OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Croft Style Cottage



Updated: 16-Sep-2016
Cottage in Staffin, Isle of Skye, Scottish Highlands, Scotland - Peaceful Rural Location, Easy Access To Hills And Beach

3 Bedroom croft style cottage located in the small township of Staffin. Beautiful views over hills and the sea, an ideal base to explore the north end of Skye. Cottage is equipped with all you could need on your holiday including a cozy coal fire.

  • Sleeps 5
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Pets considered
  • Washing machine
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

We are a young couple who live in central Scotland but our family is from the islands.

Call Owner
Speaks English

7 Reviews

based on 7 holidaymaker reviews



  • 2 of 5

Well, we were disappointed with the property. We'd been looking forward to it and the owner was really helpful beforehand, answering questions and helping out. But when we arrived, it was cold. The storage heating had been switched off and there wasn't any coal left for us. So we couldn't get the shared spaces comfortable until the next day. The bedrooms smelt a bit damp and musty. We didn't have hot water for the first few days. Duncan did his best to fix things from a distance, so we did in the end have hot water and warmth. But the housekeeper, who we phoned, was no help - all she did was contact Duncan. She actually texted the week after we'd gone home, basically saying she'd forgotten about us!

It's a shame because we liked the area, there are a few places to eat nearby, and the cottage could be lovely. I'd prefer to stay in a traditional place with a few flaws than a modern luxurious property. But there are too many little things that aren't fixed, which makes it seem a bit unloved and neglected. We weren't expecting luxury, but comfortable and clean - yes, we did expect that.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry to hear you were disappointed in your stay. We always make a point of giving honest descriptions of the property and charging a fair price - as noted in other reviews. The heaters were off as the summer weather meant they were not required by the previous guest. The coal issue could have been sorted immediately if you had let me know at the time. As you know, the hot water issue was fixed as soon as I knew of it (a set up issue with the new heater) - and a plumber attended the property that day.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Well equipped, comfortable, homely cottage, in a lovely location.

  • 4 of 5

We had a most enjoyable and relaxing week here. The house is so comfortable that we returned a second time! Staffin and the surrounding area is most unspoiled and attractive, and the local shop is very well stocked.

The Kilmartin Restaurant next to the local store does very good meals and the staff are super!

There are plenty of places to walk and explore, and an abundance of birdlife all around. The Quirang is an amazing place to visit and makes for a fantastic walk with views at every turn!

The boat trips from Portree are excellent.

This is a place we will return to again!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Lovely location

  • 4 of 5

Nice cosy cottage in a really good location. There is a good well stocked shop within walking distance and a cafe at the end of the road. It's in the perfect spot for walking in the quiraing and touring the viewing spots along the coast. The cottage itself is comfortable, kitchen well stocked and beds comfy. The kitchen could do with updating but it is perfectly functional and has everything you need. Communication with the owners is great, answered all my questions and sent detailed directions. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to couples, friends and families.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Brilliant location, beautiful views certainly a would go again

  • 4 of 5

Anyone going to Skye goes for the place not the luxurious accommodation, this property as mentioned by owners is being renovated and isn't finished but it has plenty of charm and the location is perfect for exploring the Trotternish ridge and Northern Skye.

Living room and downstairs bedroom finished and look gorgeous, upstairs is still developing but the property from a functional standpoint is perfect and a steal at the £350 a week that we were able to get it for when most others where charging £150+ more.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Awesome croft style cottage. Perfect for our needs, ideally located and great for the dogs.

  • 5 of 5

Communication with the owners was second to none, quick replies and always answered questions fully.

The cottage itself is perfectly located in Staffin and easy access to all the best locations except the Cuillin Ridge itself.

The cottage and its facilities and great for what we paid. A great week has by all.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Skye, Staffin

  • 4 of 5

Stunning location (car required for Skye!), all facilities as needed, cosy/quaint cottage. Owner helpful and quick to respond to queries. Not sooper-dooper luxury, but clean enough and functional - and this reflected in the price of course. Path up to cottage a bit much for my disabled partner (and certainly not suitable for any one in a wheelchair), but that was made clear in the listing/by the owner, it was our choice to try it - fine for able-bodied. Excellent base for a hiking holiday for group of friends (Old Man of Storr a must) or for a family with older children not yet teenagers (hours of fun on Staffin beaches looking for dinosaur footprints or rock-pooling), or for couples who like a walking holiday. And dogs allowed! Garden fantastic for our pooch - be careful of neighbouring sheep and cattle if you have a lively bigger dog who could jump the fence, but their company is great! Only thing missing is a nearby local dog-friendly pub that does basic pub grub - cafes nearby though. Thoroughly recommended for exploring Skye, and we reckoned Trotternish the best side of the island too with the Old Man, the Ridge, Kilt Rock, dinosaur footprints and Portree not too far away.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 21, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
17 0


From the Owner

This cottage has been in our family since it was built over 100 years ago. It was passed to us in 1991 and we have been updating it ever since. It is the favourite holiday location for us and our two children.

Activity and Interests


1 mile to beach via road. Shorter walk to beach using local track from back of house.


Nearest airport Inverness, use of car highly recommended.


Local shop 0.5 miles, Internet cafe/restaurant 0.25 miles. Pub/hotel, 4 miles. Wide range of shopping and facilities in Portree 16 miles.


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
Payment by cheque, bank transfer or Paypal at time of booking.

Changeover Day:
Changeover day Saturday. Flexible in low season.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Updated: 16-Sep-2016
Available arrival


From the Owner

The ideal place to get away from it all and relax. The only noises are the local farm animals and the waves breaking on the sea shore. On a clear night, the lack of light pollution rewards you with spectacular starry skies.


  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine


  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob


  • Child's Highchair


  • Television


  • children welcome
  • pets considered

Location Type

  • rural
  • village


  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure
  • Downstairs bathroom with bath/shower over, wc and sink.


  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 5 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with double bed, Bedroom 2 (downstairs) twin beds, bedroom 3 with single bed.


  • Garden

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website


  • Outside: Sloping garden surrounds house with outdoor picnic table. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Towels and linen provided for duration of stay.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot