Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Fabulous Lake District Farmhouse Views Of Outstanding Beauty in the Eden Valley

Bedrooms 5
Space 2,000 sq ft
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Popular Features
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Internet
  • Parking


About the property

Farmhouse in Stainmore, Nr. Kirkby Stephen, Cumbria, England - A Peaceful Paradise With Fantastic Wildlife, Scenery And Easy Access To Wide Ranging Activities

A hidden gem Littlethwaite offers luxury accommodation with all the benefits of home comforts. All the living rooms give different atmospheres aimed at creating a sense of total relaxation. The kitchen which opens onto a large conservatory with easy seating for 12 or more has every catering need and panoramic views. Its unique location just above Argill Beck a special conservation park and medieval woodland is home to an array of wild birds, roaming deer and beautiful butterflies. A magic fragrant landscape where wild orchids grow with swathes of primroses and banks of bluebells when in season. the variety of places you can visit from this base are never ending from a unique underground shopping experience at Rheged to a wild and wonderful labyrinth The Forbidden Corner or just indulge in the local ice cream parlour beneath Brough Castle. In the evenings there are lots places to eat out locally just a ten minute drive or takeaways from Indian; Chinese or traditional fish and chips!

Susan Wilmot-Josife
Member since: 2011
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
19 June, 2018

About Susan Wilmot-Josife

Our family lives permanently in Somerset although we love our holiday and weekends away including our beloved Littlethwaite Farmhouse. We have three dogs, a cat and chickens and love the rural life but enjoy true comfort and modern day conveniences. We are a highly creative family and all the children are musical and actors too! Entertainment; parties and special events are always on the calender. We are very lucky that we hold special venues at Littlethwaite through The Eden Conservatory a special educational cutting edge social enterprise which fills up our spare time.

Why Susan Wilmot-Josife chose Kirkby Stephen

We purchased Littlethwaite in 2004 after months of searching Cumbria and North Yorkshire for our rural idyllic retreat when we discovered the Eden Valley. As advertised by the tourism office it is a hidden gem that offers some of the most outstanding countryside in the North.

With a teenage family we wanted easy access to a wide range of activities and services as well as peace and tranquility.

We completely renovated the property, installing a large kitchen with a specially designed granite dining table which leads onto the conservatory with views that take your breath away.

Our first Christmas it snowed and again it was magic for us. We live in Somerset and relish our times at Littlethwaite. Our visitors comments share our own view that this is "a very special place".

What makes this farmhouse unique

So many things to do locally, first of course is to simply enjoy the most amazing scenery. The house sits in the second largest area of outstanding natural beauty in Europe. Argill Beck a few minutes walk from the gardens; a woodland since medieaval times is almost untouched with wild birds, roaming deer,and beautiful butterflies amongst the fragrant wild orchids. Kirkby Stephen the nearby market town offers lots of places to wine and dine. 15 minutes to Barnard Castle and the famous Bowes museum or drive up to Tan Hill the highest pub in England with musical events and sheep in the bar! Not forgetting the Lakes and local award winning Ullswater Steamers with cruises. Waterfalls too many to mention. Home made ice cream at Church Brough and Divine Cakes and tea at Augill Castle next door!


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday farmhouse in Kirkby Stephen in Stainmore

Property Type:
  • farmhouse
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
  • Please leave all windows shut when going out strong winds can break them if not. Please do not wear shoes upstairs.
Location Type:
  • rural
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
  • En-suite jack and jill style to Bedroom 1 and 2 with luxury double walk in Merlin power rain shower Italian marble tiles. Family bathroom with extra long Heritage bath and over shower; twin basins and a separate double mira power shower with Italian marble tiles.
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 10 (5 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with super king bed and en-suite. Bedrooms 2 and 3 with double bed. Bedroom 4 with twin beds. Bedroom 5 luxury double sofabed.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • caving
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes on accommodation: Hampers can be arranged. Outside: A delightful wrap around garden packed with a wide range of plants and established trees which all add to the charm at Littlethwaite. Double barbeque with seating for 12 and a separate table for a more intimate meal under the stars. Through either gate you are in the land of extraordinary beauty with walks to live for. Down in the Beck you will find your soul whilst listening to the stillness of an untouched place except for the sound of waterfalls and birdsong. There is so much to discover in this landscape whether you are a group needing a real restful break or wild family looking for adventure it is all here. Utility Room: Washing machine, tumble dryer iron and ironing board and airer for clothes. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Luxury towels both bath sheets and hand Egyptian cotton bed linen; goose down pillows for extra comfort. The property is cleaned weekly on departure but can be provided additionally by negotiation for midweek. Other: Conservatory with seating for 12 or more underfloor heating and views take you to another place of total relaxation watching wildlife against wild landscapes and dramatic skies.


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)

66% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
Fabulous Lake District Farmhouse Views Of Outstanding Beauty in the Eden Valley
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 6 reviews

Stunning views! Peaceful and relaxing

  • 4 of 5

We stayed here for the Spring bank holiday weekend and it was fantastic. The location is tucked away down a tiny track away from hustle n bustle but not too remote that you cant find lots of things to do. The house is well equipped and well presented. The bedrooms and bathrooms are immaculate, great showers with great water pressure. It is a real home so everything you could possibly need is provided. The conservatory is warm n cosy with impressive views.. we didn't move from there until after dark and when we did we lit a real fire in the log burner in the living room. I would recommend a stay here if you love countryside walks.. or even if you don't just to completly relax. There is lots of space for larger parties or families.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Clean, smart and beautifully positioned property

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic long weekend at this property. For the space and location, it is excellent value for money. 6 adults and four children under four there was plenty of space for the children to play and the underfloor heating made the large and light conservatory a cosy space throughout the day. The area was quiet with fields of sheep and lambs around. It was clean, well supplied and had all the appliances we needed for the weekend. The caretaker and cleaner were quick to solve a slight issue we had with keys and very friendly to boot. We highly recommend to others and will return ourselves if we are it the area again. Thank you!

  • Review Submitted: 30-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 3

Outstanding Cottage even for larger groups!!

  • 5 of 5

A stunning, spacious and beautiful property with a mix of modern and rustic look in a rural, untouched, picturesque, location away from all hustle bustle of life. Very tastefully decorated and very well looked after. Do not forget your wellies and a torch. It can get pitch dark at night. You can surely get very close to nature. There are few animals to watch in the walking path right next to the property like black and white sheep's, horse, pigs, cows and even a ram. You can easily spend a week in the house either getting comfy and cosy indoor, enjoying the beautiful scenery or get active by exploring different walking trails around. The owner of the property Susan is an amazing lady, very helpful, accommodating and friendly. She is very passionate about her family house so better keep it clean and spotless. She even helped us out with a swap of our holiday dates at the last minute without any hesitation. Best holiday cottage in the UK that we have been in so far. All our friends including kids were in praise of the property, location and the fun times we have had there. We will definitely be a regular customer for Susan from now and would recommend littlethwaite (truly a little slice of heaven) to everyone. Highly recommended. Worth every penny spent.

  • Review Submitted: 23-Sep-2016
  • Date of Stay: September 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 3

Beautiful Farmhouse with the amazing views

  • 5 of 5

From the initial booking we were given plenty of information on the property and location. On arrival we were made to feel very welcome and everything in the property was well equipped and in pristine condition, there were plenty of towels a fabulous luxury bathroom a contemporary kitchen with a large conservatory over looking the garden and astonishing views. I will be returning within the next few months but staying longer to have more time to visit the local attractions. I would highly recommend a visit

  • Review Submitted: 16-Jun-2016
  • Date of Stay: June 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so glad you enjoyed your stay....
Did you find this review helpful?
1 5

Xmas Stay

  • 2 of 5

We booked this property based on the traveling distance from the airport stated on the page. It is much further than you think (it took us 1hour 50 from Manchester with very little traffic) and the traveling had a huge impact on our stay. There are no curtains in any of the rooms, so if you are prone to waking up early with the light streaming through the windows this would affect you. On departure we where accused of stealing cutlery. We have asked the owner for her details to pursue this matter but she refuses to give those details. She promised reports and videos from the cleaners who said we had also left rubbish but so far has not forwarded these. I would advise anybody staying to take photographs of the cutlery, plates, pots and pans on arrival and leaving so you can not be accused of stealing. It's a nice venue, the kitchen/conservatory is fantastic for family meals and would imagine its normally well maintained. However we couldn't use one of the bedrooms due to storm damage and rain coming in through the roof. In another room we had another leek and had a wet carpet. The toilets would not flush properly and we had to use buckets for the week as a plumber could not come out in time. The owners response was that we didn't need the bedroom - this meant that our teenage daughter had to share a bedroom with two teenage boys. We where open to this so as not to cause a fuss at Xmas and did not complain about the wet carpet and having to use buckets and getting the property maintenance out on our first day.

  • Review Submitted: 02-Mar-2016
  • Date of Stay: December 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I have left some time before responding to the above review from the guests who stayed at Christmas 2015. Like so many last Christmas we were affected by the storms and unprecedented levels of rainfall. The first opportunity we went to check all was well and our faithful longstanding caretaker made sure that the guests were happy.It was Christmas for everyone and as we were abroad we had made several calls given the weather conditions. On arrival our caretaker was informed by the guests that as half of the party had chosen not to come they did not need to use the one bedroom that had some rain which had come through the old chimney breast. Somewhat different from the review account. The toilets were working after his visit and I am sorry to say that this review is biased due to the fact that these guests damaged the property so the deposit was withheld.The cost of repairs was more than triple the damages deposit. They failed to close a bedroom window which buckled the frame and smashed it. We had to use an industrial cleaner as the carpets were so badly soiled. The cleaning company did provide video/photos as they do for all cleans before and after; these and numerous emails were sent to the guest to make sure every detail was fair and clear. As the guests went to another house for Christmas lunch we thought perhaps this was the reason for the missing cutlery. We have never used the word or accused this guest of "stealing". This however was their terminology. We do not have curtains as the property is remote and pitch black except for the wonderful starlit skies at night which we love and this is our home. The vast majority of our guests have no complaints sadly it is almost always only those who have damaged the house where there is a problem. The cleaning company is totally independent of the caretaker so both make the house check to ensure we offer a wonderful place to stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
11 4

Stunning property location breathtaking

  • 5 of 5

I would highly recommend this property! It was well equipped a real home from home experience the showers are amazing and we even saw a roe deer and red squirrel in the garden whilst sitting in the beautiful conservatory. Location is simply breathtaking while still in reasonable distance from main routes to explore the lakes,and surrounding counties. This property suited our large families needs and the owner was attentive and very helpful. We would certinally recommend this property to anyone very reasonably priced for the location and size you get a lot for your money ! Can't wait to return 2016

  • Review Submitted: 14-Feb-2016
  • Date of Stay: September 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 7


Car: necessary

Special interest holidays:

During the year we hold special events under the banner of ~The Eden Conservatory. These are weekend courses in the main for women and are about self discovery and the imagination/creativity. We have guest speakers and complementary health services and link events to our friends at Augill Castle.


Whether it is a trip to the east or west coasts we are about an hour and a half from some of the most spectacular sandy beaches in England. As a family we have had many a fantabulous day out. It requires an early start but it is so worth it!!


Both Manchester and Newcastle Airports are about one hour 20 minutes away from Littlethwaite.

Further Details:

Six minutes to the local 24/7 shop in Brough for all main grocery/newspaper/video hire etc. 10 minutes to Kirkby Stephen our market town with every facility including supermarkets; restaurants; several coffee shops; gift shops; antique and speciality shops; pubs and even a health club/spa.

5 mins to Augill Castle our friends with fantastic eating events weddings etc. 8 mins to Church Brough Ice Cream Parlour... oh so wicked! 20-30 mins to waterfalls, lake, museums and 70 tourist spotslights!


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Damage Deposit £250

Booking Notes:
We can take payment for booking by Paypal (please request website). Or we can accept payment by bank transfer. We can only hold a provisional booking for 24 hours. 50% is payable on booking with the balance due 6 weeks prior to your start date. Bookings within 6 weeks of the start of your holiday require full payment. Bookings cancelled less than 6 weeks prior to the start date payments are non refundable.

Changeover Day:
We prefer Friday as a start to the booking. Arrival time is flexible. We are happy to consider all options if it is possible.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.