OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Norfolk country House with Indoor Heated Pool And Hot Tub!

Overview

Property

Updated: 08-Dec-2016
Country House in Rushall, Diss, South Norfolk, England - Peacefully located In open countryside, Short Drive To Beccles And The Broads

Rushall Lodge is a large bright and spacious country house with its own large indoor pool and hot tub.

Set in 2 acres of lawned garden with a small wood, wildlife abounds here. The accommodation is entered via a beautiful open plan entrance hall with galleried landing. All bedrooms have attractive views to the garden and countryside beyond. All modern facilities including wi-fi, TV and music. A very large country-style kitchen is at the heart of the house. This leads out onto an enormous patio area which is paved and balustraded. The lounge with its open inglenook fireplace and deep comfortable suite of leather with woven-fabric cushions, is a perfect place for a relaxing evening, and is adjacent to an enormous conservatory with snooker table, library shelves and oversized sofas to relax into. There is a cast iron log burner here to warm the colder evenings.

The large driveway is gated and lit at night, as is the garden patio.

The surrounding landscape is amazing; acres of multi coloured roses are grown commercially, adjacent to lanes almost totally devoid of traffic. Beautiful for walkers and cyclists.

The garden is huge, with a small wooded area of mature silver birch trees from where one can sit and wait to see pheasant, rabbits and a wide variety of birds.... not to mention the occasional muntjac deer passing through!

The house and gardens are totally private and unoverlooked, making it a totally relaxing location in which to truly unwind from the stresses of everyday life. Many of our repeat visitors have made Rushall Lodge a part of their life.....re booking their favourite week as soon as they leave!

More Details
  • Sleeps 10
  • 6 Bedrooms
  • 3 Bathrooms, 1 Separate Toilet
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Swimming pool
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Linens provided
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Paul and Julie Jackson have put their hearts and souls into Rushall Lodge having bought it in 1999 as a large house in need of updating. Despite bringing up their five children at the same time, they undertook most of the work themselves, with help from professionals within the family. The result, a six bedroomed house with large indoor heated pool and hot tub, games room with library and a beautiful galleried entrance hall. Other work included the building of a huge balustraded patio, accessed by no less than six sets of French doors to various parts of the ground floor. Some years later, having got the bug for transforming homes into something different, they are currently working on a similar project in Valencia, Spain.

Rushall Lodge is managed by family members.

Call Owner
Speaks English, Spanish

Guestbook comments from the owner

1 Three generations of the same family here- a wonderful time had by all.

2 Everything as stated, couldn't fault it, housekeepers on hand and very helpful.

3.Pool magnificent, house wonderful, definitely coming back.

4.We cant believe the variety of wildlife in the garden, beautiful!

(comments taken from guests visitors book)
Jun 2012
  • 1 of 1

22 Reviews

4.7
based on 22 holidaymaker reviews

5

Great weekend break in a lovely house

  • 5 of 5

We were a group of 8 ladies having a crafting weekend and the house was ideal for this as there is plenty of space to do our projects and to accommodate all our bags of crafting gear. The kitchen is a good size and never felt overcrowded with everyone in there having breakfast at the breakfast bar. The bedrooms are all good sizes with a perfect mixture (for us) of double, twin and single rooms. The addition of the swimming pool and Jacuzzi was a bonus and was well used during our short stay.

Lisa and Bill were very helpful and quickly answered any queries we had. There was a power cut whilst we were there and they appeared almost immediately with torches so it was very refreshing and reassuring to know they were on hand if we had any problems.

We had a great weekend there and we enjoyed ourselves so much that the day we came home, we booked again for next year and very much look forward to returning.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 3, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: These Ladies, despite terrible weather, had a lovely weekend. This highlight the value of staying at Rushall Lodge with its many facilities, enabling guests to have a weatherproof holiday! The only facility that couldn't be enjoyed then, was exploring the huge gardens. We look forward to welcoming them back next year. Almost 50% of our guests booked in for 2016 are repeat bookings.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Rushall Lodge is in need of some TLC but was cozy. The pool made up for the shortfalls.

  • 3 of 5

Paul Jackson, the owner was very helpful and made the booking process easy. The deposit was returned by cheque in good time.The housekeepers, Bill & Lisa were helpful too and made contact by phone with arrival details etc. The house was spacious but for us it was all about the pool. It was wonderfully warm and a really good size. Bill visited daily to check the hot tub and was very helpful & friendly. Getting a phone signal was difficult and the best place for WIFI was in the kitchen. However, there is a breakfast bar which we sat around regularly. It was lovely to have ducks, chickens and a woodpecker visit the garden. The conservatory was very cold as you would expect in October. We had to buy stuff to burn on the stove but it was just smokey and would not work which made it a no go area. Southwold and Aldeburgh are worth visiting. If you are a gardener or a steam enthusiast then Bressingham is a must. Overall we enjoyed Rushall Lodge but with a little TLC it could be amazing.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Rushall Lodge. The house is currently undergoing a kitchen refurbishment and new carpets fitted throughout! Like most woodburners, there is a knack to lighting it and we always use it in the winter ( make a very small brightly burning fire and add to it gradually......it is a lovely feature to see and enjoy!)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A great weekend spent in a lovely house.

  • 5 of 5

We had our annual crafting weekend at Rushall Lodge last October and enjoyed it so much we returned again this year which very much speaks for itself. The house is perfect for us with good bedroom arrangements and plenty of room around the table for the 7 of us to do our different projects whilst the well equipped kitchen is spacious and becomes a hub for socialising whilst cooking the evening meal. The lounge is a good size and great for chilling out with a glass of wine. The pool and Jacuzzi and are great facilities to have for a relaxing weekend away and were well used. We arrived on the Friday and the time flew by as the house is very comfortable and we felt at home from the minute we arrived. Bill and Lisa were on hand if we needed anything and are both very friendly and helpful. We have just booked to return again next October which is just about the best recommendation we can give for Rushall Lodge.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lincolnshire
5

Ten Happy People

  • 5 of 5

Everything was made very simple by Paul re booking. On arrival the house is deceptive it does not appear that large , but once you get inside ,it is so bright and airy ,with all rooms a good size. There were ten of us celebrating our Golden Wedding , and everyone thoroughly enjoyed the time there.. Great kitchen, with large range cooker, plenty of crockery and utensils everything very clean, and a large dining table where we could all gather.The males in the party enjoyed the snooker table, but the most popular area was the pool and hot tub.The pool is a great size for swimmers and is so warm ,it is like getting into a lovely warm bath. The hot tub was a pleasure to use, great temperature and jets, we all spent a lot of time in there., so much so my granddaughter wants to go back next year ! Lisa and Bill were very friendly and near at hand if we had any queries The local pub has now closed ,but we had a super meal at The Crown at Pulham Market, would definitely recommend a visit good food and an attractive dining room .ALM taxis were very efficient We spent a few hours out on a boat on The Broads on Sunday, which is a pleasant area to visit..The weather was not that good ,but I can imagine it in summer with the large garden and patio enjoying a barbecue.

I cannot think of a better place to have gathered with the family to celebrate. Thank you.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review.......Rushall Lodge is a perfect setting for a family get together, and so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to you returning. We have a large number of repeat bookings from contented family groups now, which is lovely for them and us!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great leisure facilities for 3 generations

  • 4 of 5

We chose Rushall Lodge for a 3 generation family weekend centred around the leisure facilities, primarily the swimming pool. That worked very well as did the overall room layout. But the property needed the extra tlc that a rental doesn't get and Furnishings were also rather tired.Lisa and Bill were very supportive and available when needed.

You would struggle to find a pool set up as good, but the house needs a bit of attention.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Unfortunately your break came just after the very busy summer season where the house was fully booked 7 days a week throughot the summer, for nearly 3 months! Obviously during that time we have only minimal access for maintainance. After each summer break we review what needs attention and we have already identified areas to be shortly painted and decorated. Our carpet man will also be replacing some areas now in need of renovation. We have just replaced the pool cover and had the dining table French polished. Be assured, we strive to present Rushall Lodge at its best. It is a constant process of upgrading and maintenance, aimed to present a perfect holiday for our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Banbury
5

Perfectly relaxing week

  • 5 of 5

We have just returned from another very relaxing week, the upgrades to the range oven are excellent. Once again Bill and Lisa were on hand and couldn't do enough for us. The pool and hot-tub were well used by all of us. I can't fault this house and we are looking forward to returning in November.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to let others know, that you have found that retreating to Rushall Lodge is worth repeating! It is a big peaceful space for families to relax in. Having everything you need for a holiday on your own private site!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

From the Owner

Paul and Julie bought Rushall Lodge in 1999 and spent the following five years creating something special, at a country house perfectly located on the borders of Norfolk and Suffolk. The house and gardens are completely unoverlooked. Set between the tiny village of Rushall, which has a farm shop and a lovely old pub/ restaurant, and the well appointed town of Harleston, Rushall Lodge is away from it all , yet minutes from everything. Excellent road and rail links to London and Norwich and yet surrounded by peaceful countryside and quiet country lanes, it is difficult to find a better location.

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Norwich at 18 Miles Nearest Barpub : Half moon at 1 Miles Nearest Ferry : Harwich at 45 Miles Nearest Golf : Diss at 6 Miles Nearest Train : Diss at 6 Miles Nearest Motorway : M11 at 30 Miles Nearest Restaurant : Half moon at 1 Miles Nearest Ski : Scotland at 350 Miles Nearest Beach : Great Yarmouth at 35 Miles Car: necessary

Coast/Beach:

Just 1 mile from the Great Yarmouth Rd. then usually about 40 mins by car to quiet beach at Gorleston on sea.

Another trip popular with youngsters is crab fishing at Walberswick again only 40 minutes by car.

Norfolk Broads starts at Beccles just 15 mins by car.

Travel:

Nearest airports 1. NORWICH 20 mins by car. 2. STANSTED 1 hour by car.

(Car recommended for further travel or shopping.)

Distances:

Nearest shop farm shop 1 mile, Pub Restaurant 1 mile

Town of Harleston with all amenities 3 miles.

Market town of Diss 5 miles.

City if Norwich 11 miles.

London 99 miles.

Further Details:

Short drive to Harleston, lovely little shops, a supermarket, banks, and tennis courts in the park.

Beccles,close by car, is the start of Norfolk Broads.

Diss, an old market town has a lovely pedestrianised centre with a beautiful church at the top of the road and several places from which you can dine or have a drink and enjoy a lovely view over the lake, called Diss Mere. My personal favorite is the back room of the fish and chip restaurant. Decorated with a seaside theme its food and views won't disappoint!

Less than 1 mile away is the Half Moon, an old coaching inn, which has open fires and the best 'pub grub' including the un-finishable 'full moon grill'. You will need to book in advance, but worth the effort. The nearby village of Pulham Market where two very old pubs look over the village green...truly back in time!

Banham Zoo is a great day out from here and is a lovely experience, it is well thought out and spacious.

If you don't want to go out in the car, there are lanes to walk in the countryside close to the house where the chances of seeing a car are very slim. In the summer, our huge garden with its Silver birch wood at the end will make you feel like you are in your own private park!

Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Oct_Dec 16
28 Oct 2016 - 15 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
£990
for 3 nights
From
£330
£1,600
 
 
Pre Xmas weekend
16 Dec 2016 - 18 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
£1,275
 
 
Christmas/new year
23 Dec 2016 - 5 Jan 2017
5 night minimum stay
£2,500
for 5 nights
From
£500
£2,750
 
 
Off peak weekend 2017
6 Jan 2017 - 9 Feb 2017
3 night minimum stay
£990
for 3 nights
From
£330
£1,600
 
 
Feb half term
10 Feb 2017 - 16 Feb 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,250
for 7 nights
£2,250
 
 
Off peak weekend
17 Feb 2017 - 6 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
£990
for 3 nights
From
£330
£1,600
 
 
Easter 2017
7 Apr 2017 - 20 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,450
for 7 nights
£2,450
 
 
Apr/May
21 Apr 2017 - 25 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,170
for 3 nights
From
£390
£1,750
 
 
Whitsun
26 May 2017 - 1 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,450
 
 
Early Summer
2 Jun 2017 - 13 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,275
for 3 nights
From
£425
£1,825
 
 
Pre holiday
14 Jul 2017 - 20 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,250
 
 
Summer 2017
21 Jul 2017 - 3 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,950
for 7 nights
£2,950
 
 
Oct HT 17
20 Oct 2017 - 26 Oct 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,390
 
 
Pre festive
15 Dec 2017 - 21 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,350
for 3 nights
From
£450
£1,950
 
 
Christmas/New year
22 Dec 2017 - 5 Jan 2018
Changeover Day: Friday
5 night minimum stay
£2,500
for 5 nights
From
£500
 
 
Feb HT 18
9 Feb 2018 - 15 Feb 2018
7 night minimum stay
£2,300
 
 
Easter
30 Mar 2018 - 12 Apr 2018
7 night minimum stay
£2,450
for 7 nights
£2,450
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£990
for 3 nights
From
£330
£1,600
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £250

Booking Notes:
25% deposit payable on booking, remainder 8 weeks from holiday start date.
Returnable security deposit: £250 payable in cash on arrival returned by cheque posted to your given address provided conditions observed during rental period:
No Smoking indoors ~ No additional guests to arrive ~ House left clean/tidy including cooking range/ovens.~No glassware allowed in pool/spa area ~ No pets ~ Fireworks not allowed ( horses nearby ) Relaxing venue, no parties/loud music.

Changeover Day:
Preferred changeover day Fridays and Mondays. Arrivals at 4pm, departures at 10 am. Other times by mutual arrangement.

Notes on prices:
Prices from £1500 per week to £3000 per week,
weekends from £975 for 3 nights ( off peak, Sept-March )
Please contact owners for prices and offers.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 08-Dec-2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

From the Owner

Clients who choose to stay at Rushall Lodge will find something for everyone, the younger generation (who need wi-fi to survive.... yes we have that too!) will be enthralled by the choice of big pool, big garden or big games room. Others the wildlife that abounds or simply the chance to relax by an open fire, or a walk to the country pub (don’t forget to wear something bright when walking at night) Rushall Lodge is for some, a holiday in itself, you can simply stock up with groceries, close the drive gates and disappear. Others use it as a luxurious base to explore all Norfolk and Suffolk have to offer, or discover the tranquil country lanes that meander off in all directions from the house.

Property Type

  • house

Theme

  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions

General

  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...

Kitchen

  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...

Dining

  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room

Entertainment

  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library

Pool / Spa

  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...

Suitability

  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm

Location Type

  • rural
  • village

Attractions

  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • volcano
  • water parks
  • zoo

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • tennis

Bathrooms

  • Toilet 1 - Toilet
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure
  • Shower room 2 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure
  • bathroom - Toilet, Bath with Shower
  • ~En-suite bathroom with wide shower enclosure, wc and basin. ~Family bathroom with wc, bath, shower and basin. ~Ground floor double width shower room with double width enclosure and basin, wc. ~Changing room with wc.

Bedrooms

  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed, 1 Cot
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 Single Bed
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 Double Bed
  • Bedroom 5 - 1 Single Bed
  • Bedroom 6 - 2 Single Bed
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 10 (6 Bedrooms) plus travel cot & sofa bed. Notes on bedrooms: Two double bedded rooms, two single bedded rooms and two twin bedded rooms, one of which is on the ground floor and has an adjoining room with sofa-bed, making it very useful for those having difficulty with stairs.

Outside

  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
  • Tennis ...

Meals

  • Self-catering

Notes:

  • Notes on accommodation: Drying of swimming towels within pool area very easy as large de-humidifier in constant operation. Bring your own towels! Adult height security lock to pool access and glass / food restrictions apply. Pool 6 feet deep at far end and 3feet 6in at shallow end. No pets accepted No smoking permitted. Not available as party venue. Only family groups or couples Outside: The indoor swimming pool is heated all year round to 30 degrees c. the hot tub is kept at 37 degrees c. No extra charge for heating. pool is 32 ft by 16 ft with depth range 3ft 6in to 6 ft there is a swim jet pump fitted to the deep end for swimming against the tide! the pool complex is private, accessed from within the house and has views to your private 2 acre garden via 4 sets of French doors. the very large paved patio area has a range of furniture and is lit at night by glass globes on the balustrade pillars. Wildlife common to the grounds are Muntjack deer, pheasant, rabbits, partridge and grouse plus wide variety of birds and ducks. Utility Room: Washing machine and tumble dryer, vacuum cleaner, freezer. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: All bed linen is provided. Towels are not included. Property cleaned on every booking. In event of a two week booking property is cleaned on a weekly basis by arrangement with clients Other: The large conservatory contains the snooker table, baby grand piano and library. further french doors lead onto patio. In winter this room is heated by a cast iron burner that uses coal or logs, available locally. Multi-gym (adult use only)

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot