OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Well-Fitted, Luxurious, Self-Contained Cottages In 15 Acres Of Grounds - The Onibury (Sleeps 12, 6 Bedrooms)

Bedrooms 6
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Heated Pool



The Onibury (Sleeps 12, 6 Bedrooms)

This renovated cottage provides high quality accommodation offering exceptional facilities in superb surroundings.

The Onibury is a single step into cottage with no internal steps. It provides comfortable accommodation for 12 people with three double rooms, three twin rooms (three bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms, two bedrooms with shared ensuite bathroom and one bedroom with ensuite shower room) . There is a spacious kitchen/dining room with new Mackintosh kitchen and a comfortable sitting room.

The Onibury is grouped with our other cottages around a central courtyard in 15 acres of grounds with its own garden area. There is a shared hard tennis court and an indoor heated swimming pool.

The cottage is well equipped with free satellite television (sky), free satellite WiFi, full catering facilities including range cooker, microwave oven, dishwasher, large fridge, bed linen, towels included.

More Details

About the property


Each cottage is well equipped offering satellite television (Sky), free satellite WiFi, full catering facilities including cooker, microwave cooker, dishwasher, freezer, garden area, patio furniture, duvets, linen and towels. Electricity, including electric fire and full central heating is within the tariff. There is parking. Ludlow, famous for its gourmet restaurants, annual festival, castle and parish church as well as its many interesting shops and pubs, is just 5 miles away. Stokesay Castle and the Shropshire Hills Discovery Centre are 2 miles and historic Shrewsbury and the Ironbridge Gorge are easily accessible. Fishing, golf and National Hunt racing are under 5 miles away with a good selection of shops and pubs serving food only ½ mile away. Wonderful walks start from the cottages through our 2000 acre estate or further afield in the historic Border country. Well behaved pets are only permitted by prior arrangement.

Member since: 2006
Speaks English, French, Spanish, Italian
Calendar last updated:
19 January, 2018

Why Gina chose Craven Arms

Peaceful and relaxing and intimate Private use of pool may be booked daily

What makes this cottage unique

accessibility from north and south unique central england position for large groups

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you so much for providing the accommodation for lovely stay in Shropshire. We all had a great time and the fact we all had ensuite facilities was much appreciated! Everyone in the family would like to come again next year, so I will be in touch.
Sep 2017
  • 1 of 1

Available Rentals

Enter dates for accurate pricing


Booking Notes:
The Walton, Onibury and Whettleton are all available for letting on a weekly basis from Friday to Friday or on a short term basis either Friday to Monday or Monday to Friday.

Changeover Day:
Please enquire.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Craven Arms in Shropshire

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • rural
  • village
  • Dining Area
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 5 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
  • Golf ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf pass optional
  • ice skating
  • mountain climbing
  • swimming
  • tennis


Very Good! 4/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)

50% Complete
0% Complete
50% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
The Onibury (Sleeps 12, 6 Bedrooms)
average rating of 4.0 based on 7 reviews

It did not live up to its descrippion on the web site

  • 3 of 5

Our main issue with this property was that the OD web site said it had "6 bedrooms - all ensuite”. It didnt. 2 bedrooms had a bathroom sandwiched in-between which 4 people had to share, and one bedroom had a “private” bathroom, i.e. not directly connected to the bedroom. We would not have booked this property had we known this as our primary requirement for our annual group holiday is always 6 ensuite bedrooms.

There was only one fridge which, for 12 adults self-catering, is not adequate.

The web site said there was a freezer but this was not in the house. It was elsewhere on the site.

The "patio furniture” only seemed to comprise one 4-seater picnic bench which for a house of 12 people is inadequate.

The wi fi only works in one corner of the house, although admittedly the web site doesnt advertise that the house has wi fi.

The location is lovely, the countryside is lovey - but we do feel that the description on your web site of the bedrooms in particular is misrepresentation

  • Review Submitted: 18-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: There was an error in number of bathrooms on website which has now been fixed. Guests have been reimbursed for inconvenience caused Larger fridge freezer is now installed and additional picnic tables wifi is available in all cottages now by satellite so much improved
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

What a woundful break

  • 5 of 5

What a lovely family break.nothing to much trouble.sharon( the manger) even put our Tesco shopping delivery away for us! As we got held up in traffic.it was so lovely being greeted and showed where every thing was by sharon and having a lovely welcome pack.The cottage was very clean, lovely views and loads of open space.the swimming pool and tennis court was a big hit with the children.many thanks for a unforgettable hoilday well done!!

  • Review Submitted: 13-Apr-2015
  • Date of Stay: April 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

OK but definitely not luxury

  • 3 of 5

Whilst the area is picturesque and the cottage is clean with all the basics, it didn't meet all of our expectations and we were slightly bemused by the lack of equipment and "luxuries" as indicated on the website. There was no cot (I asked specifically for one but on arrival, I was told that they had been allocated to other guests). There was no working wifi in the cottage and we had to walk elsewhere on the grounds. The TVs were very old, no DVD player and no extractor fan in the kitchen (important when cooking Christmas lunch for 12!) I would have also thought that there would be a washing machine in each cottage (there is one, in the pool room). All in all, the cottage is reasonably priced and perhaps we are spoiled these days, but I would have expected more "modern" conveniences.

  • Review Submitted: 29-Dec-2014
  • Date of Stay: December 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Since your visit back in 2014, we have undertaken extensive modernisation of the property which includes a new Mackintosh Kitchen.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Very relaxing

  • 5 of 5

Great place for a walking group, beautiful scenery all around and loved having an ensuite room for each couple. The indoor pool was a bonus. Very clean, with plenty of comfortable seating in the lounge and dining room. Could have done with more fridge space and some coat-hooks. Booking and arrival arrangements all very laid back and easy. Stokesay castle is nearby and well worth a visit.

  • Review Submitted: 07-Mar-2014
  • Date of Stay: February 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Hen weekend

  • 5 of 5

We all 24 of us had a fantastic weekend, my daughter was thrilled with the whole weekend

Cottages are well worth every penny, location was brilliant very peaceful but close enough to village and Ludlow was a short taxi ride

Hospitality from yourself and husband taking us into the village hall on Sunday and picking us up and no one could believe the army truck it went down so well.

Swimming pool was fantastic nothing was to much trouble for you to ensure our weekend went to plan

We are looking at a reunion in the summer and certainly looking at all the family coming next Christmas

I have given about 5 of our friends who couldn't make this weekend your details already in last couple of days and they to are looking at your cottages

Just cant thank you enough, no words could describe the incredible weekend we had just PERFECT

  • Review Submitted: 28-Feb-2014
  • Date of Stay: February 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
TN15 8NW

Onibury Cottage

  • 3 of 5

Advertised shared laundry facilities not available.

No coat hooks

Two dishwashers and two cookers but one so old you could not read any of the markings.

Few power points

No wi-fi

6 bathrooms but only one shower and it had very poor operation

We still had a good holiday

  • Review Submitted: 16-Aug-2013
  • Date of Stay: August 2013
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you had a good holiday and work hard to ensure the comfort of our guests. In response to your review comments, we have not advertised shared laundry facilities for 4 or 5 years now and we do not provide this. The electric cooker has been replaced - it was on order at the time of your stay. This was a brand new conversion at the time you stayed and coat hooks have now been fitted.
Did you find this review helpful?
11 4


Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Onibury Apple tree
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Apple tree The Clive Bromfield
Car: necessary

Bikes may be hired Walks on marked trails Spectacular views from all cottages private gardens and walks on owners land