OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Stone Barn Brecon Beacons National Park Quality Accommodation Stunning Location

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Property type barn
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Barbecue
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Accommodation in Ystradfellte, Brecon Beacons, Powys, Wales - Quiet Location Cwm Porth Caves And Start Of Waterfall Walks 2 Minutes From Property

Set in the beautiful Brecon Beacons National Park, a traditional stone built barn. A short walk from the famous Cwm Porth caves and on the footpath to the magnificent waterfalls of Ystradfellte. A short drive from Pen Y Fan mountain the second highest in southern Britain. There is a lot to see and do in this breath taking area including walking, cycling, golf, caving, gorge walking, photography and painting. It is within easy reach of the city of Swansea and Brecon.

The accommodation downstairs is open plan and fells very spacious . There is an oak kitchen with seperate hob and oven , a dishwasher , microwave, fridge and freezer . The lounge area has a two seater and three seater settee a tv with free view and a DVD player with a large selection of DVDs . There is a downstairs cloakroom with wc and shower.

There are two generous sized bedrooms upstairs the master bedroom has a king sized upholstered bed with en suite with bath. The twin bedroom has two single truckle beds with pull out beds so can sleep 4 and an en suite with shower and bath.. The twin room has a tv with free view and an x box .

The barn has a large enclosed garden and is set in 8 acres of land . There is a barbecue and patio set .

There are plenty of walks from the barn and there is a dog friendly pub in the small village of Ystradfellte which serves food and is within walking distance . .

Family and pet friendly holiday makers are respectfully asked to keep dogs downstairs and not on furniture. (£20.00 extra charge per booking )

(Please note I do not use online payment option on this site so please send enquiry and I will let you know payment options and details.

SHORT BREAKS AVAILABLE ARE AVAILABLE PLEASE IGNORE ONLINE QUOTE AND SEND ME AN ENQUIRY DIRECT FOR PRICE.

More Details

Owner
Lucia Thomas (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
23 November, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

At the risk of repeating what everyone else has said ,this really is a fabulous place. You have obviously given a lot of time and thought to the conversion , decoration and furnishing of this lovely barn .We particularly appreciated your welcome ,the generous food and wine basket, the feather duvets and crisp clean bedding ,the provision of dishwasher tablets toilet rolls and absence of electric meter ....Pat Heather and Chris 23/4/12



As everyone seems to agree your barn really is delightful and set in such wonderful surrondings .When booking properties over the internet you are never sure if you have made right decision but as soon as we arrived at top of drive we knew we were onto a winner.The space offered both inside and out has been perfect for two families .Being able to walk from the barn has been so easy and the highlight was the waterfalls walks.The Newtons and Budds 12/5/12



Had a lovely time ,loved the cottage we all want to live here.Will come again.

Jo Enza 8/6/12
Jun 2011
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday barn in Aberdare in Rhondda Cynon Taff

Property Type:
  • barn
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • river
  • rural
General:
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
    Toilet 1 - Toilet
  • En-suite to bedroom one with bath and WC. En-suite to bedroom two with bath WC and seperate shower cubicle. Downstairs cloak room with sink wc and shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4/6 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom one generous sized room with king size upholstered bed. Bedroom two generous sized room with two single guest beds TV with free sat and x box.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • caves
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • walking
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Pen Y Porth Barn is approached from a small country lane. There is ample parking for up to six or more vehicles and even a horse box if required, horses can be stabled at owners property with the use of a large menage at an additional cost There is internet but not advertised as I cannot guarantee it will work . Outside: Patio area with garden furniture and barbecue. Set in eight acres with large garden and wooded bank. Stunning views of the surrounding country side. Utility Room: ironing board,iron leading to downstairs cloakroom with WC and shower. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Serviced and clean bedding and towels on each letting .

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(26 traveller reviews)

80% Complete
7% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Stone Barn Brecon Beacons National Park Quality Accommodation Stunning Location
average rating of 4.6923075 based on 27 reviews
5

A stunning, luxuriously converted barn providing a glorious get-away-from-it-all holiday.

  • 5 of 5

The barn is immaculately presented, clean and extremely comfortable. Lucia, the owner, is incredibly friendly and welcoming and the bottle of wine and delicious goodies greeting us upon our arrival were very much appreciated! The barn is set on its own with gorgeous land surrounding it and was a wonderful escape for us with our three children and dog. I could not recommend it more highly. It is extremely clean, tidy, warm and supremely relaxing. We will definitely return next year.

  • Review Submitted: 01-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

An excellent property in a great location with lovely hosts

  • 5 of 5

Everything thing as described or better especially if you want to have your own space. Great access to the waterfalls and the local pub which is also recommended. Simple home cooked food presented in a very friendly environment. Cardiff bay and the Mumbles in Swansea bay are also worth a visit. As for the mountain walks, the effort expended is well rewarded.

  • Review Submitted: 28-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for a great review just what I needed ! We loved meeting you and hope you come again soon .
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Room for improvement

  • 3 of 5

The barn conversion has been tastefully done, interior decor is good. The property is gloomy due to lack of windows, I assume due to National Park requirements.

However routine maintenance has not been carried out.

Some light bulbs were not working. The TV in Bed 2 was not working. The shower in Bed2 was not working. Paint was coming off shower room ceiling in Bed. 2 in large flakes. There was a hole in the rotten French doors to lounge through which wind and rain entered. Most windows did not open and close properly. The cooker hood extractor did not work.

We replaced bulbs ourselves, the shower was repaired for us. The problems with joinery will be a longer job and should have been addressed earlier.

We read in the visitor book that the cooker hood fell on someone's arm 2 years ago. It still has a post it on it saying not to use. That just about somes things up!

  • Review Submitted: 20-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review ( I think !) , which I was dreading after you told us you were a retired surveyor and then proceeded to survey whole property 🙂 It actually fared much better than I thought . Yes we are very constricted by National Parks have to use existing openings and windows and doors have to be wood which I love but take a lot of care as barn is very exposed the wood does expand and contract but they are not rotten . As soon as you said about bulbs and shower we came straight over (spare bulbs in cupboard and shower was not broken rail was a tiny bit loose ) . Apologies for peeling paint in shower barn due to be painted soon as it is every year but not everyone switches extractor fan on in bathroom but hey they are on holiday and it's not really a problem. The cooker hood is not broken I made decision to decommission it after someone pulled if off its ratchet and the fan cover fell out landed on hob below and smashed it. Better safe than sorry 😐 You did not say anything about the tv and it's perfectly fine now. It's a very old barn conversion in a remote part ot the Brecon Beacons it's not perfect but we do our very best.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
3

Almost very good

  • 3 of 5

Lovely cottage and a nice much appreciated welcome pack on arrival, beautiful setting and great local walks. The cottage was quite well stocked particularly in the kitchen. However, there definitely is no WIFI despite assurances by the owner on their web site, much missed by the kids. The owners really need to prepare an information pack, surely this is important, medical contacts? local amenities? cottage info, how things work?? AND a washing machine would come in handy.

Owners never dropped in during the week so didn't really have the chance to chat and didn't want to go hunting.

  • Review Submitted: 02-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and lovely comments regarding the barn and surrounding area . Apologies for the wi fi, a new satellite system was installed at the end of July 2017 and as far as I was aware it was working but I will certainly address the issue , however I very specifically state in my advert that as it's satellite I can't guarantee it as I don't want people to book if it's of vital importance to them . If anyone has a problem,requires help information or recommendations we are in the white farmhouse opposite and are more than happy to help or just call over say hi and meet the horses, dogs and sheep no need to go hunting we love to see you!! But please let me know during your stay if anything is wrong if I don't know I can't fix it . There is all the information that hopefully you will need in the barn leaflets on local attractions,maps , recommended walks , instruction books etc and a book with all the phone numbers in . Please note there is no washing machine again as stated in the advert . This is quite a remote location right next to the start of the four waterfalls walk and two minutes walk from caves and with lots of stunning walks on doorstep . I can't guarantee the wi fi will work but I can guarantee a warm welcome ,comfortable cosy accommodation and amazing scenery .
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Fantastic Location

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful location, a short walk from the most amazing waterfalls. We really felt like we were immersed in the Welsh countryside. We enjoyed many days out, both locally and a short drive away, it was always nice to come back to our barn in the evenings. The pictures of the barn do not show the size well.. it is much bigger than it appears. Thank you for the lovely welcome gifts on our arrival. We would love to stay again.

  • Review Submitted: 19-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Superb property in an amazing place.

  • 5 of 5

Just had the hottest week of the year so far, the dog was not to happy but luckily it's a very short walk to the river where he was able to swim and paddle. If you like your walks this is definitely the place to stay as there are plenty right on the door step, river walks as mentioned and forest walks also. If you get a clear day a trip up pen y fan is a must as the views are breath taking. Another great place to visit is Pont melin fach. You wont see parking on a map but there is a parking area right next to a river. That's enough about the area as exploring is part of the fun. Now for the property. The barn is great ,never stayed anywhere with more on- suits than bedrooms. The downstairs is fully tiled so is definitely dog friendly and has everything one needs. No problem with the broadband, worked fine even when the two of us were using it. Never got to meet Lucia ( shame ) but a big thank you for the welcome pack.Did meet Phil and hector both very nice individuals. P.S. will definitely recommend to family and friends.

  • Review Submitted: 23-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Coast/Beach:

The nearest beaches are at Swansea, Mumbles and the Gower. Swansea is easily accessible approx 30 minutes by car.

Travel:

Nearest airport Cardiff International approximately one hour car journey. Nearest train station Aberdare approximately twenty minutes drive.

Distances:

Short distance to village of Ystradfellte. The property is within easy reach of Swansea Brecon and Sennybridge. Approximately 40 minute drive from Cardiff. A 15 minute drive to the car park for Pen Y Fan mountain, Storey Arms, Brecon.

Further Details:

Property is within easy driving distance from Aberdare Merthyr Tydfil Neath and Brecon all of which have supermarkets and usual amenities.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday barn in Aberdare, Wales

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Winter2
30 Oct 2017 - 17 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
£395
 
 
Christmas /new year
18 Dec 2017 - 2 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
£270
for 3 nights
From
£90
£495
 
 
Winter 1
3 Jan 2018 - 10 Feb 2018
2 night minimum stay
£170
for 2 nights
From
£85
£385
 
 
Winter 2
11 Feb 2018 - 24 Feb 2018
7 night minimum stay
£420
for 7 nights
£420
 
 
Winter 3
25 Feb 2018 - 23 Mar 2018
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
£395
 
 
Easter
24 Mar 2018 - 14 Apr 2018
7 night minimum stay
£445
for 7 nights
£445
 
 
Spring1
15 Apr 2018 - 25 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
£420
 
 
Spring2
26 May 2018 - 1 Jun 2018
7 night minimum stay
£495
for 7 nights
£495
 
 
Summer1
2 Jun 2018 - 20 Jul 2018
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
£420
 
 
Summer2
21 Jul 2018 - 1 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
£595
for 7 nights
£595
 
 
Autumn
2 Sep 2018 - 19 Oct 2018
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
£420
 
 
Aurumn2
20 Oct 2018 - 2 Nov 2018
7 night minimum stay
£495
for 7 nights
£495
 
 
Winter1
4 Nov 2018 - 21 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
£395
 
 
Christmas
22 Dec 2018 - 4 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
£595
for 7 nights
£595
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
£50.00 deposit is required at time of booking, the balance 28 days before rental. Late bookings will be taken subject to availability contact owner for details.Short breaks available contact owner for special offer weekend winter breaks.

Changeover Day:
Preferred changeover day saturday but is flexible. Check out 10am new arrivals 3.30pm

Notes on prices:
Shorter breaks available contact owner for details.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable