OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Beautifully Appointed Apartment With Lift Access And Full Air Conditioning

People4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Luxury apartment close to Santa Maria, Sal Island, Cape Verde

Luxuriously appointed apartment, fully air-conditioned, secure, and overlooking children’s pool and playground, bar and adults pool. Lift access to apartment and whole resort built for ease of pushchair and wheelchair users. Includes satellite TV, DVD player, washing machine, full size fridge freezer, safe, balcony, maid service on request. Guest services on site to arrange airport transfers, taxis, car hire, trips and excursions, travel to neighbouring islands. Free shuttle bus to Santa Maria and beaches. Free WIFI at reception, in public areas and around pool. Supermarket on site.


Owner
Jeanette Brunton
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
20 May, 2017

About Jeanette Brunton

I am married, aged 54, with an adult daughter, son in law and beautiful granddaughter, and a professional career. My husband and I have travelled all over the World and when looking for a holiday home to buy, we wanted somewhere that we could get to quickly, without any down-time due to jet lag, and with reasonably price flights. We love Portugal but as with many European countries, it is not pleasant in winter - we wanted somewhere we could visit at any time of the year and not have to worry about the weather. Cape Verde is constantly around 25 degrees, has long, sunny days, beautiful sunsets, warm and friendly locals, and a really laid back attitude to life. We first visited Cape Verde some 12 years ago and did some island hopping. All the islands are very different, rather like the Canary Islands, but we were enchanted by Sal.

Jeanette Brunton purchased this apartment in 2006

Why Jeanette Brunton chose Sal

It's easy to get to, the climate is fantastic, the locals are friendly and welcoming, the food is amazing, the beaches are fantastic, the sea is warm, it's paradise!

What makes this apartment unique

The apartment is very well equipped and feels like a real home from home. Air conditioning is a blessing although there is usually a lovely breeze from the ocean and we enjoy sleeping with the window open instead. We travelled to Cape Verde many times whilst waiting for our apartment to be finished, and found that the standard of some of the local accommodation was very basic and left a lot to be desired.

Vila Verde has been built to the more exacting European standards and so not only are the finish and furnishings far superior to elsewhere, but there are lifts, sprinklers, fire alarms, safety rails where needed, etc.

The resort is ideally placed close to Santa Maria, but also in a peaceful location.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Santa Maria, Cape Verde

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • resort
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Lift
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bidet
  • Bathroom with shower over the bath.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 2 (1 Bedroom) Notes on bedrooms: 1 bedroom with two 3' beds convertible to 6' super king bed, wardrobe, dressing table, drawers and air conditioning.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • playground
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • horse riding
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: You will be met at the airport and a welcome food pack awaits you on arival. Baby cots and high chairs available at additional cost on request. Outside: Lantana is served by a large adults pool, smaller children’s pool, and a children’s playground. Two minutes walk away there is a football pitch and tennis courts. The onsite supermarket is open 6 days a week, there are several insite restaurants and there are numerous more shops and supermarkets in Santa Maria. Free shuttle bus into Santa Maria and taxis are available within a 2 minute walk of the apartment. Reception/guest services is directly opposite the apartment and is open 24 hours. Santa Maria is a lovely town and there are lots of restaurants, bars and shops catering for all tastes. The beach extends for around 7 KMs, you can join it from Ponta Preta beach, closest to the Vila Verde resort, or go into Santa Maria and try surfing, diving, deep sea fishing. A midweek maid service is available on request. Bedding & towels are included. Please bring your own beach towels

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(8 traveller reviews)

United Kingdom
5

Lovely holiday apartment!

  • 5 of 5

The apartment was just as the pics show. It was lovely and spacious and very clean. The beds were comfy too. Stuart showed us to the apt and is such a lovely guy to welcome us on holiday. It is a quiet unit and the sun comes onto the balcony in the late afternoons just in time for gin & tonics! The restaurants onsite were fine to eat and drink each night. We went into Santa Maria several times and the free shuttle bus is an excellent service. We would definitely stay at Jeanette's place again. Thank you so much to Jeanette, Stuart and Ildo our lovely taxi driver!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 23, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and we hope to welcome you to stay again soon! Jeanette
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Fabulous apartment

  • 3 of 5

Wonderful apartment, but complex like a morgue. Nothing going on....supermarket a waste of time...no fresh meat, veg or fruit, and expensive. Restaurants had limited menus and again, were expensive. Snack bar had appalling service, slow & expensive for what they served. Waited over 1 hour one day for 2 burgers. Closed at 9pm, with kitchen closed at 8pm!! Free bus into Santa Maria useless, time wise. Only ran about every 3 hours, but Santa Maria had nothing to offer anyway. Annoying sellers who wanted you "to look in my shop" as soon as you got to the main street. Not many restaurants serving decent food...had about 3/4 decent meals in the whole fortnight we were there. Very disappointing. No atmosphere anywhere.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 27, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, I'm so sorry you didn't enjoy Santa Maria and appreciate the resort won't be to everyone's taste. We have always had positive feedback about Santa Maria and Vila Verde and so I'm disappointed that it wasn't what you expected. However I hope your next holiday is more to your liking and thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very nice apartment

  • 5 of 5

Like I Wrote on the title, it is a very nice apartment, sited in the Vila Verde Resort, with every kind of commodity. You have all you need to have a perfect stay in Sal. It's located 5 minutes far from Santa Maria using a taxi (3 euro/day - 4 euro/night) or 20 minutes by walking. Near the apartment (2/3 minutes in taxi, 10 walking) there is the beautiful beach of Ponte Preta (imho the best of Sal). Everything was as the owner (Mrs Jeanette Brunton) told me before I started my holidays. When I arrived at the apartment, I found Trevor, a nice man that helped me to know the apartment and its services in 30 minutes. He explained me everything about the apartment and gave me his phone number In case I needed help. The apartment was very clear and well-mainteined. You can also find a very detailed book with the instructions for everything in the apartment and very precious advices about your stay in Capo Verde. The only "problem" (but if you go to Capo Verde to relax is not a problem, I suppose) is that into the apartment there's no wifi. You can solve this "problem" going in the Cactus block's pool, sited 20 meters in front of the apartment. So it's not a real problem.. In Santa Maria my favourite restaurant was Chez Pastis (fantastic tuna steak) and regarding the excursions, I tried Mr. Enel of "360 Sal" sited with is desk just out the Bravo Village in Santa Maria (good prices and good service). Finally, If you like me don't want to stay in a village, i highly recommend this apartment for a very high value for the money you spend.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and I'm delighted you enjoyed your holiday. The management company are currently working in improvements throughout the Vila Verde resort and wifi in the apartments is one of those improvements. We have a free shuttle bus which runs several times a day into Santa Maria and so you can use this to reduce taxi costs. Thank you again. Jeanette
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Spacious apartment

  • 5 of 5

Had a great stay, nice and spacious and had everything we needed and more.

Free bus into town was a bonus.

Jeanette the owner was very good at communicating with us.

Would not hesitate to stay here again if we came back to Cape Verde.

  • Review Submitted: May 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you again in the future. Jeanette
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

villa verde

  • 4 of 5

large apartment nice view of pool great large place

  • Review Submitted: Dec 24, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

beautiful place

  • 5 of 5

absolutely lovely clean apartment, I travel often but I have to say that this was the best I have stayed in. villa verde complex was beautiful if just a little quiet which suited me down to the ground. everyone there was so friendly. would definately return

  • Review Submitted: Feb 16, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Christmas
22 Dec 2017 - 5 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£300
for 7 nights
£300
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£225
for 7 nights
£225
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
A refundable deposit of £100 is required to hold the apartment whilst you secure flights, once flights are booked this becomes a firm deposit. Full payment is required 12 weeks prior to travel and is then non-refundable. Please note the apartment rate per week assumes 2 occupants, if there are more than 2 guests please add £50 per week to the rate to cover the cost of additional linen, towels and bedding.

Changeover Day:
We are flexible with which day you wish to arrive & leave. The apartment will be ready on arrival regardless of the time & you can stay until you need to leave for the airport, unless we have same day arrivals which we try to avoid for your comfort.

Notes on prices:
The price is for the apartment and not per person and assumes 2 occupants, additional charges are due if there are more than 2 guests to cover the cost of extra linens, towels and bedding.

The price quoted is in pounds sterling, if you wish to pay in Euros please contact us. Payment can be made by bank transfer or credit/debit card. A small charge of 5% is applied for payment via Paypal in Euros or by credit or debit card.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable