OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Holiday Apartment, private balcony, terrace, swimming pool, lift, A/C , WiFi - The Horizon 3 Bedroom



Updated: 04-Oct-2016
1,2 & 3 bedroom apartments

The Horizon Apartments are situated in ‘Mellieha Heights’, one of Mellieha's soaring ridges, approximately 10 minutes walk from the centre of Mellieha. This allows The Horizon Apartments to give its residents a peaceful environment and wonderful sea views.

The apartments come with their own private balcony,with unique view of Santa Maria's villas and the sea. The East facing apartments have views of the majestic Mediterranean sea and Valley views. The Horizon’s private pool at roof top level with its sun deck terrace allows one to enjoy all the stunning scenery.

The apartments are managed by a team of family members that provide full satisfaction and relaxation for its residents.

  • Sleeps 7
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Swimming pool
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Wheelchair access
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Naturally in tourism ; born during the evolution stage of the tourism industry in our picturesque village of Mellieha ; bearing a household family business name for over 60 years in tourism from washing rental cars from my pre teen years , dispatching and operation in car rental and taxi service , operation manager in catering and entertainment outlet for over 20 years . Currently managing a bundle of apartments offering a total commitment for customer satisfaction with the best value for money ratio.

Call Owner
Speaks English

Guestbook comments from the owner

Dear Mister Bonanno,

Thank you very much for everything. We plan to leave before 10am tomorrow, as said the other day. If you need us to check out earlier, please let me know.


Sep 2013
  • 1 of 1

11 Reviews

based on 11 holidaymaker reviews



  • 5 of 5

From booking in April to arriving in September, we found David Bonnano to be very helpful, informative and friendly. David is a true gentleman and wishes you to have a perfect holiday at his apartments. On arrival a taxi took us to the apartment, arranged by David. David then called to see us later on in the day and offered to take us to the supermarket immediately, and threw in a ittle tour of the village free of charge. Nothing was too much for David. The apartment was lovely and clean with fresh towels and laundry (which the cleaners called once a week to change, but there is a washing machine to do your own, which we did) the view on the balcony was fabulous and the roof top pool having even better views of the bay! The apartment has everything you need and if it has something missing then a quick phone call or email to David and he will call to fix the problem Asap. David is on hand morning or night, he works so very hard. If you are looking at this property to book then don't hesitate, if you want a peaceful, relaxing, stress free holiday! We will certainly be back! X

  • Review Submitted: Oct 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Absolutely fantastic!

  • 5 of 5

What a brilliant apartment! Lovely big, spacious apartment, fabulous views, lovely little pool, and David was really friendly and helpful. It was a wonderful place to stay if you don't mind a bit of a walk into town - for us that was part of it and it helped to keep us fit! Never been to Malta before but we're coming back as we absolutely love it. If we come in summer we will definitely book this apartment again - it really helped to make our holiday wonderful and relaxing and lots of great memories..

  • Review Submitted: Oct 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very enjoyable stay

  • 5 of 5

Hi David

Thank you for letting us rent the apartment it is a very nice place

And we had a very enjoyable stay

Hope we left the place all ok

And hope we can rent it again in the future

  • Review Submitted: Sep 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Edinburgh, Scotland

wonderful view

  • 4 of 5

This was our third stay at the Horizon but the first time in the 3 bedroom apartment. The living/dining area was clean, well equipped with all the essentials. It was bright and spacious. The bedrooms were comfortable and the bathrooms were a good size. The ensuite would benefit from having a grab handle on the bath wall and a wall bracket for the shower head. Otherwise the apartment was well maintained. David was, as usual, very attentive and responded very promptly to help us with a small problem we had with the TV. The Welcome Pack of groceries was very much appreciated. We had a very pleasant stay with a friend who had not visited Malta and we were able to visit all the major sites. We had some very good meals at the restaurants in Mellieha and could recommend L'Amigo and the Hilltop. The only negative comment is about the Bus Service to Valletta - buses often were full by the time they got to Mellieha and went past the bus stop and we had a number of longish waits!

I can recommend the Horizon and especially would like to mention the good support and attention that David provides

  • Review Submitted: Apr 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not as we exspected

  • 2 of 5

We chose these apartments based on the five star reviews on this site.

1. Having booked Horizon #1 just for two of us, on arrival at the Apartment we were given Horizon#3 a 3 bedroom apartment (At no extra cost,) and no explanation as to why the change of apartments.

2. The apartment was clean and tidy however :-

A) We could not cook a meal in the oven as the thermostat control knob was missing (The grill did work) .

B) Although there was a washing machine there was no ironing board or iron.

C) The lounge furniture was not what we would have expected with so many 5 star reviews.

The power point behind the Television was in our opinion in a poor state.

D) As for the apartment being well maintained the integral dishwasher and washing machine had no front covers.

E) In the main bedroom the power socket by the wardrobe was also in a very poor state. As this apartment is probably aimed at families and families with young children, therefore the power sockets should be maintained to a higher standard.

3) David was very helpful with all aspects of booking the holiday but we feel that the apartment was a disappointment.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 25, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for submitting your review towards our property as personally am really disappointed and feeling sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations. However, I always made my available either by e-mail or telephone and would have appreciated more if I was contacted with these issues during your stay rather than when you are back home. Surely you would not had to go through this, as personally I strive to make all our guests welcome and have an enjoyable stay with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Amazing view every morning and night

  • 5 of 5

The apartment has everything we needed. We were 6 peaople and we stayed in 3 bedrooms flat with a huge living room on the 2nd floor. The place was clean and well equipped. David is cheerful and helpful person. He was always on time for us and available when we called or texted. The view from the balcony was a great thing to start a new day with a cup of tea in the hand. The apartment is located in new builded area around 25 minutes from the beach and less than 10 minutes from the bars and shops. From the terrace we had a chance to watch an amazing fireworks show and clear sky full of stars.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 14, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We would like to thank you for your time to post this excellent review as we are please we were able to offer you an enjoyable stay with us and experienced part of our culture and traditions while staying with us during our village festa.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


From the Owner

The Horizon apartments ; offer the best value for money ratio in the area with the complete peace of mind for your stay with us . The apartments are furnished with each own laundry facilities as well as enjoying a private balcony with sea and valley views, swimming pool, , air conditioned bedrooms and Wi-Fi. Parking spaces within the premises and on the road free of charge.

Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Malta Internation Airport at 27 Kilometres Nearest Barpub : - Billy's Musiclub Pub at 750 Metres Nearest Ferry : Cirkewwa - Gozo Ferry at 5 Kilometres Nearest Golf : Marsa Sports Club at 25 Kilometres Nearest Restaurant : - Il Mithna Restaurant at 800 Metres Nearest Beach : Mellieha Bay at 2 Kilometres Car: not necessary

Mellieha - is truly a destination for all seasons!

Mellieha is one of Malta's most picturesque tourist destinations. The town centre boasts of its splendid hotels, fine restaurants and traditional cute shops. It has a majestic baroque church (built in late 19th century) and various cultural organizations, including band clubs, sports clubs, an orchestra, various religious societies, a parish community centre and an environmental pressure group.

Other than the mentioned sites, Mellieha is also known for its wonderful and golden beaches that make it a unique holiday destination for many. Water Sports are one of the many activities that one can enjoy during their time here, along with Scuba Diving and Fishing. At night, walks on the beach is traditional and festivals organized by the Local Council are sure to be of enjoyment for everyone.

In Malta, feasts are a huge tradition and Mellieha's main festive season occurs in the first two weeks of September.

Other Activities: clubbing and live entertainment, quad bike

Ski: MELLIEHA is surrounded by numerous bays as Mellieha Bay also known as GHADIRA (sounds like aedyrae) is the islands longest sandy beach. there is a numerous water sports outlets operating from the shoreline. They offer a variety of activities and services inwatersports for everyones pleasure. this beach nearly reached a BLUE Flag status and the local council is realy working hard to obtain tis certification. A really family beach with plenty of facilities. Very easily accessable buy bus or on foot going down the hill.; 1.5 kms from the village centre!

ARMIER and LITTLE ARMIER are an other two small beaches situated in the Marfa Ridge facing Comino and Gozo. Less popular but nice and fairly busy in peak season like any other beach specially on week ends. More accessable by car. Save place for children.

PARADISE BAY a small and clean beach not suitable for the elderly or the infirm as a fairly awkward access to reach the beach. Recommended to the young at heart! A natural GEM


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
October 2016
1 Oct 2016 - 31 Oct 2016
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £6 per night, per additional guest
Low Season
1 Nov 2016 - 19 Mar 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Spring 2017
20 Mar 2017 - 30 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Late Spring 2017
1 May 2017 - 11 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest
High Season 2017
12 Jun 2017 - 16 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £11 per night, per additional guest
Peak Season 2017
17 Jul 2017 - 3 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
Village Festa 2017
4 Sep 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
October 2017
1 Oct 2017 - 5 Nov 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Tax Rate 7.0%

Rates are subject to change at owner/ managers discretion although but the manager binds with the rates according to the enquiry replied as requested during the enquiry for the rental. Check out time is before 10:00hrs and check in time is after 14:00hrs but the management will do its best to accommodate you at any time. This however is subject to availability unless agreed prior arrival

A 25% deposit is required to secure the reservation. The remaining balance can be paid on arrival. Payments are accepted in Euros conveniently paid by bank transfer ( internet home banking / electronic transfer ); Credit card payments, and cheques drawn in British Pounds & or cash in British Pounds. Payments by TransferWise are also favorably accepted as well.. Card payments carry a 3.5% charge

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Enquire Now
Updated: 04-Oct-2016
Available arrival


From the Owner

Strategically located in a quiet residential area and within all the shops, restaurants and other community shops and service providers whilst enjoying spectacular sea and valley views complimented with a swimming pool and deck terrace. Easy access to all parts of the island. Property manager always within a call away and operators office open as from )8:00 till late for any other services required . Cruise and boat trips , diving excursions , car rental and taxi service available on request. Simply contact David on 00356 99257575 or e-mail on toprentalsmalta@gmail.com , Car rental and taxi services , excursions and tours can be arranged from Billy's Car Hire office on info@billyscarhire.com

Property Type

  • apartment


  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic


  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Sunbed
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet


  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster


  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area


  • Books
  • Television

Pool / Spa

  • Communal Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool

Onsite Services

  • Car Optional


  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...

Location Type

  • beach
  • city centre
  • near the sea
  • town
  • village


  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • caves
  • churches
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours

Leisure Activities

  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Local Services & Businesses

  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Floor Area

  • 110 m²


  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath with Shower
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet, Shower Enclosure


  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed, cot available
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed, space for extra bed
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed, space for extra bed


  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • 6 garden chairs


  • Self-catering

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot