OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Traditional Cornish Character Cottage

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Cottage in Carnon Downs, Nr. Truro, Cornwall, England - Village Location

Traditional mid terraced Cornish character cottage, central heating, 2 double bedrooms, sleeps four people. Front and rear gardens, decked area from kitchen patio doors leading to rear garden. Lounge, snug/dining room, kitchen and bathroom downstairs. Off road parking space for one car. Close to all village amenities including shop, bus stops, Methodist Chapel, village hall and Carnon Inn. 4 miles to the Cathedral City of Truro, 6 miles to the Port of Falmouth. National Trust Trelissick Gardens approximately 3 miles away. Central location to the many and varied attractions in Cornwall.


Owner
Ann Houlston
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
28 November, 2017

About Ann Houlston

I am Cornish, always having lived somewhere on or near the Roseland Peninsula, it's a beautiful part of the world and I feel very proud to live here. I have owned the cottage for nearly three years and have taken pleasure in preparing it for holiday use. I'm hoping that you will find it a lovely place to stay.

What makes this cottage unique

The cottage is well located for staying in central Cornwall, being close to many amenities, ranging from town to country to beach, dependent on where your own interest lie.

Guestbook comments from the owner

'Thank you for a wonderful welcome and a fantastic stay - we have enjoyed every second of our stay in Lyn Cottage. Every single home comfort is here and more and the children felt really at home here too.'



'Thank you for making us feel very welcome in your wonderful cottage. All the lovely touches made the stay even more pleasurable. It is a fantastic place and we will certainly visit again.'



'We really enjoyed staying in your lovely cottage, thank you for all the lovely touches - they all added to the ease and pleasure of our stay.'
Apr 2012
  • 1 of 1

Location

Coast/Beach:

15 minutes drive to Falmouth beaches of Gyllingvase, Swanpool and Maenporth.

Surf beaches of the North Coast only 25 minutes drive. 15 minute walk to River Fal.

Travel:

Airport: 45 minute drive to Newquay airport.

Train: 10 minute drive to Truro train station.

Ferry: 75 minute drive to Plymouth cross channel ferry terminal.

Distances:

10 minutes to the Cathedral City of Truro. 15 minutes to Port Falmouth. National Trust Trellissick gardens 10 minutes drive. Down the hill to Bissoe Cycle Trail linking the North and South coast from Devoran to Portreath.

Public swimming pools can be found in Falmouth and Truro.

Eden Project 1 hour drive. Lost Gardens of Heligan 1 hour drive. Flambards theme parck 30 minutes drive. Newquay Zoo and Aquarium 1 hours drive. Penzance 45 minutes drive.

Further Details:

The well stocked village shop supplies numerous Cornish produced products, butchery,bakery items, local wines and beers, cash point also found here. Post office alongside shop. Many good restaurants can be found in Truro and Falmouth with lots of country pubs loacted just minutes away. Closest supermarkets to be found in Truro (Tesco, Sainsburys, M & S), Penryn (Asda, Sainsburys). Banks in Truro and Falmouth.

Cinema can be found in Truro and Falmouth, Theatres in Truro (Hall for Cornwall, Burrell). Many local venues for live music.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Carnon Downs in Cornwall

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • village
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
  • The bathroom is situated on the ground floor at the back of the cottage. Full-size bath, electric shower over bath, basin, lavatory, radiatior.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Main bedroom, king size bed, duvet, 2 bedside lamps, alarm clock radio, wardrobe, chest of drawers, full length mirror, overlooks front garden. Bedroom 2, double bed, duvet, 2 bedside lamps, bookcase, wardrobe with drawers under, overlooks back garden.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • horse riding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Gas central heating with instant hot water, all rooms except snug have radiators. Rental includes heating, electricity, towels, bed linen, kitchen linen and basic essentials to help you settle in immediately. Non smoking property. No pets please. Outside: Gardens to front and rear of property, decked area to rear with patio table and four chairs, a real sun trap to enjoy a glass of wine and al fresco eating. Barbecue available in rear garden. Security light over patio for access to pathway leading to off road parking for one car. Further on road parking is available to front of cottage. Front garden has centre pathway to front gates. Small bistro style table and two chairs to front of cottage. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Towels and linen are provided and changed at the end of each booking. Extra bedlinen will be provided for longer stays. Please bring your own beach towels. Property cleaned on changeover. Other: Snug/Dining room with a table & chairs for 4 people, staircase leading up to bedrooms. Selection of DVD's and CDs.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(18 traveller reviews)

77% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
Traditional Cornish Character Cottage
average rating of 4.611111 based on 19 reviews
5

Highly Recommended

  • 5 of 5

So the cottage is absolutely charming ~ Lovely interior, Cosy and very well supplied with all you could need to feel homely.

There's a local spar around the corner, and it has lots of fresh produce, the staff are very friendly.

We've traveled and stayed in many airbnb etc, and we have to say this place is a delight with lots of care apparent in the cottage.

Also:

The thing about Cornwall is you usually would need a car to enjoy it, but because the bus route is nearby the cottage, you can be in Truro in ten minutes and Falmouth in 37 minutes on bus -You are welcome for that bonus information.

Enjoy Cornwall, we totally did.

  • Review Submitted: 15-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

1 - DO NOT BOOK WITH THIS OPERATOR AND 2 - DO NOT BOOK THIS PROPERTY!

  • 1 of 5

On entering you’re hit with a horrible musty dirty smell. Further inspection found :-

Hand written instructions requesting not to allow water to seep into a blown laminate joint unhelpfully positioned just next to the kitchen sink/worn, grubby carpets in dark dining area leading onto stairs/uncomfortable sullied sofa in living room as well as a broken thermostatic valve on radiator/unsightly, thick sausage like mastic all around bath, cracked tiles and worst of all, hairs in plughole/rough mattresses; concrete like in back room whilst hard and creaky in front/plaster coming away from walls near windows in front bedroom – damp?

Above is just a taste of the worst. There's a total look/feeling of uncleanliness and neglect; cobwebs hanging from ceilings as well as fixtures and fittings, threadbare smelly carpets, old dark furniture and many odd ‘personal bits and pieces' you wouldn’t expect to find in a self-catering property. The numerous 'niceties' placed here and there do not make up for such disgraceful failings.

Bath hot water tap only produced lukewarm water so had to continuously boil the kettle for any chance of a bath. On the third night we had no hot - sorry lukewarm - water whatsoever to the tap so tried to 'fix' the problem by following instructions hanging from the boiler door. Having wasted the evening we were forced to turn on the heating (though not required) in hope of acquiring hot water in which to actually wash. The only outcome of this palaver was yes, lukewarm water! Unable to put up with the appalling situation any longer we left a day early.

Our break in Cornwall was completely destroyed by the mere thought of knowing we'd have to return to this property. How the owner has the nerve to describe it as "My Lovely Character Cottage" beggars belief; if mine, I'd be truly mortified. One cannot over emphasise the smell and grubbiness; it is neither lovely nor characterful. It should be withdrawn from this site without delay - a site that carries out no actual house checks beforehand, relying solely on 'honesty and integrity' of individuals who want to advertise their properties on it. Not only a ruined holiday but a total waste of hard earned money on a place not fit for purpose.

  • Review Submitted: 09-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, the first we have received of this nature in the over 5 years of letting the cottage. In response to the review, we would like to respond and respectfully ask readers to consider other reviews left by previous guests. We should start with by saying the original complaint was emailed to us once the holiday was finished, requesting a full refund. At no point during the guests stay were we made aware of any disappointment, we were most upset to receive the email subsequently. The cottage does have Fibre broadband and Cornwall does have 4G mobile networks, neither of which were used by the guest to make contact while resident in the cottage and experiencing such difficulties, the first we heard with regard to the ‘issues’ were after the guest had vacated the premises! Had we been aware of any issues, we would have had a chance to rectify them. In the initial complaint to Owners Direct the guest mentioned that we ruined their ‘long awaited’ holiday to Cornwall despite the fact that it had only booked three days before the date of arrival. It’s strange this has now been removed from the final review. We are sorry the cottage did not meet with the guests high standards however, it is clear when reviewing the website photographs the type of accommodation that the guest is renting. As the guest states the site relies on the ‘honesty and integrity’ of individuals and that applies to both those using the facilities as those making them available.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very comfortable cottage with everything you would want. Very convenient for exploring all of Cornwa

  • 5 of 5

Welcome additions, fresh flowers, scones on arrival, tea, coffee and milk provided. Very clean and comfortable, there wasn't anything we needed not there.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review and your compliments, I'm glad that the cottage has met your needs for your holiday and provided everything you required. The cottage is full of character, along with being well placed for Truro and Falmouth so makes for easy access to much of Cornwall, yet sited in a very pleasant village. Thanks again, Ann
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Cornish cottage Carnon Downs

  • 5 of 5

Could not fault the cottage in any way in fact it exceeded our expectations.Perfect location to explore Cornwall and a lot of thought had gone into providing anything you could possibly need for a self catering holiday.

  • Review Submitted: 19-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect location for Cornwall exploring!

  • 5 of 5

This cottage is the best... it's perfect for exploring the whole of cornwall. Lots of

Little touches make this a very comfortable cottage to spend a summer holiday. We visited so much of Cornwall, especially some great beaches surrounding Falmouth

  • Review Submitted: 26-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Week's stay - July 2017

  • 4 of 5

We needed somewhere to stay near to Truro whilst our daughter attended a training camp. This property was ideally located in the village of Carnon Downs, a few minutes’ drive from Truro. It is a sweet little cottage, perfectly suited to our needs (three people) with everything that we required for our stay in Cornwall. Despite being small, it is a neat and tidy cottage and still felt roomy enough for us with good sized bedrooms (with comfortable beds) and an attractive fitted galley kitchen. The only minor criticism we had is the slightly saggy sofa in the living room. The weather permitted us to sit out on occasions on the small decking area at the rear of the property in the well-kept narrow garden and also to use the BBQ some evenings. Carnon Downs itself is a nice wee settlement with a well-stocked mini supermarket a 5 minute walk away and easy links to south to Falmouth and beyond or north to Truro and the northern coastal attractions. All in all a great property and a lovely stay.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and that it met your holiday needs. It is well sited for visiting large parts of the county, not too far from town, country or seaside and village is well set up with amenities. I will look at structure of the sofa, I think it is part of the design though.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Carnon Downs, West Country

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Autumn 2017
11 Sep 2017 - 22 Dec 2017
4 night minimum stay
£220
for 4 nights
From
£55
£300
 
 
Christmas 2017
24 Dec 2017 - 6 Jan 2018
5 night minimum stay
£325
for 5 nights
From
£65
£370
 
 
Easter 2018
24 Mar 2018 - 6 Apr 2018
5 night minimum stay
£325
for 5 nights
From
£65
£350
 
 
Spring 2018
7 Apr 2018 - 25 May 2018
5 night minimum stay
£325
for 5 nights
From
£65
£350
 
 
Late Spring/Whitsun 2018
26 May 2018 - 6 Jul 2018
5 night minimum stay
£350
for 5 nights
From
£70
£470
 
 
Summer 2018
7 Jul 2018 - 7 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
£570
for 7 nights
£570
 
 
Autumn 2018
8 Sep 2018 - 21 Dec 2018
5 night minimum stay
£300
for 5 nights
From
£60
£400
 
 
Christmas 2018
22 Dec 2018 - 4 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
£450
for 7 nights
£450
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
£250
for 5 nights
£350
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £50

Booking Notes:
25% deposit, with full payment a month before the rental date. I also ask for a £50 damages deposit, refunded after your stay if nothing is broken or damaged.

Changeover Day:
Changeover day is Saturday. You can access the cottage from 15.00 on the day of arrival and we ask that you leave by 10.00 on your day of departure.
Off-season short stays can be booked and we are flexible on days and times.

Notes on prices:
We ask for a 30% non-refundable deposit at the time of booking with the balance due 4 weeks prior to your arrival date.
If you wish to enjoy a short break, please contact me for information regarding availability and prices

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable