OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
OwnersDirect uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Quiet Location With Spectacular Sea Views

Bedrooms 1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Studio Annex Newlyn near Penzance, Cornwall, England - Walkable distance to Penzance and Mousehole, close to many beautiful beaches.

Tremar annex is nestled on the hillside above Newlyn Harbour. Situated in a quiet location down a private lane, with no through traffic, the property has fabulous sea views over the Harbour to Penzance, Mounts Bay and across to Long Rock and countryside beyond. There is a pretty terraced garden with patios in both the front and back gardens. The annex is attached to my house, it has it's own front door and patio doors to the rear with access to a private terrace and the garden with spectacular views over Newlyn Harbour, Mounts Bay and the countryside beyond. From the front door and hallway to the left is the shower room, straight on takes you to the kitchenette, sleeping area and patio doors to the terrace.

I will be resident in the main house.

More Details

Stephanie Monk
Member since: 2010
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
15 May, 2017

About Stephanie Monk

I bought the house in the summer of 2005, I live there with my two sons. When you see the view you'll understand why I bought the property.

Stephanie Monk purchased this apartment in 2005

Why Stephanie Monk chose South West Cornwall

I particularly love walking in West Penwith the landscape is spectacular and varied. The children and I love to body board at Sennen in the summer and I love visiting the local cafes and art galleries.

What makes this apartment unique

The property is quiet and relaxing, there is no noise at night except when there's a storm! We have plenty of greenery and space around us but central Penzance and it's bustling community is nearby. The views are fabulous.

Guestbook comments from the owner

I have successfully holiday let the house for the past 4/5 years and have had many happy holiday makers:

'Thank you for the more than wonderful stay. We've really enjoyed our time here.'

'Thank you so much for your hospitality and thanks for the excellent restaurant recommendation. We've had a wonderful time in Newlyn, Penzance and Mousehole. We hope to meet again.'

'We've fallen in love with West Penwith, thank you for a lovely holiday.'
Feb 2010
  • 1 of 1


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Newlyn in Cornwall

Property Type:
  • apartment
Building Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • pets considered ...
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Romantic
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Bidet , Lovely big shower room.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Description of sleeping capacity: Sleeps 2 Notes on bedrooms: 1 bedroom with double bed.
  • Books
  • Television
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes on accommodation: Electricity and gas costs are included in the rental price. There is wireless internet connection. The annex is very private and is not over looked. Outside: Patio doors out to patio at the rear and there is a patio in the front both with outdoor seating and tables. Cleaning / Towels / Linen : Linen and bath towels are included, please bring your own towels for the beach. If you have booked for a fortnight cleaning and changing the sheets halfway through your holiday can be arranged.


Very Good! 4/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)


Quiet, good views and a neat little apartment.

  • 4 of 5

I stayed here whilst attending a course at Newlyn art school. The flat is a 5 min walk away (though down the hill then back up the hill), and it was really convenient. It's obviously an extension to the owners home, but was really comfortable and perfect for a short stay. Stephanie had left bread, milk and butter, and there is every thing you need in the flat for your stay, including slippers and a dressing gown! The kitchen is compact but with a full oven and hob, plus microwave. If I return to do another art class, I would have no hesitation returning to this holiday home. The only complaint really was that it was the first cold snap of the year, and it was a little chilly in the flat, as the heating only seemed to come on at about 8 in the evening, but not in the morning. ( But for a summer break, this would not be a problem. ) It is a quiet flat with little night time noise, but only a 5 /10 min walk to the shops and restaurants.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

I would describe the property as a Studio Flat with views over Newlyn Harbour and beyond.

  • 4 of 5

I arrived by public transport late in the evening and found the hill from the bus to the property very steep but I later discovered the easiest way to tackle it was to walk through the car park and join the steps at the point where the hand rail started.

The property was as good as expected and in fact the kitchen area had been updated since the photographs on the website. The bed was very comfortable and the view from the patio window very surprising when I opened the curtains on the first morning .

The reason for my stay was to continue walking the South West Coast Path, quite often this means returning with wet walking boots, jackets and over trousers therefore I was very happy to find the central heating came on around 8pm for 2 hours. It would be helpful for there was another form of heating available.

I would not hesitate to recommend this property.

Mrs Diana Cope - Hertfordshire

  • Review Submitted: Sep 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, hopefully we'll see you again in Newlyn one day.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Perfectly situated

  • 4 of 5

Great location with spectacular views of the sea and beaches. The annex is small, but perfectly adequate for myself and young daughter. The main living/sleeping area was cosy, but had all you need. I really liked the bedding and comfort of the bed. The kitchen was modern and had all you needed to cook a full roast dinner! Although the floor is uncarpeted, there are several rugs in all areas. The shower was powerful and warm. Finding the annex was our only issue and we spent some time missing the turning to the lane, but this was my poor direction reading. Yes the roads are tight and windy, but not scary - we had a very small hire car which helped! Overall I felt very comfortable here and extremely safe. We were there whilst the owners next door (directly) so don't know how the dynamic would have changed, but would definitely return. My daughter especially liked playing with Tilly the cat who wandered in through the patio doors. Thanks.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in Newlyn. You would be welcome back any time. I'm sure Tilly enjoyed the attention while we were away. Stephanie
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Fantastic views, excellent value, a great base for our visit to the area

  • 4 of 5

We stayed for 5 nights in July and the location was perfect. Stephanie left us some welcoming muesili, milk, honey and bread. The bed was comfortable and the kitchen area adequate. We did some cycling, despite the steep hills to get to the property, a couple of times we left the bikes chained up at the bottom of the hill to save taking them back up which worked out fine. You can walk or cycle into Mousehole and Penzance or get a train or bus to St Ives. We would stay there again if we were in the area, or would recommend to friends.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in Cornwall. Stephanie
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Lovely stay

  • 5 of 5

Nice apartment with a lovely terrace looking out over Newlyn. The open plan bedroom/kitchenette has glass doors so you get a great view from indoors as well. Newlyn is a great town and you're very close to lots of other attractions. The apartment is up a hill. So a bit of a walk to get home. But the views are amazing. We would recommend.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in Newlyn.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

The studio itself was fine

  • 3 of 5

The property is located high above the harbour and beach with lovely views. The drawback was the parking, could unload and load at the property then had to park in a narrow lane possibly 150 yds away.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed your break in Cornwall. There is now a dedicated space next to the house for parking.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0



Prices & Availability

Rental rates

Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Booking Notes:
A 50% deposit is required to secure the dates you require with the balance to be paid a least four weeks prior to arrival. On request one dog is welcome free of charge.

Changeover Day:
Changeover day is flexible, though for the long holiday in the summer it is usually Saturday. Please arrive at 4.00pm or thereafter. You are requested to vacate the property by 10.30am.

Notes on prices:
Deals are possible, it does not harm to ask!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now

Special Offers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar holiday rentals