OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Cottage In Charlestown With Sea Views

Overview

Property

Updated: 28-Nov-2016
Cottage in Charlestown, Nr. St Austell Bay, Cornwall, England, UK - Central Village Location A Short Stroll To The Beach And Harbour

Come and stay at Seasalt in the vibrant fishing village of Charlestown on Cornwall's magical south coast. As you expect, the area provides many miles of superb and unspoilt walking over coastal and inland footpaths, whilst for sailing enthusiasts the Fal estuary to the West and Fowey to the east provide excellent waters. Three good golf clubs and facilities for fishing, horse riding and shooting are all within easy distance. Notable local attractions such as the Eden Project, just 4 miles to the east, and the many National Trust properties and famous open gardens, such as Heligan, 7 miles to the north east. Seasalt, looking seaward over the harbour 50 meters away, has, stunning views of the sea and the masts and square sails of the Tall Ships gracefully berthed in the World Heritage Site of Charlestown. The cottage itself is part of a new development of an old building and can truly be described as unique.

  • Sleeps 6
  • 3 Bedrooms
  • 2 Bathrooms, 1 Separate Toilet
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner

Call Owner
Speaks English, German

14 Reviews

4.6
based on 14 holidaymaker reviews

4

Very comfortable, well equipped,lovely home and a perfect location

  • 4 of 5

Great location,plenty of options for food and drink,very lucky with the weather, look forward to return visit.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Central in a beautiful harbour town

  • 4 of 5

A fully equipped beautiful property. We were 4 adults and 2 children with adequate room and beautiful sleeping arrangements. Facilities are more than adequate although at the time of our visit the tumble dryer was out of action and after washing kids clothes they were hanging around on airers

  • Review Submitted: Nov 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful location

  • 5 of 5

We found the cottage to be more or less everything we could want in a holiday cottage - lovely and clean, plenty of room and in a location that would be hard to beat (especially when the sun was shining!). We found it handy for all of the sightseeing that we wanted to do and it was a pleasure to come home to at the end of the day. The only small downside for us was that towels were not automatically included and as we came from Australia that was a bit of a nuicance. That said, for an extra fee the owners did provide towels and we would definitely stay there again. Can highly recommend the bistro at the Pierhouse Hotel! (And if you're looking for take-away fish and chips, try the one at the shops near Tesco)

  • Review Submitted: Oct 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous!!!

  • 5 of 5

Fab cottage full of character features...very tastefully decorated and equipped with everything you would have at home....

Location is just perfect too....set right in the heart of the villiage but private enough to sit in the garden....great pubs/restaurants a 2 minute walk and very central to the rest of cornwall....a real gem of a holiday cottage...will definately be returning!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent - Home from Home

  • 5 of 5

Seasalt is an excellent 3 bedroom Holiday let and worth the money. It is well equipped and has a pleasant homely feel to it with lots of space to relax and a private garden to sit and/or eat in. We could certainly recommend it to anyone as it is also child friendly and had full internet access. The owners were excellent and provided all the information required and were very pleasant to deal with. The location could not be better as we could walk around Charlestown (which is a delightful and charming port) at any time and find plenty of places to eat & drink at reasonable prices. The Bosun's Restaurant above the Shipwreck & Heritage Center, was especially good, with a decent if not spectacular Menu and very reasonable prices.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Nice but a a little worn and run down

  • 2 of 5

The place looked good on arrival, was neat and presented well. Unfortunately all the beds were horrible to sleep in, and we shuffled beds every night to try and get a decent sleep. The main bed creaked constantly! Both TVs upstairs were broken and had poor reception. Was a selling point of the property but our daughter was upset that she couldnt use either upstairs TV. Starting to look run down and tired, would be good to spend some much needed money on repairs and brining it into the 21st century!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Obviously we are very disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay in our cottage, as we pride ourselves and keeping our cottages as clean and modern as possible. We will take on board your comments with regards the beds and look to update them if they are as uncomfortable as you say. However we are extremely disappointed that you didn't call whilst you were staying to ask about the TV's upstairs. If you had done so, we would have explained to you how to plug in the freeview box in the small bedroom and also how to work the booster box to send the SKY TV signal from downstairs to upstairs. So in fact both do work and use 21st century technology to get a signal. On the subject of 21st century we think your comments are very harsh, given that the we provide unlimited broadband, full SKY TV (movies and sport), a Playstation 2 and a DVD player. We tend to find that most of our customers come to our cottage to enjoy Charlestown and the surrounding area's, rather than watch TV in bed ! We will contact you directly to get more information as to what repairs need doing, as we have not had any complaints from other customers about this, but will be addressing any issues that you highlight.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Activity and Interests

Special interest holidays:

Charlestown itself is a World Heritage Site and is the home berth to the Kaskelot and Earl of Pembroke Tall Ships. It boasts an annual 'Regatta' week with varied activities for all. The Du Maurier festival and Fowey Royal Regatta are annual events held in nearby Fowey.

Coast/Beach:

The cottage is a short walk from the two tidal beaches in Charlestown - whilst not sandy they do afford fantastic opportunities for rock pooling! Polkerris beach; now a Windsurf destination has a fantastic pub and the relatively new Sam's beach bar is a 5 mile drive.

The beaches of Par, Carlyon Bay, Porthpean, Pentewan Sands, Readymoney Cove (Fowey) are all within 7 miles in both directions up and down the coast. The North Coast surf beaches are between a 30 and 50 minute drive.

Travel:

Newquay airport 30-40 minutes drive approx. St Austell station 10 minutes drive

Please contact us if you would like us to arrange a taxi from either the airport or station.

Distances:

Tesco and Asda supermarkets are within a 5 minute drive. It is possible to walk to Tesco if you do not have a car. We can arrange taxis if you do not have a car.

Further Details:

We have a farm shop on Charlestown Harbour that aims to provide delicious, fresh, local, seasonal and organic produce. You can ring Clare or Rob during the week to reserve bread or anything else, to be picked up from the shop at the weekend. They are open every Saturday and Sunday from 10am til 4pm(ish). I also believe that they might even deliver to you whilst you are on your holiday. Please contact Clare or Rob on 01726 850242 or 07860 455812. You can find their details in our information file.

Restaurants: Sam's on the Beach serves traditional wood fired pizzas, seafood and steaks to eat in or take away. 01726 812255.

The Boathouse in Fowey is as good as anything you would find in London (if not better)and is located on the Town Quay and serves Pasta, Pizza and Seafood.

Charlies Café at Charlestown is wonderful, 01726 67421, and sells yummy panninies, scrummy cakes and coffees and teas

Brett Camborne-Paynter has 2 AA rosettes at his restaurant near Charlestown - you could even walk 01726 813 888.

Jamie Oliver’s restaurant, Fifteen, at Watergate Bay does fantastic food.

Paul Ripley at the St Kew Inn 01208 841 259

Nathan Outlaw has recently moved to the the St Enodoc Hotel 01208 863 394

Rick Stein has taken on the Cornish Arms at St Merryn, all of his restaurants are wonderful and you don’t have to book at his Sea Food Restaurant's Sushi Bar.

The Porthminster Cafés food is fabulous and in the most amazing location. You really do need to book in the Summer 01736 795 352. Take the train from St Erth to Porthminster (St Ives is the next stop). The view from the train is stunning.

Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Winter 2016
29 Oct 2016 - 19 Dec 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
£300
for 3 nights
From
£100
£475
 
 
Xmas 2016
20 Dec 2016 - 26 Dec 2016
7 night minimum stay
£900
for 7 nights
£900
 
 
New Year 2016
27 Dec 2016 - 2 Jan 2017
7 night minimum stay
£900
for 7 nights
£900
 
 
Early Winter 17
3 Jan 2017 - 10 Feb 2017
3 night minimum stay
£300
for 3 nights
From
£100
£450
 
 
Feb Half Term
11 Feb 2017 - 17 Feb 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£595
for 7 nights
£595
 
 
End Winter 17
18 Feb 2017 - 31 Mar 2017
3 night minimum stay
£330
for 3 nights
From
£110
£475
 
 
April Holidays
1 Apr 2017 - 21 Apr 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
£450
for 3 nights
From
£150
£665
 
 
Spring April/May
22 Apr 2017 - 26 May 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
£360
for 3 nights
From
£120
£650
 
 
May Half Term
27 May 2017 - 2 Jun 2017
7 night minimum stay
£775
for 7 nights
£775
 
 
June
3 Jun 2017 - 23 Jun 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
£525
for 3 nights
From
£175
£735
 
 
Jun/Jul
24 Jun 2017 - 14 Jul 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
£600
for 3 nights
From
£200
£840
 
 
July
15 Jul 2017 - 21 Jul 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
£660
for 3 nights
From
£220
£975
 
 
July/August
22 Jul 2017 - 25 Aug 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£1,150
for 7 nights
£1,150
 
 
End Aug
26 Aug 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
£825
for 3 nights
From
£275
£1,075
 
 
Early Sept
2 Sep 2017 - 8 Sep 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
£450
for 3 nights
From
£150
£710
 
 
Mid Sept
9 Sep 2017 - 22 Sep 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
£420
for 3 nights
From
£140
£655
 
 
Sept/Oct
23 Sep 2017 - 13 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£330
for 3 nights
From
£110
£555
 
 
Oct Half Term
14 Oct 2017 - 27 Oct 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
£450
for 3 nights
From
£150
£685
 
 
Winter 2017
28 Oct 2017 - 22 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£330
for 3 nights
From
£110
£475
 
 
Xmas 2017
23 Dec 2017 - 29 Dec 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
£660
for 3 nights
From
£220
£950
 
 
New Year 2017
30 Dec 2017 - 5 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
£660
for 3 nights
From
£220
£950
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £250

Changeover Day:
Our changeover day is Saturday - please can you kindly vacate the property by 9:30am on your day of departure and arrive after 3pm on your day of arrival.

Notes on prices:
Please contact us for reduced rates on weekend and short breaks. Also please enquire as to whether we can offer a price reduction if there are just two of you in your party.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Avg/night
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Updated: 28-Nov-2016
12
Available arrival
12
Available
12
Unavailable

Facilities

Property Type

  • cottage

General

  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Washing Machine

Kitchen

  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob

Dining

  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area

Entertainment

  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television

Leisure Activities

  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • sight seeing
  • walking

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Bathrooms

  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure
  • Toilet 1 - Toilet
  • Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • Family bathroom with bath / shower over, WC, wash basin and heated towel rail. En-suite to master bedroom with shower, WC wash basin and towel rail. Downstairs cloakroom with WC and washbasin.

Bedrooms

  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 6 (3 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Master bedroom with king size bed, TV and en-suite. Bedroom 2 with twin beds. Bedroom 3 with double bed. Wardrobe/cupboard on landing.

Outside

  • Golf ...
  • Barbecue

Meals

  • Self-catering

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website

Notes:

  • Notes on accommodation: The property is neutrally decorated throughout and the whole of the downstairs accommodation is heated by underfloor heating. The hall cupboard has 4 coat hooks and can house a folded buggy quite easily. Unfortunately we do not allow smoking at all in the property, guests are kindly asked to smoke outside. Pets are also not allowed. We have a high-chair, large travel cot (cot bedding not provided), potty, steam sterilizer, stair gate, socket protectors and children's crockery to make travelling with little people that much lighter! Outside: The cottage has a small garden, with a patio, barbecue, parasol, garden table with 6 chairs and extremely comfortable seat cushions (would you be kind enough to not leave out in the rain and store inside at night and when not in use please). In addition there are 4 small surf/boogie boards in the garden store available for guests to use. The property has one allocated car parking space, should you require additional parking there is a car park adjacent to the property. Utility Room: Under stairs cupboards house: ironing board and iron, mop and bucket, vacuum cleaner, broom, dust pan and brush. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: All bed linen is included. In addition bath mats, tea towels and oven gloves are provided. Other: The 'daytime' living accommodation is completely open plan and in addition to the other items of furniture has a breakfast bar and stools to enable relaxed chat in the kitchen.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot