OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Comfortable Cottage In The Country With Sea Views

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Pittullie Cottage - South Facing Picture Windows With Sea View, Pretty Garden

Pittullie is part of an old watermill with the mill burn at the bottom of the garden. It is furnished in a simple modern style, clean lines, no clutter, and fully equipped to a high standard. It is a marvellous base for exploring Dumfries & Galloway, its spectacular coast line and gorgeous unspoilt countryside. There are castles, gardens, abbeys, country houses; the Galloway Forest 'Dark Sky Park' (the first in the UK); Kirkcudbright Artists Town; 7Stanes mountain biking; Southerness Golf Club; the Southern Uplands Way; Cream O' Galloway Ice Cream Farm; Cocoa Bean Chocolate Factory - all are within easy reach of Rockcliffe.

Please contact us about short breaks in the off-peak season.

More Details

Owner
Alex Findlater
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
26 April, 2017

About Alex Findlater

This has been our holiday home for 13 years. We've kitted it out just as we like it and have had many plaudits on how well it is equipped. A real home from home.

Alex Findlater purchased this cottage in 2003

Why Alex Findlater chose Dumfries & Galloway

This is a little bit of Scotland which is quite unknown, and friends who have visited us here are surprised that such an unspoilt and beautiful part of Scotland is less than an hour from Gretna Green. We love the empty roads, the spectacular scenery and the hidden gems.

What makes this cottage unique

For walkers, cyclists and golfers, this is one of the best areas in the country offering the Southern Upland Way, Criffel and Screel Hill, the Glen Kens, 7Stanes and Mabie Forest trails, Southerness Championship Golf Course and a dozen other courses. Historic and cultural attractions are the castles of Caerlaverock and Threave, Dundrennan and Sweetheart Abbey; and Kirkcudbright Artists Town, Andy Goldsworthy's Striding Arches and the secret Glenkiln sculpture valley. For families there are a wealth of outdoor activities, fun farms, and open spaces. From the cottage, at low tide the wide sands round to Kippford are safe to run on, and the rockpools at Rockcliffe beach are full of life.

Guestbook comments from the owner

This is our 14th year in this area and we are very happy to find this new cottage. We have already booked to return next year . . and for a further week in the autumn. John.



Cottage - warm, comfortable, very well-equipped and spotlessly clean; garden – delightful!! Many thanks. Jennie and Steph.



Good to have such a beautiful view from the sitting room, a comfy bed and a decent shower and a well-equipped kitchen – and gorgeous weather too. Thanks. Isobel.
Jun 2012
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Dalbeattie in Scotland

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • village
General:
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • Bathroom on first floor: wc, basin, extra-long bath, separate shower. Bathroom on ground floor: wc, basin, large shower cubicle with drop down seat.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with double bed, on first floor; on the ground floor, bedroom 2 with twin beds, and bedroom 3 with double bed. All bedrooms face south with large windows.
Entertainment:
  • Television
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Golfers: Five local golf clubs: Southerness, Solway Links, Craigieknowes, Colvend and Dalbeattie Cyclists: near 7Stanes Dalbeattie - garage for bikes! Children: Cream o'Galloway Ice Cream, Mabie Park Farm, Cocoa Bean Chocolate Factory, Laggan Outdoor Activity Centre - longest zip wire in Scotland Bird watchers: RSPB Mersehead, red kites at Castle Douglas, golden eagles, ospreys and red kites in the Galloway Forest Park Walkers: coastal and mountain walks Outside: The garden is private and south-facing, overlooking the stream and fields towards the sea. There are high quality hardwood chairs, bench and tables, and bbq available. Cyclists may use the garage for their bicycles, on application. Dogs are welcome (£20 extra). Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Linen is provided and the beds made up for arrival. Towels are extra at £3 per person. Other: Iron/ironing board, vacuum cleaner, airer, outside clothes line. Free wifi. Telephone for incoming calls. Child gates are provided.

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website:

Reviews

4.3/5 -
(4 traveller reviews)

5

Charming cottage, wonderful position

  • 5 of 5

I've been staying in this cottage for over 8 years. It's always clean, well equipped, and the beds are comfy. Always delicious biscuits on arrival too. The view from the upstairs sitting room is perfect, it's very difficult to leave it to enjoy the beautiful countryside in the area! I thoroughly recommend this lovely cottage in friendly Rockcliffe.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 29, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Pittullie cottage

  • 4 of 5

Lovely clean comfortable house. The view from the upstairs living room is really lovely. As we like walking, there are plenty of pretty walks. The garden is really nice too. Maybe a couple more gardens chairs would be good , as there are only two and there were four of us staying. Will definitely visit again

  • Review Submitted: Mar 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Delighted you had good weather. Sorry about the garden chairs. They normally go out just before Easter (there are four reclining chairs to match the bench). Perhaps we ought to change that. So glad you enjoyed your holiday.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Everything we hoped for

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed here seeking a quiet and relaxing break and that’s exactly what we got.

The walks are wonderful, the sights and sounds stimulating and the locals and the pub very friendly. The upstairs sitting room provides lovely views seawards and overlooks the enchanting small garden where we could watch out for red squirrels and plenty of bird life.

After dark the cosy comfort of the cottage was just what we needed. Thoroughly recommended. Thank you - we’ll be back!

  • Review Submitted: Dec 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
3

Lovely location

  • 3 of 5

Beautiful location have been coming up to this area for over 30 yrs and had lovely times the. cottage ok not a 4 star though grass hadn't been cut and floor in bathroom is unsafe. Car was damaged by a Tarmac company who were doing the road where cars parked which shouldn't have been done the weeks that were booked. This has spoilt our holiday. Neighbour at no. 1 very unfriendly be warned! Will be back to this area but unfortunately not Pittulie.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate this feedback which helps us to maintain and improve our standards. The damage to the car was done on the open road, and while we obviously regret it, we were in no way responsible for this. For the two complaints about the house, we apologise unreservedly; the grass-cutting was delayed by the weather, and the unevenness in the bathroom floor was because a board under the floor-covering had moved a little. This had not been reported earlier, but was remedied immediately. We understand how holidays can be spoiled by such problems, and can only apologise. We do our best to provide a lovely holiday home and many visitors return to the cottage regularly.
Did you find this review helpful?
15 3

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Standard
22 Apr 2017 - 28 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
£410
for 7 nights
£410
 
 
High
29 Apr 2017 - 5 May 2017
7 night minimum stay
£609
for 7 nights
£609
 
 
Standard
6 May 2017 - 26 May 2017
7 night minimum stay
£410
for 7 nights
£410
 
 
Peak
27 May 2017 - 2 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£704
for 7 nights
£704
 
 
Standard
3 Jun 2017 - 23 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£410
for 7 nights
£410
 
 
High
24 Jun 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£609
for 7 nights
£609
 
 
Peak
1 Jul 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£704
for 7 nights
£704
 
 
Standard
2 Sep 2017 - 29 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£410
for 7 nights
£410
 
 
Standard
30 Sep 2017 - 6 Oct 2017
7 night minimum stay
£410
for 7 nights
£410
 
 
High
7 Oct 2017 - 3 Nov 2017
7 night minimum stay
£609
for 7 nights
£609
 
 
Low
4 Nov 2017 - 22 Dec 2017
7 night minimum stay
£360
for 7 nights
£360
 
 
Peak
23 Dec 2017 - 6 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£704
for 7 nights
£704
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£400
for 7 nights
£400
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
A deposit of 20% is required at the time of booking. The balance of the payment is due six weeks prior to the start of the holiday.

Changeover Day:
Saturday. In low season other dates would be considered.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot