OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Lovely South Devon Coastal Cottage

Bedrooms 4
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet
  • Parking


About the property

Cottage in Brixham, South Devon, England - ( 15-20min ) Walk To The Harbour,close To The Coastal Path

4 bedroom cottage set in the old St. Marys part of Brixham, with parking(2) and a gated outside patio area.Comprising of three bedrooms upstairs & one downstairs /2 wc rooms (up/downstairs one with bath/shower other with walk in shower) .Well equipped ,comfortable ,peaceful setting.We are dog friendly (2 small max.) & as part of our business we sponsor guide dog training.......................... .

Ceri Anne Smith
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
14 October, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Enjoyed it very much,cottage lovely,cosy &warm a pleasure to come back to.Hope to see you again in near future,Best wishes Val & John Morgan.

Lovely house we were all so pleased how nice it was.Perfectly situated for all the day trips we went on,model village,zoo,geoplay,darmouth castle and lots more.I would recccommend this house to all my friends.Thanks again -Sandra,Terry,Dean,Steve,Sue,Riley,Rach &Nanny x.

The cottage was everything we would wanted and more,our little boys loved the bunkbeds!We had fanastic sunny days at broadsands & shoalstone,went running along the cliffs,crabbing on the quay and also took the £2 boat trip to paignton,£7.50 to Dartmouth.Hope to come back next year....The felgates.

We loved the cottage ,it was amazing.We had a great time playing on the beach!Our doggies ethel & dilly had their first paddle in the sea.We went on a ferry to torquay,and enjoyed a cup of tea and some scones at the pier point café.The waiters and waitress are lovely there.

We hope to come back next year!Thankyou-KATY,JON,DANIEL,BEN,ALICE,CHARLOTTE&MADELEINE

What beautifully decorated & comfortable cottage ,so well equipped!Easy reach of so many great things to see & do too!


What a wonderful ,fantastic cottage soclean,ans everthing that you need-Thankyou so much!We had a lovely time at Brixham such a lovely town ,Would definitely be returning need to explore more surrounding places.

Thankyou once again,

Tina Reese & Family

WOW,The cottage is fantastic-Your photo`s on the website don`t do it justice.

Brixham is a lovely town -The Blue anchor best pub & best for food.We had amazing walks on East Prawl& Noss mayo,Berry head & sharkham point are musts.The ferry to torquayamazing at only £1 each way & free for dogs ,even a bar on board.The double bed is out of world-a memory foam bed - we are going to get one when we get home!Thankyou so much for a very enjoyable stay.

ALAN & SHARON FIRTH & RUBY the labradoodle.

1st visit to Freesia cottage,Well worth a 2nd visit in the near future ,everything is to hand,very comfortable & warm.We have visited lots of lovely places.Brixham is a lovely ,pretty place.The grandchildren have walked there little legs off!

The Souths & Land Families.
Apr 2012
  • 1 of 1


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Brixham in South Hams District

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • town
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bath (no shower)
  • Bathroom with shower, wc and a downstairs shower room with wc and basin.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 8 (4 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom with king size memory foam bed, 2 twin rooms and a set of bunkbeds
  • Television
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • bay
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • wind-surfing
Notes on accommodation: UNLIMITED WI-FI USAGE Outside: Lovely enclosed patio area, with table /parasol/6 chairs/BBQ Utility Room: Iron /board/airer/washer/dryer Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Cleaning,Linen & towels are provided (all inclusive of the price) * PLEASE EMAIL ME DIRECTLY FOR SPECIAL OFFERS OR LATE AVAILABLITY OR ANY QUERIES ON AVAILABLITY .


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(11 traveller reviews)

81% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
Lovely South Devon Coastal Cottage
average rating of 4.5454545 based on 12 reviews

Property was fine but very disappointed that the day after booking the prooerty cos was reduced

  • 1 of 5

On the plus side problems were resolved quickly and the cottage was well equipped. However we arrived to find dirty bedsheets left in hall of property. Child's pillowcase had blood on it put in to question whether it had been changed. A lot of the Dinner plates were chipped. No teabags or coffee in the welcome basket. A crab bucket with rotting bait was left in the garden together with several beach shoes. The main problem for us was that the bunk beds were downstairs. As a parent I would not have allowed my children to be alone downstairs. Also we had an elderly disabled gentleman in our party who found the stairs very difficult but would find the bunk beds also difficult. I would suggest the bunk beds be moved upstairs and twin beds downstairs or just do away with the bunk beds altogether as there is enough room for twin beds in that room and these are not as dangerous for small children. We had to constantly supervise our three year old grandchild to ensure she did not fall as she insisted on climbing the top bunk but was very sketchy at climbing down again. The parents had to split in to two rooms to ensure she was safe. Not ideal. Getting in and out of the parking area at the property is not easy particularly as the bus stops across the exit and exiting us blind on to a road suitable fir one car only. It is the same getting into the road for parking - you cannot see what is coming until you ease into the road. We nearly had our nose taken off the carbon several occasions. Pillows in property were thin and stained and needed replacing. There were not enough either - most adults need two pillows but there was only one and one spare in each room but the spare had no cover on. This property is in a built up area which is not that pleasant. We were woken up regularly when the pubs let out and also by house alarms going off and dustbin collection at 5 am. Street noise is prominent. I had not realised how poor Brixham is. Prefer north Devon to south. Lovely properties beautiful villages and very welcoming. Will avoid this area and definitely won't use this website again - extremely misleading and we paid summer rates for an autumn let. Used to love using owners direct but if I was an owner I would definitely not use this site and I would not recommend it to anyone else either. We were left a bottle of wine but others were given chocolates and wine by the owners so there is no consistency

  • Review Submitted: Sep 29, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thankyou for your feedback Suzanne, We are sorry you felt this way about your whole experience I would like to apologise for any thing we could have rectified given the opportunity .Our listing on this site does show the exact location and it does state how the bedrooms are layed out accordingly and the price you paided was the mid season ownerdirect rate £565 (our peak season direct booking rate is £850) so I hope this clarifies the situation the rate charged is below average for a 4 bedroom (8 person)accommodation in September in the area there are many that are double that price . I have taken on board other comments made regarding the cottage and have worked with the changeover company to ensure that this is rectified (the situation with the laundry at the door s at 3pm was due to the( fact that the company that picks it up had broken down) and had apologised for this happening .We have many repeat & happy customers and we are sorry that you feel you were not one of them on this occassion. Kind regards, The owners.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great ,Cosy Cottage........................

  • 5 of 5

Thankyou so much for our stay -Great customer service from start to finish a pleasure to deal with .Great for dogs as we like walking the coastal paths .Very clean ,high quality linen /towels will certainly be back -Loved it ( oh and value for money.)

Mr & Mrs Brown

  • Review Submitted: Feb 2, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thankyou Mr & Mrs Brown for taking the time to review your stay at Freesia Cottage it is most appreciated -We will look forward to welcoming you back again soon . Best Wishes, Ceri
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Lovely house

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed stay very comfy will be back didn't want to leave very clean lovely beds love Brixham was great to go back thanks ceri

  • Review Submitted: Sep 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review -We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the future. All the best, Ceri
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Fantastic cottage

  • 5 of 5

This was our fifth visit to freesia cottage. The cottage is large and well equpped, amazing value for money, bedrooms are large and linen exceptional. The cottage is situated on a frequent bus route and is central for visits to brixham, Dartmouth and Torbay.

The owner ensures you have a fantastic stay and is very approachable.

Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thankyou very much for the review it is most appreciated -Mrs Felgate All the Best , Ceri
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Fabulous Family Break

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing week in this beautifully decorated cottage, everything we could have wanted was provided, and more. The location was perfect and on several occasions we walked into Brixham. HIGHLY RECOMMEND this cottage, great value for money, we hope to return again soon.

Goodrington beach is perfect for all ages and the Brewers Fayre was good value for money. Brixham is a lovely town with lots of interesting shops. Had a lovely meal at the Poop Deck Restaurant in Brixham. 6 of the party went Mackerel Fishing and caught 166 mackerel. Crabbing in the harbour was also great fun.

Can't recommend this beautiful cottage enough.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thankyou very much for the wonderful feedback -We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at Freesia cottage & will look forward to welcoming you back again soon .......
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Good value accommodation

  • 5 of 5

This cottage was very well equipped and clean, and what a nice touch having little extras like wine, chocolates and welcome basket of tea coffee sugar and biscuits. Fresh clean good quality towels and linen was provided. We had a lovely week as there are so many places to visit in the area together with places to eat and drink. We hope to revisit in the future.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thankyou Mr Williams for taking the time to review your stay at Freesia Cottage it is much appreciated -We will look forward to welcoming you again . All Best , Ceri
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
5min walk down the road
Nearest Ferry
40 Miles
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Churston Ferrrers
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Nearest Motorway
40 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Short walk
Nearest Beach
1.5 Miles
Car: recommended

Special interest holidays:

Ideally located for Dartmoor, Dartmouth, Paignton, Torquay.


There are several beaches within a 10min drive of the cottage, there is Sharkham Point/St. Marys Bay (10-15min Walk ) This links up with the coastal path.


Nearest railway station is Paignton(10min Drive)

Nearest airport is Exeter(40-50min Drive)

Further Details:

There are a selection of shops/pubs /restaurant close by, but there is a wide range in the harbour area.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Brixham, South Devon

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
low season(0ct )
1 Oct 2017 - 21 Oct 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Half term (0ct )
22 Oct 2017 - 28 Oct 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Christmas week
20 Dec 2017 - 27 Dec 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
New year week
28 Dec 2017 - 3 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Low season
3 Mar 2018 - 23 Mar 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Easter holidays 2018
24 Mar 2018 - 7 Apr 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Low season 18
8 Apr 2018 - 25 May 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Spring half term 18
26 May 2018 - 2 Jun 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Mid -season rate 1-18
3 Jun 2018 - 23 Jun 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Mid season rate 2 -18
24 Jun 2018 - 20 Jul 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Peak season-18
21 Jul 2018 - 1 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Mid-season autumn -18
2 Sep 2018 - 22 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Low season -18
23 Sep 2018 - 27 Oct 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Half term(oct 18)
28 Oct 2018 - 3 Nov 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Xmas week -18
22 Dec 2018 - 29 Dec 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
New year -18
30 Dec 2018 - 5 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £100

Booking Notes:
(20%) deposit required when booking, balance 8 weeks prior to arrival. Full payment is made via owners direct .
Long weekend rates 3/4ngts £275 (only available in low-mid season )
Changeover Day:
Saturday-long weekends are available in low/mid season.
Departure times- 10am
Arrival times-3pm

Notes on prices:
Low season 2015-From £325
Mid season 2015-From £425-£500
High season 2015-£750
Long w/end (low/mid season only 3ngts)-£275
Easter fortnight 2015-£495
Christmas or New year week 2015- £550(both £900)
All bookings include complementary chocolates/wine (Linen/towels supplied)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question