OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Ashanti No.3., Minutes Away From The Spectacular Beaches At Gibbes And Mullins

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Apartment in Gibbes, St Peter. - Peaceful Location, 4 Minutes Walk To The Nearest Sandy Beach.

Ashanti is located in the popular Gibbs area between Holetown and Speightstown, each boasting a variety of restaurants, shopping, banking & watersport facilities. Positioned on an elevated lot, the apartment has sea views over the Gibbes residential community. The condominium has a large communal pool, gated security and a dedicated parking spot for residents. The first floor apartment (2nd.floor – for our Friends from the USA!) has three bedrooms with Queen size beds, all of which have air conditioning and en-suite bathroom facilities. All bathrooms contain both bath & shower facilities. Balconies extend from the main living area and master bedroom. Three double rooms collectively sleeping six, comfortably. Bed linen is provided. The kitchen area has the usual appliances including built-in dishwasher, microwave & American fridge with ice dispenser. The living area, in addition to the sea view, has T.V., Satellite, Internet and Telephone facilities.


Property Manager
Gerard Christopher Hurrell
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
18 August, 2017

About Gerard Christopher Hurrell

Maggie & I have enjoyed many family holidays in Barbados and more particularly at Ashanti. It is our "little" place of escape. It is important to us that any visitors enjoy it as much as we do, so please feel free to contact us with any questions.

Gerard Christopher Hurrell purchased this apartment in 2008

Why Gerard Christopher Hurrell chose St. James

We, the whole family, fell in love with the island - the people, the weather, the food, the amenities - for us it is perfection. The west coast, facing the carribean, benefits from beautiful white sandy beaches & gentle waters - for us a dream come true. Easy access to the rest of the island, although we must confess to preferring the ease of using a car.

The most important thing for us is that others enjoy it as much as we do - so feel free to ask us as many questions as you want about Ashanti or Barbados in general.

What makes this apartment unique

The island of Barbados is measures only 20 x 15 miles, so everything is within easy reach. Ashanti is situated in a residential area - if night clubs are your thing that is fine but we didn't wish to live on top of one ! The west coast is the "sort after" part of the island where many well known people choose to live.

Within easy reach are all the west coast beaches enjoying the warm waters of the Caribbean and the breath taking sea view can be constantly enjoyed from our living room & Master Bedroom.

A place of beauty & tranquillity.

Guestbook comments from the manager

"We were so very comfortable in the luxury of your condominium in Barbados. Thank you so much for all the advise and help you provided for us in the rental process." - Debbie G (USA).

"It was fantastic, the apartment was gorgeous and never have I felt so relaxed." - Darren W (UK).

"I can't wait to return, we had the most wonderful holiday ever and the apartment was perfect." - Jan W (UK).
Jan 2012
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Gibbes in Saint James

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • Ocean View
  • resort
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Holiday Complex
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Lift
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • The three luxury bathrooms rooms have WC, bath with shower.Bathrooms are en-suite, with fully tiled floors. Towels are provided as is a hair dryer for use in the apartment.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: The three double bedrooms all have en-suite bathrooms, with bath & shower facilities, one has a secondary door for direct access into the hall area for easy access during the day. All bedrooms benefit from having Queen size beds & fitted wardrobes.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Golf ...
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • rain forests
  • recreation centre
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: This property is situated in a simply beautiful residential location on the sort after west coast of the island. It boasts views across the Carribean. The fixures and fittings, having been designed and fitted by Designer Decor, are of a high standard. Guests also benefit from having an accomdation manager who can be contacted locally should any assistance be required. Outside: The gardens around the condominium are regularly maintained and provide a secluded swimming pool. The shared pool also boasts an external shower facility, with patio furniture provided & the apartment has a barbeque for use by guests. Utility Room: The laundry room contains a washer and dryer combination as well as a Belfast sink. A maid service is provided twice per week for basic cleaning. A more regular maid service can be provided subject to request. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Two sets of towels are provided for guests - White for use inside the apartment and blue for use on the beech. Bed linen is provided and changed regularly by the maid service who will visit twice per week or more regularly on special request. Other: The apartment has a personal safe for guest's use.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)

66% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Ashanti No.3., Minutes Away From The Spectacular Beaches At Gibbes And Mullins
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 7 reviews
4

Ashanti, Barbados Stay

  • 4 of 5

Great location and nice facilities, very clean and the property itself is well maintained. It's only minutes away from a public beach, which was almost private and Mullins Beach Bar was also only a 15 minute walk away. There is easy access to Hole Town and Speights Town for shopping, dinning and grocery stores were only short drives away or available by public transportation.

  • Review Submitted: May 1, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many Thanks for your review and for highlighting the apartments convenient location, cleanliness etc. It is always good to hear our efforts have been appreciated. It was a pleasure having you stay and we look forward to your return.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Boston, Massachusetts
5

Home Away From Home..

  • 5 of 5

This is a little overdue but I would humbly like to apologize and to praise the owner/property manager and all those involved in the upkeep of this property. Myself and 3 others tremendously enjoyed our stay in Mr Hurrell's unit and other than water settling on the porch after it rained, we had NO complaints and would jump at any opportunity to stay here again. The area is away from the hustle and bustle of the high tourist areas of the south coast which also meant enjoying more favorable weather days. Transportation other than public transport is recommended if you are constantly on the go. Thanks for a positively memorable trip.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 12, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Adrian, Many Thanks for your comments. November is, of course, the middle of the "rainy" season, so I'm afraid the occasional puddle of water on the balcony is almost an inevitability. There is no doubt the local bus drivers have their own unique way of driving which is certainly different from that we would normally be used to living in the US or UK. Is this part of the character of the Caribbean or just daunting ? Either thousands of locals use the services every day. We are , of course, delighted you enjoyed our apartment and Barbados in general. It was also our pleasure to have you stay - we look forward to welcoming you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Raleigh, NC
5

Wonderful stay at this beautiful property in a great location!

  • 5 of 5

Four of us recently enjoyed a wonderful holiday at Ashanti No. 3. Located in a quiet, residential area, the building itself is stunning, very clean, and the grounds are well-maintained. Apartment No. 3 itself is very well equipped with everything you need - plenty of linens and towels, dishes, glasses, cutlery, and utensils - and comfortably furnished. There is also plenty of closet space with plenty of coat hangers! The apartment is bright and airy, with wonderful sea views from both balconies - just like the pictures! The rental manager, Jeanne, is really lovely and very helpful. We had a couple of mechanical issues (broken ceiling fan in a bedroom and shower head in one bathroom), but Jeanne arranged the repairs very quickly. She also gave us the best tip for authentic Bajan food - Chris' Place, which is just a short drive up the road and serves amazing food at a very reasonable price! The location is excellent - it really is only a ten minute walk or two minute drive to Gibbs Beach, which we thought was the best beach on the West Coast. From Gibbs Beach, you can walk about half a mile to Mullins Beach for the restaurant and beach bar. There are also numerous great restaurants very close by. All in all, we had a fantastic stay at Ashanti No. 3, and we hope to be back soon!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 29, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many Thanks for your review. We can only apologise for the faulty fan which is now being replaced but hopefully the air conditioning kept you cool. The fan and shower head have now been replaced. Despite your "mechanical issues" you still gave us five stars - Thank You. You have also given a couple of useful tips for future visitors which we hope will only prove of benefit. It was a pleasure having you stay and we look forward to hearing from you when you return. Once again, many thanks.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Washington DC
4

Great Apartment on a Beautiful Island

  • 4 of 5

We (my wife and 3 adult children) had a fantastic holiday in Barbados. The apartment was spacious and clean, and Jeanne (who manages the property) was very helpful.

Although the beach was within walking distance, a car is essential as there are so many beaches to experience across the island. The only downside is the cost of food. Eating out is very expensive and the quality is not great. In particular, avoid De Outback, which is near the apartment. We could not understand how it got good reviews.

This meant that we ate in the apartment on a few evenings, and apart from a can opener that didn't work, the kitchen was well equipped. It was great to sit on the balcony and take in a spectacular view. I thoroughly recommend this apartment.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are pleased you had "a fantastic holiday" and that you "thoroughly recommend this apartment". The can opener has now been replaced but as we say to all our guests should you experience any problems please contact our apartment manager immediately so as to allow us to rectify whatever is necessary at the time. We would always recommend a car if it is your wish to visit beaches across the island but within easy walking distance you have both Gibbes and Mullens beaches.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Amazing stay!

  • 5 of 5

We just spent two wonderful weeks at Ashanti. The only down side was it was too short. The apartment had everything we could need for our stay. There were 6 of us for the first week, and it was plenty big enough for us. Beautiful views from the deck, nice pool area, and close to everything we wanted. This was our 10th time to Barbados, and Ashanti is right in the area we love. We will definately be back, and would recommend it to anyone. We like to have a car there, but many people did not, and were walking distance to the beach and buses, if need be. I would be happy to answer any questions anyone may have. Jeanne and Collis were always available, if we had questions or needed anything. Thanks so much for making this a vacation to remember. Thanks Gerry!!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 22, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for this review. We are obviously delighted you enjoyed Ashanti and look forward to having you back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent Service, excellent Location :-))

  • 5 of 5

After finding ourselves having to change our accommodation at the very last minute, Gerry the owner was a life saver, although the property was undergoing decoration he and his lovely and very helpful Housekeeper Jeanne managed to organise everything, making sure we were comfortable at all times.

Having been to Barbados many times, we found this home to be in an ideal location, central to everything with a very good bus service. Beaches are within walking distance. The view is simply breathtaking. The property itself is kept very clean and simply delightful.

I can highly recommend it to everyone, especially if it's your first visit to Barbados and Island life.

Many thanks and gratitude.

Debra Haughey & Co

  • Review Submitted: Aug 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for this kind review, particularly when it comes from an experienced traveller to the island. We really do try to ensure everyone enjoys Ashanti as much as we do, but its great when we know our efforts have been appreciated. Thank You.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
30 Kilometres
Grantley Adams
Nearest Beach
400 Metres
Gibbes
Car: recommended

Coast/Beach:

The nearest beech is Gibbes Beach, approx four minutes gentle walk from the apartment. Gibbes is a quiet beach benefiting from the beautiful white sands that hug the west coast of barbados along with the warm caribbean waters. The popular tourist beach of Mullins is approx ten minutes walk from which a variety of water activities are available including jet skies, water skiing & a wide range of boat rides.

Travel:

Barbados has one international airport - Grant Stanley. Approx 30 minutes drive from Ashanti located to the east of Bridgetown (the island capital). The port of Bridgetown is situated on the west side of the capital (approx 20 minutes drive from Ashanti) and is visited on a very regualr basis by cruise liners. A Very regular bus services run along the west coast road (approx three minutes walk from Ashanti) providing easy access to the noth & south of Barbados. Some guests prefer car hire.

Distances:

The nearest main towns are Holetown to the south (approx. 3 miles) and Sprightstown to the north (approx 2 miles). Both towns have supermarkets and a variety of shops, banks & restaurants for every taste. Holetown is the larger of the two and boasts a number of designer stores from which visitors to the island may purchase goods exempt from VAT. There are, of course, shops more local to the apartment for day to day needs.

Further Details:

Holetown & Sprightstown, situated to the south & north of Gibbes, have banks, supermarkets, shops etc. Restaurants are numerous along the west coast to suit every taste & pocket.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Gibbes, Barbados

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Nightly Rate
26 Sep 2017 - 23 Oct 2017
7 night minimum stay
£7
for 7 nights
From
£1
£3,840
 
 
Nightly Rate
20 Nov 2017 - 20 Nov 2017
7 night minimum stay
£959
for 7 nights
From
£137
£3,840
 
 
High Season
15 Dec 2017 - 2 Apr 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,057
for 7 nights
From
£151
£4,230
 
 
Nightly Rate
3 Apr 2018 - 30 Apr 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,057
for 7 nights
From
£151
£4,230
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£960
for 7 nights
£960
£3,840
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
Booking can be made by contacting the owner direct via email. A 25%, non-refundable, deposit is required with booking, the balance will be due six weeks prior to arrival.

Changeover Day:
Changeover days are flexible. Normally arrival is after noon, and the apartment to be vacated by 10:00 am of day of departure. However, we are used to international tourists and will try to accomodate specific flight times on request.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Available
Unavailable