OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Typical Gascon Farmhouse on 2 hectares

People8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
farmhouse
People
8
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
7 nights

About the property

Farmhouse in La Sauvetat, near Fleurance, Gascony (Gers), Midi-Pyrenees - Idyllic Location in the Heart of the Countryside

The property is situated in the department of Gers which lies at the heart of the historic region of Gascony. In the long struggle for supremacy between England and France in the Middle Ages it had the misfortune to form the frontier zone between the English base at Bordeaux and the French at Toulouse; thus the region abounds in fortified villages or Bastides. Today nowhere could be more peaceful. Le Gers is France's secret garden with its rolling pastures, woods, vineyards, arable land and lakes.On the same latitude as Nice, Gascony, as yet undiscovered, escapes the heavy tourist traffic of its more famous neighbors while benefiting from a similar climate. Gascony is a gourmet's paradise, deservedly famous for its foie gras, confits and magrets. Fresh produce from the local farms are freely available at weekly markets. A market is close by every day of the week. Excellent wine, Floc and Armagnac are produced from the local vineyards.


Owner
Gemma
Member since: 2010
Speaks English, French
Calendar last updated:
28 October, 2016

Why Gemma chose Gers

This property is idyllic. It is a little paradise hidden in the Gascon countryside.

For all who like their freedom and privacy it is ideal.Most people fall in love with it as soon as they see it as we did.

Guestbook comments from the owner

It was worth the previous week in Purgatory to finally get to Heaven!

We've had a fabulous week of good company, great food- not to mention

the abundance of vin rouge and definitely not plonk!

We love the Gers countryside. Merci mille fois.

I can now face l'hiver Anglais.
Oct 2015
  • 1 of 4

Reviews

2/5 -
(1 traveller reviews)

2

Very disappointed with the facilities.

  • 2 of 5
Verified Stay

HOLIDAY RESERVATION HA-B8VHKJ: Property #8058265; 13th August – 27th August

Please find blow the reasons my family and I were very dissatisfied with the two week holiday re La Petite Taste.

All the facilities below were identified as being available within the Farmhouse amenities section of the brochure.

Photographic evidence is available if required:

No Air Conditioning.

We were told on arrival that there was no air conditioning. It was not possible to have it fixed during our 2 week holiday.

We were also told that two fans were available. We had a party of 7 people plus a 12 month old baby.

On complaining, three further fans were provided during the first week.

This was totally inadequate as it was extremely hot during the evenings and night time. Adults and baby found it impossible to sleep.

The Farmhouse amenities state: Air conditioning… The house is equipped with a reversible air conditioning/ heating system.

Satellite / Cable/ TV

On arrival we found that there was no Satellite/ SKY available. Again, Satellite/ Cable TV was identified within the Farmhouse amenities

The only TV was French TV. A TV engineer called later in the first week to say that the SKY box was faulty.

The next day, a working SKY box was tried but this made no difference i.e. no Sky TV was available for all of our stay. This was an important requirement as we wished to keep up with the Olympics.

Two bathrooms indoors.

We found that the bathroom / shower on the lower floor did not have hot water.

An electrician called later in the first week to repair the fault.

Two purpose built barbecues

Two purpose built barbecues were identified within the Farmhouse amenities.

On arrival we had to ask for one of the barbecues to be cleaned. The other barbeque by the pool side was not in working order.

Bread/ Pizza over.

A Bread/ Pizza oven was also identified within the Farmhouse amenities. On arrival we were informed not to use the oven as if was faulty.

The overall condition of both barbeque and Pizza oven indicated that they had not been used for some time.

Outside lights and stereo system.

We were not able to use the outside light and outside stereo system at the same time. On complaining, an extension lead was provided that had cable joins that stretched across the entrance to the outside patio area. This was a hazard for everyone (including the baby).

I consulted at all times with both the owner and Edwina and Gordon who were looking after

  • Review Submitted: Sep 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is very disappointing and distressing for us if clients are not happy with their holiday at our home. Before we leave we always make sure that everything is working perfectly and that the house is in pristine condition. I will try and address the problems that were mentioned. Air conditioning. There are two separate systems in the house, one for downstairs and one for upstairs.The downstairs system is still working perfectly. However the previous guests decided that the bedrooms were too cold and in attempting to change the temperature broke the mechanism. The company engineer said a part was necessary but would not be available until September because of factory holidays. We put a fan in each bedroom and two in the room where the baby was sleeping. It must be mentioned that the cot was moved from a cool northfacing room to a southfacing room directly above the terrace which is much less quiet. Sky TV. When the TV engineer came out he said there was a problem with the box. He unfortunately was wrong. When I returned I called him again and he discovered that the satellite had moved slightly so he had to adjust the dish accordingly. All channels are now working perfectly. It was unfortunate for the guests but they could watch the Olympics on the French channels. Bathrooms. There was no problem with the immersion heater in the lower bathroom; someone had turned the switch the wrong way. The barbecues. I would be very surprised if the barbecue was dirty. I cleaned them with a power hose before leaving. However the coal trays and the wire racks for changing the levels are well used and worn. However there were two brand new cooking racks left on a hook on the lower terrace which do not seem to have been used. Bread/pizza oven. This oven is not mentioned as an amenity for the simple reason that it is not easy to use; one would need to know how; so we do not advise it. Terrace lighting. The terrace is lit by two florescent tubes with a switch by the back door. The lights mentioned are party lights which we rarely use as they attract too many moths etc at night time. However there is an extension lead for that purpose kept under the sink in the kitchen. We try our best to make everyone's stay as enjoyable as possible but sometimes matters are outside one's control. The house is in a beautiful setting and overall our guests have a wonderful time. The Owners.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Auch Cathedral

Photos

Prices & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
High season
1 Jul 2017 - 2 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£2,031
for 7 nights
£2,031
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£1,524
for 7 nights
£1,524
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £254

Booking Notes:
Bookings will be accepted by e-mail. To secure a reservation please send a bankdraft in euros, payable to Gemma Glynn, for 25% of the rental total. Balance, plus a returnable deposit of 300euros a week, to be paid by bankdraft in euros 8 weeks before arrival.

Changeover Day:
Changeover day will normally be Saturday but may be flexible. Guests should leave by 10am and arrive after 4pm.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday farmhouse in La Sauvetat in Midi-Pyrenees

Property Type:
  • farmhouse
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • rural
  • village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
  • Two bathrooms indoors with shower, hand basin and wc. Third bathroom at poolside with shower, hand basin and wc.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Cot
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 8 (4 Double Bedrooms) Notes on bedrooms: Four bedrooms with double beds.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Veranda ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • live theatre
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Notes on accommodation. Outside: The pool is 10m by 5m and is heated. There are two outdoor eating areas fully equipped with furniture, one on the lower level at the back of the house on a covered terrace and the other is poolside. There are two purpose built barbecues, one for each area.There is a bread/Pizza oven with worktop area beside the barbecue at the lower level. Utility Room: Laundry is outside Cleaning / Towels / Linen / Maid service: Towels and linen are included. They are changed on a weekly basis, if requested. Pool towels are kept in the pool house. The property is thoroughly cleaned each Saturday on the changeover Other: Entrance Hall with classic fireplace and lounge area.

Partner Offers

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot