OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Traditional Grade II Listed Cornish Cottage

People2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 600 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

1 bed Cottage with Rural Views near sea and galleries

A special retreat, Maple Cottage is stylish, spacious and comfortable. Attached to the owners house, The Grade II Listed Georgian cottage retains character with stripped wood floors, thick walls and an original granite inglenook fireplace with a large wood-burner and is decorated with Farrow & Ball eco-friendly paint. The gardens around the property are gardened using eco friendly organic methods, and are planted to attract bees and butterflies. The owners paintings adorn the walls and you may visit their nearby gallery & studios. Maple Cottage is situated in a beautiful area in the heart of West Cornwall with views down the Lamorna Valley to a distant glimpse of the sea. The cottage will appeal to those interested in wildlife, country walks and the nearby ancient historic standing stones. Beaches, the coastal path are within easy reach.

Change-over day is now Saturday.

More Details

Owner
Pam Betowski
Member since: 2011
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
26 June, 2017

About Pam Betowski

Attracted by the inspiring landscape and the quality of light we moved to Cornwall from London over 25 years ago. My husband, Noel Betowski, is a professional artist and we are both musicians.

Pam Betowski purchased this cottage in 2001

Why Pam Betowski chose South West Cornwall

We fell in love with the romantic, unspoilt and historic nature of this area that transports one back to a time gone by. Although situated in quiet rural area, it is only a five minute drive to the market town of Penzance and the sea. Our property is one of the important historical houses of West Cornwall.

What makes this cottage unique

Situated in the centre of rural Penwith with easy access to towns, beaches and coves. The area retains a timely historic atmosphere.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Just bliss! Cottage was perfect. Loved exploring Cornwall. Laura & Martin



Another wonderful stay. Revisiting old haunts and finding new - plus art and music in situ! Bliss!



Warm and cosy, very clean and perfectly peaceful.



Ideal homely base clean and warm, fantastic wood burner. Anne



Fantastic holiday, the cottage is lovely especially with the log fire! Would love to come again soon! Loved it! David and Lily



Amazing cottage, fantastic setting. Amazing views and excellent base for exploring. We can't wait to come back again! Paul & Em



Thank you for a lovely week. Great location for exploring local archaeology and beautiful cliff top walks. Loved the jazz night at the local Pub.



Very well equipped and situated.



A fantastic base for all the walking we have done - a real home from home. Beautiful art - do look round Noel's studio! S & L



We have enjoyed this cottage very much - the best yet. A real treat to be surrounded by excellent paintings - thank you!
Jan 2011
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Sancreed in Cornwall

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Min. age of primary renter: 18
  • Not suitable for children
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower)
  • First floor bathroom with bath, over bath mixer shower, wc and wash-basin. Heated towel rail. Towels.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 2 (1 Bedroom) Notes on bedrooms: First floor, bedroom with double bed. Duvet, CD player, hair-dryer. Electric fire. Countryside views down Lamorna Valley.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Golf ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • 1 bicycles
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • naturist beach
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Maple Cottage is situated near a country lane not far from the main road but far enough to be quiet and peaceful. There are country walks to ancient remains of villages and standing stone circles. Stunning beaches and art galleries are close. Outside there is a private walled garden and off-road parking.

Reviews

4.6/5 -
(5 traveller reviews)

Fareham, Hants
5

Maple Cottage, Sancreed

  • 5 of 5

We loved the very clean and comfortable cottage which had a distinct "oldie worldie" charm. Our stay was very relaxing in the quiet location a little off the beaten track but nevertheless close to many of Cornwall's beautiful attractions. The owners, Pam and Noel, gave us an immediate very warm welcome and were most attentive during our stay in attending to our every need. This was certainly a holiday which provided us with total peace and quiet and we were most sorry when the time came to leave.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday at Maple Cottage!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Maple Cottage was a delightful place to stay in a stunning location.

  • 5 of 5

The owners were very helpful and friendly. The cottage had original art work on the walls that really made it unique. It was a very good base for visiting lots of fantastic places, such as St Michael`s Mount, Mousehole, Cape Cornwall and St Ives.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Our best place in Cornwall: beautiful, quiet, friendly, stylish with a lot of privacy

  • 5 of 5

The traditional, granite cottage was still better than the description. It is situated - hidden within a couple op traditional buildings in a wide landscape, not far from the main road from Penzance to Lands End, but far enough to hear nothing from the traffic. Though the cottage is very old, it makes a very stylish impression, with a kitchen open to the living room. The sleepingroom and the large bathroom are upstairs (the stairs are comfortable). The cottage has an own garden with a granit wall around it, so that one can enjoy the sun, without being blowing away by the wind.

Everything was very clean and new. The library contained a lot of interesting books and we did appreciated very much to find a very detailed map of the surroundings, which was very useful to find the way aside the main roads.

The owners, one of them being an artist, have been helpful and friendly. We were invited to visit the art studio, which was very impressive.

Yes, we definitely would like to stay there next time and would recommend the property to our friends.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing cottage in a great location

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Maple cottage for the week and it was lovely. Just the right size for a couple. Set in beautiful surroundings and the building itself is gorgeous. We couldn't fault it. Noel and Pam were very nice, was lovely to meet them. The cottage is close to all the attractions, especially Penzance harbour and Marazion. Enough off road parking for two cars which is always handy. It was a lovely place to stay and we will be staying there in the future. Would highly recommend it.

Jess and Abby

  • Review Submitted: Aug 2, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hampshire
3

Holiday stay

  • 3 of 5

Although we enjoyed our stay we felt the owners could have payed more attention to detail eg providing clean outdoor furniture which was unusable due to bird droppings and not being looked after and the fact we assumed they would provide towels ,as we had to go back out into Penzance to buy towels at our expense. Also they advertised a log burner for heating but the day we got there it was quite cold and they hadn't supplied any logs or kindle which again we had to buy all week at our expense. Overall the property was clean and presentable but they should have pointed these details out before we arrived.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 17, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2013
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am saddened to receive a review where our guests were not completely satisfied with their stay.   Prospective guests to the cottage are sent a booking form which includes booking conditions, where we state please bring your own towels and that logs and coal for the log burner are not supplied but available locally. However we do supply towels to travellers from abroad, as we understand they may have luggage restrictions on flights, and we therefore send a separate overseas inventory and booking form stating this. This explains why we do not mention towels on the website. It is important that guests read the booking form conditions carefully before signing and returning it to us, together with their deposit.  We also send an inventory of items in the property, (which does however include t-towels and hand towel for the kitchen), for guests to check. When guests arrive we greet them and inform them to ask us if they find anything missing or if they need anything else. Guests quite often forget to bring towels, so I happily always have towels ready for the specific purpose of supplying guests who have forgotten their towels. Heating facilities which are included in the price are Oil fired central heating and electricity, with 2 portable electric fires available to use. The only thing not provided are logs, although we do sometimes supply the first basket of logs e.g. At Christmas. As regards the garden furniture. Whilst there is a rather old seat in the private garden there Is also a fold up table kept in the cottage for outside use, for the specific reason of providing a clean table, plus a further set of table and chairs in the communal garden area. We have now just invested in another new set of garden furniture.  However we are very keen to encourage wild-life in the area, in fact we feel privileged that the West of Cornwall is home to many birds including those that are rare and endangered. We also grow bee and butterfly friendly plants and wildflowers.  Please see below the relevant quote from the Booking Conditions, which was signed by our guests: "Please bring your own towels. Oil -fired central heating is inclusive, but provided from the main house at owners discretion. Electricity is also included with hot water supplied by electric immersion heater. Logs & coal for the multi-fuel burner are not provided but available locally. For other items included at Maple Cottage - please see the minimum inventory. "
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Early Summer
14 Jun 2017 - 28 Jun 2017
5 night minimum stay
£307
for 5 nights
£430
 
 
Summer
29 Jun 2017 - 13 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
£504
for 7 nights
£504
 
 
Summer
14 Jul 2017 - 27 Jul 2017
7 night minimum stay
£540
for 7 nights
£540
 
 
Summer
28 Jul 2017 - 24 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£570
for 7 nights
£570
 
 
Summer
25 Aug 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£500
for 7 nights
£500
 
 
Late Summer
2 Sep 2017 - 15 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£480
for 7 nights
£480
 
 
Late Summer
16 Sep 2017 - 22 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£460
for 7 nights
£460
 
 
September
23 Sep 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£430
for 7 nights
£430
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£490
for 7 nights
£490
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:

To reserve Maple Cottage and to confirm price, please contact me initially. The cottage will be booked on receipt of your deposit, an amount one third of the total price, which will be confirmed by return email. Payment may be made by Cheque, Paypal or Bank transfer. The balance is to be paid by 6 weeks before the start of the holiday.

Alternatively you may pay by Credit card immediately using the Owners Direct online booking system.

It is advised that you take out your own holiday insurance.

Changeover Day:
Arrival/Departure day is now Saturday. Arrival time after 2:00. Departure by 10:00.

Notes on prices:
There is a £10 reduction where guests provide their own bed-linen.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals