fabulous Self Catering Property For 8+ People - Walking, Cycling & Amazing Views



Updated: 16-Oct-2016
House in Grasmere, Lake District, Cumbria, England - Tranquil Location, 10 Minutes Walk To Grasmere Village, Fantastic Local Walks

Built of local slate in the 1960s and lived in by the same family, Unerigg boasts a fabulous long living room with great views as well as a separate dining room and kitchen. The bedrooms are spacious with the main bedroom having a beautiful 4-poster bed. Both main living rooms have TVs and comfortable sofas with tables where you can eat and play family games. The long room has a log burner, with plenty of logs available in the downstairs log store. A basket is provided for free. A washing machine and tumble dryer are downstairs in the boiler room which is warm enough to be used to dry wet garments after walks. A tap and hose allows for the rinsing down of bikes and boots. The local village is Grasmere where Wordsworth once lived; it is possible to visit his former homes, Dove Cottage, Rydal Mount and Allan Bank locally. Grasmere has many pubs, hotels and shops and it is possible to spend a week in the surrounds of the village without going elsewhere. Alternatively Unerigg can be used as a base to explore the area.

  • Sleeps 8
  • 4 Bedrooms
  • 3 Bathrooms, 1 Separate Toilet
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Unerigg has been owned by the same family for three generations.

Call Owner
Speaks English

Guestbook comments from the owner

"What an amazing house with beautiful views of the lake. Plenty of space to relax and the children have really enjoyed playing outside"

"We loved the house with its stunning views and ideal location. The house is fully equipped for every need and the welcome basket was a thoughtful touch"

"The view that greets you from the living room window is one that I would never tire of. We particularly enjoyed the walk up to Alcock tarn where we messed around on its frozen surface. We stayed a week and did not need the car at all. I think this house will fit into our top 10 holiday cottages"

"We've been coming to the Lakes for many years and we have to say this is the best house we've stayed in by far! The views are stunning and the house is well equipped. The table tennis table was a big hit with my son"
Oct 2012
  • 1 of 1

8 Reviews

based on 8 holidaymaker reviews


Absolutely Brilliant.

  • 5 of 5

The house was everything that was advertised....and more. Excellent views of the lake, a 5 minute walk to Grasmere. The property slept 8 comfortably and all the amenities were of a very good standard. We booked these dates to tie in with events that was going on in Grasmere, so location was excellent. We are definately going to book again, such a great place for a reasonable price, especially when shared with others. A gem of a place.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely property but awful treatment by the owner

  • 1 of 5

We have been coming to this property with our family for years but a few weeks before we are to arrive for this years holiday the owner has tried to increase the price despite having an agreement- and despite paying the deposit and agreeing the number of people and price in writing over 9 months ago- we have not even refused to pay the extra but merely questioned why and have been accused of bullying and experienced extreme rudeness and now had the booking cancelled by the owner! How sad we have a very upset family including children who were very much looking forward to our holiday in a few weeks! I am not sure we will be able to book another one ☹️

  • Review Submitted: Jun 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review. I would point out that no booking form was received from this party until 10 weeks before the stay despite being asked for one. The number of guests was therefore a surprise and when being asked for an small extra contribution for a party of 14 they responded in an unacceptable fashion. I would note that the guests themselves chose not to come and were refunded in full their deposit.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 4

Beautiful house, superb location

  • 5 of 5

The house was everything we'd hoped for and more. The facilities and the views are superb. Jane, the owner, and Tonia, the local manager, were very helpful and we all appreciated the welcome we received....especially the cake!

As for location, again it was everything we'd hoped for. A short walk to the village and, being so close to many beautiful walks, the cars were not needed. A run,or walk, around the lake is fabulous and it's only about 3 miles. We all loved our stay and have no hesitation in giving Unerigg 5 stars.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


  • 5 of 5

Unerigg is perfect, in every sense – a real privilege. Thank you to Jane for sharing your beautiful home with us, and to Tonia for your kindness, and to you both for the best experience. Catherine, Elizabeth, Deirdre and Woody

  • Review Submitted: Nov 23, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Amazing place!

  • 5 of 5

The house was perfect for our weekend away, really spacious, yet cosy with comfortable beds. It was spotlessly clean and really well equippedfor a large group. The views of the lake and mountains from almost every window are absolutely beautiful and we even saw red squirrels in the garden! Tonia the manager was very helpful and welcoming and the cake and card etc. we found on arrival was a very kind gesture. Thank you for a lovely break, we will definitely be back!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 8, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Fab stay, will be back!

  • 5 of 5

House exactly as described but must say the photos do not do it justice. Lovely decor, and every window has a gorgeous view, even those overlooking the back garden. The gardens are lovely and secure for dogs, the house secluded yet within 10 mins walk of the village and lake. Property managers attentive and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Unerigg and will be back!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 11, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


From the Owner

The property was built as a family home for our grandparents in the 1960s and we consider ourselves extremely lucky to still own it. It is a beautiful property with the most spectacular view of the lake and surrounding fells of Grasmere, and is located a mile outside the busy village itself. The property is suitable for families or groups of friends with walks of all standards and cycle routes across the fells and roads on the doorstep. Grasmere village offers shopping, and some lovely pubs and restaurants, and Ambleside is only 8 miles away for cinemas, mini-golf, shopping and more.

Activity and Interests


Travel time to Unerigg: where little or no traffic 40 minutes to/from J36 of the M6.


1 mile to Grasmere;

3 miles to Rydal;

8 miles to Ambleside;

12 miles to Windermere.

Walking on the doorstep.

Further Details:

Grasmere has a co-op supermarket with a transaction free cash machine, post office; pubs, restaurants, tourist shops, walking and climbing shops, church.

In addition Ambleside has cinemas and more varied restaurants, including Chinese, Indian etc.

There is a theatre in Keswick and a Booths Supermarket in Windermere.


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Rate 23
14 Oct 2016 - 27 Oct 2016
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Rate 24
28 Oct 2016 - 15 Dec 2016
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Rate 25
16 Dec 2016 - 21 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
22 Dec 2016 - 28 Dec 2016
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
New Year
29 Dec 2016 - 4 Jan 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
Payment of a booking deposit of 25% of the total cost at the time of booking; this is non-returnable 8 weeks before holiday commences. Cancellation before the 8 week date will result in a retention of 5% of the total cost, the remainder being returned.
Balance of total cost paid 8 weeks before holiday commences (not returnable) together with a £200 accidental breakage deposit. This deposit will be returned in the week following departure.

Changeover Day:
Changeover day Friday.
Arrival after 3pm; departure by 10am.
Mid week breaks possible in non-peak season, changeover Friday and Monday; Speak to the owner.

Notes on prices:
Prices include cleaning, linen, towels, heating, electricity, wireless internet connection;
Payment by direct transfer or cheque.
There may be an additional charge should cleaning be required when dogs visit.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Updated: 16-Oct-2016
Available arrival


From the Owner

The property is spacious with a large living room, separate dining room and kitchen. It has the best views of the lake in the village. It is 15 minutes walk from all the local facilities and 10 minutes drive from the Ambleside where there are many shops and restaurants. The house has a drying room for all your wet clothes and the ability to clean down any muddy bikes! Babysitting facilities available - just ask on booking.

Property Type

  • house


  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...


  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster


  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room


  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Stereo
  • Television


  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Location Type

  • mountain
  • rural
  • village


  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls

Leisure Activities

  • scenic drives
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • groceries
  • hospital

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • swimming


  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure
  • Toilet 1 - Toilet
  • Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • Shower room 2 - Shower Enclosure, This is ensuite to bedroom 4
  • Upstairs: Bathroom with shower over; shower room - both with WCs. Downstairs: separate WC and en-suite shower to twin bedroom.


  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed, 4 poster bed
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed, Twin bedroom
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 Single Bed, 1 Cot, Twin room. Cot can be added.
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 8 + (4 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Three bedrooms upstairs: Bedroom 1 with 4-poster bed and spectacular view over the lake; Bedroom 2 with double bed; Bedroom 3 with twin beds. All with wash basins. Downstairs Bedroom 4 is a twin room with en-suite shower and wash basin.


  • Terrace
  • Garden


  • Self-catering

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website


  • Notes on accommodation: Friday changeover. Telephone available for emergency use only. Cot and high chair available on request. Dogs should sleep in the garage and are not allowed in bedrooms or on furniture. Walking on the walls in the car park area at guest's risk; No access through gate by kitchen; High data usage will be charged. No smoking please. Please note that the property has a septic tank and it is very important that no sanitary products or nappies are put down the toilets. Outside: Patio area with chairs and table. Steep gardens but a wonderful playing area for children. Please ensure children do not play in the pond area or walk on walls. The back garden should be dog proof so please let your dogs out here, but be sure to clear up after them. Utility Room: Washing machine and tumble dryer, ironing facilities in boiler/ drying room downstairs. Cleaning / Towels / Linen: Towels and linen included. Changed once a week. Property cleaned weekly. Other: Log room (kept locked); Boiler and drying room, housing washing machine and tumble dryer; Garage, housing full sized table tennis table, shoe/boot racks and coat racks; Hall. WC. Outside tap for cleaning bikes and boots outside log room.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot