OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Single Storey Villa Calma w/Private Pool, Near Amenities & Sandy Beaches

Overview

Property

Updated: 23-Oct-2016
Villa in Playa Flamenca, Costa Blanca South, Spain - Peaceful Location, 2 Minutes Walk from Supermarket, 10 Minutes Easy Walk from the Sea

Villa Calma has been our home for 14 years. We have decided to let it for the summer months. Playa Flamenca is an ideal holiday destination. There are 2 sandy beaches, both with blue flags and beach bars 10 minutes walk away. Restaurants and shops are nearby. For safe access there is an underpass under the main road. Flamenca Beach complex with many restaurants, bars and shops is an easy walk away as is the new and exciting Zenia boulevard with it's many shops. cafes and entertainments. In fact if you walk for 10 minutes in any direction you will find bars restaurants and a very popular Saturday street market. None of these are so close as to disturb your peace. The villa has a 23' x 16' lounge diner and the rest of the rooms are a good size.

  • Sleeps 6
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Swimming pool
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Accept Credit Cards

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Lorna and I married in 1970. I had been self employed in business all my working life and Lorna joined me as she had secretarial skills. As a result of a car accident in 1992 I had to give up my building firm and went into property letting. We bought Villa Calma in 1999 and our Condo in Bahama Bay 5 years later. We now let both of them successfully and split our time between one of our properties in the UK and Villa Calma.

Speaks English

Guestbook comments from the manager

Thank you for letting us have your home for 2 weeks.



The villa more than satisfied our requirements (thank heaven for the air-con), and the pool was superb. We loved our midnight dips (nice and quiet though, for the neighbours).





As this was our first DIY holiday we could find no fault, from our original contact with yourself to meeting Tony at the airport to being dropped off for our return.



Ian, Scotland.



I would like to say that we all had a fantastic holiday at Villa calma and every thing was just perfect we all felt at home there we loved the pool, the villa and the area and there is nothing we would have changed.

I am interested in knowing whether you are renting it out next year as we would all love to book it for another holiday next year maybe for 10 or 14 days as we found that a week was certainly not long enough.



Hope to hear from you soon

Many Thanks



Valerie
Sep 2011
  • 1 of 1

12 Reviews

4.8
based on 12 holidaymaker reviews

5

Fabulous Villa

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the Villa Calma for 2 weeks and had a wonderful time. The villa is spotless and well looked after by Sandra & Tony (such a lovely couple and a pleasure to meet). Tony also does a wonderful job with the pool. The villa is in a great location within walking distance of the beach, many restaurants, Zenia Boulevard and the Saturday market. Thank you Graham & Lorna for the use of your wonderful home in the sun.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 22, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for letting me know that you enjoyed your holiday. Villa Calma was our home for many years and we still enjoy our visits. We explored the Mediterranean coast from the French border to the Costa del Sol and decided that Playa Flamenca was the place for us. When we arrived there was only one supermarket and one Chinese Restaurant. Since then there we have been lucky enough to have lots of facilities developed within easy walking distance but not so close to be a nuisance. I particularly enjoy shopping for fruit and Veg at the market and sitting in the one of the cafes in the Boulevard watching the world go by. Sandra and Tony have looked after the villa for us since we started letting. I am sure that they enjoy meeting our guests and I am pleased that you enjoyed meeting them. Graham and Lorna.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Aberdeenshire
5

Fantastic

  • 5 of 5

This is our 3rd time at Villa Calma, so that pretty much tells you what we think about it!! Fabulous. From the lovely welcome we got from Sandra & Tony who look after the Villa on behalf of Graham & Lorna, and I must say it is spotless!! I can honestly say the photos do not do it justice. All the information we received from Graham was very easy to understand and also very thorough. The house is well maintained but it is there home so I wouldn't expect anything else. Very close to the beach, supermarkets, restaurants and a huge shopping centre about 5mins walk from the Villa. I would certainly recommend this beautiful Villa to anyone, and because everything is close by you really do not need to hire a car.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 20, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for you kind review. Lorna and i are delighted that you had a good time. We try to make the Villa as welcoming as possible. I spent 3 weeks there with my wife in the spring. With any house there are always things to do. Sandra and Tony look after it well for us and Tony helped me with some of the jobs while we were there. We chose that part of Playa Flamenca for the place for our villa and we were fortunate as the builder changed to the original plans of it to our specification. When we decided that we would like a home in the sun we explored the Mediterranean coast from the French border to Gibraltar and decided tha Playa Flamenca was the place. It was fairly flat we did not want to be struggling up hills it was close to the sea and there were shops and restaurants. Since then the area has matured and improved, the latest improvement is Zennia Boulivard.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous Villa

  • 5 of 5

This was our second visit to Villa Calma. It is a most comfortable and welcoming house which is beautifully appointed and very well equipped. Everything is spotlessly clean and the couple,

Sandra and Tony, who look after the villa are so helpful and pleasant. Both the inside and outside are very well maintained. The pool is a major attraction and the villa is conveniently situated for shopping and the beach. I would have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this accommodation.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 13, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Lynn, Thanks for your kind words my wife and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our villa. Graham.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Holding Deposit

  • 3 of 5

Villa very nice to stay in, a bit tired but okay, we were there for 4 months, felt we were living in some else's home with all the photographs and personal belongings everywhere .

Oven not working properly and dirty cannot tell the temperature, washing machine is workable but doesn't drain on certain programs so be warned you will get a wet floor

We stayed for 4 months and the owner agreed with us that on receipt of an itemised electric bill we would pay in full the electricity we consumed, despite us chasing the owner no such bill has been received instead we were told what the charge was ( which was a estimate) and was expected to pay it which was rather high as we did not use the air con or heating. we paid for our own gas bottles. But under protest we did pay the requested amount

The cleaning equipment was inadequate and we left the place clean and tidy and we agreed as we were staying for 4 months the would be no deduction for cleaning, nevertheless we cleaned and kept the villa to a high standard.. a week after leaving the villa the owner has deducted £18 for mopping the living room floor

We even cleaned his pool and id all the gardening and pressure washed all his outside tiles.

Considering we paid a lot of money for 4 months rental he has been very mean...be aware and get everything in writing before you rent and make sure you confirm in writing the standard of the villa on arrival and it is very tired and needs some TLC

Villa situated on a noisy road , lot of traffic, he is selling so get a lot of estate agents knocking on the door!!!

  • Review Submitted: May 3, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I was a bit surprised by the tone of this review, it started quite nice and turned into a tirade. I agreed to let Richard use our villa for a four month stay over winter. After agreeing to let him stay he told me about the dog, then he wanted to arrive late and leave late, neither of these things suited me but it seemed churlish to say no. - Starting from the bottom of his review. “He is selling”. Richard told me that an estate agent had called, - one estate agent. This man called me in England and then emailed me. How did he get my contact details? I did not give them to him!! At some time I may sell, at present the villa is left to our children. Richard complains about our pictures etc. in the villa, these were only decorative or useful items!! The big problem was the electricity bill. Richard agreed to pay everything apart from the first €50 per month which I agreed to pay, so that they were not paying for the standing charge or that used by the pool pump. They then quibbled about paying for their share at the end of their stay. I was not able to get an electricity bill from the supplier but I did phone them and get an assurance that the amount that I had paid was not an estimated bill. If something was not clean enough they should have called the housekeeper. They seem to think that they should have a medal because they cleaned the house during their 4 month stay. They paid the going rate for a long stay, however they did not have to pay for water, phone, broadband or council tax and then they say that they paid a lot. They make one valid point, read the conditions of the rental. Also take notice of what you are told. Had they followed my instructions they could have saved on the electricity. They will not be welcome back
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Lovely villa in a great location

  • 5 of 5

There were 6 in our party including 2 children and 2 grandparents and Villa Calma was ideal for us all. It is in a good location, close to a supermarket and there are lots of different restaurants and bars at CC Playa Flamenca which is a 10 minute walk away. The villa has everything you need and would recommend it and return in the future. We felt quite emotional when we left after such a lovely holiday.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 30, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, Thank you for your kind words. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Villa Calma and will be pleased to hear from you should you decide that you would like to stay again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
North Wales
5

Villa Calma

  • 5 of 5

5 of us stayed at Villa Calma from the 7th to 14th August 2014, eldest 76 to the youngest at 16. The weather was hot at a daily 35*c+ so the pool was used a lot. From the first enquiry to arriving home yesterday all contact with Graham the owner was faultless. The villa is fantastic, all needs catered for. Choice of outside/shaded areas. Tony and Sandra who look after the villa are great. Everything is close at hand with the Mercadona 3 minutes walk down the road, beach/excellent choice of restaurants/ Zenia Boulevard shopping mall (which the girls visited several times) all within a 15 minutes walk therefore car not required. If you're after a relaxing time in the sun this villa fits the bill. Recommended.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 15, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

From the Owner

We wanted a place that was near to the sea, where it was fairly flat and with amenities close by. We started looking on the French border and followed the coast all the way down to Marbella. We loved the coves at Playa Flamenca, the Mercadona supermarket was close by and it was relatively flat so that if we decided to go for a walk we would not have to struggle up and down hills. Since then the area has developed, we now have a huge choice of supermarkets restaurants and a street market on a Saturday. Fortunately none of these are so close as to be a nuisance.

Activity and Interests

Coast/Beach:

The two beaches at Playa Flamenca are both about 10 minutes walk away, half a mile. Both have blue flags there is a first aid station between the two and both have beach bars. To the left of these are several small beaches that can only be accessed on foot. to the right you can walk around the headland to the beaches at La Zenia and then on again to the two beaches at Cabo Roig. La Zenia and Cabo Roig beaches are all blue flag.

Travel:

The nearest airports are Alicante, 40 miles and Murcia 20 miles. If you want to come by car Santander and Bilbao are about 500 - 600 miles away and the french ports a bit more than 1000 miles. I can recommend people who will transport you from either airport.

Distances:

Torrevieja is about 5 miles up the coast. Alicante 50 miles. Cartagena about 30 miles and the city of Murcia is about 40 miles.

Availability

Rental rates

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £200

Booking Notes:
To reserve the villa I will need a 20% deposit the balance will be payable one month before your date of arrival. I will also need a security deposit of £200 two weeks before you arrive. This will be returned to you, hopefully without any deductions, after you have returned home and after the cleaner has prepared the villa for the next guests. We charge €65 towards the cleaning charge, this is to be paid on arrival.

Changeover Day:
The changeover day is flexible. Normal departure time is 10.30 arrival time is 16.00. Some times we can be flexible about this but not always. If you want to leave your cases in the garden until it is time to leave that is OK.

The security deposit is due 2 weeks before your date of arrival

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter your travel dates
Updated: 23-Oct-2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

From the Owner

This has been home for many years. You will get the advantage of a good cable TV system showing the most popular British channels. Our wireless broadband, and free calls to all of Europe with the exception of Spain. If you want to see sports on giant screens several of the bars provide that service. If you are able to walk for ten minutes you will have an enormous choice of shops bars and restaurants including the fantastic Zenia Boulivard. the sea is 10 minutes walk away and of course you will have the use of our infinity type pool.

Property Type

  • bungalow

General

  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine

Kitchen

  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob

Entertainment

  • Satellite / Cable

Pool / Spa

  • Private Pool

Suitability

  • children welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm

Location Type

  • beach

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure, Bidet
  • Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • Master en-suite, bath with thermostatic shower over, toilet, marble topped vanity unit and bidet. The family shower room has a shower enclosure with thermostatic shower, toilet and basin.

Bedrooms

  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Master bedroom, 12'6" x 11' with 5' bed facing South East. Bedroom 2, 11' square and bedroom 3, 11' x 8'6" both facing South West with twin beds. All the rooms have air-conditioners and fans and are well furnished.

Outside

  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue

Notes:

  • Notes on accommodation: Villa Calma is our home for the winter, we have tried to make it as comfortable as possible. My wife and hope that you like it as much as we do. Outside: The garden is approached via a vehicle gate with an automatic opening. there is also a pedestrian gate with a video link so that you can see who is at the gate and you are able to open it by pressing a button in the villa. At the front of the villa there is a semi circular terrace with an electronically operated sunshade, a table and 6 chairs. To the western end is the pool, 30' x 17' this was specially constructed so that the water comes right to the top with a grated channel all round the outside. It has circular steps into it at the shallow end with a hand rail, the deep end being nearly 6'deep. Beside this is a gazebo with curtains you will also find a table and chairs and 6 sun-loungers. Along the back of the villa there is a path leading to another patio also with an electronically operated sunshade. This is very useful for breakfast or to sit in the shade in the evening. The front garden has roses, hibiscus, various other flowers and an avocado tree. Utility Room: Door from the kitchen and an outside door to the back of the villa, washing machine, tumble dryer and cleaning materials. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: The villa will be cleaned before you arrive the beds will be made up and a bath towel and a hand towel laid out for each person. Swimming towels are not provided. Should you want a mid stay clean this can be arranged.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot