OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Luxury Beach Apartment With Heated Pool

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Barbecue
  • Washing Machine
  • Heated Pool
  • Internet
  • Parking

Overview

About the property

Apartment in Thurlestone, Kingsbridge, South Hams, Devon - Stunning Location Overlooking Thurlestone Rock

A stylish and contemporary holiday apartment set above the cliff top adjacent to Thurlestone Sands beach in the South Hams and just a few miles from Salcombe. Oceans Edge, a prestigious development, occupies a position which can only be described as stunning, overlooking Thurlestone Rock, with views across the bay to Thurlestone Village and the South Huish Nature Reserve. Luxuriate in well kept grounds, swim in an outdoor heated swimming pool (Spring Bank Holiday to Early October) whilst enjoying an unbroken sea view. Large open plan living room with Plasma TV with Freeview, Netflix, Blu Ray DVD and DVD library. Dining area and modern well equipped kitchen, double oven and microwave. Two double bedrooms, both with flat screen TV one. Mosaic tiled ensuite shower room and family bathroom. WiFi, telephone (free local calls), underfloor heating throughout. Balcony with chairs and table, gardens, barbecue. Strictly No Pets and No Smoking.

IMPORTANT NOTE: Rental weeks begin and end on a FRIDAY. Reservations will only be accepted for bookings that run from Friday to Friday.

More Details

Owner
Sue Munro
Member since: 2010
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
28 September, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Some comments taken from our Visitors Book - "The most luxurious bucket & spade holiday we have been on". "Beautiful apartment, you have thought of everything". "Fantastic holiday that none of us wanted to end. Walk to Hope Cove our favourite, great DVDs, we will be back". "We enjoyed our second visit as much as our first, a lovely holiday". "FAB-U-LOUS!". "A fabulous place to stay whatever the weather". " Stunning apartment and location". "Fourth time at Thurlestone, but the first time here, by far the best place we have stayed".



Extracted from TripAdvisor

We've stayed at 10 Ocean's Edge a few times now, and it really feels like a home away from home. Before you get there, Sue's incredibly helpful with everything to do with the booking. Ocean's Edge itself is in an amazing location, right on the clifftop in Thurlestone....... The apartment itself is wonderful - modern, clean, fantastic kitchen, amazingly comfortable bed, great bathrooms........
May 2010
  • 1 of 1

Location

Coast/Beach:

Ten Oceans Edge is adjacent to South Milton Sands, less than a minutes walk away. South Milton Sands is a beautiful, natural beach owned by the National Trust. The Beach Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Kingsbridge in South Hams District

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • rural
General:
  • Lift
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Shower room 1 - Shower Enclosure
  • En-suite to bedroom 1, shower, handbasin, wc, heated towel rail, mosaic floor to ceiling, tiled floor with underfloor heating. Family bathroom with bath, shower, handbasin, wc, heated towel rail, mosaic walls, tiled floor with underfloor heating.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 4 (2 Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Bedroom 1 - Luxury Super-King sized double bed & ensuite shower room. Fitted wardrobe and oak drawers. Flat Screen TV. Bedroom 2 - Zip & link luxury 3' beds can be configured as Super-King size double or two singles. Flat Screen TV, wardrobe and oak drawers. 'White Company' bedlinen and towels.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Notes on accommodation: Minimum 1 week let only. No weekends or stays of less than 7 nights Rental Week is Friday to Friday Maximum occupancy 4 No additional charge for heating during winter months No Pets No Smoking Outside: Communal gardens, outdoor and beach furniture provided. Balcony with small breakfast table and 4 director style chairs. The swimming pool is heated to 32 degrees centigrade and is open from the last week of May until the second week of September. The Coastal Path runs along the front of the property. Utility Room: Separate utility room with storage, automatic washing machine and tumble dryer. Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Beautiful 'White Company' bedlinen, bath towels, hand towels and pool towels provided. For rentals of more than 1 week, weekly clean and change of linen and towels included. Other: Store Room contains beach chairs, sunbeds and table to use around the pool. Cot and highchair available.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)

66% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Luxury Beach Apartment With Heated Pool
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 7 reviews
5

Great apartment. Perfect Location

  • 5 of 5

The booking experience was straight forward, with the keys arriving in plenty of time. The apartment is modern and is located within a 15min walk into HopeCove. The pool was warm enough, with great views out into the sea. Located just a few hundred meters from the nearest beach the location was perfect for us. Kitchen area was clean and had plenty of useful utensils. We also used the outside BBQ a couple of times and again all the tools needed are supplied. There is a lockable shed that has the lounge chairs etc for the pool. Lounge and main bedroom get the sun in the morning and have a nice view of the fields going away from the sea. Wifi works, but is pretty weak as you can imagine, but is fine for the kids games and emails, wassap etc etc. TV has Hd and there is a bluray player with a selection of dvds. Only minus points were that there is still no netfix as advertised (it is built into the bluray player but there was not even a lan cable connecting it to the internet) I'm not sure it would work anyhow with the slow wifi. Also there is no mirror in the main bedroom for the lady to do their hair. Missus had to use kids room. Neither point detracted from an excellent experience and we would not hesitate to recommend this apartment. We stayed with 2 teenagers and it was perfect. Had a Tesco delivery arrive an hour after we did, so we really got the use out of the fridge and kitchen :) the shower plug holes need to be faster and a broom would be a great addition for people just to keep on top of things. Pool is opened around 9 and shut again around 7 by the local farmer who is really nice. Local pubs walking either way are fantastic. Kids loved the place. They would live in that pool!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 30, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely apartment with everything you need for a family holiday

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time here with our two young kids. The flat is very well provided with everything you could need - from kitchen equipment to the collection of DVDs. It's close to the beach and the pool is great and hardly used by others so we mostly had it to ourselves when we used it.

The beach is great but parents of small kids be warned that the sand is gritty and not good sandcastling sand. It took ours a couple of days for ours to appreciate the other benefits of the beach like the rockpools and the kayak hire!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 25, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We thought that the property was very much to our style, spacious,contemporary and just fab.

  • 5 of 5

We all really enjoyed our stay at this property. This part of the country is stunning we came to this area about 6 years ago when our son was 3 years old and we just loved it. 6 years on we decided to visit again, Leo our son who is now age 9 wanted to try surfing so we took steps to find out where the best surfing beaches were, Bentham beach was the place to be. We booked him in for 3 lessons over 3 days and he absolutely loved it, whilst he was surfing me and my husband sunbathed lovely.

We visited Salcombe and Dartmouth again beautifull places to go. Lots of coastline walks and the views are stunning. Hope cove is cute you can walk there from the appartement taking in all the lovely views, then finishing with a cheeky beer and a bite to eat, what more could you ask for.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 4, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved it!!!!

  • 5 of 5

What an amazing apartment, great location, brilliant facilities we couldn't have asked for more. We will definitely return. Thank you

  • Review Submitted: Aug 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful situation, really nicely kitted out accommodation

  • 4 of 5

The flat is beautifully appointed, bright, light and airy and spotlessly clean. The area is amazing, Hope Cove, South Milton Beach, Bantham Beach providing great walks, great food/drinks, restaurants etc and Salcombe, Dartmouth and Totnes easily accessible in the car. The Broadband didn't work for 6 out of the 7 days we were there, which was annoying but the owner tried to sort it - BT can take a while. The outside storage including BBQ had had the locks changed and we didn't have the key so we couldn't use that either which was also a bit annoying. Other than that, perfect. Thanks Ed & Julia.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments. The issue with the broadband affected a wide area and was due to a BT external fault. I am sorry BT took so long to fix the problem, it was outside our control, understandably it must have been frustrating. I apologise that the key to the storage unit was unavailable, we were unaware that the locks had been changed by our decorators. This has now been rectified. .
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Winchester, Hampshire, England
4

Nice away from it all week

  • 4 of 5

We booked this apartment for a short, close to home, holiday. We wanted something of a good quality that was "home from home". The apartment is very well equipped and maintained. The only problems we had were with the WiFi which failed regularly (it could be fixed most times by restarting the router but this became a real bind: the owner said that there was nothing that could be done - I think a change of router would have fixed the problem).

The location is pleasant, but approached by several miles of very narrow lanes (not for the nervous driver).

We made shopping easy by arranging a Tesco "home delivery" for the afternoon we arrived, this worked well and was a great help.

The description was pretty accurate but we were surprised that we did not have a sea view: I think this was a mistake on our part BUT prospective renters might take note.

One more thing which did not affect us, we noticed that the pool and barbeque hours are very restrictive: if you wanted to be able to come back and swim after a long day out, you could not due to the limited pool hours (this appears to be outside the control of the owners of this apartment but might affect your enjoyment).

  • Review Submitted: Aug 16, 2013
  • Date of Stay: May 2013
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Richard, thank you for your comments. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay. By way of a response: WiFi - We had already installed a new router but after having spent many hours on the telephone to India/Bangladesh/Himalayas our service provider found a fault with the line filter. This has now been rectified and the WiFi works perfectly. I'm sorry it was an issue during your stay. Although there is no sea view I'm sure you will agree the views from the apartment are over wonderful open countryside, rolling hills and the South Huish Nature Reserve. With regards to the pool opening hours, the pool is open daily from 10:00am to 19:00hrs this is out of respect for those living or staying in the apartments overlooking the pool. When the pool was open for longer there were complaints about the noise especially from those with young children who were trying to sleep. Secondly the electric pool cover cost us as owners £22,000 to install, we pay a local farmer to open and close the cover daily because allowing individuals to do it led to constant breakdowns and expensive repairs, or the cover was left open at night allowing the heat to escape. I hope this goes someway to addressing the minor concerns you have and I hope they didn't mar your stay. Kind regards, Sue Munro
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Kingsbridge, South Devon

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Rate 10
20 Oct 2017 - 14 Dec 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
7 night minimum stay
£600
for 7 nights
£600
 
 
Rate 1
24 Mar 2018 - 13 Apr 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£750
for 7 nights
£750
 
 
Rate 2
14 Apr 2018 - 25 May 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£600
for 7 nights
£600
 
 
Rate 3
26 May 2018 - 1 Jun 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£1,200
for 7 nights
£1,200
 
 
Rate 4
2 Jun 2018 - 22 Jun 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£850
for 7 nights
£850
 
 
Rate 5
23 Jun 2018 - 29 Jun 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£900
for 7 nights
£900
 
 
Rate 6
30 Jun 2018 - 13 Jul 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£950
for 7 nights
£950
 
 
Rate 7
14 Jul 2018 - 24 Aug 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£1,350
for 7 nights
£1,350
 
 
Rate 8
25 Aug 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£1,250
for 7 nights
£1,250
 
 
Rate 9
1 Sep 2018 - 7 Sep 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£900
for 7 nights
£900
 
 
Rate 10
8 Sep 2018 - 14 Sep 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£750
for 7 nights
£750
 
 
Rate 11
22 Sep 2018 - 19 Oct 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£600
for 7 nights
£600
 
 
Rate 12
20 Oct 2018 - 26 Oct 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£850
for 7 nights
£850
 
 
Rate 13
22 Dec 2018 - 4 Jan 2019
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£1,200
for 7 nights
£1,200
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£600
for 7 nights
£600
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
Rental run from Friday to Friday. 50% depost is required at the time of booking, the balance is payable 6 weeks before your stay. Please call or email Sue Munro to confirm your booking. You will be sent a booking form together with the terms and conditions. On receipt of your deposit and booking form your reservation will be confirmed in writing. You will be sent a gentle reminder when your balance it due.

Changeover Day:
Change over day is on Fridays. No short breaks, minimum stay is 1 week (7 nights)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable