OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Idyllic Thatched Cottage Within Walking Distance of Beach, Restaurants and Pubs

People7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Thatched Cottage in Moelfre, Anglesey, North Wales - Very Pretty With Sunny Garden

Ty'n y Graig is an idyllic thatched cottage in the seaside village of Moelfre, on the beautiful island of Anglesey, only a few minutes walk from the beach. Ideal for families and couples. Pet friendly. In the summer, enjoy a glass or two of wine in the large sunny garden and in winter, curl up in front of the log burner.

Anglesey is a beautiful island, with long sandy beaches, little rocky coves and dramatic cliff top footpaths, with the backdrop of the majestic mountains of Snowdonia. In an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, so perfect for walking, fishing, sailing, golf, windsurfing, boat trips and bird watching. If that sounds too energetic, there are numerous country pubs, serving food (for other activities, see below). Ty'n y Graig is a no smoking cottage. WiFi.


Owner
Nia Hope
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
15 August, 2017

About Nia Hope

Rob and Nia have been successfully letting cottages on the beautiful Island of Anglesey for the past 6 years. Nia is from the island but they now live in the Manchester area, but return as often as possible. The cottages are managed by local people, so there is always someone on hand. Nia and Rob are keen to make their cottages as comfortable as possible, a home from home. All are within walking distance, or a short drive, of lovely beaches and country pubs/restaurants. Anglesey is an easy drive from cities such as Manchester and Liverpool, taking under 2 hours, but it feels a world away! Come and see for yourselves.

Nia Hope purchased this cottage in 2011

Guestbook comments from the owner

"We had a super stay. We've rented in the UK and Europe and your cottage is one of the best. The multitude of seating areas, in the house and garden, create a superb ‘Zen’ feel to the entire cottage. The subtle décor touches and themes around the cottage set it off very well. The location and position of the cottage is fantastic"

"Fantastic cottage - very pretty with lots of space. Location was perfect for the many beautiful cliff/beach walks...and then home to a hot drink in front of the logburner. Local shop is walkable and has fresh bread, cakes & pies. The garden's worth a mention - spacious, lots of seating, BBQ and extremely quaint. We are going back"

"We stayed in the cottage for our Silver Wedding. Our family also stayed in the mobile homes. We had the most amazing time. The cottage was way beyond our expectations & the gardens are a delight. The local pub does great food and the beaches are lovely. We have booked to go again...can't wait. We highly recommend a stay here"
Mar 2012
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Moelfre in Moelfre

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Please do not allow your dogs on the sofas and beds
  • If you have a dog(s) please ensure that the garden is clear of any mess before you leave
  • No more than 7 people are allowed to stay over night at the cottage. If friends are visiting during the day, please let us know.
Location Type:
  • beach
  • village
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
  • There is a modern bathroom with bath and seperate shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Cot
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Single Bed
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 7 (3 Bedroom) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 - kingsize bed, lovely beamed ceiling & walk in wardrobe Bedroom 2 - twin bedroom, decorated in a fresh seaside theme Bedroom 3 -cute single room on ground floor 2nd living room can be used as 4th bedroom - double sofa bed with memory foam
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Couples, families and groups are very welcome. However, for group bookings, there must be at least 2 members of the group over the age of 24 years. All male/female groups, please contact us first. There is no smoking at Ty'n y Graig. Dogs are welcome. WiFi is available at an additional charge: 1-3 night stay - £15 4-7 night stay - £20 8-14 night stay - £30 Outside: Ty'n y Graig cottage has its own large private garden. There are two patio areas with tables and chairs for outside dining, and several other seating areas. There is also a barbecue. There is parking for 1 car. If you need a second parking space, please let us know before you go. Towels / Linen : Bedding is included but you will need to bring your own towels. A delightful thatched cottage within walking distance of the beach. Its layout is such that it feels cosy enough for 2 but is large enough for 7. It is in a lovely setting, with large sunny garden. Easy walk to pubs and restaurants/bistro

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(17 traveller reviews)

64% Complete
17% Complete
11% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Idyllic Thatched Cottage Within Walking Distance of Beach, Restaurants and Pubs
average rating of 4.4117646 based on 18 reviews
4

Peaceful Country and Coast Cottage

  • 4 of 5

We had a lovely week at Tan y Graig. The traditional cottage oozes history but is welcoming and functional. We loved its privacy yet proximity to the village offering a great cafe/restaurant and pub. The coast, beaches and historical sites were all wonderful and all within an easy walk. Previous reviews and responses and the visitors book were really helpful.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful thatched cottage offering a very relaxed setting

  • 5 of 5

Had great fun for four of us and two dogs exploring the local area. Safe in the knowledge that we had somewhere charming to come back to in the evenings.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 26, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Good location but cottage expensive, dirty and smelly in parts and would struggle to accommodate 7

  • 3 of 5

Good quiet location. Attractive cottage and garden. However, would struggle to accommodate 7 people - sleeping, small kitchen (with small fridge, cooker etc.), dining table that wouldn't fit seven people round even though extra chairs were provided . .. ...

The cottage was dirty - the bath had to be scrubbed before it could be used - and the main sitting area by the conservatory was extremely smelly with damp and stale air.

This cottage was expensive for what it was and the extra charge for internet (and fuel if opted for) made it even more pricey.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 12, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have thought long and hard about how to respond to this review. We take all matters raised by guests very seriously however in this case we are totally flummoxed. In readiness for the start of the season,in the days before these clients arrived, the cottage was deep cleaned and new carpets were laid throughout. We inspected the cottage only the day before and it was lovely and clean. We therefore refute the suggestion that the cottage was dirty. As for the smell, we can only assume it was the smell of the new carpets as there was no smell when we were there. This booking did not get off to a very good start as we received a rather strongly worded email from the guest about the £20 wifi cost. She accused us of deliberately withholding the fact that there was a charge. We respectfully referred her back to the advert where the costs are detailed. The party consisted of four adults. We are unsure as to why the writer felt compelled to surmise as to whether the cottage is suitable for 6/7 guests. All we can say is that we have had many groups of this size, many of whom have rebooked, some returning year after year. Finally, the reviewer says the cottage was expensive. For their party of 4 adults, they paid £115/person for a one week holiday. If she thinks this is expensive, that is a matter for her.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2
5

An idyllic, secluded cottage on the outskirts of Moelfre, with everything one could want.

  • 5 of 5

Three days were far too short to fully enjoy the cottage and Anglesey. There was enough room for us to lose ourselves in different rooms, to read, chat and use the Wi-Fi. The cottage was warm, well appointed and provided the ideal get away we were looking for. As it was February, we didn't use the garden at all, but did enjoy the footpath walk from it to Moelfre across the stream. It was very much "as it said on the tin" and we will be booking again for sure. Thank-you

  • Review Submitted: Feb 15, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Not value for money - could be better

  • 2 of 5

This cottage could offer so much more - it just needs some work to make it lovely. The kitchen could do with a very good clean, the bread bin needed a wash and the drawers could do with a clean and a sort out. The bread knife had no handle. The bin in the bathroom was rusty and the toilet brush was very old and disgusting. There was a broken plastic part of the shower just left on the side of the bath. The bedrooms were very pleasant apart from the double mattress which was very uncomfortable. The cottage advertises to sleep 7 and yet there is a small table for 4 which at a push could sit 6 but not adults or with comfort. We were looking forward to our stay and for the price we paid we were very disappointed.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 3, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so very disappointed with this review. What our guest fails to mention is that we discussed matters with her and invited her to ring us the following day, once she had had time to consider what we could do to make amends for the issues she had drawn to our attention. She sent us a text to say that she wasn’t seeking anything from us so we assumed that we had dealt with matters to her satisfaction. When we talked, her main issues were the fact that she hadn’t realised that the double sofa bed was for two people and two of her children had complained at having to share. Also, she thought there were only 4 dining chairs and we were able to direct her to the 2 fold up chairs stored next to the table. We explained that the website clearly explained the sleeping arrangements and the number of dining room chairs (6), to which she replied that her husband had booked the cottage. She told us about the broken soap dish in the shower, the broken knife handle and commented that the kitchen could have done with “a wipe over”. We apologised profusely. It was such a shame that she only raised this with us two days into her break as we would have got the cleaners back immediately. This has now been raised with the cleaners and the knife block has been replaced. As to the other issues she has raised in this review, we can honestly say she made no reference to these in our call. The toilet brush and bathroom bin will be replaced forthwith, now that we have been made aware. We presume that the double mattress she is referring to is the sofa bed mattress as that is the only double and we will look into what we can do about this. With regard to the dining table, we have, on many occasions, had 6 adults around this table comfortably and therefore respectfully disagree with her on this point. We consider that we are responsible owners and we try to put right any issues that arise as quickly as possible. We feel that we gave the client every opportunity to tell us what we could do to put things right for her, hence our upset at receiving what we feel is a very harsh review.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 3
4

Lovely cottage with easy access to countryside and beaches.

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay. Appreciated having 2/3 living rooms especially when it rained - very nice to sit in the conservatory overlooking the garden. Nicely decorated throughout. Large private garden with places to sit. Double bed very comfy. Shower nice.

A few thoughts -

* the double bedroom and the bathroom both have very high ceilings which could have done with a more thorough clean. We saw a couple of (dead) spiders and woodlice on furnishings upstairs. There was a spot above the toilet where a crane fly had died in a spider's web and bits of black stuff kept landing on the cistern.

* re the high ceilings - a bulb in the bathroom over the shower had gone and clearly been overlooked.

* the kitchen is cramped, but just about ok. The cutlery drawer was not very clean so we took out all the knives and forks and washed them before use. The clock needed a new battery.

* we did our best to recycle but it would have helped to have earmarked containers inside the house for different types of waste; ditto with the boxes at the end of the drive. They were in a bit of a mess when we arrived and I can't see how some of the contents could have been usefully recycyled.

* we found the tv a bit complicated to use, with different controllers.

* the double bedroom window latch is a bit stiff.

While we were there, both of the caravans had power cuts and we had several knocks on the door, thinking that we were the owners perhaps. We tried to help which involved going into the understairs cupboard but I believe the people were without power for some hours, perhaps even overnight.

In spite of this longish list, as I said, we enjoyed our stay overall and appreciated the thought that had gone into making the cottage welcoming. It just felt in need of a bit more TLC.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely comments. We wish you had brought the cleaning issues to our attention whilst you were there as we would have insisted that the cleaners return and rectify them immediately.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

Location

Ty Dderw
Moelfre
Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Manchester or Liverpool
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Several within walking distance
Nearest Ferry
20 Miles
Holyhead
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Benllech
Nearest Train
12 Miles
Bangor
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Several within walking distance
Car: recommended

Coast/Beach:

Only a few minutes walk to Moelfre beach and only a few minutes drive to Lligwy beach, which is a very large sandy beach.

Travel:

Anglesey is within easy driving distance of Manchester and Liverpool (under 2 hours) and Birmingham is approximately 2 1/2 hours away.

A car is recommended but is not essential.

Distances:

Moelfre is a small village on the east coast of Anglesey. It has its own beach, a couple of pubs serving food, coffee shops, restaurant, a village shop and a fish and chip shop. There are numerous lovely sandy beaches within a short drive. It is well located for access to the many tourist attractions.

Further Details:

There are many tourist attractions and activities for all ages both on Anglesey and within a short drive including:

Coastal walking and mountain hiking, fishing (sea and fresh water), day trips to Ireland, carting, horse riding, indoor play areas/ball pools, sea zoo, sports centres, swimming pools, castles (Beaumaris, Caernarfon and Conwy), fantastic beaches, race circuit, National Trust properties (Plas Newydd and Penrhyn Castle), golf courses, farm parks, sea bird centre, Welsh Mountain Zoo, dry ski slope and toboggan run, theatre, Stone Science centre, copper mines, bird watching, butterfly farm, Greenwood Family Adventure Park, steam train rides including the Snowdonia Mountain Railway, slate quarries, Puffin Island and Menai Straits cruises, canoe hire, bike hire and, of course, numerous pubs, coffee shops and restaurants.

Up to 2 small or medium sized well behaved dogs are accepted at £15 per dog

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Moelfre, Wales

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
July/August
22 Jul 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,165
for 7 nights
£1,165
 
 
September
2 Sep 2017 - 15 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£456
for 3 nights
From
£152
£650
 
 
September
16 Sep 2017 - 29 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£420
for 3 nights
From
£140
£600
 
 
October
30 Sep 2017 - 20 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£348
for 3 nights
From
£116
£500
 
 
Half Term
21 Oct 2017 - 27 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£435
for 3 nights
From
£145
£625
 
 
Nov/Dec
28 Oct 2017 - 22 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£336
for 3 nights
From
£112
£475
 
 
Christmas/New Year
23 Dec 2017 - 2 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
£543
for 3 nights
From
£181
£800
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£171
for 3 nights
£400
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £15

Booking Notes:
To book, or if you have any questions, please ring or email us.



Changeover Day:
Changeover day is flexible outside school holidays. In the summer holidays, changeover is usually on a Saturday. Arrival is after 3pm and departure is by 10am.

Notes on prices:
Short breaks are usually Friday to Monday (3 nights) or Monday to Friday (4 nights) and are charged at approximately 70% of the weekly price.

WiFi is available at an additional charge:
1-3 night stay - £10
4-7 night stay - £20
8-14 night stay - £30

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Available
Unavailable