OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Cottage With Stunning Views Across Whitby Harbour And The North York Moors

People5
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
People
5
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights

About the property

Holiday Home in Whitby, North Yorkshire, England with stunning views and free WiFi - Peaceful Location, 10 Minutes Walk From The Centre Of Whitby's Old Town and 15 Minutes to Beach.

This delightful, bright and spacious cottage has been fully modernised and equipped to high standards. It's special attraction is the elevated position which provides wonderful views of Whitby harbour, the Abbey and the North York Moors. The town of Whitby offers numerous tourist attractions including Whitby Abbey, the North Yorkshire Moors steam railway, boat trips in the harbour and out to sea, the beach and various museums. Places of interest such as Staithes, Robin Hoods Bay, Scarborough and York are a short drive away. The cottage has a well equipped kitchen, sitting/dining room, three bedrooms, bathroom and small sitting out area. It is cosy and warm with gas central heating, a gas cast iron stove and double glazing. The main bedroom has a double brass bed and stunning views across the harbour from one window and over the moors from the other. The second bedroom is a twin with adult size beds and the third room is a single. Both rooms have views of the harbour or moors.


Owner
David Wilson
Member since: 2009
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
20 February, 2017

About David Wilson

I am a recently retired community pharmacist and my wife is a retired teacher.We love using the cottage ourselves when not occupied by guests and take a pride in presenting it to a high standard. As we live less than an hour away from the property we are able to clean and service it ourselves to ensure standards are maintained.

David Wilson purchased this cottage in 2010

Why David Wilson chose Yorkshire Moors and Coast

Having bought a holiday cottage in Pickering in 2009 we decided the best pension plan was to buy another one and let them out for a few weeks each year to cover their running costs. We chose Whitby for our second cottage simply because we really like the town. We have spent many weekends there since we bought the cottage and we have still got plenty of places in the town to visit. We are keen walkers and mountain bikers but we have yet to exhaust all the possible routes from the cottage. We particularly enjoy cycling on the railway track which runs all the way to Scarborough and walking on the beautiful cliff path to Robin Hoods Bay.

What makes this cottage unique

Whitby is a fantastic town with lots to do. It has loads of excellent restaurants but our favourites are the Marine, White Horse and Griffin and Greens. There is also a fish and chip shop at the bottom of our steps which we think serves the best fish and chips in Whitby. From the cottage we can walk out into the countryside or enjoy a lazy day on the beach with a BBQ. As we enjoy fishing we often go out to sea with one of the local fishing boats.

Guestbook comments from the owner

'We had a lovely holiday and the cottage was perfect'. Mr & Mrs Mc and family

August 2011

'We enjoyed staying in your beautiful cottage' Mr & Mrs K and family August 2011

'We really enjoyed staying in your cottage - great location and good to have parking so near' Mr & Mrs M October 2012

'We have really enjoyed our stay in your fabulous cottage and would love to return' Mr & Mrs T New Year 2012

'Fantastic cottage, ideal location for the harbour and beach' July 2013

'A lovely cottage,furnished superbly' Oct 2013

'Had a lovely stay at the cottage. Lovely and clean, beds comfortable'. The Evans April 2014

'We have thoroughly enjoyed our week in your gorgeous cottage'. July 2014
Nov 2010
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(13 traveller reviews)

5

Great position and views

  • 5 of 5

Great little cottage, well equipped (incl dishwasher) and handy for town centre. Easy parking. It's up a fairly steep series of steps so wouldn't neccessarily suit someone with restricted mobility but there are probably other ways down to the waterside. I have a knee and lower back problem and I managed OK with only a bit of grumbling! Lovely lounge with stove, galley kitchen, dining area and great main bedroom. Bathroom has WC and an interesting circular shower curtain so it can get a tad congested in the morning with 4 adults but we still managed. No one was killed!

Great restaurants in (fairly) easy walking distance especially if you like good, seriously good, fish and chips. Other food preferences also catered for but why would you? We went to the Stables (short drive) for Christmas Lunch and it was excellent.

Walking distance from a very good Co-op and short drive to Sainsburys. Neither were mobbed even tho' it was Christmas week.

Walking distance to the ruined abbey which is worth a look. Many other attractions within a short drive but you'll know that from trip advisor.

I would be happy to return in late spring but maybe just the two of us.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are really glad you had a good time in our cottage over Christmas. Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Sandglass cottage is a little gem

  • 5 of 5

Had a lovely 5 days in Sandglass Cottage in Whitby. Clean, well equipped, warm & cosy!

Excellent location with only a 10 minute walk into town & fabulous views from the bedroom windows.

Only downside is the dreadful parking which can't be helped with the narrow streets & no off-road parking for residents or holiday makers.

This aside, we would definitely use this property again & recommend to friends & family.

Thank you for allowing us to stay

  • Review Submitted: Oct 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very pretty and well looked after

  • 5 of 5

We hired this property for a girls' weekend and it was just perfect. There's plenty of space downstairs for lounging around and eating at the table. There were only 5 channels available on the Sky box but this didn't bother us as we barely watched the TV and we just played the CDs instead!

We had everything we needed to cook with, the bedrooms were nicely decorated and had plenty of storage (particularly in the double room). The bathroom was a lovely traditional style.

There were lovely views of Whitby and out over the hills from the upstairs windows and if you open the windows you can hear the steam train arrive and depart!

My only criticism of the cottage is the steep steps leading up from the harbour side, but you really can't avoid that anywhere in Whitby. The cottage was perfectly placed, with only a 10 minute walk to the abbey.

We had such a lovely time and this was definitely partly due to the great cottage. Thank you so much.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review and we are really glad you had a good time in our cottage. Unfortunately the steps to the cottage are the price we have to pay for the wonderful views. Although we don't have a full Sky package all Freeview channels should be available through the Sky box.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely cottage in an excellent location.

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed staying at Sandglass Cottage. There were two adults and two teenages. It was a fairly small cottage but the owners, David and Fiona, had decorated it beautifully. The property was clean and well-kept, and the beds were extremely comfy.

The location was very convenient for the town although there were many steps down to the main street which could cause problems for some people. However, there was also a slope at the back of the property which would suit pushchair and wheelchair users.

Plenty to do in and around Whitby - lots of great pubs and places to eat. Standout places include Ditto, The Magpie and Indian Moments. We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our cottage and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Superb holiday cottage with excellent amenities. Highly recommended.

  • 5 of 5

This beautiful cottage was a home from home - the owners had thought of everything we could possibly need during our stay.

The property description was very accurate and it was lovely and clean when we arrived. The owner provided clear instructions for entry to the cottage, and all other relevant information was available in a helpful folder, along with recommendations for days out and restaurants.

Thank-you to the owners for your communication leading up to our stay which helped everything go smoothly. We have already told our friends and family to book as soon as possible - and we hope to return sometime in the future!

Many thanks,

The Reeson Family.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your holiday and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great property in a great location.

  • 5 of 5

Just what we needed for a short family stay.

Cottage was well equipped and bedrooms light and clean. Great base for exploring and just away from the hustle and bustle of the main centre of Whitby. Offers some fantastic views across the harbour.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
February Half Term
11 Feb 2017 - 25 Feb 2017
3 night minimum stay
£390
for 3 nights
From
£130
£395
 
 
Early Spring
26 Feb 2017 - 7 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
£360
for 3 nights
From
£120
£375
 
 
Easter
8 Apr 2017 - 22 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
£390
for 3 nights
From
£130
£535
 
 
Late Spring
23 Apr 2017 - 26 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£360
for 3 nights
From
£120
£465
 
 
May Half Term
27 May 2017 - 3 Jun 2017
3 night minimum stay
£405
for 3 nights
From
£135
£575
 
 
Early Summer
4 Jun 2017 - 14 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
£390
for 3 nights
From
£130
£515
 
 
High Summer
15 Jul 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£645
for 7 nights
£645
 
 
September/October
2 Sep 2017 - 20 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£375
for 3 nights
From
£125
£515
 
 
October Half Term
21 Oct 2017 - 29 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£390
for 3 nights
From
£130
£545
 
 
Autumn
30 Oct 2017 - 21 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
£230
for 2 nights
From
£115
£365
 
 
Christmas/New Year
22 Dec 2017 - 5 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
£390
for 3 nights
From
£130
£555
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
A booking deposit of 25% of the total holiday cost is required at the time of booking. The balance is due 8 weeks before the start of the holiday. The cancellation policy is as follows: Up to 8 weeks - full refund. 4-8 weeks - 50% refund. 2-4 weeks - 25% refund. Less than 2 weeks- no refund. NB If the cottage can be re-let then full refunds may be given.

Changeover Day:
Changeover day is normally Saturday but it may be possible to be flexible so please enquire. The cottage is available from 4pm on the day of arrival and should be vacated by 10am on the day of departure.

Notes on prices:
Prices are quoted for the week in UK pounds. Shorter stays are available on request and changeover days may be flexible especially out of peak season. Three night stays are priced at 70% of the weekly rate and two night winter weekend breaks are available at a price of £200 for 2 people and £220 for 3-5 people.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Whitby in North Yorkshire

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • resort
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
  • Bathroom with bath, WC and hand basin. The bath has a shower over.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 5 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with double brass bed. Bedroom 2 with two adult size single beds. Bedroom 3 with single adult size bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Garden
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
Outside: There is a small sitting out area in front of the cottage. This is shared common land which is not owned by the cottage owners but is available for enjoying the afternoon/evening sun. Folding garden chairs are available in the utility room. The cottage is on a path which runs down to the harbourside but cars can be parked free of charge on the street which is very close to the cottage. Utility Room: Utility room with dishwasher, washing machine and freezer. There is hanging space in the utility room for outdoor coats. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: All bed linen, hand towels and tea towels are provided. Guests are requested to bring their own bath towels. The cottage will have been fully cleaned before guests arrive and we would appreciate it left in a clean and tidy state at the end of the stay.

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot