OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Stone Barn Brecon Beacons National Park Quality Accommodation Stunning Location

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Property type barn
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Accommodation in Ystradfellte, Brecon Beacons, Powys, Wales - Quiet Location Cwm Porth Caves And Start Of Waterfall Walks 2 Minutes From Property

Set in the beautiful Brecon Beacons National Park, a traditional stone built barn. A short walk from the famous Cwm Porth caves and on the footpath to the magnificent waterfalls of Ystradfellte. A short drive from Pen Y Fan mountain the second highest in southern Britain. There is a lot to see and do in this breath taking area including walking, cycling, golf, caving, gorge walking, photography and painting. It is within easy reach of the city of Swansea and Brecon.

The accommodation downstairs is open plan and fells very spacious . There is an oak kitchen with seperate hob and oven , a dishwasher , microwave, fridge and freezer . The lounge area has a two seater and three seater settee a tv with free view and a DVD player with a large selection of DVDs . There is a downstairs cloakroom with wc and shower.

There are two generous sized bedrooms upstairs the master bedroom has a king sized upholstered bed with en suite with bath. The twin bedroom has two single truckle beds with pull out beds so can sleep 4 and an en suite with shower and bath.. The twin room has a tv with free view and an x box .

The barn has a large enclosed garden and is set in 8 acres of land . There is a barbecue and patio set .

There are plenty of walks from the barn and there is a dog friendly pub in the small village of Ystradfellte which serves food and is within walking distance . .

Family and pet friendly holiday makers are respectfully asked to keep dogs downstairs and not on furniture. (£20.00 extra charge per booking )

(Please note I do not use online payment option on this site so please send enquiry and I will let you know payment options and details.

SHORT BREAKS AVAILABLE ARE AVAILABLE PLEASE IGNORE ONLINE QUOTE AND SEND ME AN ENQUIRY DIRECT FOR PRICE.

More Details

Owner
Lucia Thomas (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
8 May, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

At the risk of repeating what everyone else has said ,this really is a fabulous place. You have obviously given a lot of time and thought to the conversion , decoration and furnishing of this lovely barn .We particularly appreciated your welcome ,the generous food and wine basket, the feather duvets and crisp clean bedding ,the provision of dishwasher tablets toilet rolls and absence of electric meter ....Pat Heather and Chris 23/4/12



As everyone seems to agree your barn really is delightful and set in such wonderful surrondings .When booking properties over the internet you are never sure if you have made right decision but as soon as we arrived at top of drive we knew we were onto a winner.The space offered both inside and out has been perfect for two families .Being able to walk from the barn has been so easy and the highlight was the waterfalls walks.The Newtons and Budds 12/5/12



Had a lovely time ,loved the cottage we all want to live here.Will come again.

Jo Enza 8/6/12
Jun 2011
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday barn in Aberdare in Wales

Property Type:
  • barn
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • river
  • rural
General:
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
    Toilet 1 - Toilet
  • En-suite to bedroom one with bath and WC. En-suite to bedroom two with bath WC and seperate shower cubicle. Downstairs cloak room with sink wc and shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4/6 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom one generous sized room with king size upholstered bed. Bedroom two generous sized room with two single guest beds TV with free sat and x box.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • caves
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • walking
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Pen Y Porth Barn is approached from a small country lane. There is ample parking for up to six or more vehicles and even a horse box if required, horses can be stabled at owners property with the use of a large menage at an additional cost There is internet but not advertised as I cannot guarantee it will work . Outside: Patio area with garden furniture and barbecue. Set in eight acres with large garden and wooded bank. Stunning views of the surrounding country side. Utility Room: ironing board,iron leading to downstairs cloakroom with WC and shower. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Serviced and clean bedding and towels on each letting .

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(18 traveller reviews)

Belton, Norfolk
5

Home from home in a fantastic location.

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful barn, in a great location. Lucia has made sure that all your self catering needs are met, and she was a great host, offering advice about the area,where to shop, where to go for days out etc.Beautiful waterfall walks right from the door, the dog loved it.What better way to wake up with 360 degrees of beautiful scenery, so peaceful.

  • Review Submitted: May 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Perfect location

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I met our daughter at the cottage. She is at uni in Cardiff so a great location to meet. Not too far from Cardiff. We were so impressed by the fixtures and fittings. The pictures do not do it justice so much better and bigger. We were very comfortable. The only downside is that the wifi is poor if non existent. They have tried to fix this but we only got a signal outside the cottage. However the location was so central to amazing walks. Even though the weather was rainy it didn't matter. We loved every minute of staying here and would love to return one day.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 3, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Little taste of heaven

  • 5 of 5

Property was clean and with all amenities. We had a wonderful week - lots to do in the area - waterfall walks and caves. Lovely and peaceful - life at a relaxed pace. Our 7 month beagle puppy loved the garden.

I would definitely recommend and we hope to return.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Away from it all....

  • 3 of 5

We had a lovely stay at Pen Y Porth barn in the Brecon Beacons. The barn is set in beautiful surroundings and is very spacious for a 2 bedroomed property.

The kitchen and lounge area downstairs is open plan and very comfortable. There is also a large selection of DVDs to watch in case of a rainy day. The bedrooms are big and my son loved having the Xbox in his room to play with.

The outside space was fabulous - perfect for the kids and our dog to run around and let off steam!!

There are beautiful walks nearby and we even walked up Pen Y Fan mountain which we would highly recommend. The path up the mountain was easy enough for the children and our dog although bad weather stopped us from climbing right to the very top!

The only disappointing part of our stay was the lack of wifi. This is something we always look for when booking a property. Although wifi was set up in the barn, it didn't work, to the extent that we couldn't even browse the internet or check emails. Despite raising this during our stay there didn't seem to be any sense of urgency to get it sorted. Unfortunately, we won't be coming back here because of this but if lack of wifi is not a problem for you, then this place is a perfect little haven, away from it all. Very relaxing.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 20, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your great comments about the barn . It is set in a amazing but remote location in the Brecon Beacons National Park close to waterfalls , caves ,mountains and lakes with fantastic clear skies at night . Unfortunately it does mean you may have to sacrifice some modern technology due to location. Having said that the barn does in fact have Internet but it was not wi fi and was not advertised as having wi fi . Despite this as soon as I was told that your devices did not have ports to connect lead to modem I contacted the satellite broadband provider and immediately ordered a wireless router due to errors on their part it did not arrive in time for your stay . So now the barn has wi fi ! So if you love the great outdoors , getting back to nature and exploring a beautiful part of the world then my barn is definitely the property for you .
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Perfect Holiday Home

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I wanted a holiday cottage to celebrate Thanksgiving with a couple of friends from the US. The kitchen was more than sufficient for preparing a feast with modern appliances and all the accoutrements. The bedrooms were large with en suites. Very clean and well looked after. It was the perfect base for our treks around the Brecon Beacons. It is within short walking distance of excellent hiking trails that lead to the nearby waterfalls. The Penderyn Whiskey Distillery gives an excellent tour with tasting and is a 5 minute drive. The pub in Ystradfellte was very homely and full of friendly locals who made us feel very welcome. A perfect place to get away.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Simply Wonderful - Most relaxing Break Ever!

  • 5 of 5

This is definitely one of the best holidays we've ever had and the location is magical. Fantastic walking and gorgeous scenery for miles - its secluded but you have the benefit of Lucia and her partner being on the farm just down the lane should you need anything. Supermarkets such as Morrisons and Tesco are not far away at all but when you're back here you feel so away from it all. The facilities are fab too - loads of stuff already provided to ensure a comfortable stay. We visited with a our dog and 14 month daughter and my parents stayed for a few nights too and there was plenty of room. Great having 2 bathrooms and an extra shower room. We love it here and have already booked our 2017 summer holiday and simply cannot wait - a little slice of heaven without having to go abroad :)

  • Review Submitted: May 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Spring 3
7 May 2017 - 26 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
£395
 
 
Spring half term
27 May 2017 - 3 Jun 2017
3 night minimum stay
£270
for 3 nights
From
£90
£420
 
 
Summer
4 Jun 2017 - 21 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
£420
 
 
Summer holidays
22 Jul 2017 - 3 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£595
for 7 nights
£595
 
 
Autumn 1
5 Sep 2017 - 15 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
£395
 
 
Autumn half term
16 Oct 2017 - 29 Oct 2017
7 night minimum stay
£435
for 7 nights
£435
 
 
Winter2
30 Oct 2017 - 17 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£255
for 3 nights
From
£85
£395
 
 
Christmas /new year
18 Dec 2017 - 2 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
£270
for 3 nights
From
£90
£495
 
 
Winter 18
3 Jan 2018 - 3 Feb 2018
3 night minimum stay
£255
for 3 nights
From
£85
£365
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£240
for 3 nights
From
£80
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
£50.00 deposit is required at time of booking, the balance 28 days before rental. Late bookings will be taken subject to availability contact owner for details.Short breaks available contact owner for special offer weekend winter breaks.

Changeover Day:
Preferred changeover day saturday but is flexible. Check out 10am new arrivals 3.30pm

Notes on prices:
Shorter breaks available contact owner for details.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

Special Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot