OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

4 Bedroom Former Stone Watermill In The Countryside With An Indoor Swimming Pool

People8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Private Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

House in Rudry, Nr. Cardiff, Wales - Set In 3 Acres Of Landscaped Gardens Its A Very Peaceful Location With Many Country Walks Available

The Mill has manual operated driveway gates, a laurel lined driveway leads to the front of the property providing ample car parking. It seems to have more a modest two storey building at the front whilst the accommodation is in fact arranged over four floors as evidenced by the considerably more substantial rear elevation. Professionally interior designed throughout, the watermill offers traditional character with a luxurious contemporary twist. From the central hall, the accommodation at ground level includes a large sitting room which enjoys the striking feature of the mill machinery. Further living accommodation is found on the ground floor with a spacious family dining room. The kitchen and breakfast room is extensively fitted and arranged sociably around a central island. There is lots of space for eating and entertaining. Outside, the leisure wing has a heated swimming pool, gym and changing room. Whilst a large hot tub is available it enables the visitor to see the view.


Owner
chris norman
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
18 September, 2017

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Cardiff in Wales

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • rural
  • village
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Toilet 1 - Toilet
    Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
    Shower room 2 - Shower Enclosure
  • Bedroom 1 en-suite with wc and shower Bedroom 2 en-suite with wc, bath and shower Bedroom 3 en-suite with wc and shower Bedroom 4 adjacent bathroom with wc bath and shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 8 (4 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with a double bed Bedroom 2 with a double bed Bedroom 3 (family room) with two twin beds and a double bed Bedroom 4 with a double bed
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Indoor Pool
  • Private Pool
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Certain dogs allowed. Check-in from 4pm on arrival day and property must be vacated by 10am on the departure day. No smoking policy. Pool towels are provided. Cot bedding is not provided. High chair supplied at no extra cost. (please request cot & high chair on booking). There are four bedrooms in total, the luxurious master bedroom featuring a large fully fitted dressing room and quality contemporary en-suite. The second bedroom also has a dressing room and en-suite whilst the third bedroom has its own en-suite shower room too. The fourth bedroom utilises the main family bathroom. Outside: Outside the generous kitchen is an extensive balcony which an early breakfast can be enjoyed sitting on outdoor furniture provided. The leisure wing incorporates a heated swimming pool, gymnasium and changing room. Outside the leisure wing is an entertaining area complete with garden furniture and large hot tub. The gardens are ornamentally laid featuring lawnstone terraces. Utility Room: The utility room has a washing machine and tumble dryer. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Towels and linen are included. The property is cleaned before and after the visit. If more cleaning is necessary this can be made available at the guests cost. Other: The dining room has a large marble table with ornamental table lamps and beautiful accessories. It can accommodate 8 persons comfortably.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(19 traveller reviews)

84% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
4 Bedroom Former Stone Watermill In The Countryside With An Indoor Swimming Pool
average rating of 4.6842103 based on 19 reviews
5

Wonderful unique property...all home comforts and then some!

  • 5 of 5

We were 3 generations of family, ranging from 9 to 70...all of us equally enjoyed the house and leisure facilities. The house is huge yet feels so homely, the swimming pool is fab along wit the hot tub. Really lovely unspoilt location, very quiet and rural but 5 min walk to lovely pub and forest walks, and supermarkets and town in easy reach. A really enjoyable relaxing break in luxury ...hope to be back one day!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Staffordshire
1

Very Disappointing

  • 1 of 5

From the moment we arrived it was apparent that the Old Water Mill had not been cared for the way it showed in the pictures from arriving the gates didn't work the paths around the mill had broken bricks which were very unsteady to walk on and inside I can only describe as way overdue for a complete renovation job. From curtains in the bedroom & dining room literally falling off the windows through sun damage, the smell of drains from the en-suite were sickening and almost every sink had so much water damage around it with lifted counter tops and the toilet in the main bathroom propped up on tiles and a seat that won't allow you to sit on it. No drawer space in one of the main bedrooms and the other bedroom one 4ft bed and two singles....so crowded. The state of the bedding was very cheap and had seen much better days. the kitchen was just about workable again water raised counter tops and a hob which was very hit & miss and a fridge with just 2 shelves in it impossible to store food in for 8 people.To top it off we had a flood through the lounge lights and was told maybe we were over using the shower, this place looked nice so we were keen to go and stay there but it was the biggest disappointment yet. We have stayed in Home & Away properties now for 8 years and this is the first time I've had reason to complain. Told Chris the owner he said shame I didn't mention it when there as they could have sorted things out.......These jobs are regular maintenance for most properties but not obviously for this one. The cleanliness of the Old Mill was poor many many cobwebs and lots of dust shame it could be very nice but sadly not this time. when l go away rom home i expect at least the standard l leave behind but this place was so far below that l & the rest of the party were pleased to leave it. Photographs look good but they must have been taken a very long time ago.

Pat Imrie.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The lady that has written the review, has saddened us tremendously. As previous tenants have testified the quality of the property, and the 24/7 attention that Alex gives. We have looked at our emails and phones, concerning this matter. We had received 8 texts and Alex had visited twice and at no such time did the tenant complain. We always strife to maintain and improve the property but also give our undivided attention when required. We assess all reviews and will improve or change when appropriate. If any tenant is unhappy during their stay please notify us whilst you are there, as not only giving us the opportunity to rectify any faults but for the client to enjoy their stay. For the record The gates are manual as we have found it easier for the client to manage, especially when there are multiple visitors. Two cobbles have been found to be loose and have been cemented. The curtains are made of silk and due to their design, they may have discoloured in their lining, but cannot be seen from inside the room. There is no evidence of smells in any ensuite. A new toilet seat has been installed. All basins in property are fully functional. Their is ample storage space in all bedrooms. The family room has a twin and two singles to give tenants more flexibility as it has provision of 10 guests if and when required. even though the property is advertised for 8 guests. The bedding is purchased from Dunelm and is not considered cheap. There is ample storage in the fridge, all white goods in the kitchen are working and tested. Not knowing the reason for the leek, we have installed a new shower door, as we have previously found out, some water damage has been down to the end user. The property is professional cleaned after every visit and is inspected by Alex, the cleanliness of the Mill is paramount to our guests stay with us. I trust that I have clearly responded to the previous tenants complaint, but rest assured we are always willing to listen. Kind regards Chris & Alex
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1
5

Great property, great location

  • 5 of 5

We had a long weekend at the Old Watermill, bringing all our immediate family back to the area for a family get-together. The property was ideal - lots of room for everyone, a pool to keep the children happy and space outside for children and dog to run around. There was plenty of crockery/glasses etc (which is sometimes sadly lacking in holiday properties) and Alex was extremely welcoming and helpful on arrival.

  • Review Submitted: May 28, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much, look forward to seeing you again. Regards Chris & Alex
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Absolutely Stunning

  • 5 of 5

This house is beautiful, the pics do not do it justic. Met Alex at the house who talked us through everything before leaving us to it she was so lovely and helpful. Had a fantastic weekend and already discussing a visit next year 😃

  • Review Submitted: May 8, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing time away

  • 5 of 5

We were very excited about staying at the Former Stone Watermill from reading the reviews and looking at the pictures. We were not disappointed!! The house and facilities were fantastic. Our children loved spending time in the pool and we loved spending time in the Hot Tub!! The extra special treat was having a Samba football goal on the grass by the house. We spent hours playing! The house was amazing with plenty of room for all of us! The kids loved watching DVDs in the evening and we loved chatting in the kitchen or being in the Hot Tub. The weather was also perfect so we spent lots of time on the balcony just relaxing. Everything you needed was in the house. We were sorry to be leaving but we certainly will be back! Thank you to Alex and Chris for making this break very special!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 21, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A luxury house in a beautiful setting

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful few days at the Old Watermill. I was nervous about booking direct with the owner, but Alex and Chris were extremely understanding and helpful. The house was beautiful, spacious, warm and really well equipped. The only thing we couldn't find was anything to make proper coffee in - there were several tea pots so I guess Alex and Chris must prefer tea! The hot tub and pool were the height of luxury, and were clean and well kept. We would love to return.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 25, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Alison for your kind words, Alex was busy organising a coffee machine after reading your review. We are always looking to improve our facilities at the Mill, so your opinions are always read, processed and acted upon when necessary. Regards Chris & Alex
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
36.3 Kilometres
Cardiff airport
Nearest Beach
35.8 Kilometres
Barry Island

Special interest holidays:

Lisvane village centre offers a parade of shops, church and public house whilst the well regarded Maenllwyd pub restaurant is very nearby.

The owner of the property is very knowledgeable of sporting events in the area and would be happy to discuss further on request.

Travel:

The property is based between Bristol and Cardiff airport. They are approx 20 miles each way.

Distances:

The village of Rudry is a mile away, Rudry castle and many scenic walks are nearby which information can be made available The area also has an envious mountain biking fraternity due to the many scenic parks nearby.

The city of Cardiff is only 5 miles away.

Further Details:

The Maenllydd pub and restaurant has many visitors both far and wide so a visit is recommended. It is only a five minute walk from the property.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Cardiff, Wales

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Autumn
3 Sep 2017 - 17 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£999
for 3 nights
From
£333
From
£333
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,600
 
 
Christmas
18 Dec 2017 - 28 Dec 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,000
for 7 nights
From
£286
 
 
New Year
29 Dec 2017 - 4 Jan 2018
4 night minimum stay
£2,000
for 4 nights
From
£500
 
 
Winter
5 Jan 2018 - 30 Jun 2018
3 night minimum stay
£999
for 3 nights
From
£333
From
£333
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,600
 
 
Summer
1 Jul 2018 - 1 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
£2,000
for 7 nights
£2,000
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Damage Deposit £300

Booking Notes:
30% deposit required to secure dates (non refundable). Balance due 8 weeks prior to the start of the holiday. £300 refundable bond due 2 weeks prior to the start of the holiday.
Long term rental would be considered.

Changeover Day:
Flexible

Notes on prices:
We have recently increased the number of bedrooms to 5, prices on application.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable