OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Beautiful Holiday Cottage In Falmouth



Updated: 06-Oct-2016
Cottage in Falmouth, Cornwall, England - Perfect Location Near To The Town Centre And Beach

Coachman's Loft was originally used by the Coachmen to a large house which was built by a captain of a Packet Ship. Coachman's Loft. The loft has been renovated in the past few years, with full gas central heating, travertine porcelain tiled hall, handmade oak staircase, oak doors, oak flooring, exposed stone wall and vaulted ceiling giving it a sense of light and space. It is are located on the Fal Estuary with river views from the Coachman's Loft kitchen. Centrally located for all the visitors attractions in and around Falmouth with a good selection of shops, pubs & restaurants. See website link below for more details.

  • Sleeps 3
  • 1 Bedroom
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Dish washer

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

We have lived in Falmouth for 18 years after moving from London. We have been renovating the main house and now are moving onto the cottages attached. We have 3 children who have grown up enjoying all the water sports and activities. There are so many things you can do from walking along the natural coastline, to water sports, visiting gardens and galleries. There is always something going on Sailing regattas, oyster festivals, river festivals and art exhibitions and they are all through the year.

Call Owner
Speaks English

Guestbook comments from the owner

John & Catherine Martin.What a wonderful fortnight we have had here in Wisteria Cottage and thank you so much for letting us use it as the "brides home"! We hoped for dry weather for Clare's wedding but to have glorious sunshine for 12 of the 14 days was amazing!

A fantastic location and charming landlords. Thank you so much.

Thank you also for all the goodies on arrival- delicious.

We would love to come again.

25th May - 8th June 2013

5th - 12th July 2014

Felicity & Abi - We have enjoyed staying in this lovely house. (Wisteria Cottage)

February 2014

Mc Cunn Family - We have had a very enjoyable visit to Cornwall and appreciate good food and beautiful scenery. Thank you for making us so welcome.(Wisteria Cottage)

12th - 19th 2014

Michael - What a pretty place with a wonderful view - I never washed up so relaxed before. Falmouth is really nice and the marina is marvellous. We loved

to eat in Rick Steins in Falmouth. We will come back, thank you. (Coachman's Loft)

18th July 2014

Sonja - Thank you very much for a beautiful stay in this lovely place. We absolutely enjoyed it.

August 16th 2014

(Coachman's Loft)

German guests - We enjoyed our stay at your lovely Loft very much. Thanks for all, especially the scones with clotted cream.

August 22nd 2014

Angela & Darren - Thank you for the lovely holiday we have had in your lovely Loft. Thank you for the scones and wine, very much appreciated. The Tall Ships were fab.

30th August 2014
Sep 2010
  • 1 of 1

9 Reviews

based on 9 holidaymaker reviews


Great location, but in need of some TLC

  • 3 of 5

Location was great, quick walk down into the center of town. However this property is in need of some work- a shower that doesn't drain well, bath room sink that is useless, a toilet that didn't flush properly (this was fixed once mentioned). The doors are all stiff and unable to close them. Dampness in the bedroom, which is sometimes unavoidable, but there was no obvious sign of covering it up or even covering the damp smell (room diffuser would have helped).

I would NOT recommend more than 2 people stay unless those on the sofa bed in the lounge upstairs don't mind a huge window with no curtains/blinds/shutters to give them privacy or to block out the sunlight.

Bathroom towels had yellow stains on them, obviously unable to wash out. The kitchen had washed but stained tea towels which is ok at home, but not in a holiday house, cracked/chipped and incomplete crockery sets.

No recycling in place, everything including glass, tin, paper, cardboard advised to go in the refuse bin!

I had emailed the owner 2 week prior to this review with my feedback and recommendations but have not received any reply.

I suggested the owners should stay in the property to experience it for themselves, these are all minor, fixable issues but there were so many of them it wasn't worth ruining our holiday over by bringing it up at the time.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely property in a perfect location

  • 4 of 5

Myself and my 9-yr old daughter had a lovely stay at The Coachman's Loft in August - we know Falmouth well and this property was in the perfect location to be able to walk into the town or drive round to the beaches. Could even see the sea from the kitchen window! Very much enjoyed and will definitely visit again.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Smell of damp over powering

  • 2 of 5

Seems worn out and in need of a deep clean.musty damp smell in bedroom was unbearable we had to leave a day early bedding and our clothing felt damp and smell of damp too much unable to sleep heating not working when it came on barely warm felt ill sleeping in damp musty condition left owner a note never replied . Parking was a nightmare could never get a space close to accommodation .would not stay again or rcommend it unless your a duck .

  • Review Submitted: Sep 27, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0

A lovely cottage

  • 3 of 5

Coachmans Loft.....Previous to arrival we text the owner that we would be late due to circumstances. Arrived just before 10pm. we did not get an acknowledgement for our text. I had rang the owner a few weeks previously and she had given directions on how to find the property as we had been in the area earlier in the year an could not find it. We realised when we arrived that these directions were a bit vague and had to knock on several doors to find the property. After knocking on a large white house next to the other cottage...Wysteria cottage..the person came out to tell us where it was, I asked if she could show us as it was quite dark..... then found out it was the owner.... we would never have found the property as it was a gate within the church, yard, with a very dark access, that was the last time we saw her. Quite disappointed that we did not have a washing machine. Disappointed that no one came to change our towels. Very unusual that no one ever asked if everything was ok. However, did enjoy the welcome scones and wine. Would go again if there was a washing machine and towel change. This property is very convenient for the town.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 15, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your welcome basket and homemade cream tea. Unfortunately the text went to our home telephone while we were out and therefore we didn't pick up the message until the next day which was obviously too late. I am sorry that you found the directions a bit vague, but the directions are straight forward, and no one has ever had a problem before. I appreciate it may be harder in the dark but the directions clearly direct you to Coachman's Loft. However I will add to the website that if you are going to arrive in the dark then it might be worth bringing a touch. I am sorry but we do not advertise anywhere that we have a washing machine and we never change the towels or linen during a one week stay. This is very normal for a weekly stay in holiday accommodation. Lastly, we do not disturb our guests, we assume they want to have a peaceful holiday, keeping themselves to themselves and if they do need anything we are only next door. We would love to welcome you back and we would happily change the towels for you.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1

Excellent Holiday Accommodation

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful holiday in Falmouth and Cornwall staying in this excellent accommodation.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 11, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2
co durham

third time here

  • 5 of 5

This was our third time in the coachmans loft a lovely apartment weather great good location a good base to look around the rest of cornwall.we will be back

  • Review Submitted: Jul 14, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2014
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 4


From the Owner

We overlook the waters of Falmouth and we can walk to the town along the waterfront.

Activity and Interests


Royal Cornwall Yacht Club 5 minutes by foot.

Prince of Wales Quay for trip boats 10 minutes by foot.

Gyllyingvase Beach 20 minutes by foot, 5/10 minutes by Car.


Newquay Airport 1 hour. Falmouth Town Railway 5 minutes by taxi. Truro 10 miles. Lizard Point 19 miles. Land's End 34 miles.


Boat House pub 5 minutes walk. Tesco metro 10 minutes walk. Marks & Spencers 10 minutes walk. Sainsbury's 5 minutes drive.

Further Details:

Coachman's Loft and Wisteria Cottage are situated in a quiet location along the Penryn river leading to Falmouth bay with the smell of the sea and sound of the gulls. It is only a short walk into the town, where you will find art galleries and quaint little cafes and shops. At the end of the town is the Events Square where you will find the National Maritime Museum, Rick Steins fish and chips restaurant and various other restaurants and bars. If you proceed further you will come to Gillyingvase beach the main beach in Falmouth with it's modern beach restaurant.

The cathedral city of Truro with its designer shops, museum, pavement cafes, bistros, restaurants, theatre and cinema is 10 miles. This area of Cornwall was famous for its copper and tin mines and there are various old mines which have guided tours down the mines and in the engine houses. These are now protected by The National Trust.


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Late autumn
28 Oct 2016 - 22 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
£100 for Coachman's Loft deposit by cheque will secure your holiday. The remainder to be paid 4 weeks before the holiday starts.
Coachman's loft sleeps 2, additional people £50/child £25 each maximum 3 people.
We do not accept pets

Changeover Day:
Friday change over, flexible out of season. Departure 10am and arrival 4pm.

Notes on prices:
Prices are for the property per week in UK pounds. Discounts for long winter lets by arrangement.
Coachman's loft sleeps 2, additional people £50/£25 child each maximum 4 people. Wisteria Cottage sleeps 6, additional people £50 each maximum 8 people.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Updated: 06-Oct-2016
Available arrival


From the Owner

The property has a stylish and modern interior fully equipped, comfortable living area. The spacious bedroom could accommodate a travel cot.

Property Type

  • cottage


  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...


  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob


  • Dining Area


  • Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • Tiled shower cubicle, bowl sink on a slate, heated towel rail and wc, ceramic tiled floor.


  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 2(1 Bedroom) Notes on bedrooms: One large bedroom with a pine double bed, pine bedside tables, wardrobe, two sets of drawers, stripped wood floor, radiator.


  • Golf ...


  • Self-catering

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website


  • Notes on accommodation: No pets, No smoking, parking on the street. Gas and electric are included. Whilst we endeavour to replace broken, chipped and lost crockery and cutlery, sometimes they do not match. Like wise some parts of the cottage are old and the and the Wisteria can grow very quickly in a week. Coachman's loft sleeps 2, additional people £50 each adult/£25 each child maximum 4 people. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Bedlinen, tea towel, bath mat, dishcloths and bin liners included. Towels included. Cleaner will clean after each booking. For two week bookings, clean sheets available to change after one week, if required. Other: Spacious hall with travertine porcelain tiles, coat hanging, handmade oak staircase.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot