OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Large Secure Garden, Beautiful Views, Great For Groups And Family Occasions



Updated: 21-Oct-2016
Holiday Home in Chelmorton, Peak District, Derbyshire - Less Than 5 Mins Walk To Pub and Playground, Very Peaceful, Stunning Location

Nestling at the end of a quiet lane in the village of Chelmorton, the cottage is in it’s own secure grounds with lawned garden areas. It enjoys superb views of the surrounding landscape and especially of Chelmorton Low. Have cosy nights in by the fire, or afternoons and evenings sat on the large patio, admiring the views and the sunset with a glass of wine! Jolly Field Farm makes an ideal base for walking, climbing and biking and is just a short drive from historic towns Buxton and Bakewell. It is especially well suited to larger parties with its large, well-equipped family kitchen, large games room with table football and pool table, plus plenty of space for the kids to play in the expansive garden. Comfortable accommodation with exposed beams, wooden floors and wood burning stove.

  • Sleeps 11
  • 5 Bedrooms
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Parking
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Internet
  • Dish washer
  • Washing machine
  • Towels provided
  • Linens provided
  • Accept Credit Cards
  • Bookable online

Top Traveller Review

About the Owner


Call Owner
Speaks English

Guestbook comments from the owner

We really enjoyed staying at Jolly Field Farm.  The accommodation fitted our needs perfectly.  The grandchildren made full use of the games room, toys and games.  The adults really raved over the spacious and well-equipped kitchen.  We liked the setting and the accessibility to a lot of the attractions in the area.
Oct 2016
  • 1 of 3

8 Reviews

based on 8 holidaymaker reviews


Spacious, clean, warm and well-furnished

  • 4 of 5

Ideal for our reunion of 10 people. very clean and tidy with all conveniences (three fridges!). Effective central heating, and cosy wood-burning stove. Easy to walk out into the countryside and excellent pub round the corner! Only two snags: the shared toilet flush needs a new diaphragm in the siphon, and the rustic metal door latches on some of the bedroom doors were quite noisy in operation.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

We turned up and didn't know what to expect after reading the bad review, but I can honestly say it was great, we must have just missed the cleaners as when we arrived the floors was still wet, the place is very welcoming, I cannot fault the bedrooms, the beds are very comfy and I slept in the attic room and I'm 6ft.. It also has sofas in most rooms down stairs if you just want to crash out..the kitchen is perfect it has the normal electric oven and hob but you need to use the aga, "cooking made easy" don't be afraid of it just use it!! And you can easily fit 10 round the table..The games room is cool, with a pool table which has a good cloth and a good table football, there's also a fridge for your beers, there's plenty of space outside with a large table to sit round and have fun.. All in all a great place which we will visit again..

  • Review Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Delightful stay at Jolly Field Farm. Great amenities. The cottage was spotless and we were well catered for. Booked in for a party of 10 we especially enjoyed the games room with the pool table and table football. Stayed for three relaxing nights and had great fun. We'll definitely be back.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect for 2 week stay whilst working in the area

  • 5 of 5

This was our second stay at Jolly Field Farm. We work at a biannual event in Buxton and need a base nearby for our workers. This place is perfect and fits all our needs. Ruth is very accommodation of us and understands we are not using the house as a holiday stay, just somewhere to eat and sleep after a hard days work! Would definitely recommend.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 1 of 5

You DO NOT get what you have paid for.


Kitchen - a permanent 'sick' smell. Told to use bleach !

Games Room - Foisty & damp smell, disgusting. NO dart board or Bar

Dead & CRUSTY flies all over cottage, only outdone by the number of cobwebs everywhere.

Bins full for 4 days before you can put out rubbish

The place is a disgrace and there is not enough room for me to write what I would like.

Just book somewhere else, its awful.

John & his very upset family.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are extremely sorry you did not have a good experience at the property and had cause to give a poor review & claim compensation. If you had let us know at the time of your stay we would have been more than happy to rectify and amend any temporary concerns. Since receiving your feedback we have investigated fully and can assure future guests there is no cause for concern when booking this property.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 3

May Bank Holiday stay

  • 3 of 5

We stayed in Jolly field Farm over the May Bank Holiday weekend, 6 adults and 3 children. The setting is delightful with great views from all sides and situated on a quiet road. There's a lot of outside space which would be brilliant in summer. Its a good location for Buxton, Bakewell and Matlock and there's plenty to do in the area.

The property certainly has potential and is probably at its best in summertime. The weather was particularly cold for us but the Aga in the kitchen was brilliant and certainly kept most of the ground floor warm. Topped up with the log fire the main house was warm enough. The annexe however struggled despite a radiator, a Dimplex and a fan heater. In addition the shower in the annexe is pretty poor. With only one other shower in the main house there was a bit of a queue in the mornings.

We used all the bedrooms. One of the doubles has a very low roof at one side and would be difficult for adults. Our 2 year old slept here in his cot so it wasn't a problem for us.

The property was generally clean and reasonably maintained though it would benefit from some improvements to facilities and the addition of hand towels in the 2 shower rooms.

Overall we felt that it was a bit pricey for the standard of accommodation presented but certainly has a lot of potential.

  • Review Submitted: May 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It's great to hear how much you enjoyed the house and space it has to offer. As you say you came at an unexpectedly cold weekend which was unfortunate. Once you get the wood burner going in the living room things soon heat up.The bedroom with the sloping ceiling is perfect for children, hence the twin beds in there, and they like the cosy nature of the room.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Activity and Interests

Nearest Airport : Manchester at 30 Miles Nearest Train : Buxton at 4 Miles Car: necessary


Nearest airport - Manchester - 1 hour.


Buxton - 4 miles.

Bakewell - 8 miles.

Manchester - 32 miles.


Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Low Season
1 Oct 2016 - 21 Dec 2016
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Christmas 2016
22 Dec 2016 - 28 Dec 2016
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
New Year
29 Dec 2016 - 4 Jan 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Peak Season
1 Jul 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Low Season
4 Sep 2017 - 19 Oct 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Xmas/New Year 2017
22 Dec 2017 - 5 Jan 2018
6 night minimum stay
for 6 nights
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Changeover Day:
Friday but we're flexible where possible.

Notes on prices:
Short breaks are available depending on availability - please call.

A deposit of £250 is required at time of booking. Balances due 4 weeks before arrival date.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Total amount
Enquire Now
Updated: 21-Oct-2016
Available arrival


Property Type

  • house


  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family


  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove


  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster


  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area


  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Game Room ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television

Pool / Spa

  • Hot Tub ...


  • children welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm

Location Type

  • rural
  • village


  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls

Leisure Activities

  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • walking

Sports & Adventure Activities

  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • caving
  • tennis


  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet, Bath (no shower), Shower Enclosure, Bidet
  • Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • Shower room 2 - Shower Enclosure
  • 2 x en-suite shower rooms. 1 x main bathroom with bath.


  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Bedroom 2
  • Bedroom 3
  • Bedroom 4
  • Bedroom 5
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 10+1 (5 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom1 - double bed, large wardrobes, en suite shower room. Bedroom 2 - double bed. Bedroom 3 - double bed. This is a small double and has sloping ceiling. Bedroom 4 - twin bed. low headroom - perfect for children - is accessed by a short flight of stairs Bedroom 5 - Annex with vaulted ceilings, en-suite shower room.


  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...


  • Self-catering

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website


  • Notes on accommodation: Sorry no pets, no smoking. Short breaks available Sep-March unless last minute booking - ie within 4 weeks of arrival date. Please note there is a refundable security deposit of £200 on all bookings. Outside: Large garden with circular drive. Large grassed areas. Patio area with seating to the rear of the property with amazing south west facing views. Adjoining paddock where we're going to grow veg and keep chickens and a goat or two! Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: All linen and towels provided. Cleaning can be arranged if staying for more than 1 week.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot