OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Idyllic Thatched Cottage Within Walking Distance of Beach, Restaurants and Pubs

People7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
People
7
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights

About the property

Thatched Cottage in Moelfre, Anglesey, North Wales - Very Pretty With Sunny Garden

Ty'n y Graig is an idyllic thatched cottage in the seaside village of Moelfre, on the beautiful island of Anglesey, only a few minutes walk from the beach. Ideal for families and couples. Pet friendly. In the summer, enjoy a glass or two of wine in the large sunny garden and in winter, curl up in front of the log burner.

Anglesey is a beautiful island, with long sandy beaches, little rocky coves and dramatic cliff top footpaths, with the backdrop of the majestic mountains of Snowdonia. In an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, so perfect for walking, fishing, sailing, golf, windsurfing, boat trips and bird watching. If that sounds too energetic, there are numerous country pubs, serving food (for other activities, see below). Ty'n y Graig is a no smoking cottage. WiFi.


Owner
Nia Hope
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
15 February, 2017

About Nia Hope

Rob and Nia have been successfully letting cottages on the beautiful Island of Anglesey for the past 6 years. Nia is from the island but they now live in the Manchester area, but return as often as possible. The cottages are managed by local people, so there is always someone on hand. Nia and Rob are keen to make their cottages as comfortable as possible, a home from home. All are within walking distance, or a short drive, of lovely beaches and country pubs/restaurants. Anglesey is an easy drive from cities such as Manchester and Liverpool, taking under 2 hours, but it feels a world away! Come and see for yourselves.

Nia Hope purchased this cottage in 2011

Guestbook comments from the owner

"We had a super stay. We've rented in the UK and Europe and your cottage is one of the best. The multitude of seating areas, in the house and garden, create a superb ‘Zen’ feel to the entire cottage. The subtle décor touches and themes around the cottage set it off very well. The location and position of the cottage is fantastic"

"Fantastic cottage - very pretty with lots of space. Location was perfect for the many beautiful cliff/beach walks...and then home to a hot drink in front of the logburner. Local shop is walkable and has fresh bread, cakes & pies. The garden's worth a mention - spacious, lots of seating, BBQ and extremely quaint. We are going back"

"We stayed in the cottage for our Silver Wedding. Our family also stayed in the mobile homes. We had the most amazing time. The cottage was way beyond our expectations & the gardens are a delight. The local pub does great food and the beaches are lovely. We have booked to go again...can't wait. We highly recommend a stay here"
Mar 2012
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(14 traveller reviews)

5

An idyllic, secluded cottage on the outskirts of Moelfre, with everything one could want.

  • 5 of 5

Three days were far too short to fully enjoy the cottage and Anglesey. There was enough room for us to lose ourselves in different rooms, to read, chat and use the Wi-Fi. The cottage was warm, well appointed and provided the ideal get away we were looking for. As it was February, we didn't use the garden at all, but did enjoy the footpath walk from it to Moelfre across the stream. It was very much "as it said on the tin" and we will be booking again for sure. Thank-you

  • Review Submitted: Feb 15, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Not value for money - could be better

  • 2 of 5

This cottage could offer so much more - it just needs some work to make it lovely. The kitchen could do with a very good clean, the bread bin needed a wash and the drawers could do with a clean and a sort out. The bread knife had no handle. The bin in the bathroom was rusty and the toilet brush was very old and disgusting. There was a broken plastic part of the shower just left on the side of the bath. The bedrooms were very pleasant apart from the double mattress which was very uncomfortable. The cottage advertises to sleep 7 and yet there is a small table for 4 which at a push could sit 6 but not adults or with comfort. We were looking forward to our stay and for the price we paid we were very disappointed.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 3, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so very disappointed with this review. What our guest fails to mention is that we discussed matters with her and invited her to ring us the following day, once she had had time to consider what we could do to make amends for the issues she had drawn to our attention. She sent us a text to say that she wasn’t seeking anything from us so we assumed that we had dealt with matters to her satisfaction. When we talked, her main issues were the fact that she hadn’t realised that the double sofa bed was for two people and two of her children had complained at having to share. Also, she thought there were only 4 dining chairs and we were able to direct her to the 2 fold up chairs stored next to the table. We explained that the website clearly explained the sleeping arrangements and the number of dining room chairs (6), to which she replied that her husband had booked the cottage. She told us about the broken soap dish in the shower, the broken knife handle and commented that the kitchen could have done with “a wipe over”. We apologised profusely. It was such a shame that she only raised this with us two days into her break as we would have got the cleaners back immediately. This has now been raised with the cleaners and the knife block has been replaced. As to the other issues she has raised in this review, we can honestly say she made no reference to these in our call. The toilet brush and bathroom bin will be replaced forthwith, now that we have been made aware. We presume that the double mattress she is referring to is the sofa bed mattress as that is the only double and we will look into what we can do about this. With regard to the dining table, we have, on many occasions, had 6 adults around this table comfortably and therefore respectfully disagree with her on this point. We consider that we are responsible owners and we try to put right any issues that arise as quickly as possible. We feel that we gave the client every opportunity to tell us what we could do to put things right for her, hence our upset at receiving what we feel is a very harsh review.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 3
4

Lovely cottage with easy access to countryside and beaches.

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay. Appreciated having 2/3 living rooms especially when it rained - very nice to sit in the conservatory overlooking the garden. Nicely decorated throughout. Large private garden with places to sit. Double bed very comfy. Shower nice.

A few thoughts -

* the double bedroom and the bathroom both have very high ceilings which could have done with a more thorough clean. We saw a couple of (dead) spiders and woodlice on furnishings upstairs. There was a spot above the toilet where a crane fly had died in a spider's web and bits of black stuff kept landing on the cistern.

* re the high ceilings - a bulb in the bathroom over the shower had gone and clearly been overlooked.

* the kitchen is cramped, but just about ok. The cutlery drawer was not very clean so we took out all the knives and forks and washed them before use. The clock needed a new battery.

* we did our best to recycle but it would have helped to have earmarked containers inside the house for different types of waste; ditto with the boxes at the end of the drive. They were in a bit of a mess when we arrived and I can't see how some of the contents could have been usefully recycyled.

* we found the tv a bit complicated to use, with different controllers.

* the double bedroom window latch is a bit stiff.

While we were there, both of the caravans had power cuts and we had several knocks on the door, thinking that we were the owners perhaps. We tried to help which involved going into the understairs cupboard but I believe the people were without power for some hours, perhaps even overnight.

In spite of this longish list, as I said, we enjoyed our stay overall and appreciated the thought that had gone into making the cottage welcoming. It just felt in need of a bit more TLC.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely comments. We wish you had brought the cleaning issues to our attention whilst you were there as we would have insisted that the cleaners return and rectify them immediately.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
4

Lovely cottage

  • 4 of 5

It was a lovely cottage to stay in for our 4 day short break. Moelfre is a super village with a lovely pub and not too busy as we were out of season. We had a few good walks out from the cottage and the drove to South Stacks on Holyhead for a different view!! The communication before our stay was good, however I have a couple of issues; firstly I was disappointed we had to pay extra for the wifi and secondly there were no basic essentials such as washing up liquid or cloth, and not even one toilet roll!!! This would have been less of a issue if we had been told before we arrived or there was more than a local shop that had limited supplies and closed at 5.30. If we had arrive later we would have had to get straight back in the car to get these essentials. Over all we had a great few days and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review our cottage. We really appreciate it. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us. With regard to the wifi, we made the decision to charge for this service as only about half of our guests want wifi and therefore it is left to our guests as to whether or not they wish to take this up this option. We charge modest sums for unlimited usage (1-3 night stay - £15, 4-7 night stay - £20, 8-14 night stay - £30). The information is on the website under the tab Facilities. We really wish this information was more prominent but we have no control over where Owners Direct put it on the website. As regards the cleaning products, our difficulty is that we cannot replenish them as and when necessary as we live a couple of hours away and rely on third parties. We put cleaning materials and loo rolls in whenever we go and ask the cleaners not to remove any unused products left in the cottage. We take the point that, although this is a self-catering cottage, perhaps we should make it clear that these items are not supplied. We thank you for your comments and hope that you return in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Beautiful!

  • 5 of 5

A lovely, cosy, warm, welcoming cottage in a secluded setting, but with easy access to local amenities. An easy 10-15 minute walk to the Kinmel Arms, which is a friendly pub serving good food. Also only 10-15 mins walk from the coastal path. A large, secure garden which our chocolate labrador loved. An absolutely wonderful place and highly recommended.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your wonderful review
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Amazing holiday

  • 5 of 5

What a magical place!! Absolutely loved our week stay in this cottage!! Beautiful place, we will be certainly returning! My partner proposed to me while sitting in the sun in the garden and couldn't been a better setting! Thank you :)

  • Review Submitted: Jun 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Congratulations on your engagement! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Ty'n y Graig. We would love you to return. Kind regards, Nia and Rob
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Location

Ty Dderw
Moelfre

Photos

Prices & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Feb half term
25 Feb 2017 - 3 Mar 2017
3 night minimum stay
£402
for 3 nights
From
£134
£575
 
 
March
4 Mar 2017 - 31 Mar 2017
3 night minimum stay
£321
for 3 nights
From
£107
£460
 
 
April
1 Apr 2017 - 21 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
£495
for 3 nights
From
£165
£720
 
 
April
22 Apr 2017 - 5 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£378
for 3 nights
From
£126
£540
 
 
May
6 May 2017 - 26 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£420
for 3 nights
From
£140
£600
 
 
May/June
27 May 2017 - 9 Jun 2017
3 night minimum stay
£495
for 3 nights
From
£165
£700
 
 
June
10 Jun 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
3 night minimum stay
£453
for 3 nights
From
£151
£650
 
 
July
1 Jul 2017 - 7 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
£480
for 3 nights
From
£160
£685
 
 
July
8 Jul 2017 - 14 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
£525
for 3 nights
From
£175
£750
 
 
July
15 Jul 2017 - 21 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
£597
for 3 nights
From
£199
£850
 
 
July/August
22 Jul 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,165
for 7 nights
£1,165
 
 
September
2 Sep 2017 - 15 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£456
for 3 nights
From
£152
£650
 
 
September
16 Sep 2017 - 29 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£420
for 3 nights
From
£140
£600
 
 
October
30 Sep 2017 - 20 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£348
for 3 nights
From
£116
£500
 
 
Half Term
21 Oct 2017 - 27 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£435
for 3 nights
From
£145
£625
 
 
Nov/Dec
28 Oct 2017 - 22 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£336
for 3 nights
From
£112
£475
 
 
Christmas/New Year
23 Dec 2017 - 2 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
£543
for 3 nights
From
£181
£800
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£171
for 3 nights
£400
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £15

Booking Notes:
To book, or if you have any questions, please ring or email us.



Changeover Day:
Changeover day is flexible outside school holidays. In the summer holidays, changeover is usually on a Saturday. Arrival is after 3pm and departure is by 10am.

Notes on prices:
Short breaks are usually Friday to Monday (3 nights) or Monday to Friday (4 nights) and are charged at approximately 70% of the weekly price.

WiFi is available at an additional charge:
1-3 night stay - £10
4-7 night stay - £20
8-14 night stay - £30

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Moelfre in Wales

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • beach
  • village
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
  • There is a modern bathroom with bath and seperate shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Cot
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Single Bed
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 7 (3 Bedroom) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 - kingsize bed, lovely beamed ceiling & walk in wardrobe Bedroom 2 - twin bedroom, decorated in a fresh seaside theme Bedroom 3 -cute single room on ground floor 2nd living room can be used as 4th bedroom - double sofa bed with memory foam
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Couples, families and groups are very welcome. However, for group bookings, there must be at least 2 members of the group over the age of 24 years. All male/female groups, please contact us first. There is no smoking at Ty'n y Graig. Dogs are welcome. WiFi is available at an additional charge: 1-3 night stay - £15 4-7 night stay - £20 8-14 night stay - £30 Outside: Ty'n y Graig cottage has its own large private garden. There are two patio areas with tables and chairs for outside dining, and several other seating areas. There is also a barbecue. There is parking for 1 car. If you need a second parking space, please let us know before you go. Towels / Linen : Bedding is included but you will need to bring your own towels. A delightful thatched cottage within walking distance of the beach. Its layout is such that it feels cosy enough for 2 but is large enough for 7. It is in a lovely setting, with large sunny garden. Easy walk to pubs and restaurants/bistro

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot