OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Ship House, Dunwich, Between Southwold and Aldeburgh

Overview

Property

Updated: 01-Nov-2016
Holiday Home in Dunwich, Nr. Southwold, Suffolk - A 3 Star House In Seaside Village With Superb Views, 2 Min Walk From The Beach, Wifi & Wood Stove

18th Century Grade ii listed, Ship House has three floors boasting some of the best views in Suffolk. The house is idyllically located very close to the beach at the heart of Dunwich Conservation area and next door to an award winning pub (The Ship Inn). The house is well-equipped and comfortable with wood burning stove and exposed beams. Dunwich (located between Aldeburgh and Southwold is a small unspoilt seaside village surrounded by some of the country's finest nature reserves (Minsmeer, Dunwich Heath and Dingle Marsh). The village also has a beach cafe (renowned for its fish and chips) and a tearoom at the garden centre. The house has its own wifi throughout and each bedroom has the sound of the sea. Check out the links to local tourist information and nature reserve websites by clicking on the local info tab at the top of our website home page. " I defy anyone at desolate exquisite Dunwich to be disappointed in anything" Henry James, August 1879.

  • Sleeps 6
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Garden
  • Pets considered
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

I am a landscape painter based in East London. My work involves visiting interesting locations especially the Suffolk coast. So when Ship House became available for sale we booked it for the weekend. After one night with the distant sound of waves and then waking up to the incredible views we where convinced to buy.

Call Owner
Speaks English

Guestbook comments from the owner

Ship House is excellent, very clean and comfortable with everything we need.

Paul Bridges

(North Lanarkshire)



"We highly recommend this spacious, comfortable property having enjoyed the expansive views from the upper floor. Well equipped and we found it ideally situated for exploring the surrounding countryside.

Pat and Alan (Hertfordshire).

"What a loverly place to be based . A comfortable and stylish retreat"

Jane and John (Bristol).

"What a fabulous place and perfectly loverly house. We'll be back".

Ruth and Richard (London)

"Ship House is a near perfect holiday home. Its got a stylish but comfortable interior which feels very contemporary, and the hosts beautiful paintings accentuate every room. It has a seemingly endless view across open fields to the sea, and is wonderfully peaceful. The pub next door serves good food, and is so quiet we weren't disturbed by any noise. Highly recommend"

kate. (Cambridge)
Jan 2011
  • 1 of 1

13 Reviews

5
based on 13 holidaymaker reviews

5

Fantastic property in a stunning location

  • 5 of 5

A beautiful house with every amenity you could ask for, really well equipped, spacious, clean and comfortable.

Julian was extremely helpful and responded to questions immediately.

We couldn't imagine a better location, so close to what has to be our favourite beach, why would anybody want to go any further than this completely unspoilt part of the Suffolk coastline?

We had some great fishing off the beach, lovely walks and then back to a roaring log fire in Ship House, just perfect.

And to cap it all, with a brisk walk you can be in the pub ordering a pint and the best fish and chips in under the 10 seconds!

Would come back tomorrow if we could !

  • Review Submitted: Feb 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Happy to hear of more satisfied visitors. J.P
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Charming, comfortable and well equipped

  • 5 of 5

Ship House lived up to our expectations. It's situated in the charming village of Dunwich right next to the village pub. The house is spacious with huge bedrooms and a very well equipped kitchen. In fact the whole place was well equipped and clean. The beds and bedding are comfortable and the bathroom modern with a good shower. We really appreciated having a good size smart TV as we were following Andy Murray's progress at Queens. So often rental places have a small and poor quality television. The top room is lovely for sitting with a coffee and the papers whilst admiring the view of the sea, the grazing cattle and the rabbits playing across the road.

There's just a small outside space at the front which is pretty much north facing but we were out most of the time and the pub has a large garden at the rear.

Julian is very prompt and communicative so we felt that we knew what was happening throughout the booking, arrival and departure processes. Our deposit was returned as soon as we got home.

Dunwich is a great base for visiting Southwold (don't miss the Coastal Voyager Sea Blast experience!), Walberswick and Aldeburgh. Dingle Hill Tearoom just along the road is a delight with great food, service and a lovely garden. We had some minor issues with the pub though in that some of the service was rather surly and we thought the food and wine were overpriced. Great beer though served in a very attractive building with gardens front and back. There was never any noise from the pub.

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Ship House to friends and will be doing so.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 1, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Very Glad to get another good review. We try to supply the best support to our guests and are always looking for ways to improve our service. J.P.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sheffield
5

Lovely in every way.

  • 5 of 5

Ship House has a lovely welcoming feel to it. It is incredibly well equipped, clean and without a doubt one of the nicest holiday cottages we have stayed in. We don't normally return to places we have already been, but in the case of Ship House we will be making a return visit. The location is perfect with the beach, marsh and forest in walking distance. Also having a pub right next door is great and we didn't notice any 'pub noise' when in the house.

Being able to speak directly to Julian the owner is a huge bonus. He is extremely helpful and informative and in fact we were able to extend our stay without having to go through agents etc.

We thoroughly recommend lovely Ship House.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 22, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Great to get such positive feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Newmarket
5

Perfect location

  • 5 of 5

This cottage was in a perfect location and was so cosy and comfortable with wonderful views from upstairs. We couldn't have asked for a better equipped cottage, making it a real home from home for us. Most certainly one of the best holiday homes we have ever stayed in. We definitely will look forward to returning to this lovely place.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 24, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Romford, Essex
5

Perfect quaint village cottage

  • 5 of 5

Ship House was exactly what we were expecting - a charming, old cottage right in the heart of Dunwich but with all the modern amenities to make a very comfortable family stay.

We have two young children (5 and 2) and with the stair-gate and normal vigilance you need anywhere new with small kids, this was a safe house. More than big enough for our group, our elder child loved the top room and the mysterious door from the main bedroom that leads nowhere.

The house is comfy and cosy and plenty big enough for a family of 4 or so. Hi-tech (for us!) TV and WiFi a definite plus too.

We visited Southwold a number of times but also Aldeburgh, and Thorpeness for a lovely morning boating on the lake. The Maize Maze was good and Africa Alive in Lowestoft excellent. Lovely area to explore- the old priory in Dunwich worth a visit, as is the pebbly Dunwich beach - lovely and quiet. Overall, brilliant and I'm sure we'll be back at some point.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 26, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for a very positive review. I hope to enjoy the Maize Maze myself someday. J.P
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful house in a tranquil location

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay in Ship House. The house is very well-equipped and tastefully decorated. Lovely wooden floors and antique pieces are balanced by luxurious modern fixtures and fittings. The owners' paintings around the house add a great deal to its atmosphere, reflecting the rural coastal setting.

The view from the top floor is a gorgeously green panorama, lending itself to reflection and allowing you to watch the local wildlife going about its daily business. Though the house is next door to the Ship Inn, there is no problem with noise.

Dunwich makes a peaceful base to return to after exploring all the local area has to offer - it is located between the quaintly pretty towns of Southwold and Aldeburgh. Snape Maltings, Thorpeness and the Minsmere nature reserve are also worth visiting. There are plenty of lovely walks in Dunwich itself, taking in the coast, woodland and heathland. Dunwich Museum, a few doors along from the house, tells the interesting story of how what was once a large bustling town, over time crumbled into the sea through coastal erosion.

We can highly recommend the Sticky Toffee Pudding at the Ship Inn, and had some real gourmet treats at The Anchor in nearby Walberswick.

  • Review Submitted: May 8, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Great to have another positive review, we are always working on ways to improve and upgrade Ship House.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

From the Owner

I have always loved Dunwich since visiting the area as a child. Apart from the historic and wildlife interest of the place, I think it is the wonderful mixture of English country village and Suffolk coast that make this small place such good value. Despite its relatively isolated position there is always something going on. Every weekend seems to bring some interesting event or gathering.

Activity and Interests

Coast/Beach:

Dunwich beach is only 2 minutes away. It is a quiet, rural beach but does have a fish and chip restaurant. Larger local resorts with more facilities include Walberswick, Southwold, and Aldeburgh.

Travel:

The nearest station is Darsham (about 5 miles) with a direct line to London.

Distances:

Local attractions include the Dunwich Museum (which tells the story of the city lost to the sea), Snape Maltings (home of the Aldeburgh festival and in August the Snape Proms with nightly events – classical, folk, jazz,world music poetry,comedy etc), Minsmere (the RSPB flagship reserve). Slightly further away is Norwich and the Norfolk Broads. Southwold and Aldeburgh have summer theatres. The nearest cinemas are at Aldeburgh and Leiston.

Further Details:

A house guide file is provided which includes details about the house and the local area.

The nearest shop is in Westleton (2 and a half miles).

The Village has its own website where local news and events can be found:

http://www.dunwichpm.onesuffolk.net

Prices and Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Autumn 3
28 Oct 2016 - 15 Dec 2016
7 night minimum stay
£494
for 7 nights
£494
 
 
Christmas/NY
16 Dec 2016 - 5 Jan 2017
7 night minimum stay
£751
for 7 nights
£751
 
 
Spring 1
6 Jan 2017 - 9 Feb 2017
7 night minimum stay
£500
for 7 nights
£500
 
 
Spring 2
10 Feb 2017 - 16 Feb 2017
7 night minimum stay
£575
for 7 nights
£575
 
 
Spring 3
17 Feb 2017 - 30 Mar 2017
7 night minimum stay
£510
for 7 nights
£510
 
 
Easter
31 Mar 2017 - 20 Apr 2017
7 night minimum stay
£760
for 7 nights
£760
 
 
Summer 1
21 Apr 2017 - 25 May 2017
7 night minimum stay
£570
for 7 nights
£570
 
 
Summer 2
26 May 2017 - 1 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£760
for 7 nights
£760
 
 
Summer 3
2 Jun 2017 - 20 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
£660
for 7 nights
£660
 
 
Summer 4
21 Jul 2017 - 7 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£760
for 7 nights
£760
 
 
Autumn 1
8 Sep 2017 - 19 Oct 2017
7 night minimum stay
£540
for 7 nights
£540
 
 
Autumn 2
20 Oct 2017 - 26 Oct 2017
7 night minimum stay
£620
for 7 nights
£620
 
 
Autumn 3
27 Oct 2017 - 14 Dec 2017
7 night minimum stay
£520
for 7 nights
£520
 
 
Christmas - New year
15 Dec 2017 - 4 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£780
for 7 nights
£780
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
During off peak periods please enquire if you are interested in a period less than seven days and we will try and accommodate you.
If you have any questions or wish to book, please email. To confirm a booking we require customers to complete a booking form (which we will send you) plus a security deposit of £150 (in addition to the rent). The full rental falls due 1 month in advance of your holiday. The security deposit will be returned after your holiday.



Changeover Day:
Normal changeover day is Friday.
Guests usually have access from 4.30 pm on the first day and are required to vacate by 10 am on the final day.

Notes on prices:
The price excludes linen. Guests are welcome to bring their own or rent for £10 per bed (Kingsize or single). There is a supplement of £15 for a dog. Towels are available at £3.50 per person for personal towels (1 bath, 1 hand towel). Please indicate on the booking form your preferences.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Updated: 01-Nov-2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

From the Owner

My partner Sally (also an artist) and I have styled the house after Kettles Yard Cambridge. The house is furnished with examples of our work and a few historic images of Dunwich. However the location is perhaps the best feature of Ship House. being just two minutes from the beach. In the winter walking by the surf is a joy knowing that there is a warm fire at home. In the Summer the fantastic pub garden next door (including famous ancient fig tree) is the perfect place to enjoy pre dinner drinks.

Property Type

  • house

General

  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove

Kitchen

  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster

Dining

  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys

Suitability

  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Location Type

  • beach
  • village

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure
  • A superb newly installed bathroom with deep bath, separate shower cubicle, wc and sink.

Bedrooms

  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 (3 Bedrooms) One Dog by arrangement. Notes on bedrooms: Master. King size + travel cot available. Bedroom 2. Twin beds. Bedroom3 with sitting area. Twin beds. Steep stairs rise from the master bedroom to this large room. There are outstanding panoramic views over the reed beds towards Southwold and the sea.

Outside

  • Golf ...
  • Garden

Meals

  • Self-catering

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website

Notes:

  • Notes on accommodation: Please note that you must pass through the master bedroom to access bedroom 3 on the top floor. One Dog by arrangement and must stay downstairs at all times (£15 supplementary fee). Please note that there is no problem whatsoever with noise from the pub. The Ship Inn is a quiet pub and we have thick walls. Outside: To the front of the property is a compact front garden (small table and chairs stored in the porch). Cleaning / Towels / Linen / : Bed linen is not included but available @ £10 per Bed set, or guests are welcome to bring their own. Personal towels can be provided at a cost of £3.50 per person. Please indicate on booking your preference.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot