OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Lovely South Devon Coastal Cottage

People8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Cottage in Brixham, South Devon, England - ( 15-20min ) Walk To The Harbour,close To The Coastal Path

4 bedroom cottage set in the old St. Marys part of Brixham, with parking(2) and a gated outside patio area.Comprising of three bedrooms upstairs & one downstairs /2 wc rooms (up/downstairs one with bath/shower other with walk in shower) .Well equipped ,comfortable ,peaceful setting.We are dog friendly (2 small max.) & as part of our business we support Torbay Lifeboats service.......................... .


Owner
Ceri Anne Smith
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
27 October, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

This is our 2nd visit to Freesia cottage.Easy to book & any queries were quickly responded to .The cottage was very clean with good quality towels & linens .Well equipped kitchen with a great & well stocked "welcome basket" with a thoughtful gift of wine & chocolates.

Good valur for money even though there was only 2 adults and our dog.A good base for lots of "days out" including -Paignton,Cockington,Exeter,Plymouth,Torquay and of Brixham itself. We particularly like that you sponsor a guide dog.

Thankyou Ceri -we will return.
Nov 2017
  • 1 of 3

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Brixham in South Hams District

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • town
General:
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bath (no shower)
  • Bathroom with shower, wc and a downstairs shower room with wc and basin.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 8 (4 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom with king size memory foam bed, 2 twin rooms and a set of bunkbeds
Entertainment:
  • Television
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • bay
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: UNLIMITED WI-FI USAGE Outside: Lovely enclosed patio area, with table /parasol/6 chairs/BBQ Utility Room: Iron /board/airer/washer/dryer Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Cleaning,Linen & towels are provided (all inclusive of the price) * PLEASE EMAIL ME DIRECTLY FOR SPECIAL OFFERS OR LATE AVAILABLITY OR ANY QUERIES ON AVAILABLITY .

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(11 traveller reviews)

81% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
Lovely South Devon Coastal Cottage
average rating of 4.5454545 based on 14 reviews
1

Property was fine but very disappointed that the day after booking the prooerty cos was reduced

  • 1 of 5

On the plus side problems were resolved quickly and the cottage was well equipped. However we arrived to find dirty bedsheets left in hall of property. Child's pillowcase had blood on it put in to question whether it had been changed. A lot of the Dinner plates were chipped. No teabags or coffee in the welcome basket. A crab bucket with rotting bait was left in the garden together with several beach shoes. The main problem for us was that the bunk beds were downstairs. As a parent I would not have allowed my children to be alone downstairs. Also we had an elderly disabled gentleman in our party who found the stairs very difficult but would find the bunk beds also difficult. I would suggest the bunk beds be moved upstairs and twin beds downstairs or just do away with the bunk beds altogether as there is enough room for twin beds in that room and these are not as dangerous for small children. We had to constantly supervise our three year old grandchild to ensure she did not fall as she insisted on climbing the top bunk but was very sketchy at climbing down again. The parents had to split in to two rooms to ensure she was safe. Not ideal. Getting in and out of the parking area at the property is not easy particularly as the bus stops across the exit and exiting us blind on to a road suitable fir one car only. It is the same getting into the road for parking - you cannot see what is coming until you ease into the road. We nearly had our nose taken off the carbon several occasions. Pillows in property were thin and stained and needed replacing. There were not enough either - most adults need two pillows but there was only one and one spare in each room but the spare had no cover on. This property is in a built up area which is not that pleasant. We were woken up regularly when the pubs let out and also by house alarms going off and dustbin collection at 5 am. Street noise is prominent. I had not realised how poor Brixham is. Prefer north Devon to south. Lovely properties beautiful villages and very welcoming. Will avoid this area and definitely won't use this website again - extremely misleading and we paid summer rates for an autumn let. Used to love using owners direct but if I was an owner I would definitely not use this site and I would not recommend it to anyone else either. We were left a bottle of wine but others were given chocolates and wine by the owners so there is no consistency

  • Review Submitted: 29-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thankyou for your feedback Suzanne, We are sorry you felt this way about your whole experience I would like to apologise for any thing we could have rectified given the opportunity .Our listing on this site does show the exact location and it does state how the bedrooms are layed out accordingly and the price you paided was the mid season ownerdirect rate £565 (our peak season direct booking rate is £850) so I hope this clarifies the situation the rate charged is below average for a 4 bedroom (8 person)accommodation in September in the area there are many that are double that price . I have taken on board other comments made regarding the cottage and have worked with the changeover company to ensure that this is rectified (the situation with the laundry at the door s at 3pm was due to the( fact that the company that picks it up had broken down) and had apologised for this happening .We have many repeat & happy customers and we are sorry that you feel you were not one of them on this occassion. Kind regards, The owners.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bristol
5

Great ,Cosy Cottage........................

  • 5 of 5

Thankyou so much for our stay -Great customer service from start to finish a pleasure to deal with .Great for dogs as we like walking the coastal paths .Very clean ,high quality linen /towels will certainly be back -Loved it ( oh and value for money.)

Mr & Mrs Brown

  • Review Submitted: 02-Feb-2017
  • Date of Stay: January 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thankyou Mr & Mrs Brown for taking the time to review your stay at Freesia Cottage it is most appreciated -We will look forward to welcoming you back again soon . Best Wishes, Ceri
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Lovely house

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed stay very comfy will be back didn't want to leave very clean lovely beds love Brixham was great to go back thanks ceri

  • Review Submitted: 28-Sep-2016
  • Date of Stay: September 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review -We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the future. All the best, Ceri
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fantastic cottage

  • 5 of 5

This was our fifth visit to freesia cottage. The cottage is large and well equpped, amazing value for money, bedrooms are large and linen exceptional. The cottage is situated on a frequent bus route and is central for visits to brixham, Dartmouth and Torbay.

The owner ensures you have a fantastic stay and is very approachable.

Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Review Submitted: 19-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thankyou very much for the review it is most appreciated -Mrs Felgate All the Best , Ceri
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Fabulous Family Break

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing week in this beautifully decorated cottage, everything we could have wanted was provided, and more. The location was perfect and on several occasions we walked into Brixham. HIGHLY RECOMMEND this cottage, great value for money, we hope to return again soon.

Goodrington beach is perfect for all ages and the Brewers Fayre was good value for money. Brixham is a lovely town with lots of interesting shops. Had a lovely meal at the Poop Deck Restaurant in Brixham. 6 of the party went Mackerel Fishing and caught 166 mackerel. Crabbing in the harbour was also great fun.

Can't recommend this beautiful cottage enough.

  • Review Submitted: 24-Jul-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thankyou very much for the wonderful feedback -We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at Freesia cottage & will look forward to welcoming you back again soon .......
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Good value accommodation

  • 5 of 5

This cottage was very well equipped and clean, and what a nice touch having little extras like wine, chocolates and welcome basket of tea coffee sugar and biscuits. Fresh clean good quality towels and linen was provided. We had a lovely week as there are so many places to visit in the area together with places to eat and drink. We hope to revisit in the future.

  • Review Submitted: 31-Mar-2016
  • Date of Stay: March 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thankyou Mr Williams for taking the time to review your stay at Freesia Cottage it is much appreciated -We will look forward to welcoming you again . All Best , Ceri
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Location

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Exeter
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
5min walk down the road
Nearest Ferry
40 Miles
Plymouth
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Churston Ferrrers
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Paignton
Nearest Motorway
40 Miles
A38/M5
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Short walk
Nearest Beach
1.5 Miles
St.Marys
Car: recommended

Special interest holidays:

Ideally located for Dartmoor, Dartmouth, Paignton, Torquay.

Coast/Beach:

There are several beaches within a 10min drive of the cottage, there is Sharkham Point/St. Marys Bay (10-15min Walk ) This links up with the coastal path.

Travel:

Nearest railway station is Paignton(10min Drive)

Nearest airport is Exeter(40-50min Drive)

Further Details:

There are a selection of shops/pubs /restaurant close by, but there is a wide range in the harbour area.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Brixham, South Devon

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Christmas week
20 Dec 2017 - 27 Dec 2017
7 night minimum stay
£625
for 7 nights
£625
 
 
New year week
28 Dec 2017 - 3 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£625
for 7 nights
£625
 
 
Low season
3 Mar 2018 - 23 Mar 2018
7 night minimum stay
£385
for 7 nights
£385
 
 
Easter holidays 2018
24 Mar 2018 - 7 Apr 2018
7 night minimum stay
£565
for 7 nights
£565
 
 
Low season 18
8 Apr 2018 - 25 May 2018
7 night minimum stay
£365
for 7 nights
£365
 
 
Spring half term 18
26 May 2018 - 2 Jun 2018
7 night minimum stay
£545
for 7 nights
£545
 
 
Mid -season rate 1-18
3 Jun 2018 - 23 Jun 2018
7 night minimum stay
£525
for 7 nights
£525
 
 
Mid season rate 2 -18
24 Jun 2018 - 20 Jul 2018
7 night minimum stay
£575
for 7 nights
£575
 
 
Peak season-18
21 Jul 2018 - 1 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
£925
for 7 nights
£925
 
 
Mid-season autumn -18
2 Sep 2018 - 22 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
£525
for 7 nights
£525
 
 
Low season -18
23 Sep 2018 - 27 Oct 2018
7 night minimum stay
£365
for 7 nights
£365
 
 
Half term(oct 18)
28 Oct 2018 - 3 Nov 2018
7 night minimum stay
£550
for 7 nights
£550
 
 
Xmas week -18
22 Dec 2018 - 29 Dec 2018
7 night minimum stay
£625
for 7 nights
£625
 
 
New year -18
30 Dec 2018 - 5 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
£625
for 7 nights
£625
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£385
for 7 nights
£385
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £100

Booking Notes:
(20%) deposit required when booking, balance 8 weeks prior to arrival. Full payment is made via owners direct .
PLEASE NOTE THAT PARKING AREA IS FOR 2 STANDARD CARS ONLY.
Long weekend rates 3/4ngts £275 (only available in low-mid season )
Changeover Day:
Saturday-long weekends are available in low/mid season.
Departure times- 10am
Arrival times-3pm

Notes on prices:
Low season 2015-From £325
Mid season 2015-From £425-£500
High season 2015-£750
Long w/end (low/mid season only 3ngts)-£275
Easter fortnight 2015-£495
Christmas or New year week 2015- £550(both £900)
All bookings include complementary chocolates/wine (Linen/towels supplied)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable