OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Spacious Holiday House With Secluded Garden And Superb Views



Updated: 19-May-2015
House in Bakewell, Derbyshire, England - Peaceful Location On The Edge Of The Historic Market Town Of Bakewell, Derbyshire

Parsonage Croft is a large, beautiful Edwardian house with ample space for up to 9 people to unwind, relax and enjoy the tranquil surroundings. The accommodation includes spacious living room, separate dining room, modern, well equipped kitchen and WC; four bedrooms, family bathroom with shower, additional separate WC, downstairs cloakroom, laundry and bike storage. Outside there are gardens to the front and side of the property with stunning views over Bakewell, the Golf course and valley beyond. Although the house is in a secluded area it is five minute walk through the Church yard to the centre of Bakewell. The house enjoys stunning views over the historic market town of Bakewell and the valleys beyond. Set in a perfect central location Parsonage Croft is the ideal base for exploring the wonderful Peak District with its beautiful landscapes steeped in history and majestic splendour.

  • Sleeps 9
  • 4 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

This property, was once the family residence and has remained with us owing to the character and its location.

Built in 1903, it still possess many of the original features, like the original oak flooring open fireplaces and picture rails through out.Large rooms and great views over Bakewell center and surrounding hills, this property is central to Bakewell yet secluded and quiet.

We hope you enjoy the house and area as much as we have done and do.

Have a wonderful holiday...

Call Owner
Speaks English, Italian

Guestbook comments from the owner

The property is New to Holiday lettings and there are currently no comments.
Jul 2012
  • 1 of 1

7 Reviews

based on 7 holidaymaker reviews


Fantastic Christmas break

  • 5 of 5

We had a really lovely time in this wonderful house. It is full of character and charm. It is very spacious (we had lots of family visit on Boxing Day). We had a relaxing and great holiday.

The owners we really helpful through the process with good communication.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review, following your family Christmas break in Bakewell. I was delighted that you enjoyed the property, location,charm and size of the property. I certainly hope that we may have the pleasure in welcoming you back on a future occasion to this wonderful part of the country. Kind regards and wishing you and your family all the best for 2016. Marco
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Peak District Diamond*

  • 4 of 5

Me and my friends had a fantastic time in this lovely heritage bakewell house. Perfect location just behind the main church on a pretty lane. The views were also incredible from the garden.

Inside was cosy, spacey, lots of lovely interests inside with fireplaces etc and even a piano which none of us could play.... But tried. All mod cons with stereo tv etc and an amazing kitchen where we spent most of our time.

Have booked again for a wedding next summer, owners were lovely too (very understanding when we lost the key)

Lovely Victorian house on the hill x

  • Review Submitted: Nov 27, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review. We were delighted that you and your friends had a lovely stay in Bakewell and that you found the property cosy. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Marco.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

We could not expect anything more

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic time!!!

The property was very clean and beautifully decorated. I loved everything about it.

We have enjoyed surroundings and fantastic views from the front garden.

I would recommend this property for families as well as romantic getaways.

Gorgeous house!!! THANK YOU!!!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 14, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Bakewell and found the property to your liking. It was a pleasure having you stay and thank you for leaving it so tidy. Kind regards, Marco
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1


  • 5 of 5

Absolutely beautiful house, extremely cosy and well equipped. The kitchen was fantastic and had lots of original features. Very cosy lounge with open fire. All the bedrooms were lovely and the beds were very comfortable. The house was extremely clean.

The garden was equally as beautiful with a fantastic view. The parking was limited but we easily found free parking not far from the property. The house is a very short walk from Bakewell. The house was very easy to book and the owners were very helpful and emailed very detailed instructions to cover any questions we may have had.

We had such a brilliant stay and I can't wait to go back sometime. Excellent value for money and a gorgeous house.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 6, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review on the web site and for the comments left at the property. We were delighted you had a wonderful time in Bakewell and that the property met with your expectations, your remarks are very much appreciated as we endeavor to please all of our guests. As you rightly stated, parking is limited, but compensated by its location and great views. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion. Kind regards, Marco.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A superb stay!

  • 5 of 5

What a fantastic time we had! We booked the house on a recommendation from some friends and its safe to say we weren't disappointed! A gorgeous house with stunning views! Our kids wanted to play in the garden all day (I didn't have a problem with this!). The house was exactly what we were after, spacious, cosy and comfortable. We have already booked again with more friends! Thank you

  • Review Submitted: Sep 17, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Katy Negus, Thank you for your kind comments, which you left in the comments book and this one posted on the Owners Direct web site. It was very kind of you to take the additional time in expressing your kind views, as most guests leave there favourable comments at the property. We were delighted you enjoyed the property and area. I have just received, your friends booking for next year. Wishing you all the very best for the future. Kind regards, Marco & Maria
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


  • 1 of 5

This is such a sad story. The potential for this home is unlimited however the facilities in the home are stuck in the 1960's. Upon our arrival the house was cold and uninviting. Every room seemed to have very poor quality fittings. Torn and dirty upholstery in the living room. Kitchen refrigerator was archaic with a freezer box with its door falling off so full of ice you couldn't put anything in it. The ancient 1960 style shower stall in the bath room was just a tiny coffin like structure with no where to put the soap. The most surprising part was the maintenance log book that guests could write down what they found requiring maintenance. Upon looking through the comments our complaints had been expressed by the previous tenants dating back to June 2013. But nothing had been done!! Not even burned out light bulbs had been replaced. We stayed only one night having booked a full week. The only saving grace was that Marco did refund the full rental amount. My hope would be that the owner sell the property to some one else to fully upgrade it to the standards of today.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2013
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: " DISGRACEFUL" This is the word that is more appropriate to the nature of the review submitted.This individual was treated with the utmost respect, albeit, that he wasted our time and effort, not to mention the rude and condescending remarks. I refunded the full amount paid without any question.although we had refused a considerable amount of bookings for the same period. This property is exactly as shown on the Owners Direct web site and our own personal web site, there are no pictures or wording that differ to that publicized. This is a property full of character, built in 1903 and retains all of its original features, such as wooden oak floors, open fire places, picture rails, large and spacious rooms and sash windows.It is well maintained,painted in neutral colours, with new and modern appliances, as well as new and comfortable beds. The property is centrally heated through out and kept at 20 degrees celsius at all times, guests may alter the thermostat to their desired setting, but even this seemed to be too much trouble for the couple.One or two of the sixty plus light bulbs may blow,but there are spares retained in the property, obviously too difficult to change for some. There were no other issues stated and untrue are the remarks made on this property aa regards to maintenance. I sincerely hope that no other owner of a holiday property encounters such false individuals. Marco
Did you find this review helpful?
5 4


Activity and Interests


Nearest airport is Manchester which is less than an hour away by car.

Nearest train station Grindleford - 6 miles, Sheffield - 15 miles.

Local buses to Sheffield, Derby, Manchester etc.


Bakewell - 5 minute walk

Sheffield - 30 minute drive

Manchester - 45 minute drive

Derby - 45 minute drive

Chesterfield - 30 minute drive

Buxton - 20 minutes drive

Matlock - 15 minutes drive

Chatsworth House - 7 minute Drive..........45 minutes walk....up and down

Haddon Hall -7 minute Drive.............30 minute walk.... flat walk

Further Details:

The market town of Bakewell in the Derbyshire Dales is the only town included in the Peak District National Park. It's name derived from 'Beadeca's Well and it is the home of the famous Bakewell Pudding. The River Wye runs through the town as it nestles between the cities of Sheffield, Manchester and Derby.

The house is 5

minutes walk from the town centre with its pubs, restaurants, takeaway, antique shops, craft shops, general retail shops, supermarket and banks.

Trail walks literally start from the back door, with other walks from Bakewell centre towards Chatsworth House and Haddon Hall. Other walks are within easy reach from Bakewell.

Bike Trails start from Bakewell alongside the Golf Course along the Monsal Trail and finishes in Buxton some twelve miles away.

Buxton is a Victorian spa town and has an excellent Opera House and Theatre.

Famous for it's water.

Chatsworth House is one of the most visited country houses in the UK and is the home of the Duke and Duchess of Devonshire. The grander and gardens are spectacular. ( refer to owners web site for detailed and video information)

Haddon Hall is one of the most romantic houses to survive from the middle ages. The house dates back to the 12th century and overlooks the river wye. Home to the Duke and Duchess of Rutland. (refer to owners web site for detailed and video information)

There are many other places of interest and activities to peruse.


Rental rates


  • Booking Notes:
    Booking can be made online.

    30% deposit is required at time of booking with the balance payable 8 weeks prior to commencement of stay.

    £200 refundable insurance bond taken with balance payment.

    Changeover Day:
    Changeover days are Friday and Monday for short breaks or weekly bookings.

    Notes on prices:
    For details on pricing and availability please contact the owner direct or email or visit us site.
Enter your travel dates
Updated: 19-May-2015
Available arrival
This property calendar has not been updated in the last 60 days. Contact the owner for latest availability.


Property Type

  • house


  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine


  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob


  • Dining Area


  • Television


  • children welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm

Location Type

  • rural
  • town


  • churches
  • restaurants

Leisure Activities

  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • tennis


  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure, Bidet
  • Family bathroom with bath, separate shower cubicle, washbasin and WC Extra Separate WC. Downstairs WC.


  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Bedroom 4
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 9 (4 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 - Double plus Z-bed (sleeping 3) Bedroom 2 - Double (sleeping 2) Bedroom 3 - Twin (sleeping 2) Bedroom 4 - Single day bed with pullout single under (sleeping 2)


  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue


  • Self-catering

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website


  • Notes on accommodation: All the bedrooms have brand new beds, mattresses, duvets and pillows Each guest is provided with a large bath towel General items such as coffee, tea, sugar are provided upon arrival Free Wifi available (subject to fair use policy) ipod docking stations situated downstairs and in each bedroom. Outside: Lovely garden to the front and side with scenic views of over Bakewell,the golf course and the Derbyshire Dales. Garden furniture seating ten and fixed stone BBQ available Parking available for 1 at rear of house, 1 to the side over the lane and ample free parking 1 minute walk at the end of the private lane. House situated up narrow old church lane so vehicles beyond caravan width will not have access. Utility Room: Utility area in the accessible garage from the kitchen with washing machine, tumble dryer, additional freezer, iron and ironing board Bike and motorcycle storage area Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Towels and linen are provided Other: Dining room,Edwardian oval dining table for 9 guests, piano,Feature period fire place, doors opening onto side garden and terraced area.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot