Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Luxury Apartment on the Melia Resort, Just 50 Metres To The Beach

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 807 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Washing Machine
  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

5* Apartment, Sal Island, Cape Verde. Only Metres from the Magnificent Ponta Preta Beach

This luxury 5* apartment is located on the 'Melia' Tortuga Beach and Spa Resort, only a few steps from the beautiful Ponta Preta beach with its crystal clear waters and tropical beaches.

The resort has its own restaurants/pool bar/restaurant and live music/entertainment every evening. There are also numerous restaurants in the nearby town of Santa Maria. Private spa and gym. 2 large swimming pools with a swim-up bar. There are ample sunbeds around both pools and on the beach. The resort has a secured gated community with a 24 hour concierge service.

More Details

Owner
Paul and Sandy Withey
Member since: 2008
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
24 May, 2018

About Paul and Sandy Withey

We, Paul and Sandy are the private owners of 2 properties in Cape Verde which consist of a Luxury Villa and a Luxury Apartment.

We purchased them when we visited the island in 2008. We simply fell in love with the island and its people and decided that others would do the same! Now that we are both retired, we pride ourselves with the personal service that we are able to give to our clients.

Paul and Sandy Withey purchased this apartment in 2008

Why Paul and Sandy Withey chose Santa Maria

This apartment is the only one on the resort that has a combination of, a private balcony, (most have a shared balcony), located on the 1st floor (more privacy), 2 bathrooms, faces south (sunshine all day) and is located in a nice quiet position on the resort.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Paul

Just wanted to drop you a quick note to say a massive thank you for letting us stay at your property in Cape Verde. The apartment was stunning, very well equipped for all our needs and in a fabulous setting and resort.



We visited some of the restaurants you mentioned in your information pack and also a few other places in Santa Maria. The resort itself was fantastic and the staff were so friendly and attentive. We came back so relaxed and all thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Thank you so much for all your handy hints and the information you provided on booking with you.



Kindest Regards

Tracy



Hi Paul.

The Holiday was perfect, we loved the place !!! We thought it is still so unspoiled which makes it even more beautiful. The apartment was wonderful, it had everything we needed and we loved the walks along the beach.

Thank you again for contributing to our lovely holiday. Maria
Sep 2010
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Santa Maria in Sal

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 807 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • resort
Theme:
  • Family
  • Holiday Complex
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Shower room 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bidet
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 with king size bed, wardrobe and 32" HD flat screen TV. Bedroom 2 with twin beds and wardrobes.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horse riding
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
42" flat screen TV/DVD in the lounge with a further 32" flat screen TV in the main bedroom with independent satellite channels available. Outside: The apartment has its own private 1st floor balcony (not shared) with table, 4 chairs and parasol. The large swim up pools and children's pools are only a few metres away, as is the popular children's club. The beach is also only a few steps away with lots of free comfy sunbeds and parasols. The resort also enjoys beautiful landscape gardens. Towels, linen, cleaning and air-con are included. Beach towels not provided

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(21 traveller reviews)

80% Complete
9% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Luxury Apartment on the Melia Resort, Just 50 Metres To The Beach
average rating of 4.714286 based on 22 reviews
-
5

Gorgeous Apartment

  • 5 of 5

Hi Paul.

Just wanted to say a big thank you for the use of you gorgeous apartment at The Tortuga resort in Santa Maria. The apartment was like a home from home, so nice to feel relaxed indoors with the lovely sitting room and kitchen area, instead of feeling like you were hanging around a bedroom! Stepping out onto the spacious balcony for breakfast or an early evening drink was fabulous, the position meaning it was very private, yet we could still sit and people watch.

We didn't use the all inclusive as after reading trip adviser reviews of the restaurants we decided at 80 euros each per day, it wouldn't really be good value for us as we wouldn't eat/drink enough to cover that cost. We ate out each night in Santa Maria and had some lovely meals with cocktails to follow in the Ocean Cafe most nights! Taxis were cheap enough at 4 euros each way and readily available at the hotel. We did have a meal in the complex Aqua restaurant on our last night and whilst very nice, it cost 70 euro and we had just had good food in Santa Maria for less money, so overall, we were pleased we had the freedom of going into town to try different places, as well as it being a change of scenery from the complex.

Another bonus was that we completely missed the 'beast from the east' winter storm at home. We were getting lots of contact on Facebook saying how dreadful it was, whilst we were lying on the beach with a cocktail!

I'm sure we will be booking again next time we visit Cape Verde - thanks again!

Alison & Steve Stokoe

  • Review Submitted: 18-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Alison Thank you so much for your lovely review of our apartment and your holiday. I'm so please that you both enjoyed your holiday especially the apartment. We do try and make your stay as comfortable as possible and its nice to hear that your stay was a really nice one. I'm also so glad that you ventured out into Santa Maria in the evenings, as the restaurants are all very good and as you say, they are a lot cheaper than the resorts "all inclusive" prices. Once again, that you for your review, its makes all the hard work worth while when I know that you had a wonderful holiday. Kind regards Paul
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5

Spacious apartment, ideal for a couple with 2 kids, lovely balcony, well equipped kitchen.

Situated in a nice resort, 3-4euros taxi drive away to Santa Maria, 5mins walk from local mini market, pizzeria & bakery. 5mins walk to lovely beach, definite perks: use of pools, entertainment & exercise activities in resort for free! I would stay again.

Perhaps square metrage need correcting on info description, I estimate it is about 75 square meters.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Mark Thank you for your lovely review. I'm so please that you enjoyed the apartment, as well as the facilities on the resort, like the entertainment, gym and pools and as you said they are all free. Thank you for pointing out the error regarding the square metres of the apartment, it should have read 75 not 175. Its been a pleasure having you stay with us. Kind regards. Paul
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Sunshine, sea and relaxation

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic week here. Paul was a wonderful host and responded quickly to all enquiries. The flat was great, immaculately clean and the large private balcony is a real highlight. We were looking for a peaceful and relaxing holiday and this location really fit the bill.

The resort is attractive, well-maintained with swimming pools and a lovely beach. Having read some negative reviews of Tortuga Beach, I can honestly say we experienced none of these issues. Check in was fast and easy, staff were friendly (though we were not on the ‘all in’ package they treated us as valued guests). There were always sun loungers available, and although the sea immediately in front of the Tortuga has high surf and rocks, there is a gorgeous swimming ‘lagoon’ adjacent.

We got the best of both worlds with this property; taking advantage of all we wanted on the resort without the all-inclusive pricing or commitment. We registered a credit card with the reception when we checked in and this meant we had no problem buying drinks from the bar or any other little extras (e.g. on the last day we hired one of the covered ‘Bali Beds’ on the beach which was fantastic). The only challenge regarding the self-catering option was that the supermarkets are not greatly stocked. There’s a shop nearby and a great bakery and a supermarket in Santa Maria, but choices were limited, especially fresh fruit and vegetables. But we found great restaurants in town as well as an Asian restaurant (Nami) and the Bikini Beach Club next door to Tortuga beach, which we would recommend.

The late March weather was warm. The wind is strong which can be off-putting, but makes this a popular destination for kite surfers. Santa Maria has a busy beach with bars and restaurants but it doesn’t have the tacky feel of a lot of resort towns – it’s relatively quiet and suited to the older crowd. The locals were friendly, but it should be noted they are being paid almost nothing to work at these resorts and the cost of living is high. No wonder you will get approached by people trying to sell you things (which coincidentally always seem to be for sale “at their mother’s shop”!) But we never got hassled in any way. If you’re not interested you can just politely say no and they will move on, usually with a smile, saying “no stress”!

All in all, a top holiday, relaxing and a much-needed sunshiny escape from the over-long British winter.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Emily Thank you so much for your lovely review of our apartment and your holiday. I'm so pleased that you had a great time and enjoyed your stay. Also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the resort. As you said, you have the advantage of the facilities of a 5* resort, but not having to tie yourself to the "all inclusive" package that the resort offers, as there are lots of lovely restaurants in the local town of Santa Maria which you obviously enjoyed. We do try and make your stay as comfortable as possible and it makes it all worth while when I know you had a lovely holiday. Once again, thank you for taking the time to submit your review and its been a pleasure having you stay with us. Kind regards. Paul
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful apartment, great location

  • 5 of 5

This beautiful apartment is, in our opinion , in the best location both within the complex and within the resort.

It has everything you need for an independent self catering holiday but near enough to the town of Santa Maria if you need to buy provisions or wish to eat out. The large veranda offers a great place to sit and read and to generally relax.

The complex is lovely and clean and all the staff are friendly and courteous Each evening there is some form of entertainment. I particularly liked the dance shows. The young entertainment staff put on a brilliant, energetic show which was a pleasure to watch.

There are accessible, easy walking routes around the island for those who like to get out and about, although most of the terrain is sand.

Paul, the owner is really helpful and considerate and is more than happy to answer all your queries

We loved it so much we have booked again for next year I can’t recommend this highly enough.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Janice. Thank you so much for your lovely review of our apartment and your holiday. I'm so please to hear that you had a great holiday and you enjoyed the apartment, especially the location of it. I'm also please to hear that you enjoyed the resort and the entertainment. As you said, the Cape Verdean staff are so friendly and cant do enough for you. Thank you for your kind words about my help when making the booking, I am always try to give a good service and also making sure that all our guests have a nice stay, so its nice to know that is was appreciated. Thank you for booking again for next March and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards. Paul
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely family holiday in well appointed apartment

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely holiday in this two bedroom apartment. The apartment is very well equipped in a nice quiet sunny position on the alll-inclusive resort. Sitting outside on the balcony in the sun was a joy with the upstairs position affording extra privacy.

There is a nice beach at the resort but we would recommend walking 10 minutes to ponta preta beach which was gorgeous and virtually empty.

In the evenings a 5 minute taxi ride (cost 3 or 4 euro) takes you to the local town with a number of restaurant options.

Paul was very helpful throughout the process with prompt, friendly and informative replies.

There isn't a huge amount of things to do in Sal but if you are after a relaxing holiday in the sun we would recommend this as a good option !

  • Review Submitted: 19-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Nicola. Thank you so much for your lovely review of our apartment and your holiday. I'm please to hear that you had a great holiday and you enjoyed the apartment, especially the location of it. As you know when I sent you the info pack, I always recommend trying the local restaurants in Santa Maria, so I'm glad you did, as you get more of the local atmosphere of the Cape Verdian people than if you stayed on the resort all the time. Thank you for your kind words regarding my help throughout the process, I'm only to pleased to help anyone when booking their holidays. Once again, thank you for your lovely review, it makes it all worthwhile when I know that you have had a great time. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. Kind regards. Paul
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

2 Bedroom apartment 441, Tortuga Beach.

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I spent 10 days in Paul's apartment in February.

It is well located, within 2 minutes of of the reception and dining facilities as well as the upper of two swimming pools. The beach is a 3 minute walk. It is quiet and the large south facing balcony is perfect for sunbathing and dining.

The apartment in well equipped and beds are comfortable, with aircon if you need it. We did not since February appeared to be the coldest month and in fact, fleeces were our saviour in the evenings.

We were self catering and so did not take advantage of the 'all in' at the Tortuga, there was an option to upgrade at around 80 euros per person/ per day!. Paul provided us with an information sheet and we soon found the bakery and small supermarket in the Vinho Verde development. You just walk across the road from the entrance foyer and through a 'gap in the wall'. The supermarket stocks a range of basics and the bakery has good bread and the best 'Pastel de Nata' this side of Belem!!

We did not take too much notice of the in house entertainment, it was very 'resort' based.... you could be anywhere. Instead we took a taxi each evening to Santa Maria, 4 euros each way, and found the local bars and restaurants.

During the day, there were beds by the pools and on the beach, the bar here played the standard 'beep beep' music... I don't know why, I think maybe only the staff like it!.

There is a nice walk on the beach to the sand dune, and you can also walk into Santa Maria along the road, around 30 minutes.

One negative about the Tortuga beach, the gym is awful.... 6 machines of which only 2 were actually working and a really dreary interior with poor lighting. For a ' 5 star' resort this is a real no no!

To sum up, a very good apartment on a standard resort development.

  • Review Submitted: 17-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear John. Thank you for your lovely review of your holiday and our apartment. I'm so pleased you had a great time and enjoyed both. I'm also please to hear that you dined most evenings in the local town of Santa Maria. As you know from my recommendations in the info pact that I sent you, I always suggest that you try the local restaurants as they are all very good and very reasonably priced. You also enjoy the local atmosphere of the Cape Verdant as well. However, the facilities on the resort like restaurants, bars, pools and entertainment are there if guests want them. I was disappointed to hear about the gym. I have already emailed the manager of the resort and I expect something to be actioned on this very soon. Once again thank you for your kind words and its always nice to hear that you had a lovely time staying in our apartment, it makes it all worthwhile when you have. Kind regards Paul Hi John. I have now received a reply from the resorts management regarding the gym. The manager has advised me that 4 of the gyms machines have been out of action for the last 6 weeks, but the replacement ones are being delivered this week and will be up and running straight away. I know this doesn't help you but at least it has been attended too. Kind regards. Paul
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Car: not necessary

Special interest holidays:

If you like adventure, then hire a quad bike and visit one of the many sand dunes or beaches that the island has to offer or why not try windsurfing, kite surfing or scuba diving. Deep sea fishing, catamaran trips or whale/dolphin watching are also available on the island. The resort has its own windsurfing/kite surfing hire and tuition facilities.

Coast/Beach:

This luxury apartment is situated right next to the beautiful Ponta Preta beach.

Travel:

Cape Verde is only 5.5 hours from the UK with only 1 hour time difference, therefore no jet lag! The international airport is only a 20 minute taxi ride to the apartment, therefore hiring a car is not essential as most of the facilities are within walking distance. Taxis are plentiful on the resort, in Santa Maria and also at the airport.

Distances:

The quaint little town of Santa Maria, with its numerous bars, restaurants, shops, banks etc is only a pleasant 20/25 minute walk away or just 3 minutes in the resorts free shuttle bus or local taxi. A visit to the salt lakes, which are situated in Pedra de Lume is worth a visit or take a look at the main capital of Espargos. A trip to the Blue Eye in the northern part of the island is also well worth a visit.

Further Details:

For those who just want to chill out, then simply watch the local fishermen bring in their daily catch on the pier or simply stroll around the many craft shops where you can buy anything from African handmade jewelry to beautiful hand paintings.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Santa Maria, Cape Verde

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Low/Mid
7 Jan 2018 - 18 Dec 2018
7 night minimum stay
£450
for 7 nights
£450
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £3 per night, per additional guest
 
High
19 Dec 2018 - 6 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
£730
for 7 nights
£730
 
 
Low/Mid
7 Jan 2019 - 16 Dec 2019
7 night minimum stay
£475
for 7 nights
£475
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £3 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£475
for 7 nights
£475
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £3 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
Please contact the owners.

Changeover Day:
Changeover days are flexible.

Notes on prices:
All prices have just been reduced by 30%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable