Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Almost Sitting on the Beach at Whitehills. Watch the whales and dolphins.

Bedrooms 3
Separate WCs1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Fireplace
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet
  • Parking


About the property

Cottage in Whitehills, Banff area, Grampian, Scotland - Seaside Cottage

Whale cottage is a historic fisherman's cottage almost sitting on the beach at whitehills. It is aptly named because passing whales can sometimes be seen from the windows. The cottage has 3 bedrooms and can comfortably sleep 5 or 7 if the sofa bed is used in the lounge. The cottage benefits from two lounges and the kitchen has a table and chairs for 7 people. There is a downstairs bathroom with a shower over the bath and an upstairs wc and sink. Most of the rooms have sea views.

Laura Riley
Member since: 2006
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
18 June, 2018

Guestbook comments from the owner

"We enjoyed our stay in the Whale Cottage in Whitehills very much. The location of the cottage is stunning. We liked especially the Kitchen and the Whale Watching snug. So this was not our last visit in this beautiful area, that's for sure."
Jan 2012
  • 1 of 1


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Whitehills in Aberdeenshire

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • Ocean View
  • rural
  • waterfront
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Toilet 1 - Toilet
  • The downstairs bathroom has a bath with shower over. There is an upstairs toilet with wash hand basin.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 7 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 has a kingsize double bed with a fitted wardrobe. Bedroom 2 has a kingsize double bed with clothes hanging space. Bedroom 3 has a large single bed.
  • Books
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Golf ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Notes on accommodation: The cottage is heated by electric storage heaters and convectors. There is a Victorian fireplace with stove in the lounge. There are books, games and toys. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: The beds are made up with fresh white linen for your arrival and towels are provided for use within the cottage only. The cottage will be cleaned before your arrival and weekly cleaning is available thereafter. Other: The "Whale Watching Snug" is an additional living room with small sofa and chairs. Spectacular views out to sea from where whales and dolphins can be seen. There is a selection of books and games provided.


3.3/5 -
(3 traveller reviews)

0% Complete
33% Complete
66% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Almost Sitting on the Beach at Whitehills. Watch the whales and dolphins.
average rating of 3.3333333 based on 4 reviews

Lovely cottage - very quiet location. Highly recommended

  • 4 of 5

Lovely cottage - very quiet location. Spent an excellent week at Whale cottage. Walking distance to the beautiful sandy beach near Banff. Cottage a short walk to little restaurant (expensive but great food) and close to a small convenience store and fish and chip shop (best fish and chips - I have ever tasted). As a working fishing village Whitehills has its own local caught fresh fish shop. Locals very friendly.

The cottage is clean and tidy and has everything to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Upstairs : 3 double beds (2 big bedrooms and 1 small bedroom) and ground level : nice living room with a small connected room with views overlooking the sea second to none. Kitchen has you need if you want to cook a meal yourself. Large bathroom/shower room. Good communication from the owner (Laura) prior to arriving ensuring no problems and all electrical equipment in the cottage have full instructions, again making the holiday stress free.

  • Review Submitted: 08-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Mixed review

  • 3 of 5

We had a lovely time in Whitehills - its a cute village and nice little port. There is also a great park for children. We just wanted a getaway to relax. Generally the cottage is cute - small but cute. It has the basics there and enough to cook and eat with.

Unfortunately I had some grumbles which I passed onto the owner. Funnily enough similar to the previous reviewer on here I did not get an answer. I sent a second one nearly a week later and still no reply. Strange...I know most owners don't want any negativity on these sites but when the feedback is ignored, I feel the need to share it...

Similar to the previous review - the pots and pans were covered in gunk which needed a good scrubbing. Yuck!

There were crumbs on all the chairs in the kitchen - we needed to give these a good wipedown

The advertisement said there was a wood burner. Funnily enough there were a few sticks and paper but no wood or matches for that matter. Had to pop to Coop for that and it was out of our pocket

The place was freezing when we arrived - no one had bothered to set the briquette heaters at the right setting for the heat to come through. Disappointing as it was a bit cold to stay downstairs and watch TV

I didn't really get bothered too much - but in the last review the tenants complained about the spring that had gone in the chair. Not fixed yet! Yeah its antique and all but you can still fix that kind of stuff.

Hey ho - overall its nice but we paid quite a bit of money for this place and kind of expected a certain level. Take what you will.....

  • Review Submitted: 31-May-2014
  • Date of Stay: May 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are pleased you enjoyed your stay although sorry that you had a few grumbles. I did reply to your email asking for more details about your complaints so that I could get to the bottom of your complaint. To date you have not replied to my email which I will email out again. The last time we had a complaint about a dirty pan it turned out that the guest in question was attempting to remove the non stick coating! It may be that some of the pans are worn and need to be removed although of course we cannot supply new pans to every guest. We are somewhat puzzled by your complaints since the guests before your 2 day stay and the guests after your 2 day stay were very happy with the cleanliness and made no complaint about the chair in question.Our housekeepers are not employed to wash the pots and pans since this is the responsibility of the guests nevertheless from time to time they do have to do this. They also do not have time to check every utensil that has been put away by previous guests on every occasion. Our housekeeper works very hard and very very rarely gets complaints despite the fact that this cottage is booked out for most of the year. As far as the antique chair is concerned it is an antique and as such is not suitable to people of all weights. There is plenty of other seating that is modern and more robust. We generally trust that our guests will exercise correct judgement as to where they decide to sit. The chair is not broken but just needs to be avoided by our heavier guests and not treated roughly. I have had 2 grown men attempt to replicate your problem without success. Most of our guests seem to be able to appreciate the antique chair. The storage heaters had been put on prior to your arrival. It had been quite hot before you arrived so the input was not sent to maximum hence we are sorry that you judged it was too cold. We do not supply fuel for the fire since we cannot expect our housekeepers to lift it or fetch it. Fuel is available at most garages and many supermarkets. I am afraid that we do not state anywhere that we supply it. You might also be interested to know that Whale Cottage is one of the larger cottages in Whitehills with 3 bedrooms, 2 lounges, a dining kitchen, bathroom and separate wash room up stairs. Nevertheless we take our guests grumbles seriously (!) so if you could find the time to reply to my email I can perhaps get to the bottom of your grumbles! We much prefer it when our guests are completely happy.
Did you find this review helpful?
10 1

needs attention

  • 3 of 5

Attention should be paid to the things that count. The two larger beds had sheets that didn't fit the bed, when you got in the bed the sheets came off the mattress. The frying pan had all cooked food left on it, there was a layer of dust on the television unit, the chair near the TV had a spring missing and when you sat on it you slipped into a hole. There was nowhere to dry your damp washing, there was a lack of small pyrex dishes etc. only 3 large plates when we needed 5.

On arrival there was a horrendous smell of fish we had to pop and get a Febreze air freshner that soon did the trick.

I emailed the owner but didnt even get a reply. Makes you wonder if people care about our views.

The best part about the cottage is the beautiful snug, with a lovely view of the sea, absolutely priceless.

  • Review Submitted: 24-Oct-2013
  • Date of Stay: October 2013
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am currently away on holiday but I can assure you that since receiving your email on the 20 October (today it is the 25th) we have been thoroughly investigating your complaint as it is very unusual to receive any complaints regarding our cottage. Indeed many of our guests return year after year. I have spoken to the housekeeper and our house keeping manager who has been out to conduct a full stock take. I can tell you that our housekeeper was very upset by your comments since she takes great pride in her work and has never received a complaint before. We found that the sheets supplied to you on the king size beds were king sized fitted sheets. They are unfortunately a bit tight and we are therefore changing them for flat sheets. I am very sorry indeed, if my cleaner has missed dust on the television cabinet, or not cleaned the frying pan properly. There are two types of dinner plate supplied in the cottage. There are very large dinner plates and smaller dinner plates but they are all defined as dinner plates per the major retailer that sells them. When you left the cottage there were 3 very large dinner plates and 4 smaller dinner plates. We have now added in further dinner plates in order to have a complete set of all matching sized dinner plates. There are several metal oven dishes but we have now added some oven proof stoneware dishes.Occasionally, after bad weather and depending on the tides, there may be a build up of seaweed on the beach. That may have caused the smell you mention. There are also a few small local fishing boats arriving in the harbour/marina. That is part of living in a fishing village. We have had no similar complaints from any of our other guests at this cottage. With regard to your further complaints submitted to Owners Direct today. As regards drying facilities we supply the following:an airer within the cottage, a heated towel rail in the bathroom, a washing line outside the cottage.The chair by the television is an antique Queen Anne chair. Today is the first time we been informed of a problem with it, and our maintenance person has been asked to attend.We are sorry that you did not give us the opportunity to address the issues within our control during your stay. We want all of our guests to have the best holiday possible.However I am pleased that you enjoyed the sea views and that overall you enjoyed your holiday.You said in your original email that you had had a lovely holiday which we hope will be your over riding memory.
Did you find this review helpful?
11 4


Car: recommended


0 miles to Whitehills beach. Many good beaches within walking distance.


Aberdeen is the nearest city and is only 45 miles south. The city has an international airport, railway and bus stations providing onward travel links throughout the UK and beyond. The highland capital of Inverness is the next nearest city and like Aberdeen has an airport and good train links. It is advisable to have use of a car to fully appreciate what the area has to offer. However the village does have a local bus service to Banff (4 miles).


To the west is Portsoy which boasts the first harbour to be established on the Moray Firth coast in the 17th century. There are several other coastal villages which are worth a visit. The nearest towns of Banff and Macduff (4 miles) offer more choice of shops, restaurants and leisure activities. The Marine Aquarium in Macduff is well worth a visit as is Duff House Art Gallery and the Scottish Lighthouse Museum in Fraserburgh (23 miles). You could also discover the Whisky or Castle Trail.

Further Details:

Within the village all the basic services are provided. There are a couple of grocery shops, a post office, butchers, bakery and of course a good local pub which serves food. The nearby towns of Banff and Macduff will offer a wider range of shops and services.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Whitehills, United Kingdom

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £50

Booking Notes:
25% deposit required at time of booking. Balance to be paid within 2 calendar months of the arrival date. Full terms and conditions listed on owners website. Pet an additional £15.

Changeover Day:
Change over day is Saturday. Departure by 10am please. Arrival from 4pm. Short or longer breaks may also be available. Please contact owner for details.

Notes on prices:
Prices are for the property per week in UK pounds.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question